Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Monaghan78:  "Was at corduff and doohamlett last night ,
A poisonous atmosphere, stuff being shouted all over the place , a very bad look for everybody involved in Monaghan football for officials management and county board ,"
This is not surprising. Seen both teams this year and the abuse from sideline and stand from both is unbelievable. The pity is the kids at these games who will be influenced by this rot.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 109 - 23/06/2022 10:08:01    2426980

Paschal canavan and counihan is another good choice

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 23/06/2022 13:47:10    2427047

Had he gone yet ??

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 24/06/2022 21:43:55    2427341

Replying To greysoil:  "Had he gone yet ??"
I'm hearing it's either he goes or the players go.

Appears the players have had to force an inept Co.Boards hand. Fair play to them!

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 25/06/2022 16:40:11    2427414

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "I'm hearing it's either he goes or the players go.

Appears the players have had to force an inept Co.Boards hand. Fair play to them!"
I'd imagine there is a lot of frustration amongst the players seeing how a well drilled managed and motivated team like Derry have done this year compared to how poorly prepared monaghan looked this summer when expectations were high. Tyrone will definitely come back and Donegal won't be far away gave Derry far better test but another year of Banty for monaghan will mean another frustrating year of flogging players to death and playing one dimensional football.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 25/06/2022 19:59:30    2427478

Replying To seanie08:  "I'd imagine there is a lot of frustration amongst the players seeing how a well drilled managed and motivated team like Derry have done this year compared to how poorly prepared monaghan looked this summer when expectations were high. Tyrone will definitely come back and Donegal won't be far away gave Derry far better test but another year of Banty for monaghan will mean another frustrating year of flogging players to death and playing one dimensional football."
The Derry game was hard to watch alright.
There's a general malaise in the club scene too at the minute, plenty of walkovers at lower grades and no big interest in the championship. Changes needed.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 25/06/2022 21:27:58    2427508

Plenty of people giving out on here were probably in the middle of the big pitch invasions after the Galway league game last year and Dublin this year is well…remember jack was hailed as the best forward in the country after the Dublin game by a former player……you can't have it everyway the total narrow minded blinkered obsession with playing div 1 means we have to flog the older lads to order to scrap 2/3 wins every year to survive..comparing us to Derry atm is laughable.. remember Derry could cast aside their best midfielder mcfaul a few short months ago and just get on with it..derry's age profile, conditioning, power and pace is a long way ahead of us atm and will be hard to close in the next 3/4 years given that the club scene in Monaghan atm is as poor as it has been in the last 20 Odd years..I witnessed what happened to both donaghamoyne and scotstown last year in Celtic park and it was sobbering to say the least… yes Banty and his side kick needs ran from the senior & u20 set up but I fear it's just not as simple as getting rid of the ego, fist pumps and garbage talk after matches from the side line and the results will automatically follow however I do accept we need to try something…barren few years coming…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 26/06/2022 11:56:30    2427551

Good point the league is weighing the team down and actually is bad long term as same players being flogged to death to keep the side in div 1. Some of the younger players need competitive games on regular basis. Nearly done them good to play in the Tailtenn Cup as the championship was a write off for them and their development. Div 2 is fairly competitive next year so a stint there done team no harm in blooding lads developing leaders to replace the likes of mcmanus and the Hughes brothers.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 26/06/2022 13:43:16    2427565

Replying To mick2007:  "Plenty of people giving out on here were probably in the middle of the big pitch invasions after the Galway league game last year and Dublin this year is well…remember jack was hailed as the best forward in the country after the Dublin game by a former player……you can't have it everyway the total narrow minded blinkered obsession with playing div 1 means we have to flog the older lads to order to scrap 2/3 wins every year to survive..comparing us to Derry atm is laughable.. remember Derry could cast aside their best midfielder mcfaul a few short months ago and just get on with it..derry's age profile, conditioning, power and pace is a long way ahead of us atm and will be hard to close in the next 3/4 years given that the club scene in Monaghan atm is as poor as it has been in the last 20 Odd years..I witnessed what happened to both donaghamoyne and scotstown last year in Celtic park and it was sobbering to say the least… yes Banty and his side kick needs ran from the senior & u20 set up but I fear it's just not as simple as getting rid of the ego, fist pumps and garbage talk after matches from the side line and the results will automatically follow however I do accept we need to try something…barren few years coming…"
Completely agree on the standard of club football. Last years' senior championship was embarrassing. It's not a wonder Scotstown weren't ready for Glen as they didn't have a competitive game all year in the championship. I'd be pretty surprised if any team gets within 5 points of them in this year's championship too. It's a carbon copy of the Armagh club championship, were Crossmaglen won something like 16 out of a possible 17 at one point. Although, Cross don't have an overly huge population, so it felt somewhat realistic that they could be caught some day. Whereas with Scotstown, I just can't see anybody catching up with them due to the huge population they're picking from. Really worrying time for our club scene.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 26/06/2022 21:59:34    2427807

Replying To HB245:  "Completely agree on the standard of club football. Last years' senior championship was embarrassing. It's not a wonder Scotstown weren't ready for Glen as they didn't have a competitive game all year in the championship. I'd be pretty surprised if any team gets within 5 points of them in this year's championship too. It's a carbon copy of the Armagh club championship, were Crossmaglen won something like 16 out of a possible 17 at one point. Although, Cross don't have an overly huge population, so it felt somewhat realistic that they could be caught some day. Whereas with Scotstown, I just can't see anybody catching up with them due to the huge population they're picking from. Really worrying time for our club scene."
Totally agree. The last time Scotstown lost a club championship match in Monaghanthat wasn't a final was 2012. They lost to Currin and then Blayney in back door. Since then, the only games they have lost were the 14 and 19 Finals to Clontibret. They won 2020 in first gear and although Truagh gave them a scare in 2021 final, their path to that final was a combination of hammerings and just doing enough. People are probably hoping that Truagh can challenge but I thought it was very worrying for Truagh that they lost the league game this year that was played without county men. They were only missing one, Scotstown missing 5. Hard to see how they don't complete the 5 in a row this time. If they do, it will be 9 of the last 10.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 27/06/2022 08:07:58    2427818

Replying To mick2007:  "Plenty of people giving out on here were probably in the middle of the big pitch invasions after the Galway league game last year and Dublin this year is well…remember jack was hailed as the best forward in the country after the Dublin game by a former player……you can't have it everyway the total narrow minded blinkered obsession with playing div 1 means we have to flog the older lads to order to scrap 2/3 wins every year to survive..comparing us to Derry atm is laughable.. remember Derry could cast aside their best midfielder mcfaul a few short months ago and just get on with it..derry's age profile, conditioning, power and pace is a long way ahead of us atm and will be hard to close in the next 3/4 years given that the club scene in Monaghan atm is as poor as it has been in the last 20 Odd years..I witnessed what happened to both donaghamoyne and scotstown last year in Celtic park and it was sobbering to say the least… yes Banty and his side kick needs ran from the senior & u20 set up but I fear it's just not as simple as getting rid of the ego, fist pumps and garbage talk after matches from the side line and the results will automatically follow however I do accept we need to try something…barren few years coming…"
agree with everything here. I was always on the fence about dropping to div2 but looking at Derry & Armagh this year it's hard to ignore how they've leapfrogged us. young fit teams.
Thinking about all the Ulster Champions since we've last won it - Derry, Cavan, Donegal & Tyrone. They've all danced in division 2 in the last 7 years and had some sort of "rebuild" period.

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 27/06/2022 08:52:11    2427832

Replying To 222:  "How refreshing is it to watch armagh."
2 wins in the backdoor and 2 fights .. no championship win in years

i felt so sorry for the Galway fullback, he done nothing wrong and was very upset about with what happen. I hope they go on and win it.

if you want to watch REFRESHING football try watching the Dubs,Kerry or Galway - they know how to play football, always have and always will.

Blayney can now take down their flags

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 27/06/2022 13:02:19    2427966

James Horan ending his second stint in good time over in mayo, shows the class of the guy.
Yes club football in monaghan is abysmal at the moment. Scotstown for all their dominance haven't given the county set up any new county players in 6-7 years. And yes they will canter to another mick Duffy. All the town teams maybe bar Carrick are struggling, as is a host of junior clubs. Go back to old style championship, each team with two chances for a start.

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 28/06/2022 08:49:48    2428221

Replying To 222:  "James Horan ending his second stint in good time over in mayo, shows the class of the guy.
Yes club football in monaghan is abysmal at the moment. Scotstown for all their dominance haven't given the county set up any new county players in 6-7 years. And yes they will canter to another mick Duffy. All the town teams maybe bar Carrick are struggling, as is a host of junior clubs. Go back to old style championship, each team with two chances for a start."
Like you've said "class". Something Banty has zero of.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 29/06/2022 07:19:30    2428497

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Like you've said "class". Something Banty has zero of."
He's got more class then you have and done more for this county than you will ever do, Give the man time.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 29/06/2022 11:42:26    2428571

Word out today that banty has gone

Monaghan78 (Monaghan) - Posts: 22 - 29/06/2022 12:31:56    2428586

Word emerging that banty has stepped down.

Who do we fancy or want for our new manager?

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 29/06/2022 12:45:37    2428598

Banty gone..can we get McConville in?

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 29/06/2022 13:02:40    2428607

Its confirmed,

a new era,

a new beginning,

whos the candidates ?

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 29/06/2022 13:14:23    2428609

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Its confirmed,

a new era,

a new beginning,

whos the candidates ?"
A new era is rite , hopefully the proper heads will work on this to get the best that's out there

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 29/06/2022 13:34:09    2428613