Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Strong Dublin team named. Have we any men left for tonight at all?"
Only 7 of dublins starting team tonight started the all Ireland final so I would defo give us a chance tonight… albeit we need everything going for us plus we need a huge game from the currin man and the likes of Mooney to keep the scoreboard ticking over…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 571 - 27/01/2024 14:10:40    2522377

Replying To mick2007:  "Only 7 of dublins starting team tonight started the all Ireland final so I would defo give us a chance tonight… albeit we need everything going for us plus we need a huge game from the currin man and the likes of Mooney to keep the scoreboard ticking over…"
Unfortunately no currin men on the team Mick. Maybe no internet your neck of the woods yet.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 752 - 27/01/2024 14:57:46    2522390

Replying To veterngaa:  "Unfortunately no currin men on the team Mick. Maybe no internet your neck of the woods yet."
He must be still celebrating with the Glen players after handing them the ulster championship.

Monaghan2011 (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 27/01/2024 15:15:22    2522394

Replying To veterngaa:  "Unfortunately no currin men on the team Mick. Maybe no internet your neck of the woods yet."
Jack plays well in winter . Summer is another story

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 27/01/2024 15:34:27    2522397

There won't be a mushroom picked in Monaghan for a week.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 27/01/2024 21:08:22    2522492

Yes lads! Take that everyone else who keeps writing us off! You can't beat hard work!

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 752 - 27/01/2024 21:10:13    2522494

Heroic performance there in Croke Park after an awkward opener.
Huge mental strength shown.
Delighted.

Hon

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 369 - 27/01/2024 21:11:03    2522496

Replying To RHF:  "There won't be a mushroom picked in Monaghan for a week."
There's levels to football lad!

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 752 - 27/01/2024 21:11:05    2522497

Replying To RHF:  "There won't be a mushroom picked in Monaghan for a week."
...and it won't be Cavan Cola that we'll be drinking.
;)

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 369 - 27/01/2024 21:13:12    2522498

Fantastic result fought hard the whole way through, hopefully it'll not be celebrated too much as it's a league game not championship. But it is brilliant for confidence going forward

Pet (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 27/01/2024 21:16:27    2522500

Well done Monaghan, what a win and fully deserved. Year after year you just upset the narrative and prove a lot.of people wrong. Early days yet of course but Monaghan will be no pushover any stage of the season. By the looks of things you'll not miss Rory eggan too much either. Well done McDonnell and also a shout out to Stephen O' Hanlon. What a player when on form. That's Derry, Cavan, Monaghan and Carlow who've had wins on the road so far. Hopefully the Rossies can join that list tomorrow evening

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 148 - 27/01/2024 21:21:06    2522501

Fantastic Monaghan, as good as the win was, the style of football ye played was even better. Direct football, a joy to watch and O Hanlon was sensational.
Between club final last weekend and opening rounds of league today, clear evidence of what a great game gaelic football can be.
2 away points in the bag in Rd 1, I already think ye are safe so the field narrows for the rest of us.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 221 - 27/01/2024 21:21:23    2522502

Fair play to the many young lads who stepped up tonight in a very inexperienced Monaghan side. It might be a Dublin team without a whole lot of work done yet, but it's still the AI champs without who had a strong looking team on paper, and Monaghan have a load of players missing. Might just be an early league game, but still encouraging for the lads out there who dug out the result without needing to rely on the likes of Mansy to save them.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 938 - 27/01/2024 21:32:19    2522505

Jesus yer lads some balls tonight. Unreal performance. People had ye as favourites to go down with us but looking at some of the young talent ye have ye aren't going anywhere.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1237 - 27/01/2024 21:33:08    2522506

Stephen O'Hanlon on fire. Brilliant performance from him. Well done the Farney men.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2406 - 27/01/2024 21:50:43    2522514

Direct running at pace won the day especially from O Hanlon, thought Lavelle was immense too. We probably deserved the win, left more scores behind than Dublin, and could have got a second penalty soon after the first, having said that we got some decisions go out way too. Was wondering does McCaffrey have to abide by the same rules as everyone else the amount of fouls he committed
Great to see our young lads win in Croke Park improving our win ratio there has been an issue so all good today anyway

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 27/01/2024 22:00:34    2522518

Fair play to the lads they done great

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 27/01/2024 22:09:24    2522521

Well done Monaghan great result tonight and great style of play from a young team ye may well run us close in the first round of ulster now.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 485 - 27/01/2024 22:11:41    2522523

Exciting stuff to warm the cockles and a great win Monaghan!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 27/01/2024 22:18:30    2522524

Cracking result tonight dough wasn't good for the heart.. wasnt a great performance IMO, pure heart, desire and a refusal to buckle earned the 2pts… lots of room for improvement which is great to see.. we're getting Kerry at an great time is well next weekd so could be well on the road to survival next weekd…absolutely delighted for McDonnell who showed tonight what an excellent goalkeeper he is.. o Hanlons best performance in a Monaghan shirt also… long time since we started with only 1 scotstown player (o' toole) which was another massive plus which shows the playing pool we have of players from other clubs so the future mightnt be as bleak as some may think…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 571 - 27/01/2024 22:25:01    2522528