Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Sligonian:  "The majority of ye are picking Molaise in a close contest. Just curious as to the reason you think we will edge it?"
Just that you'd expect a reaction after their defeat to Tourlestrane and the fact that they've a bit better of a panel. Drumcliffe can turn over anyone on their day. I have to say I don't usually anticipate games too highly but I'm looking forward to getting down to it. A big test of character for both sides.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 05/09/2024 09:17:21    2568525

Replying To Sligonian:  "The majority of ye are picking Molaise in a close contest. Just curious as to the reason you think we will edge it?"
Well if Molaise lose they are as good as out as I can't see four points being enough to qualify if they were to beat Mary's in round 4 so the pressure is much more on them than DRP at present. I think they have more fire power up front too. DRP didn't exactly set the world a light in Division 2 league final either.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 400 - 05/09/2024 11:25:27    2568552

The forecast is good so here's hoping for some cracking games over the weekend. A dry day normally suits the better team as rain and wind can be great at leveling teams out.
Mary's v Curry.. Mary's by 7
Molaise v Drumcliffe. Molaise by 4
Tubber v Easkey. Tubber by 2
Coolera v Calry. Coolera by 6

Geevagh v Bunninadden. Geevagh by 2
Eastern Harp's v Farnans.. Harps by 5
Coolaney v Enniscrone Coolaney by 2
Owenmore Gaels v Johns.. Owenmore by 5

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 06/09/2024 12:02:08    2568696

The forecast is good so here's hoping for some cracking games over the weekend. A dry day normally suits the better team as rain and wind can be great at leveling teams out.
Mary's v Curry.. Mary's by 7
Molaise v Drumcliffe. Molaise by 4
Tubber v Easkey. Tubber by 2
Coolera v Calry. Coolera by 6

Geevagh v Bunninadden. Geevagh by 2
Eastern Harp's v Farnans.. Harps by 5
Coolaney v Enniscrone Coolaney by 2
Owenmore Gaels v Johns.. Owenmore by 5

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 06/09/2024 12:02:27    2568698

Senior:
Coolera v Calry....Coolera by 9
Easkey v Tubbercurry.... Easkey by 2
Drumcliffe v Molaise Gaels.... Molaise by 2
St Marys v Curry.... St Mary's by 3

Intermediate:
Bunninadden v Geevagh.... Geevagh by 2
St Johns v Owenmore Gaels....Owenmore by 4
Mullinabreena v Enniscrone.... Mullinabreena by 2
Harps v Farnans.... Harps by 7

Westside14 (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 07/09/2024 10:41:56    2568823

14pts - xwave8000
11pts - Taypot
9 pts - johncreilly & RealSouthSligo
8 pts - muscles, eoinog & Westside14
6 pts - Sligoman1234 & SligoTony
4pts - Sligo Joe

Excuse me if I'm wrong but points tally after the weekends games. xwave does it without predicting score margins yet still gets two bonus points for it. A bold strategy Cotton.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 09/09/2024 08:34:16    2569015

Looked a good weekend of action, spent most of it away with the family so didn't get to any game. Coolera would have to be favourites for Owen B at this moment in time. They really seem to be cruising. Easkey will need to get somethig against Shamrock Gaels to avoid a relegation battle. Talking to a man, a good display from them but you just feel they needed to win. Time will tell if a draw is enough but you'd expect Tubber to beat Calry on the last day now their fate into a relation battle is sealed.
I'll take my hat off to Marys. I backed them for a relegation battle and while that is technically still possible, it's highly unlikely. Who will join Curry in a relation battle is wide open. I feel sorry for Curry in that I think they would have points on the board on the other side of the draw. The draw between Drumcliffe and Molaise was great for the group and what happens next is anyones guess. Only a win will do for Molaise and a defeat could very likely pull them into a relegation battle which would be a big shock.
In Intermediate, Geevagh cemented their semi final place. Bunninadden will have been disappointed to ship so many goals. Their game versus Owenmore Gaels will most likely decide who joins Geevagh. I'd imagine it was a case of two disappointed sides after Owenmore Gaels encounter with Johns. Gaels would have fancied their chances while Johns are all but mathematically in relegation now.
Enniscrone who probably needed a win in their hunt for a semi final could still avoid the dreaded bottom 2 after a drawn game with Coolaney who have to beat Pats next weekend. Unsurprisingly, Farnans couldn't get over Harps in a low scoring affair. Credit to Harps who advance to the Semi Finals and hold onto their favourite tag.
Not much drama in Junior and I'd still expect the favourites to all come out of their groups.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 09/09/2024 08:55:14    2569020

Replying To johncreilly:  "14pts - xwave8000
11pts - Taypot
9 pts - johncreilly & RealSouthSligo
8 pts - muscles, eoinog & Westside14
6 pts - Sligoman1234 & SligoTony
4pts - Sligo Joe

Excuse me if I'm wrong but points tally after the weekends games. xwave does it without predicting score margins yet still gets two bonus points for it. A bold strategy Cotton."
Well done on keeping tabs on the predictions. Great to see a bit of initiative showing. The team that probably did the best over the weekend didn't have to kick a ball. Tourlestrane are definitely benefiting from the Molaise/Drumcliffe draw. Molaise are now just hanging on. Coolera are cruising and so are Mary's. Curry are unfortunate to be in relegation because they were very competitive in all their games. Calry are in relegation on merit. Relegation is too close to call in the intermediate but Harps and Geevagh are going well with both having 100% records although Harp's have played a game less.
If the Co Board start to complain about the attendance at games they need to seriously look at the venue's. Clubs are getting pulling all over the county. This weekend Curry is the venue for St. Johns/Castleconnor, Bunnyland for Molaise v Mary's and Shamrock Gaels have to travel to Enniscrone to play Easkey . Bonkers

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 09/09/2024 11:44:00    2569051

Replying To eoinog:  "Well done on keeping tabs on the predictions. Great to see a bit of initiative showing. The team that probably did the best over the weekend didn't have to kick a ball. Tourlestrane are definitely benefiting from the Molaise/Drumcliffe draw. Molaise are now just hanging on. Coolera are cruising and so are Mary's. Curry are unfortunate to be in relegation because they were very competitive in all their games. Calry are in relegation on merit. Relegation is too close to call in the intermediate but Harps and Geevagh are going well with both having 100% records although Harp's have played a game less.
If the Co Board start to complain about the attendance at games they need to seriously look at the venue's. Clubs are getting pulling all over the county. This weekend Curry is the venue for St. Johns/Castleconnor, Bunnyland for Molaise v Mary's and Shamrock Gaels have to travel to Enniscrone to play Easkey . Bonkers"
There have been some strange venues decided throughout. Should we be going 2 home 2 away with groups of 5? Every club generating equal chance at revenue.
Be an interesting exercise to see who has travelled the furthest for the group fixtures when it's over. That would be a nice exercise for you Eoinog. I'll keep tally of the predictions lol

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 09/09/2024 13:04:30    2569071

Agree with comments on venues, it's bound to be affecting attendances particularly when dragging people to nonsensible locations.

As regards the on field action for the competitiveness of both competitions it was great to see so many draws as it keeps options open for teams. I would say in intermediate Bunninadden will really be looking at themselves given the margin and Enniscrone will rue that loss to Pats seeing as they were able to stick with Mullinabreena. Senior wise well Calry look destined for the relegation final at least if not occupying the drop position. Fair play to Easkey and Tubber they are both only one win away from a Semi Final potentially. Given Tubbers fortunes last year and in league this year it is an impressive turn around. Equally Easkey don't look like they'll be going down as of yet anyway and still have a shout of a semi final spot if they win this weekend.

Predictions:
Senior
Easkey v Shamrock Gaels.....Shamrock Gaels by 3
Coolera v Tubbercurry....Coolera by 4
Drumcliffe v Tourlestrane....Tourlestrane by 1
St Marys v St Molaise Gaels....St Molaise Gaels by 1

Intermediate:
St Johns v Castleconnor.....St Johns by 1
Bunninadden v Owenmore Gaels....Owenmore Gaels by 1
C/Mullinabreena v St Pats....Mullinabreena by 3
Enniscrone v E.Harps.....Harps by 4

Junior
St Michaels v St Marys....Michael's by 1
Shamrock Gaels v Tourlestrane...Shamrock Gaels by 1
Ballymote v Eastern Harps...Ballymote by 6
Cloonacool v Drumcliffe...Cloonacool by 2

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 400 - 09/09/2024 14:29:56    2569097

Predictions:
Senior
Easkey v Shamrock Gaels...Shamrock Gaels by 2
Coolera v Tubbercurry.... Coolera by 7
Drumcliffe v Tourlestrane Tourlestrane by 1
St Marys v St Molaise Gaels.... draw

Intermediate:
St Johns v Castleconnor..... Castleconnor by 4
Bunninadden v Owenmore Gaels.... Bunninaden by 3
C/Mullinabreena v St Pats.... Coolaney by 2
Enniscrone v E.Harps.... Eastern Harps by 5

Junior
St Michaels v St Marys....Michael's by 3
Shamrock Gaels v Tourlestrane draw
Ballymote v Eastern Harps...Ballymote by 6
Cloonacool v Drumcliffe...Cloonacool by 11

SligoD (Sligo) - Posts: 10 - 09/09/2024 16:36:03    2569123

It was a very frustrating start to the weekend when I was informed the streamed game was changed from Molaise/Drumcliffe to Mary's/Curry. On paper our game looked better. Between the club grounds and streamer can we not make it work for the betterment of Sligo gaa. This weekend has 2 huge games in our group which I'm hoping to watch.

Anyways I watched the Mary's/Curry game and it was very enjoyable. I was hoping Curry could do us a favor and in fairness to them they almost did. They had chances to bury Mary's who started slowly. They had trouble in the FB line with direct ball. Most people will name the marren's as Curry's best but I was really impressed with a lot of their runners. They moved the ball great times and for me this was a big jump in standard of previous games I watched. Mulligans sharpness in his link play brought Mary's back into it for me assisted with the scoring power of Eli who's late goal was a scorcher. At 2-6 to 2-3 up Curry had a great chance of opening up Marys again on 28 mins only for the ref to call it back and give a free out to Mary's, I watched it back multiple times and cant see why. That was a big call. But Curry had easy enough point chances missed throughout that could have pushed them on. Pity. Mary's never panicked after the fast start by Curry and got ahead late on but Curry got the last 4pts to make it tight at the end. Fair play to both teams and Mary's would feel relieved.

Obviously very disappointed with our result especially given the strong team we had out. Not sure the draw does either of us any good and we have to hope Drumcliffe take points off Tourlestrane on Saturday to help us out. We hit 13 wides and handed them a goal and some scores and we were 2 pts up late on so plenty of reasons to feel frustrated not to close it out but Drumcliffe did lead for long periods. Drumcliffe played well by all accounts and some of our lads are still to peak. I can see us beating Mary's which will be tough but would 5 pts even be enough. So many permutations so impossible to call and will go down to the last weekend but we have to win.

Coolera look strong favourite's alright.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1696 - 09/09/2024 16:58:40    2569131

Predictions:
Senior
Easkey v Shamrock Gaels.....Shamrock Gaels by 5
Coolera v Tubbercurry....Coolera by 5
Drumcliffe v Tourlestrane....Tourlestrane by 2
St Marys v St Molaise Gaels....St Molaise Gaels by 2

Intermediate:
St Johns v Castleconnor.....Castleconnor by 3
Bunninadden v Owenmore Gaels....Bunninadden by 1
C/Mullinabreena v St Pats....Mullinabreena by 4
Enniscrone v E.Harps.....Harps by 5

Junior
St Michaels v St Marys....Michael's by 3
Shamrock Gaels v Tourlestrane...Shamrock Gaels by 1
Ballymote v Eastern Harps...Ballymote by 8
Cloonacool v Drumcliffe...Cloonacool by 4

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 10/09/2024 09:30:12    2569203

Is the format the top team in each group into a semi final and 2nd vs 3rd in opposite groups in the quarter final or is it something different? Thanks

Redzer99 (Waterford) - Posts: 74 - 10/09/2024 11:57:58    2569234

Replying To Redzer99:  "Is the format the top team in each group into a semi final and 2nd vs 3rd in opposite groups in the quarter final or is it something different? Thanks"
Top 2 teams in semi finals from each group.
Top of group 1 plays second in group 2 .
Bottom 4 in relegation.
3rd team is safe from relegation, and 4th from bottom in group plays bottom.
Time for a change but in fairness this year has some interesting groups and some big games played and more to come.

I think it should be just the bottom two in each group for relegation.

RealSouthSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 104 - 10/09/2024 12:44:25    2569254

Replying To Redzer99:  "Is the format the top team in each group into a semi final and 2nd vs 3rd in opposite groups in the quarter final or is it something different? Thanks"
Top two to semis. Third are done. Fourth and Fifth into relegation semi-finals

shorona (Sligo) - Posts: 123 - 10/09/2024 12:45:57    2569256

First plays second from the opposite group in semi finals. Third team is safe. Fourth plays fifth from other group in relegation semi finals.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 400 - 10/09/2024 13:01:16    2569262

Replying To Sligonian:  "It was a very frustrating start to the weekend when I was informed the streamed game was changed from Molaise/Drumcliffe to Mary's/Curry. On paper our game looked better. Between the club grounds and streamer can we not make it work for the betterment of Sligo gaa. This weekend has 2 huge games in our group which I'm hoping to watch.

Anyways I watched the Mary's/Curry game and it was very enjoyable. I was hoping Curry could do us a favor and in fairness to them they almost did. They had chances to bury Mary's who started slowly. They had trouble in the FB line with direct ball. Most people will name the marren's as Curry's best but I was really impressed with a lot of their runners. They moved the ball great times and for me this was a big jump in standard of previous games I watched. Mulligans sharpness in his link play brought Mary's back into it for me assisted with the scoring power of Eli who's late goal was a scorcher. At 2-6 to 2-3 up Curry had a great chance of opening up Marys again on 28 mins only for the ref to call it back and give a free out to Mary's, I watched it back multiple times and cant see why. That was a big call. But Curry had easy enough point chances missed throughout that could have pushed them on. Pity. Mary's never panicked after the fast start by Curry and got ahead late on but Curry got the last 4pts to make it tight at the end. Fair play to both teams and Mary's would feel relieved.

Obviously very disappointed with our result especially given the strong team we had out. Not sure the draw does either of us any good and we have to hope Drumcliffe take points off Tourlestrane on Saturday to help us out. We hit 13 wides and handed them a goal and some scores and we were 2 pts up late on so plenty of reasons to feel frustrated not to close it out but Drumcliffe did lead for long periods. Drumcliffe played well by all accounts and some of our lads are still to peak. I can see us beating Mary's which will be tough but would 5 pts even be enough. So many permutations so impossible to call and will go down to the last weekend but we have to win.

Coolera look strong favourite's alright."
It's an insurance issue re: hosting the games, really should be responsibility of county board/streaming company but this year they seem to be expecting host club to erect podium and provide indemnity which is obviously problematic! Hopefully it gets resolved next year and they stream more games as the more eyes you get on the product the more marketable it becomes. Mary's Curry turned out to be a great game to show given the high scoring nature. Mind you the Molaise Drumcliffe game would have been another cracker!

Anyways my predictions are below...
Senior
Easkey v Shamrock Gaels...Shamrock Gaels
Coolera v Tubbercurry.... Coolera
Drumcliffe v Tourlestrane... Drumcliffe
St Marys v St Molaise Gaels.... Molaise

Intermediate:
St Johns v Castleconnor..... Johns
Bunninadden v Owenmore Gaels.... Owenmore Gaels
C/Mullinabreena v St Pats.... Coolaney
Enniscrone v E.Harps.... Eastern Harps

Junior
St Michaels v St Marys....Michael's
Shamrock Gaels v Tourlestrane... Tourlestrane
Ballymote v Eastern Harps...Ballymote
Cloonacool v Drumcliffe...Cloonacool

xwave8000 (Sligo) - Posts: 15 - 11/09/2024 06:37:41    2569338

Replying To xwave8000:  "It's an insurance issue re: hosting the games, really should be responsibility of county board/streaming company but this year they seem to be expecting host club to erect podium and provide indemnity which is obviously problematic! Hopefully it gets resolved next year and they stream more games as the more eyes you get on the product the more marketable it becomes. Mary's Curry turned out to be a great game to show given the high scoring nature. Mind you the Molaise Drumcliffe game would have been another cracker!

Anyways my predictions are below...
Senior
Easkey v Shamrock Gaels...Shamrock Gaels
Coolera v Tubbercurry.... Coolera
Drumcliffe v Tourlestrane... Drumcliffe
St Marys v St Molaise Gaels.... Molaise

Intermediate:
St Johns v Castleconnor..... Johns
Bunninadden v Owenmore Gaels.... Owenmore Gaels
C/Mullinabreena v St Pats.... Coolaney
Enniscrone v E.Harps.... Eastern Harps

Junior
St Michaels v St Marys....Michael's
Shamrock Gaels v Tourlestrane... Tourlestrane
Ballymote v Eastern Harps...Ballymote
Cloonacool v Drumcliffe...Cloonacool"
Yes, I would imagine it's an insurance issue. There's very few clubs that have a good existing structure in place with good wifi that enable games to be streamed. Plus you are asking a club to do all the work to stream a match that doesn't involve their own team which is difficult. Markievicz Park not open isn't helping things either but I hate going to group games there because there's zero atmosphere. The group system that's in place is working well but I don't think there should be another free weekend next week. If your winning it's not hard to train but if you are already in relegation you might have to play a meaningless game this weekend, everyone has next weekend off and it might be your turn to the have a bye the following weekend. That's a lot of time to ask fellas to come out for training and morale pretty low as no one wants to be playing relegation games in October.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1868 - 11/09/2024 08:00:03    2569345

Replying To RealSouthSligo:  "Top 2 teams in semi finals from each group.
Top of group 1 plays second in group 2 .
Bottom 4 in relegation.
3rd team is safe from relegation, and 4th from bottom in group plays bottom.
Time for a change but in fairness this year has some interesting groups and some big games played and more to come.

I think it should be just the bottom two in each group for relegation."
Would you really change it? Leads to extremely competitive groups. A team is always in some fight and needs 3/4 wins to guarantee a semi final.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 79 - 11/09/2024 08:53:10    2569349