Donegal GAA thread

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "Devenney was on with Wooly Parkinson earlier and again, nothing negative said about the county board. In fact, from memory he said that "this is a new board". Pardon my ignorance as I genuinely don't know but I thought there were only 2 positions that changed recently, one of them being the chair?"
total wishy washy from Devenney on there and honestly when Parkinson was talking about what a tough job Paddy Carr had, Devenney actually looked ****** off if you look at the video clip

I think Devenney was setting up that the players want Aidan O'Rourke and Paddy Bradley to take things on but Parkinson cut across him. He had a line of players not being happy that the "final word was going to Carr" or something along those lines. He also mentioned these players having experience of "previous regimes" and mentioned McGuinness. Who is left from McGuinness time? It's not hard to figure out how they're trying to frame this

Absolute hit job on Paddy Carr in my view and totally unfair on the man

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 24/03/2023 10:20:23    2466156

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "So, after the meeting last night, and another statement full of padding, it appears that the Official line is that we want Karl to come back.

Please Karl come back, all is forgiven. And if you come back and clear this up, people will hopefully forget about the other debacle.

Signed: No, unsigned again."
It's the county committee, the clubs, who want him back, not the county board. Very important point this. The county board were not pushing for Lacey to be re-instated, it was the delegates, ie the clubs.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 24/03/2023 10:21:31    2466157

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "So, after the meeting last night, and another statement full of padding, it appears that the Official line is that we want Karl to come back.

Please Karl come back, all is forgiven. And if you come back and clear this up, people will hopefully forget about the other debacle.

Signed: No, unsigned again."
Pretty much. I am glad to see at least that they're being unequivocal about any rumours around Lacey's conduct. It was a lot of dúirt bean liom gur dúirt bean léi stuff, but sure the county board fosters that sort of rumour mill atmosphere. This line in particular is important "All finances and governance of the academy have always been the sole responsibility of the County Committee."

I was glad to hear clubs refused to just sign off on a statement of support. maybe things are turning a little. But they can talk all they want about approaching Lacey to return, I don't know how Lacey will feel about it all unless things actually change. Why would he just come back to them now because they're saying sorry but not change anything else? the same problems will be there.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 24/03/2023 10:26:48    2466159

Replying To Breffni1969:  "How do you know I'm outside the county?? Yes I'm from Cavan but 30 years living in Donegal and well entitled to speak."
Answer the question I asked you then. You need to back up your accusations.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 24/03/2023 10:35:35    2466162

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "I am not personally involved in either side of this debacle but I am going to call bull on that post. Stupid comments like that are part of the reason that Donegal GAA is in the positions it's in. Just for ***** and giggles, did you hear Fergus McGee say this, did someone tell you directly that he said that, did you hear third, fourth or fifth hand or did you just make it up?"
1st hand.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 24/03/2023 10:38:03    2466164

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Rent free...."
Is rent expensive in Donegal and Laois this weather?

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 377 - 24/03/2023 10:39:53    2466165

I think Croke Park stepping in to conduct an independent audit is a good thing. A lot of the blame is going in the county board's direction, but there are always two sides to every story. The audit might be painful for some, but if it alleviates the tension and discontent then it can only be a good thing in the long run. That may mean some positions have become untenable. If it does, then so be it.

I hope that Karl Lacey and his team of coaches can be enticed to return. By all accounts the Academy was well structured and moving in the right direction. But it needs to be sustainable as well. Nothing comes for free. If the audit can also highlight flaws, and more importantly propose ways how the Academy can operate in a financially sustainable way then Donegal GAA will benefit.

We have a long way to go to turn things around, but maybe, just maybe we are heading towards turning the corner.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 24/03/2023 11:15:30    2466182

Replying To CCFabu:  "Pretty much. I am glad to see at least that they're being unequivocal about any rumours around Lacey's conduct. It was a lot of dúirt bean liom gur dúirt bean léi stuff, but sure the county board fosters that sort of rumour mill atmosphere. This line in particular is important "All finances and governance of the academy have always been the sole responsibility of the County Committee."

I was glad to hear clubs refused to just sign off on a statement of support. maybe things are turning a little. But they can talk all they want about approaching Lacey to return, I don't know how Lacey will feel about it all unless things actually change. Why would he just come back to them now because they're saying sorry but not change anything else? the same problems will be there."
That's what I thought as well. It's very easy to say you want the man back knowing fine well he won't come back without massive change.

It does however give Karl the opportunity to put it to the delegation that he would return if x,y & z are removed and certain changes made to future governance. The clubs delegates can take it from there.

I will admit that I am biased, I know Karl my whole life, and I refuse to believe that he would ask for anything other than what's best for the future of Donegal Gaa. There are a few clowns on here that were claiming he was at fault, and that he was out to fill his pockets. Such utter nonsense.

ninety-two (Donegal) - Posts: 27 - 24/03/2023 11:20:28    2466183

Three players from south of County get rid of Paddy Carr, one out injured, other coming to end of his county career and the other in fairness the best player in county at present. Carr who has his roots in Fanad area of county didnt fit into the GAA family south of the Gap. Carr should have held firm and did what McGunness did to one of his top players for breach of panel discipline.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 24/03/2023 11:26:20    2466187

Interesting Rte podcast with Rory O'Neill and Ciaran Whelan discussing Paddy Carr's resignation.I always find Whelan to be the best and fairest commentator around.When talking about the general unrest in Donegal O'Neill says a similar situation in his own county years ago is still affecting things to this day.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 24/03/2023 11:44:49    2466193

Replying To CCFabu:  "Pretty much. I am glad to see at least that they're being unequivocal about any rumours around Lacey's conduct. It was a lot of dúirt bean liom gur dúirt bean léi stuff, but sure the county board fosters that sort of rumour mill atmosphere. This line in particular is important "All finances and governance of the academy have always been the sole responsibility of the County Committee."

I was glad to hear clubs refused to just sign off on a statement of support. maybe things are turning a little. But they can talk all they want about approaching Lacey to return, I don't know how Lacey will feel about it all unless things actually change. Why would he just come back to them now because they're saying sorry but not change anything else? the same problems will be there."
What actually needs to be changed?? A head on a plate ??

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 24/03/2023 11:49:58    2466197

Replying To ryan:  "1st hand."
I don't wish to call you a list but if your saying is true then that man has to resign. That's not how a chairman should behave....shocking stuff.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 24/03/2023 12:00:57    2466203

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Three players from south of County get rid of Paddy Carr, one out injured, other coming to end of his county career and the other in fairness the best player in county at present. Carr who has his roots in Fanad area of county didnt fit into the GAA family south of the Gap. Carr should have held firm and did what McGunness did to one of his top players for breach of panel discipline."
Come on now this I would say this has nothing to do with where he's from. Shows how much these players care if they went to that extreme. Players are not fools anymore there not going to be putting their lives on hold if things are not right..the players you mentioned are all guaranteed starters if fit so it's not that there huffing because there not playing.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 24/03/2023 12:06:58    2466206

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Three players from south of County get rid of Paddy Carr, one out injured, other coming to end of his county career and the other in fairness the best player in county at present. Carr who has his roots in Fanad area of county didnt fit into the GAA family south of the Gap. Carr should have held firm and did what McGunness did to one of his top players for breach of panel discipline."
Fabricated nonsense. Geography has nothing to do with any of it, to even suggest that is ridiculous. You think those players in question acted totally of their own accord, in contradiction to the sentiments of the wider squad?

ninety-two (Donegal) - Posts: 27 - 24/03/2023 12:08:03    2466207

So the coaching officer and one other member of the executive got picked apart for 4 hours last night. The chairman has now distanced himself from their side of the fence and he is welcoming Croke Park intervention. It's actually beyond belief that the two lads in question are digging in. Lie after lie picked apart by various people from the floor.

Karl Lacey and the 40 coaches will most likely return when the 2 men in question resign or are removed from their positions. That's the lay of the land.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 24/03/2023 12:11:21    2466209

I believe you are being a bit unfair to the 3 players by putting all the blame on them.
I would imagine they were speaking on behalf of the rest of the panel.
And the reality is if things were not up to the standards they expected, its very hard to follow.
Did they go about it in the wrong way, yes probably.
Should they have done it sooner if they were unhappy, yes they probably should have.
But as a player i am sure its not an easy decision to make, especially as i am sure they all believe paddy carr was a decent man.
Nothing is ever black and white, and i will never be critical of players who put do much time and effort into training and games.
The fact is players from all age groups have been let down by the Donegal committee.

And to say that there is some sort of divide between the south and north of the gap is clutching at straws.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 24/03/2023 12:13:26    2466211

Carr should never have been appointed. Seems like a lovely man but not upto the job regardless of how you feel about player power. Carr has actually gone up in my estimation by stepping aside. He will be well liked and respected for it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 24/03/2023 12:15:11    2466212

Ah here......I thought we were well past that line of thinking in this county.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 24/03/2023 12:17:43    2466215

Replying To ninety-two:  "That's what I thought as well. It's very easy to say you want the man back knowing fine well he won't come back without massive change.

It does however give Karl the opportunity to put it to the delegation that he would return if x,y & z are removed and certain changes made to future governance. The clubs delegates can take it from there.

I will admit that I am biased, I know Karl my whole life, and I refuse to believe that he would ask for anything other than what's best for the future of Donegal Gaa. There are a few clowns on here that were claiming he was at fault, and that he was out to fill his pockets. Such utter nonsense."
I don't think anyone is accusing Karl of filling his pockets, not the 40 odd coaches for that matter.

Cahair O'Kane's second article referred to a select few 'in the muddle'. Hopefully the audit will shed some light on this.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 24/03/2023 12:47:56    2466231

Replying To TheFlaker:  "So the coaching officer and one other member of the executive got picked apart for 4 hours last night. The chairman has now distanced himself from their side of the fence and he is welcoming Croke Park intervention. It's actually beyond belief that the two lads in question are digging in. Lie after lie picked apart by various people from the floor.

Karl Lacey and the 40 coaches will most likely return when the 2 men in question resign or are removed from their positions. That's the lay of the land."
What are the chances of them doing what Paddy Carr did.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 24/03/2023 12:49:33    2466233