Donegal GAA thread

Pauric McShea's article today in DonegalLive.
"Declan Bonner's assertion that we must get Karl back by any means necessary, is something I would agree with. And if that means changes need to take place on the county executive then so be it."

The chairman's role is now untenable. Karl had met with him a few weeks ago and told him that he would return to the academy but changes needed to happen at the executive level. The chairman stood with his mates and did not have the best interests of Donegal GAA in mind. This makes his role untenable.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 15/03/2023 12:35:38    2464013

I said it a long time ago, and was bashed for it. The people in the county board are holding Donegal back for years.
To many of them are there to boost there own profile, rather than for the betterment of Donegal Gaa.
I stated previously that mcguinness was willing to get involved and was laughed at, well we now have proof. The door was shut, when we should have been begging this man to get involved.
Not to mention the disastrous demage that is been done with our young players with so many great coaches stepping down. Coaches that know what it takes to reach the top, coaches that would inspire young players.
The only positive from where I am standing is that i believe we have managed to hit rock bottom, and hopefully heads will roll and finally we get the best involved and get rid of the dead wood.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 15/03/2023 12:45:47    2464017

Heard today that a club is planning a no-confidence motion in the county board. I hope this is true and I hope other clubs join in. Whatever went on, and whether there is blame on both sides or not, the buck stops with the county board. Its their job to manage these situations and if they can't do that they should resign and if they don't resign, they should be removed.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 15/03/2023 13:09:08    2464024

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I was attacked by 2 posters on here when I said Devenney was on side with the coaching officer in question. I was attacked on here when I said Jim was ready to help with more than one coaching ticket. I am delighted it's all coming out. This executive won't survive the year. A big change is coming for the better of football in Donegal."
Hi TheFlaker: You have been proven correct on here since the start of this. Would you now agree that 2 things need to happen, heads have to roll and a "Bring Back Karl" campaign needs to happen in that order.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 15/03/2023 13:22:19    2464030

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I was attacked by 2 posters on here when I said Devenney was on side with the coaching officer in question. I was attacked on here when I said Jim was ready to help with more than one coaching ticket. I am delighted it's all coming out. This executive won't survive the year. A big change is coming for the better of football in Donegal."
Fair play you were on the money from the start here, I suppose theirs mouthpieces on here too getting spoon fed info and spinning the CB line for them.
I hope you are right too and that a big change is coming because it is badly needed, we are in a total mess no doubt about it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 15/03/2023 13:24:08    2464031

Replying To Mfs:  "With all the off the field activity going on at the minute is there any interest in the match next Sunday. Will attendance be effected? Do Donegal fans want to stay up in the league or think considering how management was appointed the best thing would be relegation to drive it home to the board that they got it wrong. Hopefully issues will be sorted soon and lead to better things going forward."
I'm just an ordinary fan and to tell you the truth I'm torn between wanting to support the team and giving money into the coffers of the county board.
I'd say we are more than likely going to get relegated this year anyway depending on what team Mayo bring on Sunday and the Rossies away is a tough match too.
I wouldn't mind a season in div 2 if we got rid of the this shower in the county board and start getting things right up here and give the players at all levels a real chance to be their best.
We have great players up here, the phrase 'horses led by donkeys' springs to mind.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 15/03/2023 13:31:06    2464033

Replying To Mfs:  "With all the off the field activity going on at the minute is there any interest in the match next Sunday. Will attendance be effected? Do Donegal fans want to stay up in the league or think considering how management was appointed the best thing would be relegation to drive it home to the board that they got it wrong. Hopefully issues will be sorted soon and lead to better things going forward."
It really pains me to say it but we haven't a hope in hell of staying up. defensively weak, serious lack of scoring threat up front and nobody seems to be able to hit frees . We've tried to turn a goalkeeper into a free take which isn't fair on him.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 15/03/2023 13:52:24    2464036

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi TheFlaker: You have been proven correct on here since the start of this. Would you now agree that 2 things need to happen, heads have to roll and a "Bring Back Karl" campaign needs to happen in that order."
I would be massively surprised if the current executive survives the year. I think the more that comes out the worse it will get. They still won't comment on anything. Not one representative has come out and challenged anything. That says it all. I still go back to their email that went out to selective journalists. It's hard to believe how stupid they are to put this stuff out and not expect it to become public. Or perhaps they are so arrogant they cannot recognise how bad it looks?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 15/03/2023 14:08:26    2464037

Yet again we are making the national headlines for all the wrong reasons. One thing that has really struck me about all this is that we seem learn everything from the national media. Where is our local media in all this? Are they afraid to report on these matters?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 15/03/2023 14:09:44    2464038

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'm just an ordinary fan and to tell you the truth I'm torn between wanting to support the team and giving money into the coffers of the county board.
I'd say we are more than likely going to get relegated this year anyway depending on what team Mayo bring on Sunday and the Rossies away is a tough match too.
I wouldn't mind a season in div 2 if we got rid of the this shower in the county board and start getting things right up here and give the players at all levels a real chance to be their best.
We have great players up here, the phrase 'horses led by donkeys' springs to mind."
I would hope people try and get out and support their team. I will be going supporting my own county and while it's hard to stay positive I feel really sorry for the players involved. They are in a dreadful situation and it must be difficult to raise morale considering what is going on. Not to mention the coaching officer in question being part of the backroom team!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 15/03/2023 14:12:23    2464041

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'm just an ordinary fan and to tell you the truth I'm torn between wanting to support the team and giving money into the coffers of the county board.
We have great players up here, the phrase 'horses led by donkeys' springs to mind."
Not minding going down to Div 2? Reminds me a certain Donegal clubs getting relegated from Senior, thinking they will win a handy intermediate championship and taking far longer to get back up.

If Donegal don't stay up , you could be in a relegation dogfight to Div 3 next year.....

There is a reason teams fight to stay in Div1. Like Monaghan....

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 15/03/2023 14:31:36    2464046

No harm to McGuinness but he destroyed football once , is that not enough.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 15/03/2023 14:43:34    2464050

Anyone who reads my posts will know that I have been very critical of the County Board for a long time now. And yes, we need change. But, I firmly believe that the main cause of the problems has already departed, the previous Chair. He made himself central to football decisions, outside his area of expertise, and was unnecessarily stuck on the Subs Bench. How many other County Chairmen do you see at that carry on. He appointed Declan, but only after a number of weeks of twoing and froing where he picked his backroom team. I've outlined the series of events here before. A year later then added Rochford, again on his own steam. And then he appointed himself as the 3rd man on this now infamous 3 man committee. The fact is, he had a pre ordained appointment in Aidan O'Rourke, I've outlined why previously. He agitated and agitated until Rory Kavanagh finally withdrew his nomination. The only problem is that as O'Rourke wasn't nominated, so he had to use Paddy Carr as the means to get his chosen man in situ.

But before his term ended, he led the charm offensive with the media articles highlighting his achievements, which culminated in the Grand Opening of the Centre of Excellence as his legacy. Meanwhile, behind the scenes, the whole thing was beginning to crumble. It would remind you of the end of the Celtic Tiger, everyone blaming Cowan, while Bertie had departed on his holliers.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 15/03/2023 14:48:57    2464052

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Anyone who reads my posts will know that I have been very critical of the County Board for a long time now. And yes, we need change. But, I firmly believe that the main cause of the problems has already departed, the previous Chair. He made himself central to football decisions, outside his area of expertise, and was unnecessarily stuck on the Subs Bench. How many other County Chairmen do you see at that carry on. He appointed Declan, but only after a number of weeks of twoing and froing where he picked his backroom team. I've outlined the series of events here before. A year later then added Rochford, again on his own steam. And then he appointed himself as the 3rd man on this now infamous 3 man committee. The fact is, he had a pre ordained appointment in Aidan O'Rourke, I've outlined why previously. He agitated and agitated until Rory Kavanagh finally withdrew his nomination. The only problem is that as O'Rourke wasn't nominated, so he had to use Paddy Carr as the means to get his chosen man in situ.

But before his term ended, he led the charm offensive with the media articles highlighting his achievements, which culminated in the Grand Opening of the Centre of Excellence as his legacy. Meanwhile, behind the scenes, the whole thing was beginning to crumble. It would remind you of the end of the Celtic Tiger, everyone blaming Cowan, while Bertie had departed on his holliers."
Stop talking rubbish Mc grath did not pick bonners backroom team. I agree that changes have to be made and hopefully Lacey will come back. Stop making silly remarks one thing about bonner he is his own man. Maybe bonner should be called in to mediate between the Co board and Lacey . Mc Guinness.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 15/03/2023 15:03:49    2464055

Why would you not support the team on Sunday? They are out training in cold wet nights giving everything in training. They or the current Management have nothing to do with the Academy mess. We need to get fully behind the team on Sunday and try and avoid the threat of Relegation at all costs.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 15/03/2023 15:15:13    2464060

The equine metaphors are very appropriate considering there is enough horse**** going around to ensure we have a bumper rhubarb season.To suggest that we boycot our team to get at the Co Board just adds to this.Find a better excuse for not going to the game.With the link to the championship now getting relegated would be a dangerous thing.Despite all the noise in the background the players are showing plenty of spirit even if they are not playing that well.Get behind the team and hope we can stave off what looks like relegation at this stage.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 15/03/2023 15:19:06    2464061

Dont think Pauric mc Shea should be commenting.Its a well known fact he would have a dislike of a county board officer from a while back.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 15/03/2023 15:19:38    2464062

I honestly don't know where our level is at the minute. We've done some good things, mixed with an awful lot of bad things. I'm sure there is a system in development, but I don't think our men have the legs for it at the moment. I don't know if that is due to lack of fitness, or if it is a case that they are going through a period of heavy training, and the legs haven't been there for games. Our transition has been painfully slow.

I honestly believe that we will struggle again this weekend against Mayo, making the Roscommon game a non event, as we will be as good as relegated. Our points difference, coupled with our head to head results against the other teams at the lower reaches, mean that finishing level on points will not be good enough.

I hope I'm wrong, but it's Division 2 next year, but hopefully not the year after. If you spend more than a year in Division 2, you then become accustomed to playing at that level. Dangerous.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 15/03/2023 15:19:55    2464063

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Anyone who reads my posts will know that I have been very critical of the County Board for a long time now. And yes, we need change. But, I firmly believe that the main cause of the problems has already departed, the previous Chair. He made himself central to football decisions, outside his area of expertise, and was unnecessarily stuck on the Subs Bench. How many other County Chairmen do you see at that carry on. He appointed Declan, but only after a number of weeks of twoing and froing where he picked his backroom team. I've outlined the series of events here before. A year later then added Rochford, again on his own steam. And then he appointed himself as the 3rd man on this now infamous 3 man committee. The fact is, he had a pre ordained appointment in Aidan O'Rourke, I've outlined why previously. He agitated and agitated until Rory Kavanagh finally withdrew his nomination. The only problem is that as O'Rourke wasn't nominated, so he had to use Paddy Carr as the means to get his chosen man in situ.

But before his term ended, he led the charm offensive with the media articles highlighting his achievements, which culminated in the Grand Opening of the Centre of Excellence as his legacy. Meanwhile, behind the scenes, the whole thing was beginning to crumble. It would remind you of the end of the Celtic Tiger, everyone blaming Cowan, while Bertie had departed on his holliers."
Thoroughly agree with your assertions and the root cause. Similarly I mentioned the same person here on more than one occasion including the debacle of seeing him sitting on the bench beside players and management.

Going to be tough now for Donegal to do anything this year with all this rumbling on in the background. Hopefully people get out and support them nonetheless, while at the same time voicing their discontent at the jobs for the boys club. With the power of the people heads can roll and this is what needs to happen at board level.

In relation to DV I listened to OTB last week and really felt disappointed. I have no doubts he knows alot more but seemed to be protecting the CB when the opposite needed to happen. It's hard to disagree with the Flaker that in all likelihood he is very friendly with one or two there protecting their reputations when in reality they need to be gone.

Now with Jim coming out and speaking about the situation their positions are untenable. Time for big change.......I really hope it's coming.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 15/03/2023 15:20:10    2464064

Replying To rorysboys:  "Stop talking rubbish Mc grath did not pick bonners backroom team. I agree that changes have to be made and hopefully Lacey will come back. Stop making silly remarks one thing about bonner he is his own man. Maybe bonner should be called in to mediate between the Co board and Lacey . Mc Guinness."
Rory, I know you are going to back Declan to the hilt, and fair play to you. And you won't find any posts from me criticising Declan, because he deserves huge admiration for all he has given, and indeed achieved, as a player and manager, including his 1st term, his minor and U21 term, and also in his 2nd term. 2018, 2019 and up to the doomed Ulster Final in 2020, we were certainly at the very top. We never recovered from that loss.

But you can't say that McGrath's fingerprints weren't all over his appointment from the start. You will recall that Declan went for interview, as did SPB. Then Declan was given time to get a backroom team together, and came back with McGraths son on board. I personally heard him speak of his involvement in Rochford, and I may be corrected on this, but I believe Declan was away on holidays at the time. McGrath also planted himself on the bench.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 15/03/2023 16:56:30    2464090