Ah here lad, cop on. You didn't bother calling out Peil20 but accuse me of having multiple accounts. I hound people on here for having more than one account. You would see that if you ever went on other threads.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8384 - 13/03/2023 09:51:14 2463653 Link 0 |
everyone and their dog knows about issues at CB level in Donegal going back a long way, this isn't news and clubs missed the boat when they should have elected McGonagle before Christmas (though just reading that poster saying the clubs did actually vote for him and McGee was pushed through, first I'm hearing of that is that true?). The Academy stuff is just a symptom of everything else in Donegal GAA. CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 173 - 13/03/2023 12:24:57 2463686 Link 0 |
I don't think that's true that the executive votes count for more? Each member of the executive gets one vote.
SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 13/03/2023 13:17:51 2463704 Link 0 |
Well said CCFabu. I don't know anything about the current Chairman, he may be a very nice man, but I don't know if he's up to the job. Time will tell. But we certainly have historically had problems at this level. A really dangerous precedent was set when the transparency of the media being able to report on County Board meetings was removed. Imagine what would go on in the Dail if there were no reporters present. Okay, it may lead to some grandstanding (like politicians), but most people can see through that. I've outlined here before that I believe that the previous Chair certainly had his fingerprints in Senior team affairs. He appointed people to Bonners backroom team with no consultation. And how in the name of God you can have a Vice Chair from the same club, and expect good governance. Some might say that it is better to have the County Board all singing off the same hymn sheet, but when you have one man calling the tune the whole time, that's not in the greater interest of the County. It's certainly ironic that the County Board statement continually refers to governance issues with the Academy, when it appears that is what Karl was requesting in the first place, oversight. Where is the governance surrounding their activities, when all debate (or indeed if any) is behind closed doors. They seek transparency, but refuse others the same opportunity. Croke Park does not hold the answers, they will protect the County Board. Change must come from the clubs. And that begins with clubs either seeking more from their own delegates, or replacing them with delegates who will do the job. SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 777 - 13/03/2023 13:25:37 2463708 Link 2 |
Well summarised, the question now is do the county board want to solve the issues or will they just stay quiet and wait for it do go away? The clubs should be demanding a meeting and not waiting another 3 weeks. The issue is way way to important to be sweeping it under the carpet and hoping it goes away. That's not leadership or good governance, which seems to be an important matter to the county board but there is zero evidence over the last while. Is good governance having 2 of the 3 members who conducted the interviews for the senior job now having roles on the appointed management team. ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 748 - 13/03/2023 13:43:32 2463717 Link 2 |
I've been trying ti get this across this past few days, Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 13/03/2023 14:08:36 2463726 Link 4 |
Anyone catch an Gaeltacht action over the weekend? beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 13/03/2023 14:30:00 2463729 Link 0 |
I couldn't help thinking while watching the whole Gary Lineker saga that there are similarities with our Academy situation.You have a much respected and loved former footballer up against an organisation.Lineker tweeted comments that annoyed the BBC and Lacey said thigs in a newspaper article that irked the Co Board.These organisatios should know that regardless of the issues involved public opinion will always support their heroes.The BBC have apologised to Lineker which will resolve the problem along with some clarifications regarding future comments.Is their a blue print here for us .Apologise to Lacey and clarify how the Academy is going to be run.The DL debate should be good to night with Brendan Deveney and Eamon McGee talking about the issue. gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1149 - 13/03/2023 15:45:18 2463752 Link 1 |
Ok could be wrong. Just what I heard. Open to correction..
TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 13/03/2023 16:55:13 2463768 Link 0 |
It's not that their vote counts for more but it seems like they all vote for people that's on the board. So that's why there's very little change on the executive. It's just like musical chairs..
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 13/03/2023 17:15:44 2463772 Link 1 |
Human nature to vote for your friends I guess.
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1149 - 13/03/2023 19:06:10 2463790 Link 0 |
Just listening to the DL debate with Brendan Devenney and Eamon McGee on here on a recorded interview from earlier today I think, it's very hard to make sense of the academy situation etc from an ordinary fans viewpoint, Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3186 - 13/03/2023 19:35:43 2463797 Link 0 |
They could vote as a block but I'd say this Lacey issue will break some relationships. Seán Dunnion not a happy man at the meeting last Monday. So, Mayo to bring half a team up on Sunday? SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 13/03/2023 20:13:55 2463804 Link 0 |
how come people in the GAA seem to argue over silly stuff listened to DL debate i am as far back as ever makes no sense seems egos biggest problem all round highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 14/03/2023 10:44:40 2463839 Link 0 |
I agree ,I'd say theres a bit of fault on both sides that got blown out of proportion and ended up in a complee mess that will cost Donegal dear in the future. What we got is a failure to communicate and resolve issues. heyday (Laois) - Posts: 35 - 14/03/2023 12:10:50 2463863 Link 1 |
Preview of Sunday's game: GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7978 - 14/03/2023 12:57:15 2463876 Link 1 |
Hi GreenandRed: Is that a Fr Ted production?
AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 683 - 14/03/2023 14:46:20 2463902 Link 0 |
Regarding the DL Debate, the first thing that struck me was DV seems to have a lot of respect for McGee, and as I've said before, he seems like a nice man. And as I've previously stated, the problem appears to have originated with the inadequacies of the last regime. SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 777 - 14/03/2023 15:14:19 2463906 Link 2 |
Neither party are remarking on the issue any more and maybe that suits both Lacey and the CB, but it definitely must suit some 3rd parties. The silence is protecting something, and as many have noted this is a legacy issue which pre-dates the current executive. Still, no doubt that the handling of it in current day is a resigning matter to those in the board directly involved with the manner in which the fall-out has happened. If someone is being protected at a cost to Donegal GAA then someone with responsibility needs to die on that sword. SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 452 - 14/03/2023 15:55:36 2463911 Link 0 |
Big thanks to our Mayo friend the Flaker for his excellent on point insights. Some of the responses have being laughable it must be said. I sincerely hope through the power of the people that changes are made for the better of Donegal football. I'm truly sick to the stomach that Jim made himself available in a supportive role. panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2856 - 14/03/2023 15:57:19 2463913 Link 1 |