Donegal GAA thread

Not replying to the bluffer who copies and pastes other people's words and sets up other accounts. Devenney was silent when he had the main platform in the county then talks this week as he was told to by somebody. The silence was deafening before then. Everyone has skin in the game.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8384 - 08/03/2023 17:25:59    2462851

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I don't know how anyone takes Devenney seriously. A bit like Mortimer from my own county, a super footballer in his day but a bit of a header outside of that. No wonder himself and Wooly Parkinson love chatting tom each other."
Feel free to comment about past players from your county, but don't do it about ours, you wouldn't say it to Brendan's face, you're all over this page for the past few weeks as a mouthpiece for someone, but haven't once given us a source, I don't buy the "I know someone" postion you've taken. Brendan Devanneys piece is very balanced on OTB.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 08/03/2023 18:24:43    2462865

Replying To Commodore:  "Yeah I expected Kieran Tobin to take a wing back role, like permanently, he is a class player.

The question then is what is our strongest back six?

2. Mark Curran
3. Brendan McCole
4. Caolan Ward
5. Eoghan Ban Gallagher
6. Stephen McMenamin
7. Jack McKelvey

Or

2. Eoghan Ban Gallagher
3. Brendan McCole
4. Stephen McMenamin
5. Caolan McColgan
6. Jack McKelvey
7. Kieran Tobin

Or do we mix Ryan McHugh and Peadar Mogan in there too?"
Don't think mark Curran has done much wrong this year in fact possibly the most consistent player so far in 23

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 08/03/2023 19:25:24    2462876

Replying To TheFlaker:  "They don't answer to anyone that's the whole point. They refused to release information when requested by Karl Lacey who was disputing some of their claims. And they refused to take any questions from club delegates on this matter, and refused point blank again on Monday night. So when you say the county board answer to the clubs, they really don't."
Are you from and based in Mayo or in Donegal?

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 09/03/2023 08:33:24    2462899

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Brendan Devenney delivered the most balanced synopsis of those whole sorry message lastnight on Off the Ball. Well worth a listen."
I'll check that out, I was listening to DL debate on Monday evening and he mentioned the Academy debacle a little, understandably trying to not get too heavily involved at this point when not everything is in the public domain.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 09/03/2023 08:36:00    2462900

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Feel free to comment about past players from your county, but don't do it about ours, you wouldn't say it to Brendan's face, you're all over this page for the past few weeks as a mouthpiece for someone, but haven't once given us a source, I don't buy the "I know someone" postion you've taken. Brendan Devanneys piece is very balanced on OTB."
Lol a lot of men rattled on here. People annoyed at facts. Devenney a good friend of the coaching officer who is controlling everything but I am sure you know that already?? What did I say about Brendan? He was a great player but hardly a serious commentator. Fair play to him has a few gigs and is a bit of craic same as Wolly. Feel free to point out anything I have said on here that isn't true.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8384 - 09/03/2023 09:52:04    2462908

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi eunans4ever" pitch dimensions have been well covered on other forums. Rookie mistake by therock2121"
Yea certainly was.

Bit like kilcar trying to win championships in the boardroom off Glenties/Fintown

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1693 - 09/03/2023 10:53:38    2462922

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol a lot of men rattled on here. People annoyed at facts. Devenney a good friend of the coaching officer who is controlling everything but I am sure you know that already?? What did I say about Brendan? He was a great player but hardly a serious commentator. Fair play to him has a few gigs and is a bit of craic same as Wolly. Feel free to point out anything I have said on here that isn't true."
That's just not true tho is it - DV is NOT good friends with the coaching officer.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1693 - 09/03/2023 10:54:32    2462923

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol a lot of men rattled on here. People annoyed at facts. Devenney a good friend of the coaching officer who is controlling everything but I am sure you know that already?? What did I say about Brendan? He was a great player but hardly a serious commentator. Fair play to him has a few gigs and is a bit of craic same as Wolly. Feel free to point out anything I have said on here that isn't true."
Like your earlier fact that Brendan Devenney never mentioned the Academy debacle on his DL debate show on radio, which was incorrect!!! Hardly factual are you, more trolling than factual, but the real question is for whos benefit are you so vocal on here on the Donegal page?

Brendan Devenney is on good terms and friendly with people on both sides of this Academy issue, like many of us who love Donegal football and want to see us back winning All Irelands (Which we are capable of doing), he rightly didn't want to get too heavily into it. It's unfair to label him as biased when in reality he tried to remain unbiased and not jump into it in any great depth.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 09/03/2023 11:08:32    2462928

Replying To eunans4ever:  "That's just not true tho is it - DV is NOT good friends with the coaching officer."
A Mayo troll, Possibly the same person who posts as Bainisteoir (National), Cbar (Mayo) and Ulsterman (Antrim) who I discovered to be actually the same Mayo person a few years back, who I think has a couple of other accounts on here, including Donegal accounts.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 09/03/2023 11:20:12    2462931

Replying To Commodore:  "Like your earlier fact that Brendan Devenney never mentioned the Academy debacle on his DL debate show on radio, which was incorrect!!! Hardly factual are you, more trolling than factual, but the real question is for whos benefit are you so vocal on here on the Donegal page?

Brendan Devenney is on good terms and friendly with people on both sides of this Academy issue, like many of us who love Donegal football and want to see us back winning All Irelands (Which we are capable of doing), he rightly didn't want to get too heavily into it. It's unfair to label him as biased when in reality he tried to remain unbiased and not jump into it in any great depth."
Sorry but he only mentioned it this week. Absolute radio silence on it until then. I mean if you don't thin that's odd fair play to you. A weekly GAA show on all things Donegal and he ignores it weekly, on request from the county board. He wasn't the only one to be fair. I know more about it than most, and that seems to annoy people on here. The academy will proceed under the guidance of the coaching officer and the full time coaches employed in the county. They are going to try and convince some of the coaches to come back and I am sure some of them will. I didn't realise Brendan was so adored on here. I am not personally attacking him, I stated he has skin in the game and don't take him seriously as a pundit, and loads of people in the county don't either. Similar to Parkinson in Laois.

The county board refused to take any questions from delegates in any form this week. That is absolutely crazy. A closed shop with a few lads holding power and do not want to answer questions from clubs because they can't give all the information being requested. Feel free to dispute any of my claims on the academy now and when I first posted.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8384 - 09/03/2023 11:43:43    2462941

Replying To Commodore:  "A Mayo troll, Possibly the same person who posts as Bainisteoir (National), Cbar (Mayo) and Ulsterman (Antrim) who I discovered to be actually the same Mayo person a few years back, who I think has a couple of other accounts on here, including Donegal accounts."
Are you having a laugh? lol. There are multiple accounts on here. Peiladoir20m has already been called out on here by some of your own county men, but you seem more bothered by me instead of calling out actual bluffers.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8384 - 09/03/2023 11:50:47    2462944

Replying To ryan:  "Here is an email that was sent to both Highland radio and the Donegal news prior to the county board releasing their statement last week.

A Chara,
This statement was released to the clubs of the county this afternoon.
It will be released via our website after 6 p.m.
As a journalist who held firm with us while we dealt with this challenging issue, I am issuing it to you under embargo, until it appears on our social media platforms.
I thank you for your professionalism and journalistic ethic and trust that you will hold this in strictest confidence until it is officially released.
I look forward to working with you in the future.
Kind regards
Is mise le meas,
Fiona"
"As a journalist who held firm with us" is a pretty disturbing line.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 683 - 09/03/2023 13:00:18    2462962

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Yea certainly was.

Bit like kilcar trying to win championships in the boardroom off Glenties/Fintown"
Killing 2 birds with the 1 stone there.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 683 - 09/03/2023 13:01:34    2462963

Replying To AudiMan:  ""As a journalist who held firm with us" is a pretty disturbing line."
It's unreal isn't it. Laughable what is and was going on. They don't even have the cop on to realise how this looks. The loudmouths on here will no doubt be silent on this one.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8384 - 09/03/2023 14:12:03    2462987

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Yea certainly was.

Bit like kilcar trying to win championships in the boardroom off Glenties/Fintown"
Grow up lad you're becoming very boring. What's your opinion on the academy for what it's worth.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 09/03/2023 16:10:04    2463026

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It's unreal isn't it. Laughable what is and was going on. They don't even have the cop on to realise how this looks. The loudmouths on here will no doubt be silent on this one."
Professionalism and journalistic ethic stood out for me. Suggesting that anyone who reported on the academy was unprofessional and unethical.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 748 - 09/03/2023 16:22:14    2463028

Replying To ryan:  "Professionalism and journalistic ethic stood out for me. Suggesting that anyone who reported on the academy was unprofessional and unethical."
Is there a case for a petition to get the county board to step down?

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 09/03/2023 16:58:43    2463043

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It's unreal isn't it. Laughable what is and was going on. They don't even have the cop on to realise how this looks. The loudmouths on here will no doubt be silent on this one."
The only loud mouth on herr is you - shouting down anybody with a different view to your own.

Is that what constitutes debate in Mayo?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1198 - 09/03/2023 18:09:30    2463063

Replying To AudiMan:  ""As a journalist who held firm with us" is a pretty disturbing line."
The same journalists who are not allowed in to report on County Board meetings, to let the GAA people of the county know what's actually happening. The whole fiasco is like George Orwells Animal Farm.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 777 - 09/03/2023 18:39:08    2463067