Donegal GAA thread

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Flaker, I disagreed and still do with some of your finer points around what happened with the managerial appointment, as it's incongruent with info I have heard and makes certain individuals look more blameless than they should be.

Notwithstanding this, everything you've mentioned so far has been relatively spot-on with regards to the Academy and the Executive. The only viable solution after yesterday's events is an independent audit of Donegal GAA. There are many fingers to be pointed, but the clubs need to learn their lesson. There is an appetite for change amongst even the members of the executive, but the clubs have yet to vote to support that mandate."
No bother at all and the full story of the managerial appointment isn't 100 per cent clear from any side so that's of course something that can be debated. I just find it hilarious that some lad on here hasn't a notion of what is going on and the only thing he has thrown out there is incorrect figures about how much it costs to run the academy. That is information that has been released by the County board to try and get that narrative out there with people who don't know what is going on.

The same poster seems to think I am here on behalf of the academy posting information. I can't even tell you how funny that is. Nobody knows who I am and nobody is aware I have a username on HS. I have been here for years. I just don't like people posting half baked stories to blacken the name of good grassroots coaches on the ground in Donegal. There is a serious divide on here on some issues as evident by posts about various things on here. Depending on which club you are from seems to decide how you post opinions on all matters including team selection. Petty stuff

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 10/02/2023 13:27:28    2457652

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "We scored enough against Kerry didn't we? Great to see Oisin Gallen back playing, hope he's fit for the Monaghan game now, if he puts Hughie in at FF it gives us a great option to vary the attack, big O'Shea for Mayo done well the last day in a similar role,
I think Hughie hasn't the pace for the middle third anymore, he'd be good in the full back line too in certain games, I'm hopeful enough still after our showing against Kerry, potential is still good when we have a full squad to pick from,
I have no idea about what's going on with the resignations etc, but I hope it's all sorted out soon for the good of the GAA in the county, we have enough problems without making more for ourselves by infighting."
We only put up 13 scores - yes got away with it that day.

13 scores will not win u many championship matches.

We just don't score enough at the minute to be serious.

None of this is down to the big man retiring also - outside of free taking I don't remember him scoring too much from open play the last few years…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1694 - 10/02/2023 13:45:17    2457658

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Loose rumours? Everything I said would happen is happening? You think I am guessing and being lucky? Honestly the comments here are embarrassing. Lockjaw I think summed it up perfectly when he summarised why McConagle was overlooked for the chairman job. This county board is for the road and reform is coming. You should be delighted."
I only asked you what your own opinion was from the outside looking in at all this mess and not what other peoples opinions were.

Be nice to hear what you actually think yourself as an outsider rather than expressing all the doom and gloom of others from within.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1694 - 10/02/2023 13:48:59    2457660

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I only asked you what your own opinion was from the outside looking in at all this mess and not what other peoples opinions were.

Be nice to hear what you actually think yourself as an outsider rather than expressing all the doom and gloom of others from within."
We had our well publicised controversies from 2015 until present day and finances are still being straightened out but the appointment process this year for us was very black and white. In Donegal there seems to be a huge power struggle and the jobs for the boys and keep forward thinking people out seems to be at the forefront. They fear the likes of Lacey, Jim, Murphy etc because they know things will change and their incompetence will be shown up.

People can debate how much money should be spent on the academy that is totally fair and reasonable but the county board threw out figures to try and make out it was purely economics. It absolutely isn't and they have up until now refused to give the academy a breakdown of these figures when challenged. That says it all really? Kicking the can down the road and hoping it dies down.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 10/02/2023 14:06:02    2457664

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I only asked you what your own opinion was from the outside looking in at all this mess and not what other peoples opinions were.

Be nice to hear what you actually think yourself as an outsider rather than expressing all the doom and gloom of others from within."
He can't think for himself.

As lockjaw said, he's only the messenger...

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1200 - 10/02/2023 14:09:24    2457665

Replying To peiledoir20:  "He can't think for himself.

As lockjaw said, he's only the messenger..."
Like yourself so posting incorrect figures and forming your opinions on them. Good work. So is December to mid February months or not? Just worried about your maths lad.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 10/02/2023 14:27:40    2457670

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Like yourself so posting incorrect figures and forming your opinions on them. Good work. So is December to mid February months or not? Just worried about your maths lad."
You haven't posted on your own county forum in over a week and have been flat out on here on someone else's behalf since.

I think you have bigger issues than my Maths....

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1200 - 10/02/2023 14:32:43    2457673

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Like yourself so posting incorrect figures and forming your opinions on them. Good work. So is December to mid February months or not? Just worried about your maths lad."
I think my Maths should be the least of your worries

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1200 - 10/02/2023 14:40:54    2457679

Replying To peiledoir20:  "You haven't posted on your own county forum in over a week and have been flat out on here on someone else's behalf since.

I think you have bigger issues than my Maths...."
Someone else's behalf? Lol. What do you think I should be posting about? There is no game on this week. You just have your nose out of joint because you are annoyed multiple posters and not taking your stance. You ignore everything posted to you about finances, timelines, county board appointments and have nothing to say of substance. Your only comeback is telling me to stick to the Mayo forum. I have the facts, other people have posted similar. But sure keep ignoring everyone and shooting the messenger.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 10/02/2023 14:54:44    2457688

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Someone else's behalf? Lol. What do you think I should be posting about? There is no game on this week. You just have your nose out of joint because you are annoyed multiple posters and not taking your stance. You ignore everything posted to you about finances, timelines, county board appointments and have nothing to say of substance. Your only comeback is telling me to stick to the Mayo forum. I have the facts, other people have posted similar. But sure keep ignoring everyone and shooting the messenger."
Where Mayo not playing Armagh last weekend or did I imagine that? Great game by the way.

Anyway, keep batting away here if you want but I know I wouldn't be wasting my time vehemently arguing on another county's forum. And if you manage to solve 'our' crisis fair play to you. I'd be the first to congratulate you and I mean that.

But you won't as sadly your strings are being pulled by someone who can't even bring the points forward themselves. Not one to get their hands dirty. I just hope they don't cause as big as a divide as they did in their own club last year.

Good luck to Mayo for 2023 and hopefully you'll see sense sooner rather than later.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1200 - 10/02/2023 15:04:05    2457693

What is becoming clear is that this 400,000 figure bandied about regarding the expenditure of the academy is simply a brush to tar Lacey with. And a few posters here have wanted to portray the man as greedy. To protect the power merchants who want to keep playing politics. Open to correction here, but the 400,000 figure also covers 6 full time coaches who go around the county? Each one of the various age groups would cost a certain amount annually anyway if no academy was in place. It seems county board doesn't welcome transparency and the more vague, the better. Appointment process was omertà so no surprise.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1414 - 10/02/2023 15:08:11    2457695

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Where Mayo not playing Armagh last weekend or did I imagine that? Great game by the way.

Anyway, keep batting away here if you want but I know I wouldn't be wasting my time vehemently arguing on another county's forum. And if you manage to solve 'our' crisis fair play to you. I'd be the first to congratulate you and I mean that.

But you won't as sadly your strings are being pulled by someone who can't even bring the points forward themselves. Not one to get their hands dirty. I just hope they don't cause as big as a divide as they did in their own club last year.

Good luck to Mayo for 2023 and hopefully you'll see sense sooner rather than later."
Senior Gaeltacht Champinoship

Gweedore v Kilcar
St Nauls v Downings
Cloughaneely v Ardara
Glenties v Milford
Dungloe v Termon
Glenswilly v St Michael's
Fanad Gael v N Columba

Glenfin bye to next round

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 10/02/2023 15:09:08    2457696

Replying To eunans4ever:  "We only put up 13 scores - yes got away with it that day.

13 scores will not win u many championship matches.

We just don't score enough at the minute to be serious.

None of this is down to the big man retiring also - outside of free taking I don't remember him scoring too much from open play the last few years…"
We scored 13 times in the 2012 All Ireland final and it was enough to win Sam, I wouldn't worry too much about our scoring ability with the lads we have to come back, I'd be more concerned with our ability to defend and our style of play,
I hope Paddy Carr gets us playing more direct football.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3188 - 10/02/2023 15:33:13    2457701

The financial year of Donegal GAA runs from October 1st to September 30th. This was changed to allow for the treasurer to produce the financial accounts in plenty of time in advance of county convention. County convention took place in mid December 2022. That is well over 2 months to prepare the financial report. When was report forwarded to clubs? 3 hours prior to start of convention. I am also led to believe the academy have been requesting a detailed breakdown of their costings for 2022 since October and this has not been forthcoming.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 748 - 10/02/2023 16:09:54    2457711

The financial year of Donegal GAA runs from October 1st to September 30th. This was changed to allow for the treasurer to produce the financial accounts in plenty of time in advance of county convention. County convention took place in mid December 2022. That is well over 2 months to prepare the financial report. When was report forwarded to clubs? 3 hours prior to start of convention. I am also led to believe the academy have been requesting a detailed breakdown of their costings for 2022 since October and this has not been forthcoming.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 748 - 10/02/2023 17:39:11    2457730

Replying To peiledoir20:  "He can't think for himself.

As lockjaw said, he's only the messenger..."
Hi peiledoir, I don't mean to sound rude, but since you mentioned thinking for yourself, you just lifted a post I made on another forum and copied it word for word and pasted it here. But then, what else do you expect for THS!

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 11/02/2023 14:03:39    2457803

Replying To SignTheContract:  "Hi peiledoir, I don't mean to sound rude, but since you mentioned thinking for yourself, you just lifted a post I made on another forum and copied it word for word and pasted it here. But then, what else do you expect for THS!"
Hi SignTheContract: would I be correct in saying you can't be more DOWN THE MIDDLE than that.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 683 - 11/02/2023 15:33:04    2457813

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi SignTheContract: would I be correct in saying you can't be more DOWN THE MIDDLE than that."
Yes! It was DTM that brought this to my attention. I haven't posted here in years!

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 11/02/2023 19:54:10    2457858

Replying To SignTheContract:  "Hi peiledoir, I don't mean to sound rude, but since you mentioned thinking for yourself, you just lifted a post I made on another forum and copied it word for word and pasted it here. But then, what else do you expect for THS!"
Ha ha all his smart comments. Some bluffer.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 12/02/2023 11:17:24    2457898

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ha ha all his smart comments. Some bluffer."
Be interesting to see how he gets out of this. Ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2616 - 12/02/2023 11:37:34    2457899