Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah it's not the time of year to be making sweeping statements about which players will cut the mustard or not.
I was just looking at the fixtures there for the league. It's going to be very tough. Obviously we'd all like for Donegal to remain a Division One team. But I'm just wondering if some of you would sacrifice Division One status if it meant we blooded 4 or 5 newcomers.

Are we learning an awful lot by playing our established players in every game with a view to just surviving in Division One? We're never likely to win the League anway. With the great man Murphy stepping away, might we be better off for a year in Division 2 to rebuild under the radar? I know that the League feeds into the Championship now and we'd need to be careful but."
You often hear talk about this team or that team being better off going down to Inter or Junior or whatever the case may be.I wouldn't subscribe to that idea at all.Once you go down it can be very hard to get back up again and as you say with the championship link now Div 2 is going to be more competitive than ever.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 10/01/2023 16:09:20    2451911

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I seen Paddy Carrs interview with Donegal Daily, he seems a very open likeable fella and I have a notion he is going to try and get us playing more attacking football,
I wish him all the best it will take time to find the players he wants etc so I'm not expecting anything massive in 2023 but you never know, big game coming up against Kerry soon.
Glad to see he is using the McKenna Cup as it should be used to blood new players, can't judge these lads on one performance either."
Why wudnt we expect big things in 2023 you have a very negative attitude. Bonner and Mc Guinness won Ulster in their first year. No reason why we can't again. We'll be missing a few from last year but langan Conor o donnell etc will be a year older plus we'll have Oisin gallen back. So I'm expecting a good year you'll get a bounce the first year. . I wudnt be renewing my season if i thought otherwise..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 10/01/2023 16:26:04    2451914

Replying To rorysboys:  "Why wudnt we expect big things in 2023 you have a very negative attitude. Bonner and Mc Guinness won Ulster in their first year. No reason why we can't again. We'll be missing a few from last year but langan Conor o donnell etc will be a year older plus we'll have Oisin gallen back. So I'm expecting a good year you'll get a bounce the first year. . I wudnt be renewing my season if i thought otherwise.."
The reason is Paddy is just in the job and he will need time to find the players he wants etc as I said, of course I hope he wins all ahead of him but I'd be expecting more in 2024 lets say when he has got the team bedded in and playing the way he wants.
I'd rather we stayed in div 1 too, div 2 could be hard to get back up from but as we all know Championship is were it's at, nobody really cares about winning the league far as I see.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 10/01/2023 16:41:40    2451916

Replying To gunman:  "You often hear talk about this team or that team being better off going down to Inter or Junior or whatever the case may be.I wouldn't subscribe to that idea at all.Once you go down it can be very hard to get back up again and as you say with the championship link now Div 2 is going to be more competitive than ever."
Yeah you could be right. I suppose the ideal scenario would be if we could blood a few new lads and get the 3 wins or whatever is needed to retain Div 1 status. Easier said than done though.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 10/01/2023 16:55:50    2451919

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah you could be right. I suppose the ideal scenario would be if we could blood a few new lads and get the 3 wins or whatever is needed to retain Div 1 status. Easier said than done though."
Indeed we have always found it tough staying up .

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 10/01/2023 19:16:17    2451953

Replying To rorysboys:  "Why wudnt we expect big things in 2023 you have a very negative attitude. Bonner and Mc Guinness won Ulster in their first year. No reason why we can't again. We'll be missing a few from last year but langan Conor o donnell etc will be a year older plus we'll have Oisin gallen back. So I'm expecting a good year you'll get a bounce the first year. . I wudnt be renewing my season if i thought otherwise.."
Factually incorrect, as Bonner did not win anything in his first spell as manager of Donegal. So to compare Bonner with the great Jim mcguinness is laughable.

As regards the st eunans players, i heard that the two o'donnells are not going to be in the panel this year. Which will be a big loss to the team and panel.
Its a pity, because i would have loved to see a forward line with both niall and shane in it, along with hopefully a fully fit gallon and i would even consider using mcfadden in full forward as a target. Let all the forwards feed off him.

Our defence is a worry, and our management need to be in the defensive players ears that they need to be more aggressive. You would hope o'rourke would get that sorted as he was an extremely aggressive player himself.

But best of luck to our new management, and i look forward to following Donegal again, the only thing the supporter's ask for is a fully committed and prepared team to be proud off.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 10/01/2023 19:47:54    2451956

17 point loss for LKIT

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 10/01/2023 21:02:33    2451968

Replying To The keeper:  "Factually incorrect, as Bonner did not win anything in his first spell as manager of Donegal. So to compare Bonner with the great Jim mcguinness is laughable.

As regards the st eunans players, i heard that the two o'donnells are not going to be in the panel this year. Which will be a big loss to the team and panel.
Its a pity, because i would have loved to see a forward line with both niall and shane in it, along with hopefully a fully fit gallon and i would even consider using mcfadden in full forward as a target. Let all the forwards feed off him.

Our defence is a worry, and our management need to be in the defensive players ears that they need to be more aggressive. You would hope o'rourke would get that sorted as he was an extremely aggressive player himself.

But best of luck to our new management, and i look forward to following Donegal again, the only thing the supporter's ask for is a fully committed and prepared team to be proud off."
You made a promise to yourself that you weren't going to respond to my posts .that didn't last long. That's the effect I have on you.lol. This is a gaa forum so please keep your dislike for bonner and love for Mc Guinness out of it. Enjoy following donegal this year..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 11/01/2023 08:47:05    2451975

Replying To The keeper:  "Factually incorrect, as Bonner did not win anything in his first spell as manager of Donegal. So to compare Bonner with the great Jim mcguinness is laughable.

But best of luck to our new management, and i look forward to following Donegal again, the only thing the supporter's ask for is a fully committed and prepared team to be proud off."
That's a shame if the O'Donnells aren't going to be involved. One of the few positive outcomes of 2022 was Shane's integration into the team and how well he played. He's a very good link player and is well capable of landing a few scores from play every game. We all know what Niall can do when fully fit as well. A very intelligent player and a good free-taker, possibly the best candidate to take over right-footed free-taking duties with Murphy gone?

I don't know what the reasons are, but maybe over the weeks and months ahead some dialogue could be established and the two lads will rejoin the panel? It's a difficult situation for Carr. I'm sure he'd want every possible player capabale of making an impact involved in the squad and there's no doubt the two O'Donnells fall into that category.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 11/01/2023 09:26:37    2451978

Replying To rorysboys:  "Wee question lad what is the story with a few eunans lads not being available. A man like you in the know might keep the good folk like our selves informed.."
You said previously you weren't going to engage with me - have you had a change of heart ?

On the last part of your statment I certainly wouldn't have you in that category

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 11/01/2023 09:39:52    2451983

Replying To ryan:  "Eunans are gearing up for ulster club next year. Preparation's have started already."
That's just not true tho is it.

The truth is we have our eyes on a much bigger prize………….

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 11/01/2023 09:40:48    2451984

Bonner did not win ulster in his first year……..

Are u only a recent supporter ??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 11/01/2023 09:41:49    2451985

You wouldn't renew your season ????

Thought you were donegal no.1 die hard supporter who goes to all the games no matter what………..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 11/01/2023 09:43:14    2451986

It's quite comical all the rumours / lies flying around since the start of the year about our lads going on some sort of protest and refusing to join the county set up.

Went from none of Eunan's players been involved at all - to now all but the O Donnell brothers.

I never listen to or engage in idle gossip - some people should find a hobby or get into a good box set to watch or something to pass the time..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 11/01/2023 09:46:49    2451987

Replying To eunans4ever:  "It's quite comical all the rumours / lies flying around since the start of the year about our lads going on some sort of protest and refusing to join the county set up.

Went from none of Eunan's players been involved at all - to now all but the O Donnell brothers.

I never listen to or engage in idle gossip - some people should find a hobby or get into a good box set to watch or something to pass the time.."
You didn't answer my question. Bonner win Ulster in his first year in his second term. Is that good enough for a perfectionist like your self.. hope to see yous all tonight.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 11/01/2023 10:41:57    2451999

Replying To eunans4ever:  "That's just not true tho is it.

The truth is we have our eyes on a much bigger prize…………."
Have you not learned anything from last year????

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 274 - 11/01/2023 10:58:24    2452002

am I reading this right rory that you wouldn't renew the season ticket if you thought we wouldn't be winning Ulster this year. so really if you think we're a team without a chance of winning, you won't support us.

and after all the grief you give literally everyone on here about their support levels...

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 11/01/2023 14:25:47    2452049

Replying To eunans4ever:  "You wouldn't renew your season ????

Thought you were donegal no.1 die hard supporter who goes to all the games no matter what……….."
I'm beaten to the punch with this point and by a eunans man as well ah dhia it's a rough day

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 11/01/2023 14:27:36    2452052

Replying To CCFabu:  "am I reading this right rory that you wouldn't renew the season ticket if you thought we wouldn't be winning Ulster this year. so really if you think we're a team without a chance of winning, you won't support us.

and after all the grief you give literally everyone on here about their support levels..."
What's this a bash Rory day. I stand by everything I said last year., the truth hurts

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 11/01/2023 15:14:29    2452066

Is there any chance this oneupmanship and pettiness could be left behind. Life is too short lads.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 11/01/2023 15:26:51    2452069