Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "What's this a bash Rory day. I stand by everything I said last year., the truth hurts"
if the truth hurts you must spout a lot of guff so. all your posts do to me is make my eyes roll

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 94 - 11/01/2023 15:33:37    2452073

I'm looking forward to the season now, it'll be interesting to see who makes the step up as leader with Michael gone. he was such a huge figure in the dressing room I'm sure now there will be space for some to take on my leadership responsibility.

I'd be disappointed if the O'Donnells aren't involved as they are brilliant footballers in my view and would be a big loss of talent and imo leadership as well, I've always felt Niall especially when fit would stand up when Donegal needed him even as a young man new to the senior set up.. fingers crossed Paddy Carr has a full deck to choose from

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 94 - 11/01/2023 15:40:23    2452074

Replying To CCFabu:  "if the truth hurts you must spout a lot of guff so. all your posts do to me is make my eyes roll"
Poor you. Less of the old guff on here and go out and support your county tonight. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 11/01/2023 15:59:21    2452081

Replying To CCFabu:  "I'm looking forward to the season now, it'll be interesting to see who makes the step up as leader with Michael gone. he was such a huge figure in the dressing room I'm sure now there will be space for some to take on my leadership responsibility.

I'd be disappointed if the O'Donnells aren't involved as they are brilliant footballers in my view and would be a big loss of talent and imo leadership as well, I've always felt Niall especially when fit would stand up when Donegal needed him even as a young man new to the senior set up.. fingers crossed Paddy Carr has a full deck to choose from"
A couple of years ago I thought Niall was going to be a huge star but he didn't quite push on.I think he needs to add a bit more aggression to his undoubted ability.Last year he was badly hindered by injury and never really got going.The brother seems to have more of that aggression but maybe not as talented.It is a bit concerning though that he is not a starter on a university team that apart from Finnerty doesn't seem to have a forward line full of stars from looking at their lineup.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 11/01/2023 17:22:50    2452094

Replying To eunans4ever:  "It's quite comical all the rumours / lies flying around since the start of the year about our lads going on some sort of protest and refusing to join the county set up.

Went from none of Eunan's players been involved at all - to now all but the O Donnell brothers.

I never listen to or engage in idle gossip - some people should find a hobby or get into a good box set to watch or something to pass the time.."
It never came from me that Eunans lads were on some sort of protest.
I just stated that there is a strong possibility the the o'donnells are not fielding for the county this year. As half there family are Naomh conail people, this is what i am hearing.
Hopefully they will have a change of heart in a month or two, as they are two fantastic footballers.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 11/01/2023 20:19:20    2452102

Replying To The keeper:  "It never came from me that Eunans lads were on some sort of protest.
I just stated that there is a strong possibility the the o'donnells are not fielding for the county this year. As half there family are Naomh conail people, this is what i am hearing.
Hopefully they will have a change of heart in a month or two, as they are two fantastic footballers."
Shane o'donnell is back involved with county team.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 463 - 12/01/2023 09:35:39    2452116

Good effort last night. Fought hard on a horrible night. Pleased with young Mc groddy seems to have allot of potential. With the Kerry game next we need to be bringing back some of the more experienced players. I believe it's a great time to meet Kerry with the Clifford's not playing and having them in ballybofey especially with our record there. Naming of the captaincy will be interesting. Is mogan gone for this year. Big loss if true

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 12/01/2023 10:45:59    2452139

Good to see a battling performance from an inexperienced side in woeful conditions. Monaghan's know how got them over the line.

Captaincy to be named in the next few days, surely Eoghan Bán is the obvious choice?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 797 - 12/01/2023 11:47:15    2452156

i think a loser mentality has developed with county team back to pre Jim days

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 12/01/2023 11:54:02    2452158

Replying To highdropingball:  "i think a loser mentality has developed with county team back to pre Jim days"
A loser mentality is a tad harsh but I get what you're saying. One of the best things Jim did was rid us of our "nice guys" mentality. For years we had talented players, who if given a chance could compete well with any team. But we were far too inconsistent to really bother the very top teams. Jim gave us a far harder edge and intensity. When this was coupled with the natural talent available we became a very formidable outfit.

We still have a lot of talented players in the county setup. It will up to Paddy Carr and his team to get the very best out of them. We'll need to be patient though. We've lost some generational talent and experience in recent times. But I would contend that there's still enough there to be serious contenders for Ulster and aiming for the quarter finals of the AI. I think that should be our benchmark every year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 12/01/2023 12:38:07    2452164

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Have you not learned anything from last year????"
Irony / Sarcasm obviously not a thing with the Fintown/Glenties lads no ???

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 12/01/2023 13:33:46    2452184

Replying To CCFabu:  "I'm beaten to the punch with this point and by a eunans man as well ah dhia it's a rough day"
Tad bitter are we ??

I'm awfully sorry for whether beating it is we have inflicted on you over the years.

It's only sport tho - don't let the chip on your shoulder weigh you down so much.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 12/01/2023 13:35:30    2452185

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A loser mentality is a tad harsh but I get what you're saying. One of the best things Jim did was rid us of our "nice guys" mentality. For years we had talented players, who if given a chance could compete well with any team. But we were far too inconsistent to really bother the very top teams. Jim gave us a far harder edge and intensity. When this was coupled with the natural talent available we became a very formidable outfit.

We still have a lot of talented players in the county setup. It will up to Paddy Carr and his team to get the very best out of them. We'll need to be patient though. We've lost some generational talent and experience in recent times. But I would contend that there's still enough there to be serious contenders for Ulster and aiming for the quarter finals of the AI. I think that should be our benchmark every year."
Party boys were more the problem than a loser mentality, not giving a **** about the jersey or the people who paid good money to follow them was also the problem with some of them.
McGuinness drove that out of them, though back in the day he was a party head himself but I think he always gave his all for us when he played.
Paddy Carr has a great chance now to build a new team and see what they can achieve, as long as they go out and play football and try and win games I'll be happy enough,
the way we were playing going out with the endless over and back and backwards recycling the ball with no end product this last long time was so frustrating to watch,
you might as well have a go and die with your boots on rather than limp out playing defensive fearful muck.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 12/01/2023 13:35:35    2452186

I know we have a lot of new players , new set up , trying to kick a bit more etc and the conditions at the game last night were dreadful but that aside I cannot believe the standard / quality on display - it's as bad as I've ever seen from a donegal team at any time at senior level in any competition.

Think the big man out the Glen knew well what was coming..

Awful pity we wasted a few ulsters in the last 2 years due to a horrible outdated style of play.

In my opinion the mgt team stayed to long and has now left us in a mess.

Sad days ahead but got to soldier on.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 12/01/2023 13:40:38    2452189

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I know we have a lot of new players , new set up , trying to kick a bit more etc and the conditions at the game last night were dreadful but that aside I cannot believe the standard / quality on display - it's as bad as I've ever seen from a donegal team at any time at senior level in any competition.

Think the big man out the Glen knew well what was coming..

Awful pity we wasted a few ulsters in the last 2 years due to a horrible outdated style of play.

In my opinion the mgt team stayed to long and has now left us in a mess.

Sad days ahead but got to soldier on."
Didn't stop yous playing the same way against glen from Derry last year.. outdated then was it ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 12/01/2023 14:50:02    2452201

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Tad bitter are we ??

I'm awfully sorry for whether beating it is we have inflicted on you over the years.

It's only sport tho - don't let the chip on your shoulder weigh you down so much."
ah sure what's the point in sport if you can't have petty chips on the shoulder, it's an outlet for all our worst tendencies sure

was only a tongue in cheek comment, I've nothing but respect for the black and amber, honest to god ;)

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 94 - 12/01/2023 16:06:13    2452224

Rotten conditions and it's pre-season so I wouldn't read much into the quality on display last night at all. Battled hard which I was pleased to see. Looking forward to the Kerry game now.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 94 - 12/01/2023 16:07:02    2452225

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Party boys were more the problem than a loser mentality, not giving a **** about the jersey or the people who paid good money to follow them was also the problem with some of them.
McGuinness drove that out of them, though back in the day he was a party head himself but I think he always gave his all for us when he played.
Paddy Carr has a great chance now to build a new team and see what they can achieve, as long as they go out and play football and try and win games I'll be happy enough,
the way we were playing going out with the endless over and back and backwards recycling the ball with no end product this last long time was so frustrating to watch,
you might as well have a go and die with your boots on rather than limp out playing defensive fearful muck."
I hope you still have the same opinion at the end of the year.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 12/01/2023 16:14:57    2452226

The standard or quality shown in the last couple games isn't a reflection of where Donegal football is at. A very large percentage of the players on show won't be involved for the league or championship. The objective in the last couple weeks has been to find 5 or 6 players who will join the squad to give it more depth, any more than that would be a bonus.

Refreshing to hear Paddy Carr saying that they didn't just want to survive in division 1 but that the aim was to thrive in division 1.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 463 - 12/01/2023 16:25:23    2452229

Replying To greenfan:  "Shane o'donnell is back involved with county team."
I am only going from what i was told from someone that knows them well, shane o'donnell is supposed to be going to the states after college, and niall is taking a year out from the county due to a recurring injury.
As i said, i hope that is not the case and they change there plans, as i want to see the best players playing for Donegal.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 12/01/2023 20:26:59    2452259