Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Plenty keyboard warriors about all summer too. Yet when we looked for a manager we had only two nominations. Where's all the big names that were mentioned here. Donegal football is in a mess and last Saturday reiterated the root problem. Boring football and then when the county team loses it s the managers fault, the big problem is club managers. The n Conal posters were on here saying they don't follow the county because of the way we play. Jesus wept."
Rorysboys did you ever consider your the biggest keyboard warrior about sir.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 20/10/2022 10:36:02    2444710

Aidan O'Rourke is now in line for the Donegal job. No disrespect to him but this is a massive come down for Donegal. Really scrapping the bottom of the barrel now. I can see Michael Murphy and Paddy McBrearty being extremely deflated by this. What happened to Rory Kavanagh?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 20/10/2022 11:05:15    2444719

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I love how you're trying to compare the approach of Donegal and Naomh Conaill and calling it hypocritical. If you can't see the difference in those two teams and what one group is getting out of themselves compared to the other then I don't know."
Totally agree. Problem is Naomh Conaill have perfected the system. Donegal are half hearted playing the system with little disipline and so looks a shambles.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 273 - 20/10/2022 11:25:25    2444723

Replying To rorysboys:  "Read my post I'm comparing nothing. I'm talking the truth Donegal football is in a mess because of the way our clubs team play. Especially the senior teams. Do you honestly think n Conal will win Ulster playing that way. Not a hope. When nobody wants to manage our county team it shows where we're at. We're totally over rated. Only fool s don't see that. We hounded a good man for what probably an outsider. .Where's all the big names in our own county too many big ego's I'm afraid"
Kilcoo play in a very similar manner to Naomh Conaill and are current all ireland club champions and back to back ulster champions.

Obviously Kilcoo and Glen are favourites for ulster and 2 of the favourites for all ireland but I think this Naomh Conaill team could definitley test them and beat them on the day. They didn't get the opportunity to play ulster 2 years ago after winning Donegal so I'd say they will be looking to match there Ulster Final appearance against Kilcoo from 3 years ago.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 225 - 20/10/2022 11:32:04    2444726

Yes its Naomh conails fault that RK decided not to pursue the vacant Donegal job.
Its also our fault that inflation is so high, brexit, and the war. Can any of the posters think of anything else we are responsible for, lol.
Our victory is getting sweeter by the day at all the detractors of Naomh conail.

Here is an idea, if a individual is going to step away from a job or criticism is preventing him from taking the job, then maybe he is not the right man for the Donegal job in the first place.

Are we all that weak now that we cant take criticism and stand up and be counted.

Here is a great example Naomh conail got lots of criticism last year, we were finished, to old, what did we do, take it on the chin, man up and come back stronger.

Mcguinness was getting criticism from all over the country when in the Donegal job, and from inside Donegal when he dropped one of his main players for discipline. Do you think that bothered him, the answer is NO. He had enough conviction to back himself.

There was only one man with enough conviction to say he wanted the job, and that was Barrett. I dont know whether he would be great or not. But at least he had enough conviction to stand up and say i want this job.

RK from the beginning was being pushed and forced to take the job, so just maybe he is not the right candidate.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 20/10/2022 11:34:58    2444728

Replying To rorysboys:  "Read my post I'm comparing nothing. I'm talking the truth Donegal football is in a mess because of the way our clubs team play. Especially the senior teams. Do you honestly think n Conal will win Ulster playing that way. Not a hope. When nobody wants to manage our county team it shows where we're at. We're totally over rated. Only fool s don't see that. We hounded a good man for what probably an outsider. .Where's all the big names in our own county too many big ego's I'm afraid"
I would give Naomh Conaill a very good chance of winning Ulster, it will take a good team to beat them. Lack of forwards might cost them. Derry won Ulster playing a certain way. Kilcoo won an All Ireland playing that same certain way. It depends on a number of factors though; tactical nous, savage fitness levels and good forwards. So where do you think Donegal went wrong in those 3 areas? I do agree that if Rory Kavanagh has lost interest due to online BS then that's sad. I was excited by his possible appointment and I'm deflated again by the current speculation.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 20/10/2022 11:40:55    2444732

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "Couldn't blame him after the abuse he got after Saturday. Keyboard warriors strike again saying didn't do this didn't do that in the last 5 minutes etc
When you play against the defensive crap been played in Donegal these days you concede on the other end simple as!
It's gonna be a LONG road back for Donegal and even longer for club football in the County!
Defensive football certainly imo has ruined the game and possibly the reason he is not pursuing the job.
Alot of people online seem to know better and by the sounds of things would make great managers."
More sour grapes from Letterkenny!!!!!!

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 273 - 20/10/2022 12:12:38    2444741

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Out of interest - where does a winning team draw the line at winning at all costs? Or is there indeed a line at all??"
6 finals in a row. 3 out of the last 4 won. To see Dr Maguire goin around the schools in the Parish is a joy.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 273 - 20/10/2022 12:14:51    2444742

What's stopping a new manager playing whatever way he wants? Your talking a lot of nonsense.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 273 - 20/10/2022 12:16:27    2444743

Replying To Scenicparish:  "6 finals in a row. 3 out of the last 4 won. To see Dr Maguire goin around the schools in the Parish is a joy."
You haven't answered what is a genuine question?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 20/10/2022 12:29:46    2444748

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Kilcoo play in a very similar manner to Naomh Conaill and are current all ireland club champions and back to back ulster champions.

Obviously Kilcoo and Glen are favourites for ulster and 2 of the favourites for all ireland but I think this Naomh Conaill team could definitley test them and beat them on the day. They didn't get the opportunity to play ulster 2 years ago after winning Donegal so I'd say they will be looking to match there Ulster Final appearance against Kilcoo from 3 years ago."
Rory wants to compare Donegal of 2022 to Naomh Conaill now to justify certain tactics the county team deployed this year when in truth, the two approaches were very, very different in terms of aggression, pace, defence and attack. He thinks that because both teams got men back in numbers that it's comparable. So that makes many of us out to be hypocrites in his eyes for lauding N. Conaill's performance.

He also wants to make out Donegal club football is in a terrible state to justify last year's underwhelming county team performances. The fact is, the county team can take whatever approach they want to win. They don't simply mirror the clubs, it's a separate setup. If anyone tells me Mogan, Murphy, McHugh, the two O'Donnells, Langan, McBrearty and Co can't be turned into a ruthless winning machine then I don't buy it. Rory is mad to tell us that Bonner got the best out of this group and they can do no more. Every comment he makes on this forum is done with that basic undertone. I'm a glass half full person; N. Conaill and Eunans are two very good teams and so is the county panel we have. But they need the right leadership now. Last few days of news are deflating.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 20/10/2022 12:35:22    2444749

For the county board to say a few short months ago that they were keeping quiet on the process to help it overall - it has backfired spectacularly.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 20/10/2022 12:56:29    2444753

Replying To Tyrion:  "Rorysboys did you ever consider your the biggest keyboard warrior about sir."
Most of yous don't know a keyboard warrior is go and do a bit of research I don't individually attack players or managers. I tell it how it is mightn go down well with some of you lads but so what.. the clubs have Donegal football in a bad way. We have to go outside the county to get a manager now sad times. Alot of experts about but will do nothing.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 20/10/2022 13:04:58    2444754

Replying To peiledoir20:  "You haven't answered what is a genuine question?"
My point is if a system is perfected like it was on Saturday I dont have a problem. Naomh Conaill got fantastic points from Brendy and Ciaran and a great goal form Charles to win the match. I would say Im disappointed with St Eunans that didn't to use more imagination in trying to break down the Naomh Conaill system. To retain the ball for 2 minutes and 57 seconds at the end and not have a shot for a point, I rest my case.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 273 - 20/10/2022 13:06:05    2444755

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Rory wants to compare Donegal of 2022 to Naomh Conaill now to justify certain tactics the county team deployed this year when in truth, the two approaches were very, very different in terms of aggression, pace, defence and attack. He thinks that because both teams got men back in numbers that it's comparable. So that makes many of us out to be hypocrites in his eyes for lauding N. Conaill's performance.

He also wants to make out Donegal club football is in a terrible state to justify last year's underwhelming county team performances. The fact is, the county team can take whatever approach they want to win. They don't simply mirror the clubs, it's a separate setup. If anyone tells me Mogan, Murphy, McHugh, the two O'Donnells, Langan, McBrearty and Co can't be turned into a ruthless winning machine then I don't buy it. Rory is mad to tell us that Bonner got the best out of this group and they can do no more. Every comment he makes on this forum is done with that basic undertone. I'm a glass half full person; N. Conaill and Eunans are two very good teams and so is the county panel we have. But they need the right leadership now. Last few days of news are deflating."
More bull. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 20/10/2022 13:07:01    2444756

Replying To rorysboys:  "More bull. Lol"
Fabulous argument there in reply and so well elaborated on. Sums you up. You forgot the bit about me and everyone else being a keyboard warrior though. Slipping up lad

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 20/10/2022 13:13:57    2444758

Replying To rorysboys:  "Most of yous don't know a keyboard warrior is go and do a bit of research I don't individually attack players or managers. I tell it how it is mightn go down well with some of you lads but so what.. the clubs have Donegal football in a bad way. We have to go outside the county to get a manager now sad times. Alot of experts about but will do nothing."
Only expert on here everyday is you spouting alls that's wrong with donegal left right and center for the whole country to read but then again that's what a keyboard warrior will do.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 20/10/2022 13:14:01    2444759

Replying To Scenicparish:  "My point is if a system is perfected like it was on Saturday I dont have a problem. Naomh Conaill got fantastic points from Brendy and Ciaran and a great goal form Charles to win the match. I would say Im disappointed with St Eunans that didn't to use more imagination in trying to break down the Naomh Conaill system. To retain the ball for 2 minutes and 57 seconds at the end and not have a shot for a point, I rest my case."
I wasn't talking about tactics. I was talking about the dark arts of feigning injury, sledging injury etc. "Win at all costs" was mentioned. I am intrigued to know where the line is drawn in this regard?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 20/10/2022 13:52:48    2444771

Replying To Tyrion:  "Only expert on here everyday is you spouting alls that's wrong with donegal left right and center for the whole country to read but then again that's what a keyboard warrior will do."
Ha you stil don't get it. Did I abuse any player or manager. I have too much respect for the effort they put in.. nobody answering my question about why all the big names that were named here as potential managers are not interested. Not a hard question.. as I said Donegal football is a bore at the moment.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 20/10/2022 13:55:36    2444772

Replying To Scenicparish:  "More sour grapes from Letterkenny!!!!!!"
Far from sour grapes lad you just haven't seen the light yet!
I used to live in that little world also (2011 onwards) and argue black and blue defending it to others outside the county but looking back now thank God i got out of it and admit the others were right!
Don't worry though you'll find your way ;)
Some day!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 20/10/2022 13:59:37    2444773