Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "
big word going that McGuinness is going for the job, it would give the county some lift if he comes back in again.
It's August though, silly season as they say in political circles so it could be all pub talk as the man said."
Dream on lad not a hope. All potential candidates very quiet, what happens next Monday if only one applicant does he get it .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 09/08/2022 12:11:28    2436785

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "
big word going that McGuinness is going for the job, it would give the county some lift if he comes back in again.
It's August though, silly season as they say in political circles so it could be all pub talk as the man said."
I thought he ruled himself out last week, that was reported through multiple media sources, so I doubt this is just hearsay with no truth to it.

Speaking of hearsay, I did hear that a few 2012 players held preliminary discussions about the possibility of forming a management team. I won't mention names for fear of starting unjustified rumors, but I was actually a bit surprised by the management team combination, surprised as I thought they would be more likely to be Individual candidates.

No word on Michael Boyle being brought in as a coach by anyone as part of a ticket.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1110 - 10/08/2022 09:25:10    2436894

Replying To Commodore:  "I thought he ruled himself out last week, that was reported through multiple media sources, so I doubt this is just hearsay with no truth to it.

Speaking of hearsay, I did hear that a few 2012 players held preliminary discussions about the possibility of forming a management team. I won't mention names for fear of starting unjustified rumors, but I was actually a bit surprised by the management team combination, surprised as I thought they would be more likely to be Individual candidates.

No word on Michael Boyle being brought in as a coach by anyone as part of a ticket."
Michael Boyle is settled in London so I can't see him being interested.. I feel it's about time some of Donegals biggest critics last year put there names forward. Easy criticising management but now is the time to step up..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 10/08/2022 10:50:34    2436924

Is it true that Lifford Seniors have entered the Junior B Championship?? if so, how has that been allowed to happen? Reserve football is on its knees at the moment in this county and clubs are having a difficult time fielding reserve teams as it is without them being expected to take on mid table Div 3 senior teams? Maybe I heard wrong....I hope I have.

TommyDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 10/08/2022 15:17:22    2436967

Replying To TommyDonegal:  "Is it true that Lifford Seniors have entered the Junior B Championship?? if so, how has that been allowed to happen? Reserve football is on its knees at the moment in this county and clubs are having a difficult time fielding reserve teams as it is without them being expected to take on mid table Div 3 senior teams? Maybe I heard wrong....I hope I have."
Haven't heard anything about that, surely that wouldn't be allowed!

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1110 - 11/08/2022 14:00:39    2437069

Alright folks, hope yous are all enjoying the brilliant weather.. I have heard a wee rumour that Martin beag McHugh is considering the Job.. Have any of yous heard anything of this rumour.. Can any of our kilcar folks on here say anything or know anything.. I think it would be a very good appointment..

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 167 - 11/08/2022 14:58:17    2437086

Is there an announcement next week?

For me, in order of preference it would be:

1. Jim McGuinness
2. Malachy O' Rourke
3. Michael Murphy (player/manager)
4. Martin McHugh
5. Rory Kavanagh
6. Enda McGinley
7. Stephen Rochford

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 11/08/2022 19:04:36    2437103

Replying To Commodore:  "Haven't heard anything about that, surely that wouldn't be allowed!"
Sadly true.

The county town that fields two teams and the first team had 'their best season in 10 years' according to their social media. Yet they still elected to enter a reserve championship. Compare that to Pettigo who mightn't have the numbers but at least have some self respect.

Their manager said before last year that they have a player that could play in any team in the county, yet he sticks him in the Junior B this year.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 11/08/2022 19:09:39    2437104

Replying To Commodore:  "Haven't heard anything about that, surely that wouldn't be allowed!"
I checked there and they gave Muff Reserves a real good beating last weekend.. I heard then that it was their senior team. I don't see any sign of Lifford in the Junior A

TommyDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 11/08/2022 22:00:24    2437113

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Alright folks, hope yous are all enjoying the brilliant weather.. I have heard a wee rumour that Martin beag McHugh is considering the Job.. Have any of yous heard anything of this rumour.. Can any of our kilcar folks on here say anything or know anything.. I think it would be a very good appointment.."
Could see it being a disaster of an appointment personally but will be very happy to be wrong!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 12/08/2022 07:51:08    2437114

McHugh did not make it as Manager of his Club this year , not much hope of County Manager.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 12/08/2022 09:31:25    2437120

Replying To TommyDonegal:  "I checked there and they gave Muff Reserves a real good beating last weekend.. I heard then that it was their senior team. I don't see any sign of Lifford in the Junior A"
They have also put their reserve team (who should be in the Junior B) into the Senior C championship and start away in Glenties tomorrow night. Chances are they will get trounced. So the senior team are in a championship they won't be tested in and the reserve team are in a championship too good for them.

How does that help the Lifford club can someone tell me?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 12/08/2022 10:24:56    2437128

Cannot see MOR being interested his club team in Derry are going to be probably involved in Club C/Ship until Oct/Nov.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 12/08/2022 10:34:13    2437132

Replying To peiledoir20:  "They have also put their reserve team (who should be in the Junior B) into the Senior C championship and start away in Glenties tomorrow night. Chances are they will get trounced. So the senior team are in a championship they won't be tested in and the reserve team are in a championship too good for them.

How does that help the Lifford club can someone tell me?"
Embarrassing all round. Embarrassing for Lifford as a club, embarrassing for their senior team and embarrassing for the county board for allowing it to happen. Making a mockery of the competition, they'll walk it and probably celebrate at the end like they've achieved something. Pathetic really.

There'll be a big meeting over the winter from the county big chiefs asking why reserve football is falling apart

TommyDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 12/08/2022 12:05:04    2437149

Replying To TommyDonegal:  "Embarrassing all round. Embarrassing for Lifford as a club, embarrassing for their senior team and embarrassing for the county board for allowing it to happen. Making a mockery of the competition, they'll walk it and probably celebrate at the end like they've achieved something. Pathetic really.

There'll be a big meeting over the winter from the county big chiefs asking why reserve football is falling apart"
I always believed that Reserve Football was a not only a fantastic way of preparing a young lads for Senior Football, but also provided those who loved the game, but for whatever reason (work/family commitments) could not give the necessary time required for Senior Football. You could get lads who were in Dublin during the week (probably drinking) to come home at weekends to tog out. I think that helped keep boys connected to home.

It also gave the ould cute fella the opportunity to play for a couple of years after the demands of Senior Football, and to enjoy Reserve ball. I learned a lot about football myself from these sort of boys when I was a young lad trying to break into the Seniors.

I'm not sure of its still the same, but I remember one year as a young fella coming on as a Sub in a Senior Championship match, and that was me ruled out of Reserves not only that year, but the following year also (championship). There were a few of us in the same boat, and a few lads lost heed. It certainly didn't help.

However, the biggest cause of Reserve teams disappearing is the abandonment of Underage. If I club isn't fielding teams at every age group underage, then the structures break down. I have seen this happen to clubs in the last few years. And it's only when underage recovers, that Reserve and indeed Senior can recover. And as I said earlier, the longer you can keep a lad involved in the club, the greater the chance you have of keeping the community together.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 12/08/2022 14:27:32    2437173

Replying To TommyDonegal:  "Embarrassing all round. Embarrassing for Lifford as a club, embarrassing for their senior team and embarrassing for the county board for allowing it to happen. Making a mockery of the competition, they'll walk it and probably celebrate at the end like they've achieved something. Pathetic really.

There'll be a big meeting over the winter from the county big chiefs asking why reserve football is falling apart"
They were celebrating last year BEFORE they won it. The town was that decked out in black and amber i thought the Kilkenny hurlers were in town.

Still lost the final though. As you say embarrassing. And an taking an outside manager to win a reserve competition just caps it off.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 12/08/2022 15:17:51    2437183

Replying To peiledoir20:  "They were celebrating last year BEFORE they won it. The town was that decked out in black and amber i thought the Kilkenny hurlers were in town.

Still lost the final though. As you say embarrassing. And an taking an outside manager to win a reserve competition just caps it off."
Sure if they didn't win it last year are they not entitled to play in it this year. Sure letterkenny gaels and moville played division 2 this year and are in junior championship.. why not mention that too.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 12/08/2022 16:13:49    2437203

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sure if they didn't win it last year are they not entitled to play in it this year. Sure letterkenny gaels and moville played division 2 this year and are in junior championship.. why not mention that too."
Moville and Letterkenny Gaels played Div 2 and played Junior A, Lifford seniors are playing Junior B....a big difference

TommyDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 13/08/2022 13:16:43    2437274

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sure if they didn't win it last year are they not entitled to play in it this year. Sure letterkenny gaels and moville played division 2 this year and are in junior championship.. why not mention that too."
Because the Junior A is a competition for first teams, so Moville and Gaels are entitled to enter it

The Junior B on the other hand is a competition of RESERVE teams yet for some reason Lifford have entered their first/senior team to enter it.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 13/08/2022 14:18:56    2437281

Gaels and moville didn't win the junior chship that's why they are still in junior chship. You have to won it to get promoted. The leagues and chships aren't linked in dgl. All us grass root club ppl know this rule. You are out of touch roryboy with our club system. Just like you were out if touch with all the talent in our club game that you are unaware of.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 13/08/2022 15:51:12    2437289