Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'll decide what I do. For a man who said he wudnt respond to my posts, your making a good job of it. The heat does effect people differently."
I never said I wouldn't respond to your post

You asked me not to respond as you were caught out yet again..

Your all over the place…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 29/07/2022 09:28:33    2435181

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I never said I wouldn't respond to your post

You asked me not to respond as you were caught out yet again..

Your all over the place…"
Take it easy lad. I seem to be getting to you. Concentrate on the club championship now and relax. Nice to see the poster I forget his name with the long essay about me getting so many likes. It proves that I'm hitting a nerve because of my honesty.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 29/07/2022 10:20:20    2435190

Replying To rorysboys:  "Very one sided attack. A few points. Firstly what I'm saying is my opinion. Secondly if you have such a great time for bonner I didn't see you back up against the keyboard warriors who called him for everything. Yet when I gave an opinion you come on with an essay of charges against me.. what am I saying wrong. Does not agreeing at where Donegal football is annoy people. Do you want me to come on here and say we should win an All Ireland next year. Would that make me popular.."
You're talking out of your hole. That particular poster defended Bonner and Rochford after the Cavan game. I know for a fact because it was him responded to my post.

Would you drop this holier than thou act. You won't get a medal for it. One minute you're calling the players mentally soft and the next you haven't the stones to say which ones. You're not the superfan you think you are, you're just desperate to be liked. Hence you cribbing and crying about all the likes that post got while you haven't got any.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 29/07/2022 13:14:44    2435222

Replying To papa_pump:  "You're talking out of your hole. That particular poster defended Bonner and Rochford after the Cavan game. I know for a fact because it was him responded to my post.

Would you drop this holier than thou act. You won't get a medal for it. One minute you're calling the players mentally soft and the next you haven't the stones to say which ones. You're not the superfan you think you are, you're just desperate to be liked. Hence you cribbing and crying about all the likes that post got while you haven't got any."
I'm not like you, even on an anonymous forum going round criticising individuals, not my style. I have more respect for players and management than that. I have no time for low lives. If I'm being attacked on here for saying we're not good enough to beat the big boys so be it. Il live with that. Most of yous don't go to games anyway so I have no respect for people like yous. As bonner says go and get a life. lol lol . And before I'm attacked this is to posters who weren't at the last two Donegal games.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 29/07/2022 13:47:47    2435226

Replying To papa_pump:  "You're talking out of your hole. That particular poster defended Bonner and Rochford after the Cavan game. I know for a fact because it was him responded to my post.

Would you drop this holier than thou act. You won't get a medal for it. One minute you're calling the players mentally soft and the next you haven't the stones to say which ones. You're not the superfan you think you are, you're just desperate to be liked. Hence you cribbing and crying about all the likes that post got while you haven't got any."
I'm glad somebody can remember past the last two posts they have read. I remember well being on here after Cavan 2020. I was probably overly philosophical about that defeat at the time, but I remember there was an awful lot of people saying we had the game won (in fairness, outside of one or two posters they were all from down the country) and I kept going on about how few Ulsters we had in our history and how hard it was to win 3-in-a-row in Ulster.

With the benefit of hindsight it feels as though the team never really recovered from that game. Good signs at different times but very streaky performances and no consistency unfortunately.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 29/07/2022 16:51:41    2435285

Rory will you be supporting the new manager and what would you classify as a successful year? And if this success isn't achieved in the first year is it a failure?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1135 - 30/07/2022 12:33:43    2435365

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I'm glad somebody can remember past the last two posts they have read. I remember well being on here after Cavan 2020. I was probably overly philosophical about that defeat at the time, but I remember there was an awful lot of people saying we had the game won (in fairness, outside of one or two posters they were all from down the country) and I kept going on about how few Ulsters we had in our history and how hard it was to win 3-in-a-row in Ulster.

With the benefit of hindsight it feels as though the team never really recovered from that game. Good signs at different times but very streaky performances and no consistency unfortunately."
The Cavan game was such a hammer. What contributed to the fall from grace more than anything, was the fact that our displays that year prior to Cavan had been fantastic. We went from a fantastic high of the performance against Armagh, to a terrible low. It was like the players had full belief in what they were doing against Armagh, and when things didn't work out against Cavan, it was a sort of we are back to square one. I don't think we ever recovered that trust in what we were doing.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 576 - 30/07/2022 12:35:26    2435367

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The Cavan game was such a hammer. What contributed to the fall from grace more than anything, was the fact that our displays that year prior to Cavan had been fantastic. We went from a fantastic high of the performance against Armagh, to a terrible low. It was like the players had full belief in what they were doing against Armagh, and when things didn't work out against Cavan, it was a sort of we are back to square one. I don't think we ever recovered that trust in what we were doing."
It's hard to disagree with that. It was such a funny year with plenty unusual results. You are right though that the performances before it made it even harder to stomach. 2011 when we beat kildare was such a positive thing for donegal and no doubt helped donegal to the all ireland the next year. It knocked the stuffing out of kildare for years though and I think the cavan defeat was a bit the same for this donegal team.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 30/07/2022 13:28:06    2435382

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Rory will you be supporting the new manager and what would you classify as a successful year? And if this success isn't achieved in the first year is it a failure?"
Of course I'll be supporting Donegals new manager , doesn't matter who it is. I've supported Donegal all my life but the abuse of Rory g and bonner has left a bad taste. But I'm smart enough to realise that the abuse has come from a small minority of people who will continue to abuse the next manager and the majority of these people don't go to games anyway. A successful year would be staying in div 1 , getting to a semi final. And definitely winning Ulster. Now people might say that's a tall ask but bonner has win Ulster , stayed in div 1 the only thing he didn't do was reach a semi final. So when you change a manager you change hopefully to get better results, so I feel what I outlined would be progress. Do I think we'll achieve this my honest opinion no. No slating me lads it's just my opinion. I hope I'm wrong but I feel bonner and rochford got as much out of this group as they could plus with a few starters not there next year it puts doubt in my mind. We need to unesrth a few defenders. Hopefully Bradley Walsh and Oisin gallen will make a difference next year too.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 30/07/2022 13:52:22    2435397

I don't get the idea of the condensed season given clubs have been without games for weeks and championship not starting until mid August??? Doesn't make sense to me, Donegal exited the championship well over a month ago and there has been little club football since. Why the long dealt after the league had concluded?? No football being played when conditions are at their best?? More genius stuff from the GAA powered that be....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 31/07/2022 21:44:58    2435671

Replying To rorysboys:  "Of course I'll be supporting Donegals new manager , doesn't matter who it is. I've supported Donegal all my life but the abuse of Rory g and bonner has left a bad taste. But I'm smart enough to realise that the abuse has come from a small minority of people who will continue to abuse the next manager and the majority of these people don't go to games anyway. A successful year would be staying in div 1 , getting to a semi final. And definitely winning Ulster. Now people might say that's a tall ask but bonner has win Ulster , stayed in div 1 the only thing he didn't do was reach a semi final. So when you change a manager you change hopefully to get better results, so I feel what I outlined would be progress. Do I think we'll achieve this my honest opinion no. No slating me lads it's just my opinion. I hope I'm wrong but I feel bonner and rochford got as much out of this group as they could plus with a few starters not there next year it puts doubt in my mind. We need to unesrth a few defenders. Hopefully Bradley Walsh and Oisin gallen will make a difference next year too."
Fair enough.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1135 - 01/08/2022 14:15:33    2435738

Mc fadden ferry injury reported today. The dreaded cruciate probably out for next year. Big blow already for new manager. Plus another few to come. Very quiet on the managerial front.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 01/08/2022 16:14:41    2435772

Replying To rorysboys:  "Mc fadden ferry injury reported today. The dreaded cruciate probably out for next year. Big blow already for new manager. Plus another few to come. Very quiet on the managerial front."
Terrible news for Gaoth Dobhair and Donegal. Wishing Odhran well in his recovery.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9103 - 02/08/2022 10:07:14    2435854

Replying To totalrecall:  "I don't get the idea of the condensed season given clubs have been without games for weeks and championship not starting until mid August??? Doesn't make sense to me, Donegal exited the championship well over a month ago and there has been little club football since. Why the long dealt after the league had concluded?? No football being played when conditions are at their best?? More genius stuff from the GAA powered that be...."
I'd say they were right to finish the leagues properly and give the competition respect it deserves instead of going back after championship to finish it.
There's been league games every weekend including league finals and playoffs. Division 2 had a full program on the weekend before last with promotion and relegation places still to be decided and then the final and playoff this weekend gone by with teams from the senior and intermediate championship involved.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 02/08/2022 10:42:13    2435858

It's not often the CB get credit but fair dues to them on the way the senior leagues were run this year. And to the clubs with county players also for playing without them.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 792 - 02/08/2022 11:52:39    2435863

Replying To greenfan:  "I'd say they were right to finish the leagues properly and give the competition respect it deserves instead of going back after championship to finish it.
There's been league games every weekend including league finals and playoffs. Division 2 had a full program on the weekend before last with promotion and relegation places still to be decided and then the final and playoff this weekend gone by with teams from the senior and intermediate championship involved."
Yeah I think you only have to look at what it meant to the likes of Downings returning to Div 1 to see how how seriously some teams took the league. OK the top teams in Div 1 seemed to be going through the motions a bit but for a lot of other teams the leagues meant significantly more.

On a side note - wanted to get people's opinions. I might try and do a predictions competition for the Donegal junior, intermediate and senior championships. I'm away on holidays from next week for 2 weeks though so I'll miss the opening two championship weekends. But I can put up the fixtures for both weekends on two separate threads, and let people post their predictions there. Then when I get back I'll sort out the scoring?

Probably go with:
Correct result = 1 point
Call a draw = 3 points
Call the exact winning margin = 5 points

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9103 - 02/08/2022 12:03:12    2435865

Actually forgot the intermediate and juniro start this weekend. I'll just create a new thread called "Donegal Club Championship Ptredictions Competition" and stick it all in there. It will be a bit messy but sure we'll see how it goes.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9103 - 02/08/2022 12:11:09    2435867

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Actually forgot the intermediate and juniro start this weekend. I'll just create a new thread called "Donegal Club Championship Ptredictions Competition" and stick it all in there. It will be a bit messy but sure we'll see how it goes."
Good stuff. Scoring seems good

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1135 - 02/08/2022 12:20:52    2435870

Replying To greenfan:  "I'd say they were right to finish the leagues properly and give the competition respect it deserves instead of going back after championship to finish it.
There's been league games every weekend including league finals and playoffs. Division 2 had a full program on the weekend before last with promotion and relegation places still to be decided and then the final and playoff this weekend gone by with teams from the senior and intermediate championship involved."
Too long of a break between league and championship, only football for teams involved in playoffs, many clubs won't have played in 6 weeks at the height of summer by the time championship comes round

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 03/08/2022 19:45:54    2436098

Looks like Jim McGuinness has ruled himself out of the Donegal job if reports are true. Disappointing but that's life. Hoping we are ambitious and try very hard for Malachy O'Rourke now. I think he has the credibility to get players on board and experience of the highest level in management, both of which would be vital in my view to moving this particular group forward. It would be an exciting appointment and get the pulses going I believe.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 04/08/2022 08:35:53    2436122