Leitrim GAA thread

Lets not sugar coat this folks, we've beaten the 2 worst teams in all the divisions and we robbed Wexford. today in Carlow we were decent but not in any cute or cynical or crafty to see the game out. I was pulling my hair out. We have 3 men up front in good form in Rooney, Ryan and McNulty. Midfield is a serious problem. We lack ball winning capability there and our goalie can't really go long with kickouts as neither man can catch it. Plunkett has to start there next week. I'd be very worried about Longford, they're building a bit of momentum and won't fear us in any way. And why should they. Centre back is problem too and i'd move Gilheany from midfield to centre back to tighten things up a bit. I don't like being negative as all I want is the best for them. ThePowerhouse said he won't go again. Don't bother your head, the rest of us will.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 25/02/2024 21:37:57    2528134

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "Lets not sugar coat this folks, we've beaten the 2 worst teams in all the divisions and we robbed Wexford. today in Carlow we were decent but not in any cute or cynical or crafty to see the game out. I was pulling my hair out. We have 3 men up front in good form in Rooney, Ryan and McNulty. Midfield is a serious problem. We lack ball winning capability there and our goalie can't really go long with kickouts as neither man can catch it. Plunkett has to start there next week. I'd be very worried about Longford, they're building a bit of momentum and won't fear us in any way. And why should they. Centre back is problem too and i'd move Gilheany from midfield to centre back to tighten things up a bit. I don't like being negative as all I want is the best for them. ThePowerhouse said he won't go again. Don't bother your head, the rest of us will."
Yeah midfield is killing us alright,Pearse is a massive loss.When we go long on the kickouts and actually win it we can go long again into the forwards and punish teams.But we seldom do,its usually short one to one of the backs and meanwhile the other team all retreat into their 45 this choking off all the space for our forwards.Darragh Barry and Ryan have the beating of any back in Div 4 but only when they have the space.Very hard to see us winning all 3 matches now.Still a lot of football to be played yet with a few twists and turns.As usual it will probably go down to the last match.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 26/02/2024 07:23:11    2528178

Replying To masseyferguson:  "Yeah midfield is killing us alright,Pearse is a massive loss.When we go long on the kickouts and actually win it we can go long again into the forwards and punish teams.But we seldom do,its usually short one to one of the backs and meanwhile the other team all retreat into their 45 this choking off all the space for our forwards.Darragh Barry and Ryan have the beating of any back in Div 4 but only when they have the space.Very hard to see us winning all 3 matches now.Still a lot of football to be played yet with a few twists and turns.As usual it will probably go down to the last match."
I thought Barry played very well, scored some great points. What is the story with Mark Plunkett? Is he carrying an injury? Surely he would have been an addition in midfield or even half back if he was able to play? I thought Niall Walsh played ok when he came on but I think changes are going to be needed in midfield sooner rather than later... I don't think Donal Wynne has the legs for midfield. As you say, Pearce Dolan is desperately missed. I was very suprised at how far Carlow were able to get up the field without a man laying a hand in, at times yesterday they were able to run the ball up from the short kickout to the half fwd line with ease and the stats don't lie, Carlow had 9 different scorers, 2 of those contributed 1-2 from the back line. I hope we're still in it by next Sunday but it's going to be a tough one.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 26/02/2024 08:45:16    2528195

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "The main thing is we'll still be regaled with stories of some of our supporters journey to Carlow and there'll be plenty of photos of lads smiling on the pitch afterwards.
We're afraid to win. We're not ruthless enough. People like us because we're no threat to them. We'll wrap ourselves in the warm blanket that's made from all the pats on the head and the crocodile tears.
I'm loathe to hark bark but do you honestly think that the 94 team would have allowed today to happen?
Afraid to win, happy to lose. It won't stop lads swanning around as if they're playing for Dublin. And spare me the faux outrage at what I've just said! I've heard it all before. I've been all over the country supporting Leitrim. Never again."
Agree 100%. Some of the '94 crowd wud shove d ball up their jumper and not give it to Carlow. Leitrim need to cop on big time and learn how to be cute on the pitch. Embarrassing to be 2 points up and lose by 1. Glad I didn't bother to make d trip down. Got a hape a work done at home!!

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 26/02/2024 09:22:11    2528200

Replying To Square_B:  "I thought Barry played very well, scored some great points. What is the story with Mark Plunkett? Is he carrying an injury? Surely he would have been an addition in midfield or even half back if he was able to play? I thought Niall Walsh played ok when he came on but I think changes are going to be needed in midfield sooner rather than later... I don't think Donal Wynne has the legs for midfield. As you say, Pearce Dolan is desperately missed. I was very suprised at how far Carlow were able to get up the field without a man laying a hand in, at times yesterday they were able to run the ball up from the short kickout to the half fwd line with ease and the stats don't lie, Carlow had 9 different scorers, 2 of those contributed 1-2 from the back line. I hope we're still in it by next Sunday but it's going to be a tough one."
" I was very suprised at how far Carlow were able to get up the field without a man laying a hand in"
Wexford done the same thing last week.Longford will no doubt try it next week.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 26/02/2024 09:53:19    2528217

Agree with some of the points made by Powerhouse there, we aren't rutless enough.

We always have a ready made excuse, small population, immigration etc....I could name CLUB TEAMS that would beat us.

A serious team doesn't allow Carlow score that goal.

Two points up in injury time in a must win game that's unforgivable.

When teams run hard at us we just cannot cope. We are persisting with guys that just aren't good enough.

Longford is a must win. Serious pressure on Andy Moran now, he is getting well looked after, the team is getting is getting well looked after, serious resources being pumped into the team and if we fail to get promoted I'd be looking for Andy to stand down. We took a gamble on hiring a young inexperienced coach and today it looks like a big mistake.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 26/02/2024 10:03:58    2528224

Replying To Square_B:  "I thought Barry played very well, scored some great points. What is the story with Mark Plunkett? Is he carrying an injury? Surely he would have been an addition in midfield or even half back if he was able to play? I thought Niall Walsh played ok when he came on but I think changes are going to be needed in midfield sooner rather than later... I don't think Donal Wynne has the legs for midfield. As you say, Pearce Dolan is desperately missed. I was very suprised at how far Carlow were able to get up the field without a man laying a hand in, at times yesterday they were able to run the ball up from the short kickout to the half fwd line with ease and the stats don't lie, Carlow had 9 different scorers, 2 of those contributed 1-2 from the back line. I hope we're still in it by next Sunday but it's going to be a tough one."
You will still be in it even if you lose. You already have 6 points!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 26/02/2024 10:21:27    2528229

Replying To masseyferguson:  "" I was very suprised at how far Carlow were able to get up the field without a man laying a hand in"
Wexford done the same thing last week.Longford will no doubt try it next week."
Wasn't at the Wexford game; that's something that we need to address. Making it too handy for the opposition to setup an attack is only inviting trouble. The Carlow forwards never let us our of our own half as handy.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 26/02/2024 10:27:51    2528237

Replying To Viking66:  "You will still be in it even if you lose. You already have 6 points!"
In fairness, we won't be if that happens. I don't think we'll beat Laois and we'd be depending on yourselves to beat Carlow (could happen). Laois have London next week and could afford to rest a few lads. It may well come down to the last day as someone else said.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 26/02/2024 10:41:50    2528246

Replying To Square_B:  "Wasn't at the Wexford game; that's something that we need to address. Making it too handy for the opposition to setup an attack is only inviting trouble. The Carlow forwards never let us our of our own half as handy."
I was away this weekend so wasn't at the match yesterday but going by the radio we didn't push up on their kickouts until the second half but when we did start doing it we started getting more joy.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 26/02/2024 10:44:40    2528248

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Agree with some of the points made by Powerhouse there, we aren't rutless enough.

We always have a ready made excuse, small population, immigration etc....I could name CLUB TEAMS that would beat us.

A serious team doesn't allow Carlow score that goal.

Two points up in injury time in a must win game that's unforgivable.

When teams run hard at us we just cannot cope. We are persisting with guys that just aren't good enough.

Longford is a must win. Serious pressure on Andy Moran now, he is getting well looked after, the team is getting is getting well looked after, serious resources being pumped into the team and if we fail to get promoted I'd be looking for Andy to stand down. We took a gamble on hiring a young inexperienced coach and today it looks like a big mistake."
I've been saying this from Day 1 but there's plenty here who offer up excuses, members of the Coach Moran fan club and so on. He should have been sacked after NYC. That's just the fact of the matter. But here we are. Yesterday was a sickener, Carlow probably did deserve it on the balance of it all and yes, a serious team doesn't give away a goal on a dodgy kickout. The same auld nonsense happened over in London last year with the Goalkeeper (obvious a different one)... we got away with it that day... it just shouldn't happen.

I have hope for the future with Mickey and hope to god he'll see enough potential overall to take over next year. He'll have to find a few tough backs if so... we're very light from 2-7.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 26/02/2024 11:14:48    2528263

Strange one yesterday first half performance wasn't good enough but in the second half we produced some unreal
Football and Carlow couldn't live with it. Yes the goal
At the end was a killer but Longford are beatable and Carlow have both Wexford and Longford to play as well. Although I do think if we had won yesterday we would
Have had to beat Longford anyways as Laois will beat everyone. Every players is giving absolutely everything to the jersey and that's all you can ask for. They need to strengthen the back line add Pearse Dolan to the middle of the pitch for kickouts and Andy Moran needs to get on bended knees to get Keith berine in the squad for Sunday as well. All is not loss but our grip on promotion has loosened considerable

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 26/02/2024 12:32:39    2528303

Replying To Square_B:  "I've been saying this from Day 1 but there's plenty here who offer up excuses, members of the Coach Moran fan club and so on. He should have been sacked after NYC. That's just the fact of the matter. But here we are. Yesterday was a sickener, Carlow probably did deserve it on the balance of it all and yes, a serious team doesn't give away a goal on a dodgy kickout. The same auld nonsense happened over in London last year with the Goalkeeper (obvious a different one)... we got away with it that day... it just shouldn't happen.

I have hope for the future with Mickey and hope to god he'll see enough potential overall to take over next year. He'll have to find a few tough backs if so... we're very light from 2-7."
There's some great backs in that u20 squad hopefully they put on a bit of size cause they are probably better man markers compared to what we have in the senior panel now.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 26/02/2024 12:33:14    2528304

We were pressing their kickout from the very beginning but they repeatedly got it away to the cornerback on the corner of the D or the keeper found a man just over the press on or beyond the '45 in the first half.

You'd be thinking that we need a favour from Carlow or Longford in terms of handing Carlow a loss.

I might be optimistic but after the weekend with their narrow win over Tipp who got caught out by Carlow in Round 1, if we had Pearse and Plunkett starting you'd be hoping we could get something out of the Laois game.

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 26/02/2024 12:44:46    2528305

Apologies to any Carlow supporters visiting this forum who have been unimpressed by my language. Saying we contrived to lose to you or that we slumped to lose to you wasn't supposed to imply that it was beneath us to lose to you, believe me. I have a ton of goodwill towards Carlow and was delighted for ye when ye got promoted in 2018. My issue with the defeat is, like the rest of our county, our below-par first half performance and our failure to not concede a goal when two points up in the last minute or so of the game.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 26/02/2024 15:36:35    2528375

Replying To Overthebar53:  "How did that work out for you mugatay? Never count your chickens."
I couldn't make the game but I got it wrong. (Hands up in the air). Often the best predictor of future outcomes is to see what's gone before. We've had two good results over Carlow in recent years. Carlow's discipline went out the door last year. After the first 2 games, some Carlow people were running down the team and writing them off on other threads.
They obviously regrouped well, trained hard and got the heads back on track so fair play.
Some friends I was out with from Armagh and Wexford took great joy in breaking the news to me about the 1pt defeat and I was definitely taken aback. But then you have to commend Carlow. To borrow a phrase; 'they haven't gone away you know'.
There is a sense of karma to it. This time we DID have a player sent off and it was us who conceded the goal. I would have been sick coming back up the road. Can you imagine the feeling on the players bus.

Last year, someone on here said that they wouldn't worry about Leitrim (after the Laois game) as we never put two big performances / results back to back. I think they were from Sligo!
I find myself remembering that comment and hoping it's not an actual thing with us…

Promotion is still very much in our hands. At least there is minimal impact on score difference when you lose by 1 point. It was important to make hay that first game v Waterford.

We have to go to Longford 100% focused. Wriggle room is gone. It will be a dog fight.
We will worry about Laois afterwards but at the same time, I wouldn't be giving them too much respect. They're no world beaters going by their winning margins. Hopefully we will have the said lads back.

I'm sure our support wasn't lacking in Carlow. We'll be well represented in Pearce park and I hope to get to it. The jobs can wait. (..and so can counting the chickens!)
Liatroim abú

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 26/02/2024 16:28:56    2528395

Replying To Mugatay:  "I couldn't make the game but I got it wrong. (Hands up in the air). Often the best predictor of future outcomes is to see what's gone before. We've had two good results over Carlow in recent years. Carlow's discipline went out the door last year. After the first 2 games, some Carlow people were running down the team and writing them off on other threads.
They obviously regrouped well, trained hard and got the heads back on track so fair play.
Some friends I was out with from Armagh and Wexford took great joy in breaking the news to me about the 1pt defeat and I was definitely taken aback. But then you have to commend Carlow. To borrow a phrase; 'they haven't gone away you know'.
There is a sense of karma to it. This time we DID have a player sent off and it was us who conceded the goal. I would have been sick coming back up the road. Can you imagine the feeling on the players bus.

Last year, someone on here said that they wouldn't worry about Leitrim (after the Laois game) as we never put two big performances / results back to back. I think they were from Sligo!
I find myself remembering that comment and hoping it's not an actual thing with us…

Promotion is still very much in our hands. At least there is minimal impact on score difference when you lose by 1 point. It was important to make hay that first game v Waterford.

We have to go to Longford 100% focused. Wriggle room is gone. It will be a dog fight.
We will worry about Laois afterwards but at the same time, I wouldn't be giving them too much respect. They're no world beaters going by their winning margins. Hopefully we will have the said lads back.

I'm sure our support wasn't lacking in Carlow. We'll be well represented in Pearce park and I hope to get to it. The jobs can wait. (..and so can counting the chickens!)
Liatroim abú"
Really disappointing loss. I wasn't at the game so I won't comment on the performance but I was listening in. After seeing the video of the goal I was shocked at how much space we had left in the backline. Two points up with the last play of the game I though the lads would know better than to be that open. All we had to do was sit every man back and we had the game won. Pretty juvenile stuff. Some finish though be the Carlow man.

Likely Laois will go unbeaten. We need to pick up wins against Tipp and Longford to have a chance at going up. Could see ourselves level on points with Carlow and Wexford on the final day. I believe it goes to head to head and in case of a three way tie it goes to score difference. I believe now that we need Carlow to lose to Wexford this weekend.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 26/02/2024 17:11:01    2528415

Are we ready for Division 3 anyway? Losing Jack Heslin and Keith Beirne (averaged 9 points a game last year), along with Pearce Dolan missing from the middle, Paddy Maguire hasn't helped matters. We're too open at the back (we haven't had a tight backline since when...?), bet hands down at midfield. London missed about 2 goals/didn't bother to attack when the game was there for them and Wexford has us bet. Every game has been a scrape. With Laois probably going up for sure and probably Wicklow, Limerick coming down you'd think next year would be a wide open league. All teams are pretty much on a par with home advantage usually worth 3 or 4 scores.

We'll see where we are with Longford. Local derby up the road. There is the challenge, go up there and beat them. Its a big ask for this team. Truly I don't believe they lack any spirit or pride in the jersey. They put their bodies on the line and they're a team of triers and my heart really goes out to them. I just think when you take off the green and gold glasses our biggest problem is we just lack quality, and especially up the middle at 3, 6, 8 and 9.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 26/02/2024 17:36:01    2528425

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Really disappointing loss. I wasn't at the game so I won't comment on the performance but I was listening in. After seeing the video of the goal I was shocked at how much space we had left in the backline. Two points up with the last play of the game I though the lads would know better than to be that open. All we had to do was sit every man back and we had the game won. Pretty juvenile stuff. Some finish though be the Carlow man.

Likely Laois will go unbeaten. We need to pick up wins against Tipp and Longford to have a chance at going up. Could see ourselves level on points with Carlow and Wexford on the final day. I believe it goes to head to head and in case of a three way tie it goes to score difference. I believe now that we need Carlow to lose to Wexford this weekend."
We definitely do;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 26/02/2024 17:43:22    2528429

Replying To Mugatay:  "I couldn't make the game but I got it wrong. (Hands up in the air). Often the best predictor of future outcomes is to see what's gone before. We've had two good results over Carlow in recent years. Carlow's discipline went out the door last year. After the first 2 games, some Carlow people were running down the team and writing them off on other threads.

Liatroim abú"
No worries mugatay, just a bit of banter. I'll say one thing, ye have great supporters, there was more Leitrim there yesterday than carlow people. I know we have the hurlers to support too but it's a sad reflection all the same. Well done and I wish ye every success next Sunday. Mind you it won't be easy in Longford, never is.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 203 - 26/02/2024 19:51:24    2528473