Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To lugdrum:  "No each of the 23 clubs was asked to donated a little less that €4k each to make up the €80k shortfall. So St Mary's paid the the same as Glenfaren but St Mary's got over €60k more out of the pot. It was agreed at the last county board meeting."
Did St Mary's hurling club get 20k as well as their footballers and Manor the same, I thought it was 20k per club and another 20k if you had a ladies team.

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 29/02/2024 13:54:29    2528935

All 43 clubs (Men's hurling, men's football, womens football, camogie) in Leitrim got payments of €23,256. St Mary's got 2 payments for ladies and mens and Carrick Hurling got two payments for camogie and mens. Some saying St Mary's got approx €90k which is untrue. They are confusing it with the town of Carrick getting €90k.

Also in Leitrim Observers report Mr Bohan asked all 25 mens clubs (23 football & 2 hurling) to contribute €3,320 to make up the €83,000 shortfall. So the likes of Eslin, Glenfarne would contribute the same as St Mary's. I still think it's a disgrace and no club should pay it.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 29/02/2024 14:32:31    2528940

I thought the ladies clubs agreed to pay iswell and therefore St Marys (Only for example) and excluding the hurling would contribute twice?

If not the case, then this is very unfair to the clubs with only a team . Some clubs get to reap the reward of JP twice but only have to pay the contribution once.

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 01/03/2024 12:54:58    2529056

Reckon Longford will beat Leitrim out of Pearse Park next Sunday

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 01/03/2024 22:30:56    2529146

Replying To MylesNaGopaleen:  "Reckon Longford will beat Leitrim out of Pearse Park next Sunday"
Oh ye of little faith. Despite last week's horror show Leitrim are a settled team playing well with scoring forwards. I wouldn't write them off but of course it will be a tight game as in the past between two neighbouring counties.We are still in the hunt.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 02/03/2024 00:27:13    2529154

Replying To MylesNaGopaleen:  "Reckon Longford will beat Leitrim out of Pearse Park next Sunday"
Unfortunately I agree, Longford will get promoted too

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 26 - 02/03/2024 02:34:34    2529163

A Wexford win in Carlow tonight wouldn't do us any harm.

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 02/03/2024 08:10:58    2529168

Strange that if Wexford win tonight and Leitrim are bet tomorrow then leitrim will actually move back into 2nd place on scoring difference most likely. Even if Leitrim had won last week and lost to Longford we would have had to beat Laois anyways as Longford would have us on head to head.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 02/03/2024 09:34:09    2529177

Replying To Mugatay:  "A Wexford win in Carlow tonight wouldn't do us any harm."
It surely hasn't... makes you wonder about last week... Wexford bet them off the park. Won't be worth a damm if we don't win tomorrow.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 02/03/2024 22:07:52    2529315

Today is must win for both teams whoever wins will have a great chance of promotion and lose your out of the hunt. Pressure on both teams but especially Leitrim and Andy Moran in year three . Longford while not as strong as in the past are slowly gaining momentum and they know they win their 3 games they will most likely go up and who would have thought that after they lost their first 2 matches. Patrick Fox is longfords best defender can see them matching him up with Ryan and their 2 wing backs Keelin McGann and Dessie Reynolds are speedy hard runners who will try and punch holes from deep. Darren Gallagher and Mickey Quinn are strong experienced footballers and along with newcomer Paddy Kiernan who will be looking to exploit an area we're struggling in. Upfront Cathal Mc Cabe , Daniel Mimnagh and Mark Hughes will be expected to do the bulk of the scoring with Gallagher chipping in with a few scores too. Was always worried about this game our record in Pearse Park is bad and I feel Longford are strongest where we're weakest. We're going to have to produce the best performance of the Andy Moran era to win . If We're ever going to progress we we need to start winning these pressure games with everything on the line starting today no excuses. Best of luck today lads

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 03/03/2024 09:02:11    2529359

I've no doubt that Leitrim will win today.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 03/03/2024 10:12:27    2529377

Replying To williesboy:  "I've no doubt that Leitrim will win today."
Obviously hope your right but I'd have serious doubts over our ability to win these pressure games

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 03/03/2024 10:14:06    2529378

I hope we'll win but as the saying goes it's the hope that kills you.... we don't have a great record vs Longford so I won't get too excited just yet. Longford have as much to gain as we do so it will be another tight game.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/03/2024 10:22:33    2529380

Shocking start for Leitrim, comeback is somewhat on, but that red card doesn't help

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 03/03/2024 15:44:07    2529433

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Shocking start for Leitrim, comeback is somewhat on, but that red card doesn't help"
When I wrote that, Longford were 4 up after 19 mins of the second half, and now 5 mins later they're 6 up

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 03/03/2024 15:48:11    2529435

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "When I wrote that, Longford were 4 up after 19 mins of the second half, and now 5 mins later they're 6 up"
Now 7... Ah shur what's another yeah eh?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/03/2024 15:52:35    2529438

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Obviously hope your right but I'd have serious doubts over our ability to win these pressure games"
A mile off with my prediction. Leitrim very poor today all over the park. Strange team selection, Andy hasn't improved the thing at all and bringing in Graham hasn't worked.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 03/03/2024 16:05:26    2529445

hope u dont gamble

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 03/03/2024 16:06:08    2529447

Wow this is bad. We have bet London, Waterford and robbed Wexford that's it and that's all we will beat. This is not good

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 03/03/2024 16:22:03    2529450

Shocking stuff in a must win game . Another year in Division 4 we are where we deserve to be

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 03/03/2024 16:23:46    2529451