Leitrim GAA thread

Rinse and repeat..
We'll have people on here that will criticise this performance and this campaign. Fully justified. Then we'll have people who will come on and criticise them for being negative about the team. They'll then suggest that if they want to make a difference they should get involved in their club. It's like suggesting that if you've a problem with you're car you should have been a mechanic and to stop whinging about it.
Surely, at this stage, we can wake up and accept that we are a basket case and that we need a complete overhaul of how we run things in the county. Jim Gavin, Mickey Harte, Jim Mc Guinnes, it doesn't matter who's in charge. We are bound to fail again and again because we are not running it correctly. There's ample precedent for teams, counties, countries with small numbers being successful. We are a glorified social club at this stage. Ignore the fact that we're SH one T. At least we'll travel to Dungarvan and the likes and we'll get to wear our hi-vis hats and get our picture in the Observer.
With regard to Andy Moran, there are lads on the panel who would struggle to make senior teams in Leitrim. Fact. As already said, what's another year.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 104 - 03/03/2024 16:33:51    2529454

Without studying all the potential outcomes, I deduct that with carlows loss to Wexford and Tipperary drawing with Waterford, we had a prime chance of promotion despite losing last weekend, and we have completely blown it?

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 03/03/2024 16:34:42    2529455

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "Rinse and repeat..
We'll have people on here that will criticise this performance and this campaign. Fully justified. Then we'll have people who will come on and criticise them for being negative about the team. They'll then suggest that if they want to make a difference they should get involved in their club. It's like suggesting that if you've a problem with you're car you should have been a mechanic and to stop whinging about it.
Surely, at this stage, we can wake up and accept that we are a basket case and that we need a complete overhaul of how we run things in the county. Jim Gavin, Mickey Harte, Jim Mc Guinnes, it doesn't matter who's in charge. We are bound to fail again and again because we are not running it correctly. There's ample precedent for teams, counties, countries with small numbers being successful. We are a glorified social club at this stage. Ignore the fact that we're SH one T. At least we'll travel to Dungarvan and the likes and we'll get to wear our hi-vis hats and get our picture in the Observer.
With regard to Andy Moran, there are lads on the panel who would struggle to make senior teams in Leitrim. Fact. As already said, what's another year."
Very hard to argue with any of the above. Our coaching structures are a complete joke. Our head of coaching doesn't even know the shape of the ball never mind mastermind and harness our counties most important players. Then you have a chairperson that is more interested in getting his photo in the paper and making sweeping headlong to garner attention for his self political party. Our county secretary is the only officer that has a bit of know how about him and does an excellent. Don't get me started on daft Facebook posts each Sunday from some fella travelling from Dublin to follow Leitrim.
The players in my eyes are putting in a huge effort and Andy himself has threw everything at it but you can expect different result unless Leitrim have a huge shake up at board level and get rid of anyone that has been in a coaching job the last 10 years in the county and be honest and say it's not good enough and we are going to try a different direction. Maybe paid officers need to be sacked because if you were doing any other profession and you kept failing you wouldn't many Years left in the job. I will continue to support the county team and management but let's all be realistic until a complete overhaul is done this will continue to be the norm

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 03/03/2024 17:28:08    2529474

Replying To lugdrum:  "Very hard to argue with any of the above. Our coaching structures are a complete joke. Our head of coaching doesn't even know the shape of the ball never mind mastermind and harness our counties most important players. Then you have a chairperson that is more interested in getting his photo in the paper and making sweeping headlong to garner attention for his self political party. Our county secretary is the only officer that has a bit of know how about him and does an excellent. Don't get me started on daft Facebook posts each Sunday from some fella travelling from Dublin to follow Leitrim.
The players in my eyes are putting in a huge effort and Andy himself has threw everything at it but you can expect different result unless Leitrim have a huge shake up at board level and get rid of anyone that has been in a coaching job the last 10 years in the county and be honest and say it's not good enough and we are going to try a different direction. Maybe paid officers need to be sacked because if you were doing any other profession and you kept failing you wouldn't many Years left in the job. I will continue to support the county team and management but let's all be realistic until a complete overhaul is done this will continue to be the norm"
Barring one or two obvious candidates, that the best we've got player wise . Changing various officer cohorts will do SFA in my opinion

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 03/03/2024 18:32:56    2529505

Leitrim have a few new 2024 Vans on the road. I wonder are these sponsored?

Leitrim2024 (Leitrim) - Posts: 28 - 03/03/2024 19:04:59    2529519

Replying To Square_B:  "Now 7... Ah shur what's another yeah eh?"
Andy not up to it. I'm saying it since end of his first year. A monumental waste of resources!! A nice guy but he should have went after New York last year. He's not up to the task.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 03/03/2024 19:23:51    2529528

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Andy not up to it. I'm saying it since end of his first year. A monumental waste of resources!! A nice guy but he should have went after New York last year. He's not up to the task."
I beg to Differ, ye are 2nd in the table with 2 games to go and in with a right shout of promotion and will at the very least finish in the top half. The break will be a chance to work on a few things for sure, but 2 or 4 points is well doable. All teams are in the same div at more or less the same level.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 03/03/2024 20:19:53    2529549

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Andy not up to it. I'm saying it since end of his first year. A monumental waste of resources!! A nice guy but he should have went after New York last year. He's not up to the task."
He should have never been appointed. A man with the grand total of 3 months management experience with his own club. I said it would be a mistake from Day 1, was berated about it and here we are... it's been a very expensive mistake. This is squarely at the door of the county board, and the gas thing is that last year the treasurer was complaining about inter county running costs but yet we spent more on management in 2023 than Meath did, a team 2 divisions above us. The difference would go a long way to pay for the pitch that's so badly needed at Pairc Sean. The problem now is where do we go from here?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/03/2024 20:21:02    2529550

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "hope u dont gamble"
No I don't. Nothing wrong making a prediction. Clown

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 03/03/2024 20:26:07    2529551

Replying To lugdrum:  "Very hard to argue with any of the above. Our coaching structures are a complete joke. Our head of coaching doesn't even know the shape of the ball never mind mastermind and harness our counties most important players. Then you have a chairperson that is more interested in getting his photo in the paper and making sweeping headlong to garner attention for his self political party. Our county secretary is the only officer that has a bit of know how about him and does an excellent. Don't get me started on daft Facebook posts each Sunday from some fella travelling from Dublin to follow Leitrim.
The players in my eyes are putting in a huge effort and Andy himself has threw everything at it but you can expect different result unless Leitrim have a huge shake up at board level and get rid of anyone that has been in a coaching job the last 10 years in the county and be honest and say it's not good enough and we are going to try a different direction. Maybe paid officers need to be sacked because if you were doing any other profession and you kept failing you wouldn't many Years left in the job. I will continue to support the county team and management but let's all be realistic until a complete overhaul is done this will continue to be the norm"
It must be a huge burden for you to be so so clever! How do you handle this at all intelligence is such a great gift, I bow to your superior knowledge! I hear Kerry could be knocking on the door for you, but then I was reminded by my good friend from Killarney that they have enough keyboard warriors in there own county!!

Leitrim@1960 (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 03/03/2024 20:50:35    2529563

We are beyond reactionary here.

You would need a good search to have the exact details of the last time Leitrim beat Longford at senior level. Expectations were in no way tempered despite Longford being bookies favourites. The fact that they are operating a division above us for the majority of the last 20 years seems lost on many. Longford had that superiority in the heads today from the start and was plain to see even prior to ROR's early BC that they weren't going to give it up easy.

As an aside, there are no full time paid officers of the Leitrim Co Board, unlike in Longford where the County Secretary's role is combined with the County Games Manager's Role as a full time paid position.

People can assess for themselves on the basis of that if we are getting bang for our buck and it deserves consideration before criticism is levelled at those who are putting their hands up for what are essentially voluntary positions. The amount of nominations for positions at December's convention would suggest an overwhelming majority are in favour of those in those jobs continuing as there were few or no nominations to the contrary.

The above it in no way an attempt to defend the approach of those in power, merely to consider what is comparable and what isn't.

Fact of the matter is, Longford are short a good few players that would make a difference to them and are still six points better than us on today's evidence. Not surprising at all given the calibre of what they are missing and given that we are absent a player that has contributed circa 8-9 PPG this year and would keep most teams best two defenders occupied for large parts of a game.

Promotion now out of our hands as Longford and Carlow have us on head to head, but a few stray results in R6 & 7 might help us, especially with Tipp drawing today.

It will take a massive effort in Portlaoise coupled with a lackadaisical Laois approach to have us in the frame come round 7. Not unachievable but unlikely, to be fair.

Either way, a Sligo Team that have beaten us at the last 4 times of asking and have comfortably secured Div 3 status for '25 await in Connacht.

Perhaps that should be the focus with a view to getting out of the TC group stages and a build towards League '25?

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 03/03/2024 23:45:53    2529600

Replying To Leitrim@1960:  "It must be a huge burden for you to be so so clever! How do you handle this at all intelligence is such a great gift, I bow to your superior knowledge! I hear Kerry could be knocking on the door for you, but then I was reminded by my good friend from Killarney that they have enough keyboard warriors in there own county!!"
If you take the time to re read my post I have not blamed the current players or management for this. They are doing the very best they can. I am laying blame at the lack of coaching structures for years. I admire you for sticking up for them but surely you even see the wood from the trees and know that something has to Change. We can't change the players I would say bar a very small few the best players are playing with Leitrim. Andy will prob step away at the end of the season but until there is a complete overhaul in the running of the county board in all aspects particularly in coaching we will be going no where

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 04/03/2024 01:10:53    2529603

Replying To Dodgy_Pass:  "We are beyond reactionary here.

You would need a good search to have the exact details of the last time Leitrim beat Longford at senior level. Expectations were in no way tempered despite Longford being bookies favourites. The fact that they are operating a division above us for the majority of the last 20 years seems lost on many. Longford had that superiority in the heads today from the start and was plain to see even prior to ROR's early BC that they weren't going to give it up easy.

As an aside, there are no full time paid officers of the Leitrim Co Board, unlike in Longford where the County Secretary's role is combined with the County Games Manager's Role as a full time paid position.

People can assess for themselves on the basis of that if we are getting bang for our buck and it deserves consideration before criticism is levelled at those who are putting their hands up for what are essentially voluntary positions. The amount of nominations for positions at December's convention would suggest an overwhelming majority are in favour of those in those jobs continuing as there were few or no nominations to the contrary.

The above it in no way an attempt to defend the approach of those in power, merely to consider what is comparable and what isn't.

Fact of the matter is, Longford are short a good few players that would make a difference to them and are still six points better than us on today's evidence. Not surprising at all given the calibre of what they are missing and given that we are absent a player that has contributed circa 8-9 PPG this year and would keep most teams best two defenders occupied for large parts of a game.

Promotion now out of our hands as Longford and Carlow have us on head to head, but a few stray results in R6 & 7 might help us, especially with Tipp drawing today.

It will take a massive effort in Portlaoise coupled with a lackadaisical Laois approach to have us in the frame come round 7. Not unachievable but unlikely, to be fair.

Either way, a Sligo Team that have beaten us at the last 4 times of asking and have comfortably secured Div 3 status for '25 await in Connacht.

Perhaps that should be the focus with a view to getting out of the TC group stages and a build towards League '25?"
As far as I'm aware there is a full time paid administrator in Leitrim. The Games Manager is a paid role (also full time as far as I'm aware) as are the Games Promotion Co-ordinators. It has been said over and over again but it's hard to see how one can justify spending large sums of money on a management team when coaching in the county needs to be improved. We also seem to not be able to hold on to GPC's, for what ever reason, which can't be helpful. It is also noted that when a certain person was involved, there was a lot of activity, workshops etc which stopped when he left. I've also said this before, there's probably too many clubs in Leitrim meaning that resources can be spread too thin. With the way trends are going, some clubs will have to merge together or disband. In saying that, I constantly look to our neighbours over in Fermanagh & Longford (particularly Fermanagh) who both have less clubs than we have, a similar enough sized playing base and wonder how they manage to achieve more on the field of play. Perhaps it's a culture mindset I don't know. You have to wonder are clubs doing enough to attract people to get involved not just at a playing level but coaching & organisation? Emigration doesn't help but we can't keep letting this be an excuse. On the field of play, after the last 2 games, there's no way we'd deserve to be promoted. In fact, we have gone backwards in the last 3 years. The reality is that we're going to meet many of the same teams in the TC in a few months time so I think planning for 2025 needs to start fairly soon. Either way, the next man is going to have an almighty job on his hands.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/03/2024 09:14:01    2529617

Replying To martinjoe:  "I beg to Differ, ye are 2nd in the table with 2 games to go and in with a right shout of promotion and will at the very least finish in the top half. The break will be a chance to work on a few things for sure, but 2 or 4 points is well doable. All teams are in the same div at more or less the same level."
We are second in the table after beating Waterford and London and the victory against Wexford was down to a last minute penalty that was never a penalty.

We lost to New York last year, we never won a game in the Tailteann Cup last year.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 04/03/2024 10:35:40    2529639

Replying To Square_B:  "As far as I'm aware there is a full time paid administrator in Leitrim. The Games Manager is a paid role (also full time as far as I'm aware) as are the Games Promotion Co-ordinators. It has been said over and over again but it's hard to see how one can justify spending large sums of money on a management team when coaching in the county needs to be improved. We also seem to not be able to hold on to GPC's, for what ever reason, which can't be helpful. It is also noted that when a certain person was involved, there was a lot of activity, workshops etc which stopped when he left. I've also said this before, there's probably too many clubs in Leitrim meaning that resources can be spread too thin. With the way trends are going, some clubs will have to merge together or disband. In saying that, I constantly look to our neighbours over in Fermanagh & Longford (particularly Fermanagh) who both have less clubs than we have, a similar enough sized playing base and wonder how they manage to achieve more on the field of play. Perhaps it's a culture mindset I don't know. You have to wonder are clubs doing enough to attract people to get involved not just at a playing level but coaching & organisation? Emigration doesn't help but we can't keep letting this be an excuse. On the field of play, after the last 2 games, there's no way we'd deserve to be promoted. In fact, we have gone backwards in the last 3 years. The reality is that we're going to meet many of the same teams in the TC in a few months time so I think planning for 2025 needs to start fairly soon. Either way, the next man is going to have an almighty job on his hands."
Agreed. I am by no means against county board officers getting paid something for the hours they put in. In fact I would go as far to say Leitrim should be trying to make the secretary position a full time role and combine it with something else. The Coaching games administrator is a full time well paid position. The next chairperson should be setting goals for the game manager and if they are not hit then the job needs to be giving to someone that will bring us to the next level. I would say we haven't won 5 games at minor or u20/21 in the last 10-15 years and well beaten in the majority of them games also. I am saying for 1 second that we should be winning these championships but we should be closing the gap. Look at Sligo how much they progressed and that's down to the head of coaching driving the standards and not making up excuses. Yes clubs also need to look at themselves but bringing coaches into a room and talking about coaching on a power point presentation isn't improving anything and maybe the person giving them presentations knows that if he goes out and takes a session he would be found out. Get top coaches down to take seasons and let club coaches come and watch and see it hands on how they deliver the sessions.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 04/03/2024 11:10:53    2529661

Replying To Square_B:  "As far as I'm aware there is a full time paid administrator in Leitrim. The Games Manager is a paid role (also full time as far as I'm aware) as are the Games Promotion Co-ordinators. It has been said over and over again but it's hard to see how one can justify spending large sums of money on a management team when coaching in the county needs to be improved. We also seem to not be able to hold on to GPC's, for what ever reason, which can't be helpful. It is also noted that when a certain person was involved, there was a lot of activity, workshops etc which stopped when he left. I've also said this before, there's probably too many clubs in Leitrim meaning that resources can be spread too thin. With the way trends are going, some clubs will have to merge together or disband. In saying that, I constantly look to our neighbours over in Fermanagh & Longford (particularly Fermanagh) who both have less clubs than we have, a similar enough sized playing base and wonder how they manage to achieve more on the field of play. Perhaps it's a culture mindset I don't know. You have to wonder are clubs doing enough to attract people to get involved not just at a playing level but coaching & organisation? Emigration doesn't help but we can't keep letting this be an excuse. On the field of play, after the last 2 games, there's no way we'd deserve to be promoted. In fact, we have gone backwards in the last 3 years. The reality is that we're going to meet many of the same teams in the TC in a few months time so I think planning for 2025 needs to start fairly soon. Either way, the next man is going to have an almighty job on his hands."
Hopefully the next man has more experience than a year managing his own club and a podcast.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 04/03/2024 12:18:15    2529691

Hugely disappointed after yesterday especially the manner of the defeat we were beaten with 15 minutes to go and the fact all the results went in our favour a win yesterday would have been huge ,we just can't seem to handle the pressure that goes with these games and until we do we'll never progress. Three years in and a lot of expense we look like we're going to fail to get promoted for the third time , first team to lose in New York, one win in two tailteann Cup campaigns, it's very hard to say management have improved things. But maybe we've hyped up the players to be better than they are, I always thought we had a team good enough to get into and stay in division 3 but don't think that now some good footballers for sure but not nearly enough to even get out of division 4. When was the last time we won a pressure game when everything was on the line 2019? We won't beat Laois so the Tipperary game will be a dead rubber. Think Wexford will beat Longford on the last day to go up who'd have thought that after we robbed them two weeks ago.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 04/03/2024 12:27:23    2529696

I think allot has to come down to managements team selection, they have to bite the bullet and put out our best team, for me that would be;
1 Killian Gaffey
2 Conor Reynolds
3 Donal Casey
4 Aidan Flynn
5 Mark Diffley
6 Jack Gilheany
7 Radek Oberwan
8 Mark Plunkett
9 Pearse Dolan
10 Evan Sweeney
11 Barry McNulty
12 Ryan O Rourke
13 Tom Prior
14 Paul Keaney
15 Darragh Rooney

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 04/03/2024 12:57:40    2529710

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Hopefully the next man has more experience than a year managing his own club and a podcast."
It wasn't even a year. Three months at the time he was touted for a job at county level... less than a year when he got the job. Small bit of coaching with Mayo U20's. An expensive mistake.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/03/2024 13:38:43    2529721

I thought it was the right appointment and still believe it is the right appointment. The level of professionalism within the squad now is of a higher standard and the S&C would have went up a notch or 2. Who do you get next year that will improve things? Mickey Graham has it if he wants it I have no doubt. IMO you need a defensive minded coach we are too open at the back but have quality forwards.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 04/03/2024 14:49:40    2529741