Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Mugatay:  "Over all we are motoring well. We were rusty enough down in Dungarvan and needed to get the monkey off our back and win a game. A great number of supporters travelled down.
London made life difficult with their 15 men behind the ball - there's baggage there with them but we came through. It wasn't pretty but it doesn't need to be.
The Wexford game was tense throughout. Ref seemed very harsh on us for most of the game which made the penalty decision all the more baffling. He really could have done with relaxing the whistle and the game wiuld have benefitted but it felt good to be on the right side of last minute drama for once. (Neil Finnegan v Galway '95, David O'Connor v Ros '03, London in The Hyde..we could go on!) We were lucky we didn't lose anyone to the line.

Nevin likes to attack and I like to see that after the passing around the backs. We need to look up the direction of our posts when we get the ball. Sometimes there's a man on for the kick and when we do kick, we get men off the shoulder and create scores. He banged over a great score. Ok he got his timing off for the goal but otherwise, he's a great fly keeper. Donal W. does a lot of unseen horse work and gives 100%. His longevity in games will improve with this game time.

Wexford did look to be finishing the stronger but they were very wasteful of some very kickable scores from play and the couple of frees. We were very accurate thankfully and took our scores well. Ryan is playing great stuff. Carlow won't be able to marshal himself and Rooney. We have other players also popping up with scores anyways.
Wexford players left on the floor bouncing off Jack in the middle of the park was worth a score in its self and it was nice to see a bit of the old Gerry Flanagan / Ollie Honeyman flavour to our play.
Afterwards, a quick walk on the pitch and it looked like cattle were let in on it. Its heavy and definitely in need of TLC for a county pitch but that would have been energy sapping for the lads and yet we didn't die off in the game when Wexford went ahead so that's also pleasing from a fitness point of view.

More and more supporters are coming out of hibernation. You could have counted on one hand all that travelled for Wexford but their subs bench and background team were impressive how vocal they were with each score towards the end. It's a major blow to lose in the way they did. They had ample chances and where the ref was going with the minute after the penalty, who knows. The ref's first game and no doubt he will also improve. It's spilt milk now. No apologies from us for a bit of luck for once. Great seeing everyone's delight at the end- Fairplay to the whole set up.

We drive on. We should beat Carlow. Don't give them a sniff of belief and their heads will go quicker than the likes of Wexford. One game at a time and we must back that great win up with another one. I hope there will be big support down there. I can't make this one but I'll be glued to the wireless.
Liatroim abú"
One of the best posts I've read on here in a while.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 20/02/2024 20:37:40    2527277

My mind boggles wondering why there are posters on this thread giving so much criticism to the County Board.
Going by what I'm reading you'd think that Enda and Declan were paid officials and haven't a clue about fundraising.

As you know the committee of the County Board are all giving hours upon hours voluntary for the running of the GAA in Leitrim.

These positions will be available at the next AGM.

It you are not satisfied with the work of these people and you have a positive vision of the Gaa in Leitrim, for the love of your county get your club to nominate you and get elected to the committee of the Co Board.

The Co Board would welcome you with open arms.

I wonder why people anonymously post criticism about the Co Board.
If you are a supporter of Leitrim GAA and have constructive suggestions in relation to fundraising which the Co Board would welcome. .

EiTHER

1 Get you club to bring your suggestions to a Co Board meeting which they can under AOB (any other business).
OR
2 Get your club to write to the Co Board secretary with your suggestion.

Come on stop your criticism and give your suggestions to the Co Board.
My presumption is that similar to the Co Board you wish the GAA in the county the best.

I've a feeling this post won't be popular with the some of the people who post on this Leitrim page.

I wish your ideas will be forwarded to the Co Board and they will be of financially beneficial to Leitrim Gaa.

I thank you for reading this post and I wish you good health.
Thank you.
******************************************************************************************************
WE ALL CAN CRITICISE
HOWEVER
CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM is always welcome.
**'**********************'**************************
UNITED WE STAND
DIVIDED WE FALL.
******************************************************************************************************

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 20/02/2024 20:42:14    2527278

Replying To Shannonview:  "My mind boggles wondering why there are posters on this thread giving so much criticism to the County Board.
Going by what I'm reading you'd think that Enda and Declan were paid officials and haven't a clue about fundraising.

As you know the committee of the County Board are all giving hours upon hours voluntary for the running of the GAA in Leitrim.

It you are not satisfied with the work of these people and you have a positive vision of the Gaa in Leitrim, for the love of your county get your club to nominate you and get elected to the committee of the Co Board.

If you are a supporter of Leitrim GAA and have constructive suggestions in relation to fundraising which the Co Board would welcome. .

EiTHER

1 Get you club to bring your suggestions to a Co Board meeting which they can under AOB (any other business).
OR

My presumption is that similar to the Co Board you wish the GAA in the county the best.

I've a feeling this post won't be popular with the some of the people who post on this Leitrim page.

I wish your ideas will be forwarded to the Co Board and they will be of financially beneficial to Leitrim Gaa.

Thank you.
WE ALL CAN CRITICISE
HOWEVER
UNITED WE STAND
DIVIDED WE FALL.
****************"
I don't think people are being critical of individual members of the board. The question was raised about asking the clubs for money. Which I feel (as personal opinion) is unfair considering how the board has chosen to invest the money raised by supporters ie club members and sponsors.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 20/02/2024 23:19:51    2527294

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Thoughts on Leitrim GAA requesting that the clubs in the county contribute to pay off the €83,000 shortfall for the new pitch resurfacing? Some cheek asking for this not even a week after the JP McManus money hit each clubs account. In my opinion they can fundraise for it themselves. Maybe they should ask their sponsors Avantcard or Gallaghers to contribute paying off the shortfall.

The 50 mile challenge is possibly one of the worst fundraising ideas I've heard of. "Here ye give us money and we will give ye a cheaply made hat that you can wear while you walk around for the month. Good lads and lassies" Surely there are better ways to raise money. Do a fundraising event like white collar boxing and have the county footballers box the heads of the hurlers. Or sell a car. It's fairly embarassing when there are clubs that can raise more money than the county board.

Gortletteragh GAA undertook a €590,000 redevelopment funded mostly by the local people and I don't recall the county board helping them out with it."
Your 100% right. I said this would happen after a certain game was call off when our great county pitch couldn't take the rain. Our CB have always passed on the bills to the clubs and this will continue to be the way until the clubs decide that this is enough and has to stop. And like before there will be the certain few jumping in to defend the CB and say how else can they get the money raised. If they don't know how raise the money themselves as a CB then they shouldn't be in the job. Before someone says for me to join the CB and do it. I have been there and suggested this and was laughed at for even suggesting it. Needless to say will never be going back

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 20/02/2024 23:20:51    2527295

Replying To Shannonview:  "My mind boggles wondering why there are posters on this thread giving so much criticism to the County Board.

EiTHER

OR

Thank you.
WE ALL CAN CRITICISE
HOWEVER
UNITED WE STAND
DIVIDED WE FALL.
****************"
Well said and very timely

It is really discouraging to see the level of negativity on this site against the CB, Team management, anyone trying to do anything.

I see one genius even riddiculed the 50Mile Challenge despite it bringing in £500,00 since it started.

Whingers and begrudgers will get us nowhere.

It is only by working together that Leitrim can achieve anything.

There was a fantastic atmosphere in Carrick on Sunday.

The supporters are starved of success. They want a successful senior team ,men and women.

The county ground needs to be done and it will be of great benefit to everyone.

Borrowing which was suggested by one of the leading posters on this forum is not an option.

My club is very enthusiastic about this project and I haven't heard any criticism of the approach except from the usual negative contributors on this forum.

Finally, be aware that continuous whinging will damage your own health.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 20/02/2024 23:45:52    2527297

Replying To joeman123:  "Well said and very timely

It is really discouraging to see the level of negativity on this site against the CB, Team management, anyone trying to do anything.

I see one genius even riddiculed the 50Mile Challenge despite it bringing in £500,00 since it started.

The supporters are starved of success. They want a successful senior team ,men and women.

Borrowing which was suggested by one of the leading posters on this forum is not an option.

My club is very enthusiastic about this project and I haven't heard any criticism of the approach except from the usual negative contributors on this forum.

Finally, be aware that continuous whinging will damage your own health."
Joe it's fairly obvious that you're a county board man. You are allowed to have an alternative opinion... perhaps you should try it sometime... If you're telling me that Leitrim GAA with an income of c1mil per year cannot raise 80k debt over 5 years to perhaps relieve the burden on clubs then maybe were in bigger trouble than I thought. Perhaps if we weren't handing out massive sums in recent years on an inexperienced management team and instead priorising projects like this, it might be best for all.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 21/02/2024 08:44:17    2527316

Replying To Square_B:  "Joe it's fairly obvious that you're a county board man. You are allowed to have an alternative opinion... perhaps you should try it sometime... If you're telling me that Leitrim GAA with an income of c1mil per year cannot raise 80k debt over 5 years to perhaps relieve the burden on clubs then maybe were in bigger trouble than I thought. Perhaps if we weren't handing out massive sums in recent years on an inexperienced management team and instead priorising projects like this, it might be best for all."
Exactly, this recent influx from jp was a major boost for some of the smaller clubs in the county which was badly needed to help keep them afloat for the years to come, very out of touch to go looking for it so quickly.

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 26 - 21/02/2024 09:44:06    2527327

i just think its the easy option by the county board, knowing clubs have a few euro. from my reading of the breakdown of the money needed for the full project, the county board are getting €300k of grant funding and €83k of shortfall as they say, with the 83 to be funded by clubs, so its being fully funded by grants and clubs. surely Avant money can be tapped up as from what i hear they pay very little for the naming rights, circa 20k, they'll get lots of publicity with the newly redeveloped Avant Money Pairc Sean being banded about.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 21/02/2024 10:18:53    2527333

Replying To Thejampot:  "Your 100% right. I said this would happen after a certain game was call off when our great county pitch couldn't take the rain. Our CB have always passed on the bills to the clubs and this will continue to be the way until the clubs decide that this is enough and has to stop. And like before there will be the certain few jumping in to defend the CB and say how else can they get the money raised. If they don't know how raise the money themselves as a CB then they shouldn't be in the job. Before someone says for me to join the CB and do it. I have been there and suggested this and was laughed at for even suggesting it. Needless to say will never be going back"
Well said. Some people don't like change or to have their ideas contradicted cos it differs to how their forefathers did it. If we don't innovate we will never improve and become a Sam Maguire competitive county and that should be our aim, otherwise what's the point

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 21/02/2024 10:20:58    2527335

Replying To theroadtocroker:  "Exactly, this recent influx from jp was a major boost for some of the smaller clubs in the county which was badly needed to help keep them afloat for the years to come, very out of touch to go looking for it so quickly."
Exactly and to expect smaller rural clubs like Eslin, Gortlettragh, Aughnasheelin who have small population bases to contribute the same amount of money as big town clubs is also out of touch. These rural clubs find it very hard to raise funds each year in comparison to town clubs (it's also fairly difficult for town clubs to raise funds).

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 21/02/2024 10:57:36    2527341

The sacred cows don't like to be questioned. What's clear is that whatever we've been at for nigh on 20 years hasn't been working. I think people are entitled to raise questions at this point.

I'd love to know the cost per head of the New York trip. There was a lot of miles walked to send them on that jolly.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 104 - 21/02/2024 12:59:02    2527364

Guys there's a lot of over and back on the forum these days but it's important for everyone to work together so here's a few fundraiser suggestions that the County Board have not yet done, but might be worth considering:

- County Board Full Monty Night
- "5772 miles for Leitrim" - All fans of Leitrim GAA travel the full extent of the Transiberian Railway in January 2025
- County Board Magic Mike Night
- A cake sale

I would welcome any/all these being brought up in the AOB section of the county board meeting as a previous poster suggests.

MagnumPIG (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 21/02/2024 14:30:50    2527390

Replying To joeman123:  "Well said and very timely

Finally, be aware that continuous whinging will damage your own health."
I think most people are happy the project is being undertaken. Everyone knows it is needed. What I was trying to express is that people are tired of the cost being handed down to the clubs once again. It bangs of laziness and lack of effort on behalf of the county board.

Many clubs in the county are just about getting by financially, others are in debt and those that are operating well financially work tirelessly to do so. The likes of Mohill, Bornacoola and Gortletteragh among others have undertaken major redevelopments in recent years and had to work very hard to do so.

The county board got a grant of €300,000.00 and had a €83,000.00 shortfall. It seems to an outsider they have explored no other means to raise these funds, through a loan as one poster suggested or by raising funds through a fundraiser. Their first port of call was to request the shortfall to be paid off by the clubs. To do so knowing the clubs had only just received the JP money is just rubbing salt in the wounds.

Your own club might not be expressing any criticism but speaking to most people around the county this week and at the game on Sunday they were disgusted by the actions of the county board. I have asked my club representatives to issue a complaint as one poster suggested but I don't expect them to do so because knowing this county board they will use it as a stick to beat us with.

The county board are meant to represent the best interests of gaels and clubs in the county. This is not in the best interests of the clubs.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 21/02/2024 16:03:20    2527415

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "The sacred cows don't like to be questioned. What's clear is that whatever we've been at for nigh on 20 years hasn't been working. I think people are entitled to raise questions at this point.

I'd love to know the cost per head of the New York trip. There was a lot of miles walked to send them on that jolly."
The proof is in the pudding.... 183k was raised in 2023 for men & womens senior teams.... 100k this year. Significantly down which tells it's own story. 2023 paid for NYC & a chunk of senior team management costs.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 21/02/2024 21:55:25    2527459

Replying To Square_B:  "The proof is in the pudding.... 183k was raised in 2023 for men & womens senior teams.... 100k this year. Significantly down which tells it's own story. 2023 paid for NYC & a chunk of senior team management costs."
Why do you believe the figure is down?

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 22/02/2024 00:05:22    2527466

Replying To joeman123:  "Why do you believe the figure is down?"
Well Joe tells us what is so seeing that you're close to the action at the top table of the county board (which you don't even deny). 100k is what was donated on the idonate website (which is on the LeitrimGAA website also Joe). Funny enough I haven't seen anyone sharing how much was raised elsewhere or in the Observer... I wonder why.... so if you have more information on that feel free to share it with the audience.

And while you're at it Joe, you might share with the audience how much our senior management team is costing us

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 22/02/2024 08:11:34    2527480

Replying To Square_B:  "Well Joe tells us what is so seeing that you're close to the action at the top table of the county board (which you don't even deny). 100k is what was donated on the idonate website (which is on the LeitrimGAA website also Joe). Funny enough I haven't seen anyone sharing how much was raised elsewhere or in the Observer... I wonder why.... so if you have more information on that feel free to share it with the audience.

And while you're at it Joe, you might share with the audience how much our senior management team is costing us"
In fairness Square B I can't imagine Andy would have been receiving much more than any other county managers in the country. Adding in Micky Graham definitely was a hefty increase as he'd be on a higher rate than most other assistant coaches/selectors around. He does look to have been worth any increase so far though.

It is my opinion that the reason we have seen a massive decrease in funds raised is that it is a very boring fundraiser and doesn't raise the interests of gaels around the county. It was first conjured up in 2020 as a way to raise funds when there was covid restrictions. The only reason it has been successful was down to the generosity of Leitrim folk. In 2024 there is no covid restrictions so I think it is time to part ways with it or at least put more time into a larger fundraiser.

I heard Mohill GAA's white collar boxing event raised near €50-60k. Surely if the CB organised one involving county footballers it would double if not triple that amount. We also see clubs raffling off cars and some county's have raffled houses (fair enough that might be beyond our capabilities).

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 22/02/2024 09:34:18    2527494

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "In fairness Square B I can't imagine Andy would have been receiving much more than any other county managers in the country. Adding in Micky Graham definitely was a hefty increase as he'd be on a higher rate than most other assistant coaches/selectors around. He does look to have been worth any increase so far though.

It is my opinion that the reason we have seen a massive decrease in funds raised is that it is a very boring fundraiser and doesn't raise the interests of gaels around the county. It was first conjured up in 2020 as a way to raise funds when there was covid restrictions. The only reason it has been successful was down to the generosity of Leitrim folk. In 2024 there is no covid restrictions so I think it is time to part ways with it or at least put more time into a larger fundraiser.

I heard Mohill GAA's white collar boxing event raised near €50-60k. Surely if the CB organised one involving county footballers it would double if not triple that amount. We also see clubs raffling off cars and some county's have raffled houses (fair enough that might be beyond our capabilities)."
I've no issue with Mickey.... we know why he's there and what he's about. I have issue handing over large sums to a manager with 3 months management experience when there's other pressing issues to address.... we need bang for our buck. The 50 mile challenge is a nice fundraiser and fairly easy to do and I don't have an issue with it whatsoever. I'm merely pointing out that it's down on previous years and perhaps the reason behind that is because, as you say, it's a tired fundraiser. Even if it raised 50k it would be worth doing. In fairness, there's been some good fundraising over the last few years... why not run the wedding fundraiser again? We seem to forget that there's an audience outside the county who will buy tickets if it's marketed correct. Asking clubs to fund the gap should be the last call... not the first.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 22/02/2024 10:15:13    2527501

Replying To Square_B:  "I've no issue with Mickey.... we know why he's there and what he's about. I have issue handing over large sums to a manager with 3 months management experience when there's other pressing issues to address.... we need bang for our buck. The 50 mile challenge is a nice fundraiser and fairly easy to do and I don't have an issue with it whatsoever. I'm merely pointing out that it's down on previous years and perhaps the reason behind that is because, as you say, it's a tired fundraiser. Even if it raised 50k it would be worth doing. In fairness, there's been some good fundraising over the last few years... why not run the wedding fundraiser again? We seem to forget that there's an audience outside the county who will buy tickets if it's marketed correct. Asking clubs to fund the gap should be the last call... not the first."
Agreed.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 22/02/2024 13:40:34    2527558

Another idea might be to host the likes of Ed Sheeran concert. It's a prime location lots of parking. Buses and a train. Even something like the 2 Johnnies show would attract a huge audience. You'd make money on the tickets and ask a local bar like dunnes would they give a trading licence for a bar on the night and give the profits to Leitrim GAA and like in with Drino drinks. Give them the opportunity to become a sponsor for a year of some sort if they are will to come on board. I'm unsure how much money you would make but if ran properly I'd guess you'd make the price they are asking the clubs to fork out. Maybe this would have been an idea before they start work on the pitch but I wouldn't think it was ever even considered. Another idea that might work is a monster auction I know that carrick on Shannon Golf Club held a really successful one back a couple of years ago. Again these are only ideas but 2 or 3 events like this would generate a fair bit of income one would imagine.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 22/02/2024 16:49:30    2527596