Leitrim GAA thread

a win is a win i suppose, but we have a serious problem at midfield, Gilheany was essentially on his own and fair play to him he kept plugging away. is Plunkett and option to go into midfield instead of Wrynn. As we need a ball winner in there.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 19/02/2024 14:33:39    2526985

Last two matches against Carlow was two very comfortable wins for Leiitrim

Leitrim 2-22 Carlow 0-13
Carlow 1-10 Leitrim 2-14

Leitrim at the very least should be winning at the weekend v Carlow.

Then its a matter of beating Longford and Tipp two teams in a bad place for a 2nd place finish in the table (Laois will beat Leitrim to finish 1st)

So to repeat Leitrim are in the box seat for promotion now.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 19/02/2024 16:23:08    2527032

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "a win is a win i suppose, but we have a serious problem at midfield, Gilheany was essentially on his own and fair play to him he kept plugging away. is Plunkett and option to go into midfield instead of Wrynn. As we need a ball winner in there."
Don't like signalling out players but Donal is way off it. Couldn't believe he lasted as long as he did yesterday. Need Dolan back in there ASAP.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 19/02/2024 16:52:05    2527047

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Great to get the win in the end when all seemed lost very rarely a Leitrim team gets the rub of the green so we'll take it and the 2 points also. Winning games like that despite playing poorly will bring this team on so much Barry McNulty and hat trick hero Ryan were outstanding with Riordan o Rourke and Jack Foley showing well at times also.
However it must be said we were very lucky to win this game ,didn't see the penalty incident ( from talking to other people there we got the rub of the green there) even allowing for that if Ben Brosnan especially had his shooting boots on Wexford would have won the game their power and pace in the middle third wore us down as the game went on, they squeezed up on our kickout and forced O'Donnell to go long from where they dominated clean ball and breaks giving them a big platform, pace around the middle third is a worry for me the two goals we conceded were terrible Wexford ran through us although for the second one keeper should never have hesitated as he would have got there first. We seemed nervous, flat footed for long parts turned over a sight of ball needlessly, pressure of a big game maybe but they may get used to it as every game from now on will be the same. A lot of goal chances butchered also we need to be more clinical there .
One game at a time now starting in Carlow next Sunday. They will be smarting after Laois game and will be fighting for their lives. A performance like today won't do, we need a huge improvement we're far from being in the box seat for promotion but we've given ourselves a good chance but we're going to have to up it a few levels now. Whether we can we'll see the next few weeks"
Good post. The Wexford runners from deep killed us. When they pressed our kickout we were in big trouble.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 19/02/2024 16:55:38    2527048

We just cannot handle runners from deep. Its been the same story for many years.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 19/02/2024 17:01:14    2527051

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Would love an update on the U20s. Line-out, scorers etc.

Really excited to see them.

Is Jamie McGreal still U20?

In Barry McNulty, Jack Foley, Ben Guckian, Jack Casey, Paul Honeyman, Tom Plunkett, Paul Moran, Darren Cox, and Michael McBrien amongst others this is our strongest squad in a long long time.

Many of these will be the mainstays of the senior team in the next few years as some of the current players step away after long periods on the panel."
Yes I am really excited about this u20 team easily has to be the best one in 5 years . There is a very strong contingent of Leitrim village men on that of paddy Keane who is class footballer when he wants to be . Brian cull who in my opinion is the best u20 keeper in the county . Liam chandler who is a strong and quick footballer . Aaron Farrell is a class natural footballer very two footed and Brian goldrick younger brother of senior hurling captain Stephen was very good for Leitrim Gaels senior team last season whenever I seen him play

Honeyman2000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 19/02/2024 19:31:15    2527080

Replying To Honeyman2000:  "Yes I am really excited about this u20 team easily has to be the best one in 5 years . There is a very strong contingent of Leitrim village men on that of paddy Keane who is class footballer when he wants to be . Brian cull who in my opinion is the best u20 keeper in the county . Liam chandler who is a strong and quick footballer . Aaron Farrell is a class natural footballer very two footed and Brian goldrick younger brother of senior hurling captain Stephen was very good for Leitrim Gaels senior team last season whenever I seen him play"
Have they played any more challenge games?

I hope we are not raising too much expectations.

Unlike other provences all counties are bursting with talent.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 19/02/2024 21:33:18    2527095

A lot of unbalanced criticism of Andy Moran here.

I don't think anybody is saying he is Jim Gavin either but when the job became available Moran/Sloan were the best option. Now Moran/Graham are a duo most Division 3 or 4 counties would be very happy to have. That's the bottom line of it. That conversation needs to be parked until September.

The players also love playing for him which was not the case even if we had great success. This is shown with pretty much all available players comminating over the last few years.

They have also had to deal with Covid, The Keith Beirne situation, Ryan O'Rourkes injuries and mass emigration of young people out of the county which has weakened our playing pool/standards in the county considerably.

We are 3 wins from 3 in Division Four. Without Keith Beirne, Pearce Dolan, Cillian McGloin, Jordan Reynolds, Jack Heslin, David Bruen, Fergal McTague and Shane Moran for various reasons. They also took the brave decision to push Paddy Maguire into retirement after his waning commitment last year. All of those players would start for Leitrim or make a big impact on the panel.

However, I do think Moran and co. are particularly weak when it comes to in-game substitutions which again baffled me at the weekend. Bringing on Tom Prior before Plunkett and Keaney was strange when we clearly needed ball winners.

As good as newcomers McGreal and Foley have been I do think our half back line is really struggling physically which is natural as it will take a few years to build up their S&C. Diffley in my eyes is not a natural 6 and also struggles physically. Plunkett or Gilheany at 6 is the natural solution. Plunkett is also our best foot passer so that should stop a lot of the lateral play if he was played there. He is struggling with a hip injury according to the radio so maybe they are easing him back in.

Does anyone know of Jordan Reynolds injury status? He would defiantly be a starter along with Keaney in our forward line.

Was a huge call to start Cathal McHugh at corner back for his first start for Leitrim. He looks to have huge potential and a great engine. He struggled a small bit but I've never seen him play for Ballinamore in the full back line before so it'll be a great learning experience for him.

McNulty looks like he is ready to go to the next level which could be huge for the team. He was our best player against Wexford and hopefully he kicks on now.
The hatrick and overall performance by O'Rourke should give him the confidence to go on and show that he's the best forward in the Division on his day. Hopefully we continue to play him close to goal.

The Goalkeeper situation still makes me uneasy. A natural goalkeeper deals with the Wexford goal easily but at the same time O'Donnell offers long-range free taking and is a good option to receive the ball as a 'fly' keeper. They must not rate Gaffey as highly as others do.

That performance won't be good enough to beat Carlow but add in Pearce Dolan who is a huge loss and a few other players and we now have a real chance of going up.

Wexford have every right to be livid about the penalty decision but Ben Brosnan should have been sent off before that. In Leitrim its very rare we have got the rub of the green so we ill take what we get.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 19/02/2024 23:08:06    2527109

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Don't like signalling out players but Donal is way off it. Couldn't believe he lasted as long as he did yesterday. Need Dolan back in there ASAP."
Pearse should be ok for Sunday. Andy held him back making sure slight hamstring had fully healed.Concerned about remainder of bench as subs against Wexford did not make big impression although Adam Reynolds did his bit. Thanks to poster for tracking recent Leitrim/Carlow meetings which is encouraging.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 19/02/2024 23:20:25    2527112

Over all we are motoring well. We were rusty enough down in Dungarvan and needed to get the monkey off our back and win a game. A great number of supporters travelled down.
London made life difficult with their 15 men behind the ball - there's baggage there with them but we came through. It wasn't pretty but it doesn't need to be.
The Wexford game was tense throughout. Ref seemed very harsh on us for most of the game which made the penalty decision all the more baffling. He really could have done with relaxing the whistle and the game wiuld have benefitted but it felt good to be on the right side of last minute drama for once. (Neil Finnegan v Galway '95, David O'Connor v Ros '03, London in The Hyde..we could go on!) We were lucky we didn't lose anyone to the line.

Nevin likes to attack and I like to see that after the passing around the backs. We need to look up the direction of our posts when we get the ball. Sometimes there's a man on for the kick and when we do kick, we get men off the shoulder and create scores. He banged over a great score. Ok he got his timing off for the goal but otherwise, he's a great fly keeper. Donal W. does a lot of unseen horse work and gives 100%. His longevity in games will improve with this game time.

Wexford did look to be finishing the stronger but they were very wasteful of some very kickable scores from play and the couple of frees. We were very accurate thankfully and took our scores well. Ryan is playing great stuff. Carlow won't be able to marshal himself and Rooney. We have other players also popping up with scores anyways.
Wexford players left on the floor bouncing off Jack in the middle of the park was worth a score in its self and it was nice to see a bit of the old Gerry Flanagan / Ollie Honeyman flavour to our play.
Afterwards, a quick walk on the pitch and it looked like cattle were let in on it. Its heavy and definitely in need of TLC for a county pitch but that would have been energy sapping for the lads and yet we didn't die off in the game when Wexford went ahead so that's also pleasing from a fitness point of view.

More and more supporters are coming out of hibernation. You could have counted on one hand all that travelled for Wexford but their subs bench and background team were impressive how vocal they were with each score towards the end. It's a major blow to lose in the way they did. They had ample chances and where the ref was going with the minute after the penalty, who knows. The ref's first game and no doubt he will also improve. It's spilt milk now. No apologies from us for a bit of luck for once. Great seeing everyone's delight at the end- Fairplay to the whole set up.

We drive on. We should beat Carlow. Don't give them a sniff of belief and their heads will go quicker than the likes of Wexford. One game at a time and we must back that great win up with another one. I hope there will be big support down there. I can't make this one but I'll be glued to the wireless.
Liatroim abú

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 20/02/2024 13:13:16    2527183

Thoughts on Leitrim GAA requesting that the clubs in the county contribute to pay off the €83,000 shortfall for the new pitch resurfacing? Some cheek asking for this not even a week after the JP McManus money hit each clubs account. In my opinion they can fundraise for it themselves. Maybe they should ask their sponsors Avantcard or Gallaghers to contribute paying off the shortfall.

The 50 mile challenge is possibly one of the worst fundraising ideas I've heard of. "Here ye give us money and we will give ye a cheaply made hat that you can wear while you walk around for the month. Good lads and lassies" Surely there are better ways to raise money. Do a fundraising event like white collar boxing and have the county footballers box the heads of the hurlers. Or sell a car. It's fairly embarassing when there are clubs that can raise more money than the county board.

Gortletteragh GAA undertook a €590,000 redevelopment funded mostly by the local people and I don't recall the county board helping them out with it.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 20/02/2024 14:12:57    2527197

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "A lot of unbalanced criticism of Andy Moran here.

I don't think anybody is saying he is Jim Gavin either but when the job became available Moran/Sloan were the best option. Now Moran/Graham are a duo most Division 3 or 4 counties would be very happy to have. That's the bottom line of it. That conversation needs to be parked until September.

The players also love playing for him which was not the case even if we had great success. This is shown with pretty much all available players comminating over the last few years.

They have also had to deal with Covid, The Keith Beirne situation, Ryan O'Rourkes injuries and mass emigration of young people out of the county which has weakened our playing pool/standards in the county considerably.

We are 3 wins from 3 in Division Four. Without Keith Beirne, Pearce Dolan, Cillian McGloin, Jordan Reynolds, Jack Heslin, David Bruen, Fergal McTague and Shane Moran for various reasons. They also took the brave decision to push Paddy Maguire into retirement after his waning commitment last year. All of those players would start for Leitrim or make a big impact on the panel.

However, I do think Moran and co. are particularly weak when it comes to in-game substitutions which again baffled me at the weekend. Bringing on Tom Prior before Plunkett and Keaney was strange when we clearly needed ball winners.

As good as newcomers McGreal and Foley have been I do think our half back line is really struggling physically which is natural as it will take a few years to build up their S&C. Diffley in my eyes is not a natural 6 and also struggles physically. Plunkett or Gilheany at 6 is the natural solution. Plunkett is also our best foot passer so that should stop a lot of the lateral play if he was played there. He is struggling with a hip injury according to the radio so maybe they are easing him back in.

Does anyone know of Jordan Reynolds injury status? He would defiantly be a starter along with Keaney in our forward line.

Was a huge call to start Cathal McHugh at corner back for his first start for Leitrim. He looks to have huge potential and a great engine. He struggled a small bit but I've never seen him play for Ballinamore in the full back line before so it'll be a great learning experience for him.

McNulty looks like he is ready to go to the next level which could be huge for the team. He was our best player against Wexford and hopefully he kicks on now.
The hatrick and overall performance by O'Rourke should give him the confidence to go on and show that he's the best forward in the Division on his day. Hopefully we continue to play him close to goal.

The Goalkeeper situation still makes me uneasy. A natural goalkeeper deals with the Wexford goal easily but at the same time O'Donnell offers long-range free taking and is a good option to receive the ball as a 'fly' keeper. They must not rate Gaffey as highly as others do.

That performance won't be good enough to beat Carlow but add in Pearce Dolan who is a huge loss and a few other players and we now have a real chance of going up.

Wexford have every right to be livid about the penalty decision but Ben Brosnan should have been sent off before that. In Leitrim its very rare we have got the rub of the green so we ill take what we get."
You wouldn't have been saying all that about Moran had we lost the game on Sunday. All I care about is what's best for Leitrim football and come the end of this season, whatever happens, it would be best for Andy to move on for reasons I have posted about in previous posts. I would hope Graham steps in and that was the reason for him coming on board (i.e. job in 2025). I'd be suprised if it wasn't. We disagree on where Leitrim should be 3 years into this project.... he inherited a team that was good enough for promotion. Anyhow, for the moment I'll be taking each game as they come, what happened on Sunday was down to the team and a bit of luck, not necessarily the lads on the line.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 20/02/2024 14:17:26    2527199

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Thoughts on Leitrim GAA requesting that the clubs in the county contribute to pay off the €83,000 shortfall for the new pitch resurfacing? Some cheek asking for this not even a week after the JP McManus money hit each clubs account. In my opinion they can fundraise for it themselves. Maybe they should ask their sponsors Avantcard or Gallaghers to contribute paying off the shortfall.

The 50 mile challenge is possibly one of the worst fundraising ideas I've heard of. "Here ye give us money and we will give ye a cheaply made hat that you can wear while you walk around for the month. Good lads and lassies" Surely there are better ways to raise money. Do a fundraising event like white collar boxing and have the county footballers box the heads of the hurlers. Or sell a car. It's fairly embarassing when there are clubs that can raise more money than the county board.

Gortletteragh GAA undertook a €590,000 redevelopment funded mostly by the local people and I don't recall the county board helping them out with it."
agreed and all of this while paying 2 inter county managers.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 20/02/2024 14:37:42    2527202

Replying To Square_B:  "You wouldn't have been saying all that about Moran had we lost the game on Sunday. All I care about is what's best for Leitrim football and come the end of this season, whatever happens, it would be best for Andy to move on for reasons I have posted about in previous posts. I would hope Graham steps in and that was the reason for him coming on board (i.e. job in 2025). I'd be suprised if it wasn't. We disagree on where Leitrim should be 3 years into this project.... he inherited a team that was good enough for promotion. Anyhow, for the moment I'll be taking each game as they come, what happened on Sunday was down to the team and a bit of luck, not necessarily the lads on the line."
Poor old begrudger, I was waiting to see when you would appear again.

I guess the penalty converted ruined your post.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 20/02/2024 14:44:32    2527204

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Thoughts on Leitrim GAA requesting that the clubs in the county contribute to pay off the €83,000 shortfall for the new pitch resurfacing? Some cheek asking for this not even a week after the JP McManus money hit each clubs account. In my opinion they can fundraise for it themselves. Maybe they should ask their sponsors Avantcard or Gallaghers to contribute paying off the shortfall.

Gortletteragh GAA undertook a €590,000 redevelopment funded mostly by the local people and I don't recall the county board helping them out with it."
Agreed, an embarrassment

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 26 - 20/02/2024 16:27:47    2527230

Agreed, an embarrassment

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 26 - 20/02/2024 16:28:02    2527231

I'm always amused when people complain about the county board like as if they are a completely different identity. The Co Board is made up of club delegates and sub cttees at co board level is also made up of club volunteers. So when the Co Board need money of course it falls back to the club's. It may not be popular but that's how it works.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 20/02/2024 17:29:18    2527238

I completely agree... a bad look. The project is practically costing them nothing. If Leitrim cannot raise a 5 year loan for the amount it's bad.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 20/02/2024 17:50:07    2527246

Replying To Mugatay:  "Over all we are motoring well. We were rusty enough down in Dungarvan and needed to get the monkey off our back and win a game. A great number of supporters travelled down.
London made life difficult with their 15 men behind the ball - there's baggage there with them but we came through. It wasn't pretty but it doesn't need to be.
The Wexford game was tense throughout. Ref seemed very harsh on us for most of the game which made the penalty decision all the more baffling. He really could have done with relaxing the whistle and the game wiuld have benefitted but it felt good to be on the right side of last minute drama for once. (Neil Finnegan v Galway '95, David O'Connor v Ros '03, London in The Hyde..we could go on!) We were lucky we didn't lose anyone to the line.

Nevin likes to attack and I like to see that after the passing around the backs. We need to look up the direction of our posts when we get the ball. Sometimes there's a man on for the kick and when we do kick, we get men off the shoulder and create scores. He banged over a great score. Ok he got his timing off for the goal but otherwise, he's a great fly keeper. Donal W. does a lot of unseen horse work and gives 100%. His longevity in games will improve with this game time.

Wexford did look to be finishing the stronger but they were very wasteful of some very kickable scores from play and the couple of frees. We were very accurate thankfully and took our scores well. Ryan is playing great stuff. Carlow won't be able to marshal himself and Rooney. We have other players also popping up with scores anyways.
Wexford players left on the floor bouncing off Jack in the middle of the park was worth a score in its self and it was nice to see a bit of the old Gerry Flanagan / Ollie Honeyman flavour to our play.
Afterwards, a quick walk on the pitch and it looked like cattle were let in on it. Its heavy and definitely in need of TLC for a county pitch but that would have been energy sapping for the lads and yet we didn't die off in the game when Wexford went ahead so that's also pleasing from a fitness point of view.

More and more supporters are coming out of hibernation. You could have counted on one hand all that travelled for Wexford but their subs bench and background team were impressive how vocal they were with each score towards the end. It's a major blow to lose in the way they did. They had ample chances and where the ref was going with the minute after the penalty, who knows. The ref's first game and no doubt he will also improve. It's spilt milk now. No apologies from us for a bit of luck for once. Great seeing everyone's delight at the end- Fairplay to the whole set up.

We drive on. We should beat Carlow. Don't give them a sniff of belief and their heads will go quicker than the likes of Wexford. One game at a time and we must back that great win up with another one. I hope there will be big support down there. I can't make this one but I'll be glued to the wireless.
Liatroim abú"
Excellent post!

Leitrim@1960 (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 20/02/2024 18:02:30    2527250

Replying To eoinog:  "I'm always amused when people complain about the county board like as if they are a completely different identity. The Co Board is made up of club delegates and sub cttees at co board level is also made up of club volunteers. So when the Co Board need money of course it falls back to the club's. It may not be popular but that's how it works."
The point is that the county board shouldn't be going to clubs looking for money. If the JP money wasn't there they would raise the money. The financial management of the county board is being questioned and how spending is prioritised. It isn't even February and they are going back to the same people looking for money.
Clubs are also struggling and need to prioritise investing money to grass roots and not only the intercounty scene where a large percentage of the boards money goes. It is felt by many that the resurfacing on the county pitch should have been prioritised over county team expenses.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 20/02/2024 20:25:45    2527274