Leitrim GAA thread

Massive game at the weekend, I hope everyone parks their grievances over the next couple of days whether it's with county board or management and sends out a positive vibe, at the end of the day we are all Leitrim people with a passion for the Leitrim jersey. I was not going to travel Sunday but I have changed my plans, hopefully my shouts of encouragement and everyone elses that travels will get management and team over the line. Leitrim Abu.

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 120 - 23/02/2024 13:27:53    2527711

Best of luck to the lads. A win this weekend and we should be well on our way to reaching promotion. We haven't performed to our best to date and are still 3 from 3. Time to push on now big performance needed against a good Carlow side.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 23/02/2024 14:58:56    2527731

Best of luck to all involved both players and management. 50/50 game with Carlow having home advantage. It's almost like each game is a final from here on out. Win tomorrow and you prob put Carlow
Out off the running and beating Wexford last week has prob ended their chances. Laois is the best team in the division and will beat everyone. Leitrim haven't played well to date in the league so a big performance is due and will be needed to get W.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 24/02/2024 13:50:00    2527847

Another huge game today, soon going to head for Carlow hopefully a big following will go. We were very lucky last sunday ,we got a huge break but it wont be worth anything if we lose today.Huge improvement needed from last Sunday, we can't rely on getting lucky breaks all of the time, hopefully we'll get a big performance today and it will be enough to get the 2 points. Carlow are a decent team, underperformed in the second half against Laois but are fighting for their lives and on their home patch it's going to take a huge performance to get a result. A defeat would be a huge setback with difficult away games in Longford and Laois to come. Best of luck to the lads and the ladles in their game also.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 25/02/2024 08:45:26    2527948

Best of luck to Leitrim today, a tough test awaits in Carlow later. If last week is anything to go by, you'll have two teams that will come out of the traps hard so am expecting a physical game with a few points in it. Leitrim Abú.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 25/02/2024 09:37:03    2527960

Did many of you take in the women's game as well?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 25/02/2024 14:40:22    2527989

Poor enough half from Leitrim... doing well to be only 2 points down and lucky Carlow missed a few kickable scores. Not much urgency on show from Leitrim. Going to need a trojan effort in the second half... we could do with a goal to shake it up.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 25/02/2024 14:50:11    2527991

Well the wheel turned full circle this week, we now know how wexford felt last week, sickening sickening defeat we won't get promoted now

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 25/02/2024 16:14:26    2528024

So, we've contrived to lose to Carlow in the league for the first time since 2018. After beating the bottom two teams in the division, we fell over the line against Wexford and now slumped to defeat against Carlow, which has torn open the promotion battle. Tell me this, is our form getting worse as this league campaign goes on?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 25/02/2024 16:21:16    2528026

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Well the wheel turned full circle this week, we now know how wexford felt last week, sickening sickening defeat we won't get promoted now"
Still think Letirim will go up. Will beat Longford next weekend but will come down to the Tipperary game on the last day

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 25/02/2024 16:22:11    2528027

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "So, we've contrived to lose to Carlow in the league for the first time since 2018. After beating the bottom two teams in the division, we fell over the line against Wexford and now slumped to defeat against Carlow, which has torn open the promotion battle. Tell me this, is our form getting worse as this league campaign goes on?"
Lovely language there. 'Lofty or Lovely Leitrim'

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 509 - 25/02/2024 17:19:00    2528046

Replying To williesboy:  "Still think Letirim will go up. Will beat Longford next weekend but will come down to the Tipperary game on the last day"
I'm over 30 years following leitrim and I never remember us winning in Pearse Park. Longford will feel they still have a chance and will be gunning for us. We'll be under huge pressure to win and we all know we generally don't win them type of games. Today is an absolute sickener it seems we'll never learn to see games out . In fairness we played good football in the second half but what does it matter the result is really all that matters. How many more of these games are we going to lose?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 25/02/2024 17:38:24    2528054

Replying To Mugatay:  "Over all we are motoring well. We were rusty enough down in Dungarvan and needed to get the monkey off our back and win a game. A great number of supporters travelled down.
London made life difficult with their 15 men behind the ball - there's baggage there with them but we came through. It wasn't pretty but it doesn't need to be.
The Wexford game was tense throughout. Ref seemed very harsh on us for most of the game which made the penalty decision all the more baffling. He really could have done with relaxing the whistle and the game wiuld have benefitted but it felt good to be on the right side of last minute drama for once. (Neil Finnegan v Galway '95, David O'Connor v Ros '03, London in The Hyde..we could go on!) We were lucky we didn't lose anyone to the line.

Nevin likes to attack and I like to see that after the passing around the backs. We need to look up the direction of our posts when we get the ball. Sometimes there's a man on for the kick and when we do kick, we get men off the shoulder and create scores. He banged over a great score. Ok he got his timing off for the goal but otherwise, he's a great fly keeper. Donal W. does a lot of unseen horse work and gives 100%. His longevity in games will improve with this game time.

Wexford did look to be finishing the stronger but they were very wasteful of some very kickable scores from play and the couple of frees. We were very accurate thankfully and took our scores well. Ryan is playing great stuff. Carlow won't be able to marshal himself and Rooney. We have other players also popping up with scores anyways.
Wexford players left on the floor bouncing off Jack in the middle of the park was worth a score in its self and it was nice to see a bit of the old Gerry Flanagan / Ollie Honeyman flavour to our play.
Afterwards, a quick walk on the pitch and it looked like cattle were let in on it. Its heavy and definitely in need of TLC for a county pitch but that would have been energy sapping for the lads and yet we didn't die off in the game when Wexford went ahead so that's also pleasing from a fitness point of view.

More and more supporters are coming out of hibernation. You could have counted on one hand all that travelled for Wexford but their subs bench and background team were impressive how vocal they were with each score towards the end. It's a major blow to lose in the way they did. They had ample chances and where the ref was going with the minute after the penalty, who knows. The ref's first game and no doubt he will also improve. It's spilt milk now. No apologies from us for a bit of luck for once. Great seeing everyone's delight at the end- Fairplay to the whole set up.

We drive on. We should beat Carlow. Don't give them a sniff of belief and their heads will go quicker than the likes of Wexford. One game at a time and we must back that great win up with another one. I hope there will be big support down there. I can't make this one but I'll be glued to the wireless.
Liatroim abú"
How did that work out for you mugatay? Never count your chickens.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 203 - 25/02/2024 17:55:12    2528061

Replying To JimmyNail:  "I'm over 30 years following leitrim and I never remember us winning in Pearse Park. Longford will feel they still have a chance and will be gunning for us. We'll be under huge pressure to win and we all know we generally don't win them type of games. Today is an absolute sickener it seems we'll never learn to see games out . In fairness we played good football in the second half but what does it matter the result is really all that matters. How many more of these games are we going to lose?"
Longford are going through a major transition and I really think Leitrim will have too much for them. Hopefully it's a cracker of a game.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 25/02/2024 17:57:08    2528062

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "So, we've contrived to lose to Carlow in the league for the first time since 2018. After beating the bottom two teams in the division, we fell over the line against Wexford and now slumped to defeat against Carlow, which has torn open the promotion battle. Tell me this, is our form getting worse as this league campaign goes on?"
Yeah ye did contrive to lose even with a 16th man, the ref. He finally gave ye a black card after letting ye away with persistent deliberate fouling for the whole game.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 203 - 25/02/2024 17:59:37    2528063

Replying To williesboy:  "Still think Letirim will go up. Will beat Longford next weekend but will come down to the Tipperary game on the last day"
I think we'll be depending on Wexford to do us a favour next week and hope we maintain our greater points difference. Carlow have Longford & London after that. Head to head comes in to play also as far as I know so if Carlow win next week we're done. If ourselves, Carlow & Wexford finish level, I think it will come down to point difference. Today was so frustrating, we worked so hard to get ahead and particularly after the calamity of the first Carlow goal... to be undone by a late goal is sickening.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 25/02/2024 18:24:39    2528070

Replying To Square_B:  "I think we'll be depending on Wexford to do us a favour next week and hope we maintain our greater points difference. Carlow have Longford & London after that. Head to head comes in to play also as far as I know so if Carlow win next week we're done. If ourselves, Carlow & Wexford finish level, I think it will come down to point difference. Today was so frustrating, we worked so hard to get ahead and particularly after the calamity of the first Carlow goal... to be undone by a late goal is sickening."
Agreed we may have to win the last 3 games including Laois to get promoted. Very little wriggle room now that's why today is so frustrating

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 25/02/2024 18:41:04    2528073

Think that's the end of our hopes really. Would have been in great place with a win but can't see us winning 2 of the last 3 which I think we would need to do. Actually played really well in the second half but gave away a ridiculous first goal and don't understand how we've been caught with so many players upfield when we're 2 points up in injury time. Also when you're on a yellow card don't start grappling with one of the opponents on the ground for a minute.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 25/02/2024 19:47:12    2528099

The main thing is we'll still be regaled with stories of some of our supporters journey to Carlow and there'll be plenty of photos of lads smiling on the pitch afterwards.
We're afraid to win. We're not ruthless enough. People like us because we're no threat to them. We'll wrap ourselves in the warm blanket that's made from all the pats on the head and the crocodile tears.
I'm loathe to hark bark but do you honestly think that the 94 team would have allowed today to happen?
Afraid to win, happy to lose. It won't stop lads swanning around as if they're playing for Dublin. And spare me the faux outrage at what I've just said! I've heard it all before. I've been all over the country supporting Leitrim. Never again.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 104 - 25/02/2024 19:58:03    2528102

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "The main thing is we'll still be regaled with stories of some of our supporters journey to Carlow and there'll be plenty of photos of lads smiling on the pitch afterwards.
We're afraid to win. We're not ruthless enough. People like us because we're no threat to them. We'll wrap ourselves in the warm blanket that's made from all the pats on the head and the crocodile tears.
I'm loathe to hark bark but do you honestly think that the 94 team would have allowed today to happen?
Afraid to win, happy to lose. It won't stop lads swanning around as if they're playing for Dublin. And spare me the faux outrage at what I've just said! I've heard it all before. I've been all over the country supporting Leitrim. Never again."
There's sadly probably an element of truth to the above. Did all the hard work but just not ruthless enough to see it out. Hard to see how we'll be promoted but I remain hopeful after Laois only getting by Tipp today. Supporting Leitrim would drive you to drink... just as well I like a pint or two ;)

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 25/02/2024 20:15:36    2528105