I go to most Mayo games at all age groups and first round u20 matches in midweek do not attract "many thousands".
ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 11/04/2022 08:46:23 2410484 Link 2 |
Whatever about the venue, I was wondering what the conditions need to be like for a match to be postponed? I would have thought when you cannot place a ball for a kick out with out it rolling away we were fairly close to the threshold. In Soccer if the ball will not roll because of excess water it is generally deemed unplayable. Outside of the obvious safety issues i.e. goal post safety, and for bigger games if it is likely to draw a crowd in dangerous conditions it can be called off to stop people travelling. Is there any set criteria in Gaelic Football outside of safety i.e. not possible to play a proper game? Or is it a case that if it is safe, play away no matter what? Not looking for opinions, just curious about the protocol/rules I was at the Meath game in Salthill in January and it was extremely windy. But I don't remember any issue with the ball moving when placed for a goal kick. Bekan must have been a different level altogether!! Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 11/04/2022 10:13:23 2410491 Link 1 |
There wasn't 1500 at the game last week. 8 - 900 max I would say. The issue last Wednesday was that the weather was borderline unplayable. Nothing wrong with the actual venue for a crowd of that size.
MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 486 - 11/04/2022 11:07:55 2410501 Link 0 |
Was there any comment by the mighty Tom Parsons and the GPA about the U-20 fiasco in Bekan? maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1237 - 11/04/2022 13:19:24 2410528 Link 3 |
Over 1100 tickets was sold on universe.com i believe (have a friend that works on that site) add in the U16s that got in for free for the official attendance. More has attend the other recent U20 games between the two. The weather and choice of venue turned plenty away. Connacht GAA Centre is a grand spot for blitz underage competitions or a bit of training but not knock out championship matches. Game should never have gone ahead with the weather warning in place and this competition should be given a bit more respect by playing matches in provincial grounds, obviously MacHale Park was out of operation so like the NFL games play it in Carrick, Sligo or Roscommon. Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 11/04/2022 14:52:32 2410549 Link 2 |
Well whatever the attendance was, it certainly was nowhere near capacity. The stand was full and a few hundred along one sideline. Hardly anyone behind the goals and nobody on the other sideline. Why would the choice of venue turn people away? It's convenient for Galway people and you can park right beside the pitch. I don't know how anyone would make a game in Carrick, Sligo or Roscommon at half 6 on a weekday? That would have turned myself and most other supporters away. I would feel sorry for lads playing their last underage game in those conditions, but a change of venue wouldn't fix that! MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 486 - 11/04/2022 17:12:46 2410571 Link 1 |
Small sitting capacity is one turn off, it's one of the most exposed grounds in Connacht and played in that weather. You won't be attending Mayo v Leitrim in Carrick this Wednesday then? Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 11/04/2022 20:51:44 2410589 Link 1 |
Spot on. When the full back went in to hold the ball on the ground for the keeper to kick out. That was the time to take them off the pitch. smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 547 - 12/04/2022 13:11:04 2410654 Link 0 |
Agreed. The goal posts were swaying wildly too, which surely could lead to problems if there was a disputed point. There was a strong consistent wind, which is one thing, but the gusts were extremely strong. At one stage there was a 5 yard handpass blown way off course. That's not a game of football and it's quite disrespectful to the players and management teams. It's hard to speak out as it comes across as whinging, but with it being a straight knockout competition neither set of players got a fair chance. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2449 - 12/04/2022 14:29:58 2410682 Link 1 |
All very quiet here lads. Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 13/04/2022 16:38:02 2410873 Link 0 |
Gleeson, giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 13/04/2022 19:54:47 2410902 Link 0 |
its gone quiet for a reason... i think the level of expectation in this Galway team/management has dropped since the league final.. i hope there working on alot more then the ko strategy... im travelling in more hope then anything else.. im just hopeful they will put in everything they have into it and what will be will be. gbay (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 13/04/2022 20:42:21 2410907 Link 0 |
I doubt they will be expecting any less than beating Mayo. But you are right they have a few things to work on. But my point was other weaknesses don't get exposed as much if you get a bigger share of possession. Obviously the defensive structure is crucial. I think at times it is good but it is not well drilled enough hence it is not consistently good. Hopefully no injuries and at least if we lose we lose no excuses. Does anyone think we will have any bolter onto the team. McGlaughlin? Patrick Kelly? Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 14/04/2022 10:19:42 2410939 Link 0 |
I think McLaughlin could have a chance. In midfield we have Conroy who's playing brilliant football, but doesn't have the legs to be tracking Mayo's runs from midfield or deeper. Neither does Tierney if he's his midfield partner. As long as Paul Kelly is fit, I think we'll definitely see him take up this role. Having another option out there would be very useful. McLaughlin is young and inexperienced at that level, but he offers a huge amount. He's an excellent fielder, can cover the ground and he looks more than able from a physical point of view. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2449 - 14/04/2022 11:39:45 2410959 Link 0 |
I tend to agree with you. Paul Kelly will have to track the runners and McGlaughlin certainly has it physically. He can move as well. Conroy, Tierney, McGlaughlin, Kelly & Heaney would give us a nice balance of athleticism and play making around the middle. I would have Shane, Comer & Finnerty as my main strikers. Don't think we can afford another out and out forward without compromising on our defensive stability. I think the 3 lads are well capable of putting up a big score and you would expect the others to chip in also. Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 14/04/2022 12:13:50 2410966 Link 0 |
Why the AN Other is John Daly out injured. I think that team will likely start apart from Flaherty in goals.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3734 - 14/04/2022 12:36:38 2410969 Link 0 |
I'd be weary of putting McLaughlin in from the start, based on limited league appearances and going into the fire of championship football which is another major step up again, especially against a team with the quality of Mayo. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1730 - 14/04/2022 12:47:33 2410971 Link 1 |
Flaherty and Daly unlikely to be ready
giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 14/04/2022 18:20:24 2411045 Link 0 |
Flaherty might be injured maybe? He came off against Ros in league final with some sort of leg injury
galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1324 - 14/04/2022 19:43:52 2411052 Link 0 |
Fine team, but I'd put Daly at 6, and McHugh at 5. Daly is a bette stopper, imho!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2347 - 16/04/2022 09:43:57 2411070 Link 0 |