Galway Football thread

Replying To Mayonman:  "We had 8 starters from Connacht final by my count.

Fitzgerald looks a fine player. Might not be ready for championship this year but could be.

Conroy strolled through last night. Was he minding himself or is that his pace these days. Not sure if that will work come Championship.

Keeper looked composed.

Defense worked well as a unit.

Great to see some of the other young lads getting game time. I'm a huge Mcglaughlin fan. Patrick Kelly is a big unit.

Comer looked sharp.

Extra game is important.

Any word on John Dalys availability?"
Some good points here although harsh on a guy that scored 3 points, it is FBD after all.

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 10/01/2022 10:45:37    2394344

Replying To cavan.galway:  "Some good points here although harsh on a guy that scored 3 points, it is FBD after all."
On reflection it is a bit harsh on Conroy. He was very influential in the game. I just thought he wasn't killing himself. Maybe he didn't have to. IMO Galway were always in control and should have won by much more,

I am scared by many years of Galway being outworked by so called inferior opposition!

Re Conroy specifically I thought last year it was great to see how he came back so strong from his injuries and he was one of our best all year. Possibly he ran out of gas against Mayo in the second half. But then it is easy say that about the older guy when the whole team is being over run. He certainly has the touch of class so hopefully he still has the legs.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 10/01/2022 12:43:28    2394372

Lads, we have 4 away games this season and 3 of them are camel rides away!! On the basis that D2 will not get much TV coverage I will need to do a bit of travelling! Might do Newry as a day trip but was thinking of Cork as an overnight.

Does anyone know where the supporters club would be stayin (or does that exist anymore). Would like to be in the same hotel for the bit of craic?

........easy know i'm in isolation ......................mad for planning trips ............even the local shop at this stage!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 10/01/2022 12:48:41    2394375

Fitzgerald wasn't one I had down for stepping up but he's made DCU's first team and played well against Mayo, I'm sure will get a run in the league. McGrath, McLaughlin & Culhane are still all u20's this year and were outstanding at underage as was Gill so great to see them given a chance.

Poor Dessie was dreadful and has never really impressed at this level and Finnerty once again was quiet but did have a better game then Dessie. The game passed Daly by and McWalter had to take that chance when it came his way, I can't recall him having much influence on the game.

Midfield could well be an issue, not sure thats Tierney's best position and Conroy can't be expected to play a full game at his age. He's outstanding in front of the posts and is still one of our most important players.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 10/01/2022 12:57:13    2394380

Replying To cavan.galway:  "Some good points here although harsh on a guy that scored 3 points, it is FBD after all."
He scores in very game and is MOTM in a lot of them but still lads don't have him on their teams posted here. His free from the sideline was top drawer. Will play a part this year that's for sure. Same with Heaney, scored 2 points and looked in great shape.
I think we have the makings of a good team this year.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 10/01/2022 13:02:44    2394384

Replying To smallfrank:  "He scores in very game and is MOTM in a lot of them but still lads don't have him on their teams posted here. His free from the sideline was top drawer. Will play a part this year that's for sure. Same with Heaney, scored 2 points and looked in great shape.
I think we have the makings of a good team this year."
It was a free from the sideline... indoors. Very different proposition from what he will face when it counts.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 10/01/2022 13:41:04    2394391

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "It was a free from the sideline... indoors. Very different proposition from what he will face when it counts."
yes but the match was indoors. reminds me of the sideline he should have taken against mayo during covid but shayne walsh took it. no harm beating mayo and hopefully another win on friday.

steakknife (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 10/01/2022 13:57:47    2394394

Replying To steakknife:  "yes but the match was indoors. reminds me of the sideline he should have taken against mayo during covid but shayne walsh took it. no harm beating mayo and hopefully another win on friday."
It can't be a top drawer sideline if it takes place indoors. These are pre season challenge games. Nothing to get excited about.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 10/01/2022 14:15:36    2394399

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "It was a free from the sideline... indoors. Very different proposition from what he will face when it counts."
Indeed, but we missed them in the second half, exact same conditions.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 10/01/2022 14:16:12    2394400

Replying To smallfrank:  "He scores in very game and is MOTM in a lot of them but still lads don't have him on their teams posted here. His free from the sideline was top drawer. Will play a part this year that's for sure. Same with Heaney, scored 2 points and looked in great shape.
I think we have the makings of a good team this year."
I retracted my comments a bit on Conroy. I'm a big fan actually and I don't think anyone can doubt his class, particularly his ball striking. My only worry is if he still has the legs for it. And it is hard to know who to point the finger at for the Connacht final second half. We were overrun every where.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 10/01/2022 14:19:12    2394403

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "It can't be a top drawer sideline if it takes place indoors. These are pre season challenge games. Nothing to get excited about."
Touched a nerve?

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 10/01/2022 15:49:09    2394420

Sean Kelly named captain. Great appointment.
Certain starter, very consistent last 2 years and has shown himself to be a leader with club and county

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 10/01/2022 20:09:15    2394460

Replying To smallfrank:  "Sean Kelly named captain. Great appointment.
Certain starter, very consistent last 2 years and has shown himself to be a leader with club and county"
No nothing about Sean Kelly other than what I've seen on the field. But that's enough. The one player that consistently takes the fight to the opposition. Driving forward from full back. Inspirational stuff. He obviously does all the right things of the field based on his physical condition. Great appointment.

Tierney is a good VC as well.

Lots of talent in the squad and coming through. Leadership is very important to help them make the step up and not think they've made it until they have well and truly proven it. And there's only one way to prove it.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 10/01/2022 21:22:55    2394471

Replying To smallfrank:  "Sean Kelly named captain. Great appointment.
Certain starter, very consistent last 2 years and has shown himself to be a leader with club and county"
Sean Kelly is an excellent choice

Maroonedinlongford2 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 11/01/2022 10:20:29    2394492

Replying To steakknife:  "yes but the match was indoors. reminds me of the sideline he should have taken against mayo during covid but shayne walsh took it. no harm beating mayo and hopefully another win on friday."
Will be a surprise if Galway with a lot of likely championship starters involved don't beat a patched up Roscommon team who gave 14 debuts against Sligo on Saturday.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 11/01/2022 10:26:31    2394495

Replying To Yondu:  "Will be a surprise if Galway with a lot of likely championship starters involved don't beat a patched up Roscommon team who gave 14 debuts against Sligo on Saturday."
Depends on what team Galway put out, beating Mayo is of more more importance to Joyce then it is beating Roscommon. in this FBD campaign.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 11/01/2022 11:26:02    2394503

Replying To Yondu:  "Will be a surprise if Galway with a lot of likely championship starters involved don't beat a patched up Roscommon team who gave 14 debuts against Sligo on Saturday."
Nothing surprises me with Galway. Anything is possible. ;)
We need games and more games, so having won the last day is a positive from that point of view too, as we have another run-out on Friday.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 11/01/2022 11:28:03    2394504

As for Galway they need 4 or 5 players to put their hand up and cement their places in the starting 15.

As it stands you'd only say Kelly, Heaney, John Daly, Conroy, Tierney, Walsh & Comer are certs to start when everyone is fit. Thats only 7 players, compare that to any of the top teams and they have about 11/12 guaranteed starters.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 11/01/2022 11:40:21    2394505

With 39 on the panel I'd be very surprised if Galway play a lot of championship starters in mid January.
Now is the time to have a look at fellas, I would expect changes

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 11/01/2022 11:59:13    2394509

There is Sigerson this week so I'd say a lot of those Galway lads that played against Mayo won't be available on Friday.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 11/01/2022 15:56:43    2394545