Galway Football thread

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "17-13 in Galway's favour. Good start!

One thing always interests me, stats-wise is the not uncommon Galway football scoreline; 1-14 often, 0 -17. Of course it's a decent scoreline, but tbh, I find it has become a tad irritating.

Teams with designs on the big prizes must be ambitious enough to consistently attempt to create, and take on goal chances. Our mentality seems to be always "take your points - the goals will come". But they haven't, and won't, unless you're playing a very poorly organised outfit..."
Not sure if you watched the game but we had 4 clear cut goal chances to Mayo's 1, so we were definitely making an effort to create. We got in at them a few other times and were either fouled or took the point.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 07/01/2022 20:19:00    2394018

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Galway with I'd reckon 10 or 11 championship starters in that FBD line up compared to Mayo 5 or 6. Looks like Joyce is taking the FBD more serious than Horan."
11 championship starters when 4 of the starting 15 were full on intercounty debutants? So you think all the others were actually fully blown starters despite mountbellew lads missing, college and covid?

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 211 - 07/01/2022 20:29:48    2394021

Patrick Kelly, Conor Flaherty, Sean Fitzgerald, Finnan O'Laoi, Tony Gill

were all very good

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 07/01/2022 20:47:34    2394024

One thing always interests me, stats-wise is the not uncommon Galway football scoreline; 1-14 often, 0 -17. Of course it's a decent scoreline, but tbh, I find it has become a tad irritating.

Teams with designs on the big prizes must be ambitious enough to consistently attempt to create, and take on goal chances. Our mentality seems to be always "take your points - the goals will come". But they haven't, and won't, unless you're playing a very poorly organised outfit..."
We need to be taking some of those goal chances alright, in fairness at least we're creating chances and we made a few clear cut goal chances tonight, hit the post twice or was it 3 times? These lads will hopefully start putting these away. A nice start to the New Year. Rossies or Sligo next!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 911 - 07/01/2022 21:13:02    2394030

Replying To PressureKick:  "11 championship starters when 4 of the starting 15 were full on intercounty debutants? So you think all the others were actually fully blown starters despite mountbellew lads missing, college and covid?"
So long as everyone is fit and available for selection this is the Galway starting 15 I would expect for the championship encounter in April v Mayo.

Conor Flaherty
Sean Kelly Sean Fitzgerald, Liam Silke
Dylan McHugh, John Daly Cillian McDaid
Matthew Tierney, Paul Conroy
Cathal Sweeney Shane Walsh Johnny Heaney
Robert Finnerty Damien Comer Paul Kelly

10 started last night and Walsh, Kelly introduced.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3358 - 08/01/2022 07:40:58    2394046

In fairness galways last two all Irelands were won with 1-14 and 0-17 respectively.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1736 - 08/01/2022 10:06:53    2394056

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "So long as everyone is fit and available for selection this is the Galway starting 15 I would expect for the championship encounter in April v Mayo.

Conor Flaherty

10 started last night and Walsh, Kelly introduced."
Finian O'Laoi is the first name on the team sheet.
Hardest working player, tracks back, has been picked in every game for 18 months. He will be starting guaranteed

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 08/01/2022 11:22:11    2394068

Yep good performance last night. Galway had more "first teamers" but I think it terms of debutants the Galway lads impressed more than what I seen from the Mayo cohort… but hard to judge anything on first week of Jan.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1581 - 08/01/2022 11:28:00    2394071

Looking at team above not a hope that start championship half back line poor conroy definitely not midfield need runners there 2 defenders in half forward line no chance ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 850 - 08/01/2022 13:16:00    2394085

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "So long as everyone is fit and available for selection this is the Galway starting 15 I would expect for the championship encounter in April v Mayo.

Conor Flaherty

10 started last night and Walsh, Kelly introduced."
Mulkerrin for silke- silke not up to much forever with galway
Not convinced by McHugh, him cathal, mcdaid and Heaney to wrestle for Wing backs. Midfield will be tierney and either Barrett's from mm or leitir mor
O laoi Conroy and shane
Finnerty comer and kelly or finnerty mm

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 215 - 08/01/2022 15:03:03    2394100

Will be interesting to see what they do with midfield this year. Conroy probably doesn't have the legs for a full game in there any more and while Tierney has played there quite a bit I don't think it's his best position. I prefer him closer to goal personally either at 11 or 14. but they might be Walsh and Comer's spots. Cooke looks like he'll be a big loss as he's mobile and can kick scores from distance. McLoughlin was quite good after he came on last night. Think he made one big catch and had one driving run near the end that should have ended in a goal. His kicking isn't as polished as Cooke's though. He put wide a fairly straightforward point chance from straight in front. He's got an awful lot of potential though once he knocks off the rough edges. Still very young as well.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2224 - 08/01/2022 15:07:17    2394101

We had 8 starters from Connacht final by my count.

Fitzgerald looks a fine player. Might not be ready for championship this year but could be.

Conroy strolled through last night. Was he minding himself or is that his pace these days. Not sure if that will work come Championship.

Keeper looked composed.

Defense worked well as a unit.

Great to see some of the other young lads getting game time. I'm a huge Mcglaughlin fan. Patrick Kelly is a big unit.

Comer looked sharp.

Extra game is important.

Any word on John Dalys availability?

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1838 - 08/01/2022 15:38:21    2394105

Replying To Mayonman:  "We had 8 starters from Connacht final by my count.

Fitzgerald looks a fine player. Might not be ready for championship this year but could be.

Conroy strolled through last night. Was he minding himself or is that his pace these days. Not sure if that will work come Championship.

Keeper looked composed.

Defense worked well as a unit.

Great to see some of the other young lads getting game time. I'm a huge Mcglaughlin fan. Patrick Kelly is a big unit.

Comer looked sharp.

Extra game is important.

Any word on John Dalys availability?"
Apart from C. O'Neill, anyone know full composition of backroom?.. Hugely important..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 08/01/2022 19:15:16    2394129

Is Tom Flynn still in with the footballers?

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 105 - 09/01/2022 19:37:57    2394273

Replying To centrefield99:  "Is Tom Flynn still in with the footballers?"
I think he is. PJ said they have 39 on the panel currently and I think there were only 25 up in the airdome on Friday so there must be another 14.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2224 - 09/01/2022 20:17:47    2394292

Replying To centrefield99:  "Is Tom Flynn still in with the footballers?"
Just wondering the same

Maroonedinlongford2 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 09/01/2022 20:43:34    2394300

I think we need a couple of hardy dogs to complement our ballers
I would love to see Declan Kyne back on the panel
I was also impressed with the goalie the other night

Maroonedinlongford2 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 09/01/2022 20:45:48    2394301

Replying To Maroonedinlongford2:  "I think we need a couple of hardy dogs to complement our ballers
I would love to see Declan Kyne back on the panel
I was also impressed with the goalie the other night"
Keeper looked composed anyway which is a good start. I think Meath at home and Cork away are the 2 games that will tell us a lot about how we are going this year. Take next Friday for what it is, an opportunity to prepare for the league. Leave Tierney on all long range frees, get his confidence up.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 09/01/2022 21:05:03    2394306

Replying To Marooned:  "I think he is. PJ said they have 39 on the panel currently and I think there were only 25 up in the airdome on Friday so there must be another 14."
Yes but how do you know that Tom is one of those 14? That's the question being posed.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1247 - 09/01/2022 21:05:51    2394307

Flaherty looks like he will be the no.1 as the competition definitely isn't hectic.

Lad from Barna was solid and may keep his place. Not sure where Mulkerrin is. Comer and Conroy also caught the eye.

Looking forward to the final.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 10/01/2022 10:38:00    2394343