Galway Football thread

Replying To gaillimhboy:  "Seen Glinsk recently had a fundraiser raffle for their club. One of the prizes was a signed Galway jersey. Some of the names I was able to make out from the picture of the jersey were Dylan Canney, Cormac McWalter, Conor Raftery and 'N Daly'…I presume that's Niall Daly from Kilconly? The other names on it were all established panel members."
A novel idea by An Gleann Uisce! I'd love to see a few players from the Suck Valley getting at least a trial. Very passionate supporters too - probably stems from close proximity to Ros..

Some poster seems to have an issue with John O'Mahony - very short memory. Johno always brings intellect to the table. Never makes rash statements (like winning AI ( with an unproven quantity) in first year). Builds confidence and morale steadily e.g. Leitrim.

Many people have expressed reservations about PJ. Hard to be excited about Cian O'Neill appointment imo - little progress, if any, with Kildare. I'd like to see Gary Sice involved in backroom team, but that's probably down the road.

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 05/01/2022 19:11:53    2393743

id say Joyce would be envious of all the attention the new hurling boss is getting

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 05/01/2022 19:39:37    2393745

Replying To Belclare:  "Imagine that's what we are resigned to finding out who's playing for Galway...."
ive heard eoin finnerty was called in..mike daly declined to come in but with the ban he could get he prob will
be out anyways..shame he had a fine championship..i think jason foley could miss out also..
anybody know if darragh silke was picked.?

also heard today that galway will find it hard to field a team for friday eve due to covid..
i really hope covid does not effect the league campaign or the panel,,
pj and co need a full league campaign to try and get a settled team for championship or it will
be another short summer..

all the best lads..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 275 - 05/01/2022 21:17:12    2393758

Replying To brisbane:  "id say Joyce would be envious of all the attention the new hurling boss is getting"
He got plenty of attention when he was hired himself and lapped it all up when the purists were claiming an All-Ireland was just around the corner.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 431 - 06/01/2022 10:01:58    2393771

Think a tenner for the stream is a bit OTT considering the status of the game. I will probably cough up once i know the game is going a head. Hopefully a proper quality stream at that price .......but i'm guessing it will be one camera from a distance!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 06/01/2022 10:13:42    2393772

Replying To Kickitout:  "Galway years if not decades behind mayo in the way they search for new talent holding proper trials and brining the clubs with them but not Galway they are stuck in Stone Age or even further back , it seems In Galway if u don't make underage team in Galway u have no hope in future , in my opinion it be current management last year well prob 5 months at this stage ,,"
I have to agree, by sounds of it now the trial is the club championship and you get a phonecall. Hard for pj or management to watch all club championship games so talent is obviously being missed out on from other clubs. Open regional trials like in mayo would be more beneficial.

Michaelcusack2022 (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 06/01/2022 14:33:28    2393819

Presume the college players aren't available on Friday. Take them and the covid cases out and I'm not sure what kind of team Galway will have out. If they can field at all.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2405 - 06/01/2022 15:13:27    2393826

Any word on a team/panel for tomorrow?

OhReally (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 06/01/2022 21:09:32    2393874

Replying To OhReally:  "Any word on a team/panel for tomorrow?"
I had a quick look through all the Social media and Media etc and low and behold no information on the Team. I had to laugh at gaillimhboy who's investigation skills on the signatures on a signed charity jersey is the only indication of who is involved this year.

Compare that with the headers across the border. Full team announcement with full panel. Covid and 3rd level have the same effect for both teams. As i said before you have to bring people on the Journey but our powers that be would rather us contact Mystic Meg to get an insight. Yes I will be watching this evening and will be very interested in who is playing and i hope to god they bet them but imho poor start on a communication front for our new chairman.

galwaygoal (Galway) - Posts: 171 - 07/01/2022 10:19:44    2393894

Replying To galwaygoal:  "I had a quick look through all the Social media and Media etc and low and behold no information on the Team. I had to laugh at gaillimhboy who's investigation skills on the signatures on a signed charity jersey is the only indication of who is involved this year.

Compare that with the headers across the border. Full team announcement with full panel. Covid and 3rd level have the same effect for both teams. As i said before you have to bring people on the Journey but our powers that be would rather us contact Mystic Meg to get an insight. Yes I will be watching this evening and will be very interested in who is playing and i hope to god they bet them but imho poor start on a communication front for our new chairman."
Give the new county committee a chance, the won't be able to work magic over night, and its going to take time to get new people on board to volunteer. Also for all we know PJ may not have been willing to disclose the team up to now, in that situation there is very little the county chairman can do.

devrandom (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 07/01/2022 12:30:43    2393925

Galway Team v mayo

1. Conor Flaherty
2. Jack Glynn
3. Sean Fitzgerald
4. Liam Silke
5. Johnny Heaney
6. Dylan McHugh
7. Cillian Mcdaid
8. Niall Daly
9. Matthew Tierney
10. Cormac McWalter
11. Paul Conroy
12. Finnan O'Laoi
13. Robert Finnerty
14. Damien Comer
15. Dessie Conneely.

If that full forward line get good early ball they will do damage!

Michaelcusack2022 (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 07/01/2022 13:19:54    2393934

Galway with nearly a full team out there, if they dont win with ease, not much chance for later in year.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 488 - 07/01/2022 13:50:35    2393948

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Galway with nearly a full team out there, if they dont win with ease, not much chance for later in year."
Strange take. There's 4 intercounty debutants there and 6 lads under 23

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 305 - 07/01/2022 14:18:21    2393960

Replying To PressureKick:  "Strange take. There's 4 intercounty debutants there and 6 lads under 23"
I guess in comparison to Mayo they have a more familiar looking team out. As ever Galway GAA don't provide the subs. It's like getting blood out of stone trying to find out who's actually on the panel.

Mayo (FBD Connacht League semi-final v Galway, 7/1/2022): Rory Byrne (Castlebar Mitchels); Donnacha McHugh (Castlebar Mitchels), Padraig O'Hora (Ballina Stephenites), Sam Callinan (Ballina Stephenites); Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels, captain), Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber), Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport); Conor O'Shea (Breaffy), Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina Deel Rovers); Fergal Boland (Aghamore), Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber), Frank Irwin (Ballina Stephenites); James Carr (Ardagh), Fionnan Duffy (Crossmolina Deel Rovers), Jack Mahon (Charlestown Sarsfields).

Subs: Jack Livingstone (Breaffy), Paddy Heneghan (Castlebar Mitchels), Matthew Ruane (Breaffy), Robbie Hennelly (Breaffy), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore), Ruairi Keane (Mayo Gaels), Justin Healy (Cill Chomain), Rory Brickenden (Westport), Ryan O'Donoghue (Belmullet), Paul Towey (Charlestown Sarsfields), Darren Coen (Hollymount/Carramore).

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2405 - 07/01/2022 14:53:22    2393969

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Galway with nearly a full team out there, if they dont win with ease, not much chance for later in year."
Clueless comment

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 07/01/2022 15:39:32    2393984

Galway with I'd reckon 10 or 11 championship starters in that FBD line up compared to Mayo 5 or 6. Looks like Joyce is taking the FBD more serious than Horan.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3695 - 07/01/2022 16:52:54    2393996

Fair play to the lads tonight, a nice win. Yes it's only the FBD and yes Mayo had more debutants tonight but we had a few too and winning is important! Beating Mayo in Mayo isn't a bad marker to be laying down at the start of the year. The Prentydome is class! We need one in Galway. Up Galway!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1088 - 07/01/2022 19:57:48    2394013

1. Conor Flaherty - mayo conceded short kickouts but struggled when going long. great outlet to go forward and comfortable on ball
2. Jack Glynn - struggled when o'donaghue came on. came off injured
3. Sean Fitzgerald - stormed into it second half - maybe looks more of a wing back than full back
4. Liam Silke - came off in second half, went through the paces
5. Johnny Heaney - one of galways best players with 2 great scores
6. Dylan McHugh - won some good breaking balls and interceptions but looks under pressure when ran at
7. Cillian Mcdaid - came off at half time, never really got into game
8. Niall Daly - came off at half time , game seemed to pass him by
9. Matthew Tierney - makes things happen when on the ball, great prospect
10. Cormac McWalter - came off in 2nd half - didnt see much action but should have finished goal chance in 1st half
11. Paul Conroy - played a lot of game in full forward in 1st half, consistent as ever
12. Finnan O'Laoi - thought finnan had a great game and worked very hard. got back and helped out defence on numerous occasions
13. Robert Finnerty - looked dangerous when got on the ball, came off in 2nd half
14. Damien Comer - seemed to be playing as sweeper in 1st half and did a great job with a number of inceptions and still got forward to kick some good scores. came off in second half seemed to run out of steam
15. Dessie Conneely. - fumbled some easy ball in 1st half and came off at half time.

16. conor gleeson - didnt come on
17. Johnny mcgrath - came on but not much involvement
18. Tony Gill - came on at half time, good in open play on ball
19. Liam costello - came on with 10 to go, good turn of pace but ran into trouble a few times
20. Kieran Molloy - came on in 2nd half and steadied the ship a lot
21. james mcloughlin - came off at half time - had a few bad turnovers but had a great run at the end to set up paul kelly for a point
22.Paul Kelly - came on in 2nd half - great work rate and could have finished for goal at the end
23. Patrick Kelly - came on in 2nd half and was impressive - got on a lot of ball and unlucky to hit post after a great run on goal
24. Shane Walsh - came on in 2nd half - in 2nd gear. Interesting to see had a few words with o' hora (after injuring walsh in croke park last year)
25. Tomo Cullane - came on at half time - showed well for ball but selfish at times with a few unnecessary shots
26. Dylan Canney - came on last 5 minutes should have finished goal chance with an open goal

Michaelcusack2022 (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 07/01/2022 20:00:25    2394014

17-13 in Galway's favour. Good start!

One thing always interests me, stats-wise is the not uncommon Galway football scoreline; 1-14 often, 0 -17. Of course it's a decent scoreline, but tbh, I find it has become a tad irritating.

Teams with designs on the big prizes must be ambitious enough to consistently attempt to create, and take on goal chances. Our mentality seems to be always "take your points - the goals will come". But they haven't, and won't, unless you're playing a very poorly organised outfit...

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 07/01/2022 20:04:14    2394015

Galway 0-17 Mayo 0-13

Decent game. Fast pace in the dome. I though Comer looked the fittest and sharpest I've seen him in a long time. Kicked 2 points in the first half but also made some big tackles back in defence and some big catches. Think he was taken off at half time.

Galway subs bench was Conor Gleeson, Johnny McGrath, Tony Gill, Liam Costello, Kieran Molloy, James McLoughlin, Paul Kelly, Patrick Kelly, Shane Walsh, Tomo Culhane, Dylan Canney.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2405 - 07/01/2022 20:04:27    2394016