Galway Football thread

The suggestion to put Conroy or Comer in goal....how in the name of God did someone land on them 2?
Out current footballer of the year who's scoring points from play again in the first 2 league matches?
And our most dangerous forward, albeit when fit, but even more dangerous with the new rules?
2 guaranteed starters come championship who we'll rely on for scores, but someone thinks they should go in goal.
Mental.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 06/02/2025 17:53:12    2589795

Replying To anotheralias:  "I share some of you concerns . there are a number of reasons why I wouldn't get carried away with last weekend.
1. Ref gave us more than fair play
2. Kick out strategy - We only have a plan A. Despite the stats I thought our midfield were dominant. But what happens if they are not.
3, Mayo cut us open far too often for my liking. Racked up a good score and should have been more
4. No real goal threats from us - not enough pace in inside line
5. We cant exploit our keeper coming forward like other teams
6. Its only early February

On a separate point, some people have pointed to how weak Mayo were , but I don't think they are a lot better than that. Its amazing how biased supporters can put a spin on things . I saw on the Mayo blog a statement that Mayo were missing 7 from their last championship game and Galway missing only 2. I didn't think that was correct so i did a bit of research.
8 starters on the Mayo team v Derry 2024 started Sunday. 1 more came on as sub.
10 starters on the Galway v Armagh AI started Sunday. 2 more came on as subs
Yes Mayo were relatively weaker versus their first choice , but not as dramatically so as the rhetoric from our neighbours would suggest."
The rhetoric from the noisy neighbours is always entertaining. There wasn't much rhetoric to be heard from them as they flooded out the gates with over 10 mins still to play! Ah, I'm just stirring for our regular Mayo posters on here and Mayo will undoubtedly be there or thereabouts come championship.
I agree on some of our shortcomings the last day mentioned in some previous posts. Another one - at least four Mayo scores were totally blockable. We didn't commit with the ferocity needed in the block down on a number of occasions and a block is worth so much more in psychological terms for a team than just the blocking action itself. We'll need this in our armoury too. Not the hardest thing to correct.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 993 - 06/02/2025 21:43:03    2589818

Replying To togoutlads:  "The rhetoric from the noisy neighbours is always entertaining. There wasn't much rhetoric to be heard from them as they flooded out the gates with over 10 mins still to play! Ah, I'm just stirring for our regular Mayo posters on here and Mayo will undoubtedly be there or thereabouts come championship.
I agree on some of our shortcomings the last day mentioned in some previous posts. Another one - at least four Mayo scores were totally blockable. We didn't commit with the ferocity needed in the block down on a number of occasions and a block is worth so much more in psychological terms for a team than just the blocking action itself. We'll need this in our armoury too. Not the hardest thing to correct."
No bias here either. Grow up. Your mate pulls a comment from a Mayo fan over on the blog and creates a narrative. If you go over there and read all the comments the vast majority are giving out about management, players and the fact we don't have the quality. Fact is we have gone backwards and are zero threat to Galway and probably Roscommon too. In fact I wouldn't be surprised if Sligo beat us in championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11456 - 07/02/2025 08:13:43    2589836

Replying To yew_tree:  "No bias here either. Grow up. Your mate pulls a comment from a Mayo fan over on the blog and creates a narrative. If you go over there and read all the comments the vast majority are giving out about management, players and the fact we don't have the quality. Fact is we have gone backwards and are zero threat to Galway and probably Roscommon too. In fact I wouldn't be surprised if Sligo beat us in championship."
stop will you

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 217 - 07/02/2025 10:50:23    2589855

Obviously Galway football at senior level is in rude health at the moment with a very deep and talented squad. But should there be concerns over underage level the last few years? There seems to be signs of slippage at underage. Galway won the U20 All-Ireland in 2020. In the last 4 years Galway haven't won a Connacht title since. Reached 2 finals but lost both to Sligo and Roscommon. At minor, Galway won the minor All-Ireland through the back door in 2022 but haven't won a Connacht title since 2018. In that time Mayo have won 4, Roscommon and Sligo 1 each.

Looking at the schools football this year the senior A final is Mayo v Sligo. Senior B is Roscommon v Roscommon. Senior C is Leitrim v Mayo. You have to go down to Senior D to find a Galway school in a final.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2325 - 07/02/2025 13:03:01    2589882

Replying To yew_tree:  "No bias here either. Grow up. Your mate pulls a comment from a Mayo fan over on the blog and creates a narrative. If you go over there and read all the comments the vast majority are giving out about management, players and the fact we don't have the quality. Fact is we have gone backwards and are zero threat to Galway and probably Roscommon too. In fact I wouldn't be surprised if Sligo beat us in championship."
Don't think anyone will fall for that poor mouthing. Once you get Eoghan McLoughlin,Paddy Durcan,Diarmuid O'connor,Matthew Ruane,Tommy Conroy, and Aidan O'Shea back starting you'll be back taking up your chances of winning the All Ireland again.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 303 - 07/02/2025 13:24:07    2589886

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Don't think anyone will fall for that poor mouthing. Once you get Eoghan McLoughlin,Paddy Durcan,Diarmuid O'connor,Matthew Ruane,Tommy Conroy, and Aidan O'Shea back starting you'll be back taking up your chances of winning the All Ireland again."
Matthew Ruane started the last day. You're having a laugh if you think Mayo be talking about winning all Irelands. Fake news as a certain individual would say.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11456 - 07/02/2025 14:41:04    2589906

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Don't think anyone will fall for that poor mouthing. Once you get Eoghan McLoughlin,Paddy Durcan,Diarmuid O'connor,Matthew Ruane,Tommy Conroy, and Aidan O'Shea back starting you'll be back taking up your chances of winning the All Ireland again."
Who are 'you'll'? Plenty of them on the Mayo blog granted, more usernames than posters. Eoghan McLoughlin isn't good enough. A big strong athlete, not a footballer. Reape kicked a handy ball out to him when he came on, rather than go and take it and move up the field, he waited for a Galway man to foul him, which didn't happen. Conroy never right since bad injury, takes too many games to hit form. Ruane should be more of a scoring threat than in first two games. Towey and Neary deserve to be left in for a few games more but likely one or both will move over for 'old reliables' with no form, fairly soon. It's too short-sighted. Galway had their injuries last year and Joyce gave squad players their chances and kept faith with them in the squad right up to an All Ireland final. The team that'll beat Mayo this year, like ever, is Mayo.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7744 - 07/02/2025 14:59:48    2589909

Replying To yew_tree:  "Matthew Ruane started the last day. You're having a laugh if you think Mayo be talking about winning all Irelands. Fake news as a certain individual would say."
Jordan Flynn I meant instead of Ruane. Only takes a win or two for the Mayo for Sam bandwagon to be full flow again.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 303 - 07/02/2025 15:10:38    2589911

Plenty of Mayo people will do exactly that. But I think management will be too short term and not give a proper run of games to players like Towey and Neary and let the big names hit form before forcing their way back in. This management team have won a league and nothing else. Shouldn't get a fourth year without a Connacht title at the least.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7744 - 07/02/2025 15:19:00    2589912

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Plenty of Mayo people will do exactly that. But I think management will be too short term and not give a proper run of games to players like Towey and Neary and let the big names hit form before forcing their way back in. This management team have won a league and nothing else. Shouldn't get a fourth year without a Connacht title at the least."
Should be the end of McStay and his management if Mayo don't at least reach All-Ireland semi final this summer.

Should Mayo get relegated he'll play the siege mentality card going into the Connacht championship.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3527 - 07/02/2025 16:06:46    2589918

Replying To Marooned:  "Obviously Galway football at senior level is in rude health at the moment with a very deep and talented squad. But should there be concerns over underage level the last few years? There seems to be signs of slippage at underage. Galway won the U20 All-Ireland in 2020. In the last 4 years Galway haven't won a Connacht title since. Reached 2 finals but lost both to Sligo and Roscommon. At minor, Galway won the minor All-Ireland through the back door in 2022 but haven't won a Connacht title since 2018. In that time Mayo have won 4, Roscommon and Sligo 1 each.

Looking at the schools football this year the senior A final is Mayo v Sligo. Senior B is Roscommon v Roscommon. Senior C is Leitrim v Mayo. You have to go down to Senior D to find a Galway school in a final."
We definitely seem to have slipped a bit at underage.
The current senior squad is made up in the main of lads who were winning Connacht titles at least at underage level.
Loads of lads from that u20 AI winning team, many of whom also played in a minor AI final. As did the likes of Finnerty & Maher. McDaid, Kelly, D'Arcy etc contested an u21 AI final and won Connacht minors.
Granted we should have won the u20 in 2023 - blew that final against Sligo.
I really hope 2024 was not a portent of things to come at minor level anyway. One of the weakest teams we've had for a while

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1297 - 07/02/2025 23:09:47    2589963

I would pay no mind to the easy win last Sunday, Mayo are genuinely not bothered about the league this year,
They want Connacht and beyond. Also, as the new rules will eventually become contaminated with cynicism, we will see some dark tactics materialise. I would not be one bit surprised to see a key forward being named in goal, the "real"keeper will be named in defense. Sidelines are taking over the game, just like American sports. Not a players game anymore, its a manager's/coache's game. I still like the new rules though, its great craic and it's better than the last few years at least. Galway have a good chance this year to win a national title. Too early yet to know what is going on this season.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1219 - 08/02/2025 11:24:19    2589990

Replying To Marooned:  "Obviously Galway football at senior level is in rude health at the moment with a very deep and talented squad. But should there be concerns over underage level the last few years? There seems to be signs of slippage at underage. Galway won the U20 All-Ireland in 2020. In the last 4 years Galway haven't won a Connacht title since. Reached 2 finals but lost both to Sligo and Roscommon. At minor, Galway won the minor All-Ireland through the back door in 2022 but haven't won a Connacht title since 2018. In that time Mayo have won 4, Roscommon and Sligo 1 each.

Looking at the schools football this year the senior A final is Mayo v Sligo. Senior B is Roscommon v Roscommon. Senior C is Leitrim v Mayo. You have to go down to Senior D to find a Galway school in a final."
Id start to worry when the conveyer belt of players start to dry up. Patrick Egan, DOF, Shay McGlinchey, Colm Costello and Matthew Thompson are all 21 or younger and all made significant impressions on the club championship this year. It's a pity Farthing has been lost to Rugby and Trayers to hurling from that AI winning minor team

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 245 - 08/02/2025 12:29:13    2590008

Replying To PressureKick:  "Id start to worry when the conveyer belt of players start to dry up. Patrick Egan, DOF, Shay McGlinchey, Colm Costello and Matthew Thompson are all 21 or younger and all made significant impressions on the club championship this year. It's a pity Farthing has been lost to Rugby and Trayers to hurling from that AI winning minor team"
Yes at underage level it's all about how many can go on to be established senior footballers and while winning Connacht titles are nice it not necessary for player development.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 303 - 08/02/2025 16:44:10    2590061

Wow, touchy are we Yew Tree? I normally respect your viewpoint and input but that's a bit nuts of you. I was only having a bit of craic, stated as much, and you jump on it telling me to 'grow up'. Will you cop on over there like a good lad. Coming on our blog constantly and you have the temerity to tell us what to do. Just don't. Lash away on the keypad on your own blogs if you have to vent.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 993 - 08/02/2025 22:41:48    2590156

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Who are 'you'll'? Plenty of them on the Mayo blog granted, more usernames than posters. Eoghan McLoughlin isn't good enough. A big strong athlete, not a footballer. Reape kicked a handy ball out to him when he came on, rather than go and take it and move up the field, he waited for a Galway man to foul him, which didn't happen. Conroy never right since bad injury, takes too many games to hit form. Ruane should be more of a scoring threat than in first two games. Towey and Neary deserve to be left in for a few games more but likely one or both will move over for 'old reliables' with no form, fairly soon. It's too short-sighted. Galway had their injuries last year and Joyce gave squad players their chances and kept faith with them in the squad right up to an All Ireland final. The team that'll beat Mayo this year, like ever, is Mayo."
I love it. 'The team that'll beat Mayo this year, like ever, is Mayo.' The sheer hubris of it. Do you seriously think that it's only yourselves and your own mistakes and shortcomings that can beat ye?! Not a better team, perhaps? For clarity, the team that beat ye last year was Galway. Oh and same so far this year. The Championship will be interesting!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 993 - 08/02/2025 22:50:29    2590157

I think the academy system in Galway football needs a serious smartening up. Hurling is getting more attention at the youngest age groups at county level, from what I'm hearing. For example, I'm told the U14 county hurling camps, trials and games started months ago in Galway, while football haven't even spoken to the clubs yet about it. What's going on? Who's on this at county board level? Also hearing that, as for years in Galway underage football at younger groups, the coaches haven't received any guidance on training plans, a desired set up or style of play etc. Apparently there's no steer whatsoever. It's poor enough that I believe it's driving some very talented, ambitious lads that want structure and goals to go and pick other sports where they'll get those and work to them. Galway county level juvenile academies appear to need a fresh impetus. It shouldn't be hard to put this stuff right but it is fairly neglected.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 993 - 08/02/2025 23:02:23    2590159

I was at one of the trials for u14 football academy last year and BD who has since took over a Meath team said that they would have to spread around the selections among clubs which in fairness they did. I'd be of the opinion the academys should be picking the best players regardless of clubs

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 430 - 09/02/2025 12:31:42    2590215

Replying To togoutlads:  "I love it. 'The team that'll beat Mayo this year, like ever, is Mayo.' The sheer hubris of it. Do you seriously think that it's only yourselves and your own mistakes and shortcomings that can beat ye?! Not a better team, perhaps? For clarity, the team that beat ye last year was Galway. Oh and same so far this year. The Championship will be interesting!"
It's just a thing my mate and myself say before every championship and I reminded him at the game last Sunday. Derry beat us too. Not beating Dublin in The Hyde was a loss. It's often true though, doing the wrong things at the right time. Ye didn't even give us a right slagging after the game last week, though. I think the Rossies are better at the banter. No disrespect.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7744 - 09/02/2025 16:05:07    2590267