you mayo boys sure love this forum
cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 217 - 09/02/2025 19:14:55 2590291 Link 3 |
Derry will be tough to beat. They should have beaten Kerry well. It will not be easy but a good chance to for the new lads to get good experience. philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 200 - 09/02/2025 19:18:49 2590292 Link 0 |
We've plenty of slagging material, we're just saving ourselves for the championship! Now go and get those lights fixed in McHale Park ;-)
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 997 - 09/02/2025 21:34:06 2590309 Link 2 |
No I would play Clifford full forward in fairness. Damien Comer isn't in our top 5 outfield players anymore in my opinion and Heaney has been a sub.
hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 421 - 10/02/2025 08:21:39 2590336 Link 0 |
The reason they were suggested to go in goal was the very fact that they can score and are comfortable on the ball. There was some new rules brough in recently, meaning goalkeepers can cross the halfway line unmarked, creating a 12 vs 11, in case you weren't aware.
hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 421 - 10/02/2025 08:25:45 2590337 Link 0 |
Sure no-one posts on the Mayo forum any more. We need an outlet!
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7747 - 10/02/2025 08:27:10 2590338 Link 0 |
Bigger fish to fry. No disrespect. Similar to when you were chasing All-Irelands, beating Galway was only a small piece in the jigsaw. Now, like us then, it's yer All-Ireland.
TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 10/02/2025 09:25:43 2590350 Link 0 |
the only time I can see teams doing this is if they are chasing a game and need to try something different. Maybe if championship game is on a windy day and the do it for the half they have the wind. But there is alot of running involved in the keeper getting up and down the field, and I don't think it would suit alot of player especially Conroy and Comer to be running them distances. Also, it would take a while to get used too kicking off a tee, positioning of a goalkeeper, organising the defence and the most important one shot stopping, if I saw a Conroy or Comer standing in goals you would be going for a goal any chance you get. I think the 12v11 rule will be tweaked at the end of the league, maybe the solution is when the goalkeeper goes past the half way line then that allows one the opposition forwards, that is part of the 3 up, to go back and track him. Tribes88 (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 10/02/2025 09:42:07 2590353 Link 0 |
I'd be disappointed if this is true. I have heard numerous interviews with Paul Bellew and he seems a very smart/organised strategic thinker. When he took over our structures/infrastructure was miles behind. He seems to be tackling it bit by bit with a plan. At academy level, at the youngest ages, it is no harm to spread it around. Academy players go back to their clubs and they can drag the levels of others up. You don't have to have the same lads in every week. As they get older, you do need to narrow the group a bit but definitely at younger ages it is important to have a wide spread or else parts of the county become disillusioned. It also means you have a bigger base and some young lads develop physically when they are older so you are keeping your options open. Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 10/02/2025 10:06:32 2590356 Link 0 |
Lol! We're not much of an outlet here, Green and Red! But sure we'll keep the banter and the slagging going anyway - All part of the craic! Messing aside, I do think Mayo will gradually get a much better grip on the new rules and with 6 or 7 of your lads to come back, including 4 definite starters for me, ye won't be far off at all.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 997 - 10/02/2025 10:17:39 2590361 Link 0 |
Oh I agree fully on broadening the base of players at the youngest academy groups, as they've done in hurling. That's not really the problem. The problems I'm hearing are different and to address them, Bellew and co need to help juvenile football in the county and look to a much better organised coaching system and pathway for players. To briefly look at other sports, the likes of the Irish rugby team's performance at the moment is being credited by many in the know as being down to brilliant structures and legacy coaching, where they implemented the following: 1) Unified Coaching Philosophy - this is not highfalutin stuff, this is just where the county could implement a consistent coaching framework across all juvenile levels here. Doing this in Galway juv football will allow lads with a Galway County (north) squad, others with a City and West squad and perhaps other groupings to fully coordinate on what each group is doing, adhering to the very same coaching principles and methodologies, so that these independent coaching groups are all on the same page and then you can more instantly gel the groups together when streamed further at 15/16/Minor etc. 2) Comprehensive Coach Education - the rugby and elite sports set ups do it well, whereby the very top coaches do 'teach the teacher' 'coach the coach' sessions at the outset 3) Continuous learning workshops - these are happening and they're getting better, with some great guest speakers. 4) standardised training programs - linked to the above points. Some of these things are happening in a piecemeal fashion but fundamentals of joined up coaching plan is not, with no guidance offered. This has to change fast. Some of the old guard in board set up will say, sure we won this one and that one in the last couple of decades. It's not good enough, as it was down to one-off groups with some exceptional talents. There needs to be consistency and much more ambition at football board and county board level to consistently have our lads winning or certainly in the mix for underage titles, with a proper pathway to snr ranks. togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 997 - 10/02/2025 10:35:33 2590366 Link 1 |
Thinking of travelling up this weekend to Derry. Anyone have any ideas on accommodation and pubs we should visit? Tribesmen121 (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 10/02/2025 11:09:24 2590377 Link 0 |
I agree they will be very hard to beat especially up there but Galway seem to be moving well. We might even see Comer back? Anyone else to comeback?
galway4samandliam (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 10/02/2025 11:22:49 2590381 Link 0 |
You are spot on. But Bellew does sound impressive and I think it will be done with him. We are definitely coming from a long way back with regards to centralising the S&C, Coaching philosophies etc. But there does seem to be work done in that area over last couple of years. Even down to the New York trip. The forward planning, the events, fundraising etc seems to be top class. For the cancelled Covid trip, nothing seemed to be organised. Rome wasn't built in a day! PS I'm a glass half full man!! Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 10/02/2025 11:45:17 2590386 Link 0 |
Seen Comer in the stand so he mustn't be to far away. Any word on James McLoughlin? He seemed to get injured in the warm up v Armagh?
Tribesmen121 (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 10/02/2025 11:54:15 2590390 Link 0 |
Are the fixtures out for club league games yet? Any word on any new management setups? Westawake1988 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 10/02/2025 12:34:20 2590400 Link 0 |
James has huge potential himself and John Maher would be a great combination together in midfield. I didn't know he was injured that's unfortunate for him and Galway
galway4samandliam (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 10/02/2025 13:34:03 2590423 Link 0 |
Club fixtures are up on the Galway GAA App and website. First games are 15th and 16th of March.
GDL (Galway) - Posts: 779 - 10/02/2025 13:53:03 2590425 Link 0 |
Great. Will be interesting to see how serious some teams are taking the league.Has every team managers in place do we know?
philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 200 - 10/02/2025 15:14:54 2590446 Link 0 |
James McLoughlin seems to be having no luck with injuries. It surely has curbed his development as he looked a right good prospect at underage and we were lucky not to lose him to AFL. the new format with the kickouts would surely suit him also as hes a very big athlethic fella when fit.
philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 200 - 10/02/2025 15:17:12 2590447 Link 0 |