Galway Football thread

Replying To ozbound:  "Poor display giving 3 weeks out from Mayo. Not as good as we think we are, simple as that."
Thought a few of the lads looked a bit baffled in extra time as to how we were losing to roscommon. Better team won . Galway played poorly. Roscommon played better wheres the confusion. We aren't Kerry, we aren't historically as successful as they seem to think

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 03/04/2022 15:30:08    2409225

Super comeback all is not lost. We are still in the mix.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 438 - 03/04/2022 15:30:31    2409227

We scored 2 points from frees.They got 8.Have Roscommon suddenly turned into angels that they don't foul or was there a huge imbalance in what was given.I would understand 60:40 but 25:75.Please stop with the negativity these are young lads that go out to play and win.Somedays that doesn't happen.Why mention Matthew Tierney?Maybe he had an off day but he has a lot more good days.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 528 - 03/04/2022 15:31:15    2409228

When you guys play Gaelic football as it should be played, it's great game.

Hats off to both Galway n Roscommon; no losers in my opinion.

Some going by Conroy, but for me the best thing was to see Ultan Harney back, trimmed up and playing in mid-field. I remember him playing as a big, strong underage full-forward. And then he disappeared. I knew from my first time seeing him play that there was something good there.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2346 - 03/04/2022 15:33:58    2409230

Galway lost the match in the first half with the amount of possession we gave away from kick outs. We finished with a stronger team. The defending for the goal we gave away was suicidal allowing a Roscommon forward to waltz all the way in to a shooting position. The goal was the winning of the game. I wouldn't begrudge Roscommon or Anthony Cunningham the win. After all they haven't won a senior All Ireland since 1944, that is 7 years longer than Mayo's wait for Sam.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 03/04/2022 15:35:27    2409234

Couldn't say too many lads played well. Conroy for sure. Comer in patches. Shane after he came on.

Finnerty and Connelly not in it compared to the Roscommon corner forwards. Tierney not in it. Probably the quietest I've seen Sean Kelly all year even when he was out near midfield. They moved him back to full back half way through the 2nd half. Usually reliable John Daly out of sorts. Backs in general were just being walked past at times. Some of them not physically strong enough to hold up their men. Conceded too many frees although the ref fell for some obvious dives as well. The Daly one that tied the game up just before the goal was an obvious dive that he fell for.

The Roscommon goal was a joke. Can't let a fella get through there with so many players back. Just soft soft defending.

Anyway don't think they'll be many tipping them against Mayo now.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2408 - 03/04/2022 15:39:17    2409235

Truly pathetic. Roscommon stuffing us again - it's laughable how good we make them look. We had nothing. Conroy the only man amongst us. Murtagh went through Matthew Tierney and Sean Kelly for the goal like they were two kids in a playground. Tierney can't even run?? What's going on there? We're so weak. We're not championship fit. We cannot field a high ball to save our lives. We've no kick out strategy. We have Padraic Joyce on the sideline who reaches for his bloody water bottle and starts drinking literally every time there's a break in play, when he should be using those precious moments to instruct his charges. Every time! It's hilarious. Scan and Divilly - what are they actually offering? No smarts at all on the sideline. O'Neill, I dunno, the tackling is junior b and the defensive structure is as porous as div 4 stuff. At this rate, Mayo will absolutely destroy us. How can we build support? All momentum lost now again. Rossies got 3x the soft frees we did but we're not smart enough to just not give an opportunity for those soft calls. Another low energy blow out in Croke Park. Just sad.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1091 - 03/04/2022 15:39:37    2409236

Replying To foreveryoung:  "When you guys play Gaelic football as it should be played, it's great game.

Hats off to both Galway n Roscommon; no losers in my opinion.

Some going by Conroy, but for me the best thing was to see Ultan Harney back, trimmed up and playing in mid-field. I remember him playing as a big, strong underage full-forward. And then he disappeared. I knew from my first time seeing him play that there was something good there."
We were the losers

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 03/04/2022 15:39:53    2409237

Commiserations to Galway. Decent game of football by both teams. Some serious scores taken by both teams. Felt Galway won their frees a lot easier than we did. Ref was very slow to give us advantage. Enda Smith fouled during his goal chance but no free. Plenty of similar incidents where we got nothing. Anyway a deserved win for us. Galway will improve again I have no doubt and will need to be firing on all cylinders for Mayo game. Just to finish up I'd like to add what a player Paul Conroy is for Galway. I don't think he kicked a wide for ye today. An exhibition of kicking off both feet. Best of luck in 3 weeks against Mayo

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 151 - 03/04/2022 15:40:19    2409238

Midfield and incapable of winning primary possession from the Kick Out. Not much more else to be said.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1729 - 03/04/2022 15:42:14    2409240

We haven't beaten Mayo in championship since 2008 playing 'open football'. We had serious problems with that Roscommon attack today, again playing relatively 'open football'. We seem to need 'a defensive co-ordinator'!!

We had to take off the centre-back to get Walsh on, certainly a novel tactical move. Probably need more performance from Tierney & Sean Kelly, as they'd be two of our top players surely. Despite our 'open brand' today, and our backs being under serious pressure from start to finish, it's fair to say that our starting front 6 didn't scare anyone today, and it took Conroy to show them how it's done. Very disappointing display imo, but a win over Mayo, and a Connacht title, and all will be forgiven.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4321 - 03/04/2022 15:44:32    2409241

Ross totally deserve win kicking point from distance Galway tried walking it in Galway way off the mark kelky needs go full back McLaughlin midfield mayo Will destroy Galway be lucky if it under 8 it goes show how poor other teams in division 2 were ,, way 2 slow in making changes then took Finnerty off straight after getting a point baffling really ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1098 - 03/04/2022 15:45:15    2409242

Hero to zero with some of the posters on here. We're either great or pathetic! We're far from pathetic. Plenty to work on though.

Great to see Comer and Walsh back. Mcglaughlin made impact and Patrick Kelly is an option.

Flaherty had a poor day at the office. The saves were run of the mill but kick outs were poor and handed Rossies the initiative.

Don't think Dessie offers enough inside. I would have Comer, Finnerty, Walsh, Tierney and 2 mobile worker types Gallagher/Heaney/O'Laoi

Niall Daly was poor. One for the future I think.

Probably put Sean Kelly back in FB line. It doesn't stop him attacking so why not.

Paul Kelly's absence was felt at midfield. Mcglaughlin definitely an option there as well. Beast of a man.

Generally today we lacked cohesion. A couple of lads hit each other at one stage. Certainly we can tighten up on that sort of thing. Also to be fair to our keeper the movement wasn't great for kick outs. Maybe we didn't want to show our hand in that respect which is fair enough.

Happy enough overall. Good run out, didn't look like any injuries and players certainly won't be getting ahead of themselves.

24th April will be a war. Roll on

Gaillimh abù

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 03/04/2022 15:49:18    2409243

Very flat after half time
Pulling off John Daly seemed to make a big difference in SH, was he injured
Comer, Heaney, Mc Loughlin when he came on
Lots of soft frees from the backs
Conroy head and shoulders above anything on the field

Maroonedinlongford2 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 03/04/2022 15:54:34    2409245

in truth ros should have won by alot more..butchered a few goal chances..
much the better team and worked hard for one another..
there forwards looked good but our defending was embarrassing..

one word to sum up that performance today. Pathetic..
we are not even a top ten team lads.,no point saying otherwise
how was molloy left on smith//got absolutely roasted..
fitzgerald looked at see at times..full back or nowhere..
only for conroy once again who is carrying the rest on his back wed be hammered..
we had no one to come off the bench bar shane to kick scores..no one.
where the the name of god is darragh silke or brain mannion..scorers..

finnerty and dessie not in the game..
fair play to young macloughlin for a young man took the fight to ros when he came on..

id like to no why shane didnt start...looked fine to me when he came on..
im not sure what the line where looking at all day..man/team management very very poor..
glesson now in for mayo game id imagine.
we lacked so much pace all over the field it was hard to believe..
even sean kelly looked exhausted half way through first half..

god help us in 3 weeks v mayo..
some off them need a massive kick up the ***
after today this is the team v mayo if everyone is fit and well.
im not sure if there's much point getting on the bus to go to castlebar after today..

1.flaherty/gleeson
2.molloy
3.kelly
4.silke
5.mchugh
6.daly
7.mcdaid
8.macloughlin
9.tierney
10.o laoi
11.conroy
12.heaney
13.finnerty
14.comer
15.walsh

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 276 - 03/04/2022 16:00:20    2409249

Replying To ComainRos:  "Commiserations to Galway. Decent game of football by both teams. Some serious scores taken by both teams. Felt Galway won their frees a lot easier than we did. Ref was very slow to give us advantage. Enda Smith fouled during his goal chance but no free. Plenty of similar incidents where we got nothing. Anyway a deserved win for us. Galway will improve again I have no doubt and will need to be firing on all cylinders for Mayo game. Just to finish up I'd like to add what a player Paul Conroy is for Galway. I don't think he kicked a wide for ye today. An exhibition of kicking off both feet. Best of luck in 3 weeks against Mayo"
Are you for real on the free stats?! Ross got more gimmes than you'd see with a biased ref at a local underage game! Daly and the Smiths rolling the man and diving through the gap and got frees for it time and again. Irrespective of that, we weren't anywhere near good enough yet again in Croke Park. Roscommon deserved it.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1091 - 03/04/2022 16:03:16    2409250

Replying To togoutlads:  "Truly pathetic. Roscommon stuffing us again - it's laughable how good we make them look. We had nothing. Conroy the only man amongst us. Murtagh went through Matthew Tierney and Sean Kelly for the goal like they were two kids in a playground. Tierney can't even run?? What's going on there? We're so weak. We're not championship fit. We cannot field a high ball to save our lives. We've no kick out strategy. We have Padraic Joyce on the sideline who reaches for his bloody water bottle and starts drinking literally every time there's a break in play, when he should be using those precious moments to instruct his charges. Every time! It's hilarious. Scan and Divilly - what are they actually offering? No smarts at all on the sideline. O'Neill, I dunno, the tackling is junior b and the defensive structure is as porous as div 4 stuff. At this rate, Mayo will absolutely destroy us. How can we build support? All momentum lost now again. Rossies got 3x the soft frees we did but we're not smart enough to just not give an opportunity for those soft calls. Another low energy blow out in Croke Park. Just sad."
Conroy and Comer the only lads with brute strength on that team. Now you don't need an entire team like that but you need some and you certainly need several of them in defense. Say what you want about them but Kyne/ C. Sweeny/kerins were never tossed aside like feathers.There needs to be a balance of pace and strength on the team. What's the point in catching a lad if a soft shoulder from him will send you flying. Comer must bulldoze through them in A v B games

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 03/04/2022 16:05:43    2409253

Yer all fooling yourselves.. no kick out strategy, I'm saying that for 3 years, no defensive shape, only two forwards..
We are a middle of the road team.. this manager has just lost twice to the Rossies in a week.. that alone is a terrible stat..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/04/2022 16:10:19    2409257

Replying To gbay:  "in truth ros should have won by alot more..butchered a few goal chances..
much the better team and worked hard for one another..
there forwards looked good but our defending was embarrassing..

one word to sum up that performance today. Pathetic..
we are not even a top ten team lads.,no point saying otherwise
how was molloy left on smith//got absolutely roasted..
fitzgerald looked at see at times..full back or nowhere..
only for conroy once again who is carrying the rest on his back wed be hammered..
we had no one to come off the bench bar shane to kick scores..no one.
where the the name of god is darragh silke or brain mannion..scorers..

finnerty and dessie not in the game..
fair play to young macloughlin for a young man took the fight to ros when he came on..

id like to no why shane didnt start...looked fine to me when he came on..
im not sure what the line where looking at all day..man/team management very very poor..
glesson now in for mayo game id imagine.
we lacked so much pace all over the field it was hard to believe..
even sean kelly looked exhausted half way through first half..

god help us in 3 weeks v mayo..
some off them need a massive kick up the ***
after today this is the team v mayo if everyone is fit and well.
im not sure if there's much point getting on the bus to go to castlebar after today..

1.flaherty/gleeson
2.molloy
3.kelly
4.silke
5.mchugh
6.daly
7.mcdaid
8.macloughlin
9.tierney
10.o laoi
11.conroy
12.heaney
13.finnerty
14.comer
15.walsh"
Get on the bus. Support them through the bad times as well as the good. Regardless of how the lads are playing we should be embarrassed at how the Mayo support out number us so much even at home games.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 03/04/2022 16:11:11    2409258

Replying To galwayfball:  "Get on the bus. Support them through the bad times as well as the good. Regardless of how the lads are playing we should be embarrassed at how the Mayo support out number us so much even at home games."
mayo give there supporters something to shout about..
consistent performers every year.. all ire semi/final nearly every year last 10..

what have we got.!!!

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 276 - 03/04/2022 16:16:31    2409260