Galway Football thread

Replying To giveitlong:  "Ross deserving winners without a doubt. Goalie kept us in it after be opened up several times. From a Galway view point some very strange calls by Joyce/Concannon again. Looking forward we have chance against Mayo if all players are available. They, it would seem, have so far been unable to replace the likes of Higgins, Boyle and Barret. The Connacht cup can be won by Galway or Roscommon in 2022."
Irony is surely that Ros always were and are going to have a decent chance of provincial glory. Both them and us have been behind Mayo for a good number of years now (although the gap is narrowing) and results today were unlikely to alter that. Will be interesting but the Mayo Galway winner will have momentum so any of the three can win it.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 03/04/2022 18:32:59    2409320

Replying To galwayman2:  "In 3 weeks time Conroy is probably the only player that they won't have though.
It's more likely than not that Mullin, O Connor, Hennell and Durcan will be back."
Correct. Mayo will be stronger with those guys likely back and still favs to beat us.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 03/04/2022 18:34:03    2409321

When Galway are under pressure in a game time and time again. We need possession and when we need it and I mean really need it, we never retain possession from our own kick out. 65% today on our own kick outs, the worst on show and that my friends is why it is going to be a short summer

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 546 - 03/04/2022 18:40:38    2409322

Please for let Shane rinse O'Hora in Castlebar. Great viewing today watching him mouth off at Clifford whilst conceding 1-06 from play.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 941 - 03/04/2022 18:44:44    2409324

Soft down the middle today
Sort that out and there is hope
I also think there are plenty of quality young players there but This will be Joyce's last year and I feel Kevin Walshe will be back by October

Maroonedinlongford2 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 03/04/2022 18:50:39    2409325

Roscommon was the better team and really should have won by more. Galway had a decent start to the game and a ten minute period to over turn 17-12 Rossie lead into a 18-17 lead. Conroy was outstanding and really kept Galway in the game.

As they say you sometimes learn more in defeat and the next three weeks will be used to improve things. Mayo showed in the 2nd game they have much to improve themselves.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 03/04/2022 18:58:39    2409329

KW!!! Nuts!!!

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 438 - 03/04/2022 19:01:28    2409333

Replying To smallfrank:  "When Galway are under pressure in a game time and time again. We need possession and when we need it and I mean really need it, we never retain possession from our own kick out. 65% today on our own kick outs, the worst on show and that my friends is why it is going to be a short summer"
Correct no midfield to win a high ball or breaking ball and defenders are too soft and don't tackle or can't tackle without giving away soft frees. John Daly was exposed today I'm afraid as was Molloy who I thought was intercounty standard. Not enough tough strong defenders like I mentioned here previously. Like watching a hot knife through butter looking at the Roscommon forwards running through them. We also have a zero kick out strategy to win easier possession. The forwards were poor overall running laterally, getting bottled up, losing possession in the tackle etc. We are not a top side I'm afraid to say and we're a long, long way from even thinking of an AI. Roscommon and Mayo are a long way from an AI too I might add whatever about Connacht.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 03/04/2022 19:29:53    2409343

In fairness Roscommon prob have as good as set of forward that's in Ireland bar maybe Kerry , it's being a myth for years regarding Galway forwards they very average comer and Walsh after that poor none can score from even 30 yards out ,, no real pace in Galway half backline , I know mayo got good beating 2 day but it's at a level way higher than galway at , kick outs need 2 go long all the time it's not working trying mix it up , though Gallagher should have come on 2 day and surely if Walsh was fit 2 come on he was fit 2 start ,, qualifier in June I'm afraid ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1098 - 03/04/2022 19:53:41    2409351

Replying To ComainRos:  "Perhaps I'm viewing these incidents with Rose tinted glasses and I agree Niall Daly won a very soft free but you cannot say that Ros won soft free after soft free. All a Ros lad had to do was lay a hand on a maroon jersey and the ref gave advantage straight away. Ros players were manhandled numerous times and ref ignored it. Maybe in the balance of play these things even themselves out. Anyway good luck to ye in 3 weeks time. No reason why ye can't bounce back and beat Mayo."
Watch it again and see how many soft and very scorable frees ye got. It made a big difference. But again, Galway weren't at all good enough, so Roscommon the deserving winners today.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1091 - 03/04/2022 20:00:47    2409354

Replying To kiloughter:  "Are you watching them against Kerry? Getting hammered. People who say we are outside the top 10 know little about big ball. While we are not top 4 we are in Div 1 on merit. Whether we beat Mayo or not was never going to be decided by the result today. Ros deserved their win but by God we could not buy a free and a few of theirs were of the soft variety. Improvement needed of course but I won't be joining the doom and gloomers."
Ah here what in the name of Jesus game we're you at? The ref nearly cost us the game. Couldn't buy a free. Comer dived into one of our players and got a free. Harney was dragged back while through on goal early no free. Smith same in second half should have been a peno or a free in. Taught he was very poor but find it hilarious you think Galway were hard done by.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1219 - 03/04/2022 20:10:26    2409357

Glynn and Fitzgerald today confirmed that they are probably not ready for senior championship football. Not yet anyway.
This is why Sean Kelly was played in the fullback line previously - the alternatives just arent good enough.
Our own kick outs are a massive issue. This will be an even bigger issue if Flaherty is injured and Gleeson starts v Mayo.
Dessie's lack of physique exposed today also.
For Mayo I imagine McDaid, Paul Kelly, McHugh & Shane Walsh will all come back in anyway.
Glynn, Fitz, Niall Daly anyway probably will drop out.
Sean Kelly must play in the backs.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1324 - 03/04/2022 20:22:46    2409364

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Ah here what in the name of Jesus game we're you at? The ref nearly cost us the game. Couldn't buy a free. Comer dived into one of our players and got a free. Harney was dragged back while through on goal early no free. Smith same in second half should have been a peno or a free in. Taught he was very poor but find it hilarious you think Galway were hard done by."
Calm down lads Debatable decisions both ways and balanced out and in general a reasonable performance from officials. And ultimately any borderine decisions didn't influence result as better team won

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1002 - 03/04/2022 20:23:35    2409366

Replying To tommy k:  "Correct no midfield to win a high ball or breaking ball and defenders are too soft and don't tackle or can't tackle without giving away soft frees. John Daly was exposed today I'm afraid as was Molloy who I thought was intercounty standard. Not enough tough strong defenders like I mentioned here previously. Like watching a hot knife through butter looking at the Roscommon forwards running through them. We also have a zero kick out strategy to win easier possession. The forwards were poor overall running laterally, getting bottled up, losing possession in the tackle etc. We are not a top side I'm afraid to say and we're a long, long way from even thinking of an AI. Roscommon and Mayo are a long way from an AI too I might add whatever about Connacht."
Tommy. I have lost all respect for your analysis. We did more than 50 50 at midfield. John Daly was excellent despite getting an injury that resulted in him coming off. Full back and Full forward line is where we have most problems. I agree with you re molloy..but nobody could argue with you on that one today.... but he is a better player than that and will deliver in the future.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1002 - 03/04/2022 20:30:33    2409372

Roscommon were very deserving winners today. Although it took the late goal to win it, I thought they were the better team overall. They had only kicked 1 wide with an hour gone, which is obviously great shooting, but also a sign of little pressure on the kickers.
Conroy and Comer kept us in it, the latter in the 2nd half mainly.
Our inability to dispossess players or even make them check back in the tackle is very worrying. Roscommon breezed through countless tackle attempts today and when they didn't, it was usually because we had fouled.
In the open spaces of Croke Park, this issue is exacerbated.
Any successful team needs forwards who can work extremely hard when we don't have possession and put pressure on the ball going down the pitch. A few of our forwards, while excellent kickers of the ball are not physical and also don't have the legs to do this job. I really like Finnerty and Tierney as footballers, but I'm not sure we can have the two of them playing in big games. The same could apply to Conneely. It makes the defence's job a lot harder if there's little pressure on the opposition further up the pitch.
Molloy is not at home in the full-back line. We lose his drive from wing-back. I'd bring Sean Kelly back to full-back. He still gets forward plenty from there and has proven himself to be a very good man-marker. I think he's better attacking from deeper.
It looks like we might need McLaughlin this year to play a big enough role. He made a fantastic catch straight after being introduced. He's young, but he looks physically well able and can move too.
A poor outing today and it could be a very short summer unless we improve massively.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2425 - 03/04/2022 20:45:47    2409378

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Ah here what in the name of Jesus game we're you at? The ref nearly cost us the game. Couldn't buy a free. Comer dived into one of our players and got a free. Harney was dragged back while through on goal early no free. Smith same in second half should have been a peno or a free in. Taught he was very poor but find it hilarious you think Galway were hard done by."
Just goes to show that refs can never win. We were marginally better than Galway today and deserved to win. The ref's performance didn't decide the game.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2532 - 03/04/2022 20:54:05    2409382

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Roscommon were very deserving winners today. Although it took the late goal to win it, I thought they were the better team overall. They had only kicked 1 wide with an hour gone, which is obviously great shooting, but also a sign of little pressure on the kickers.
Conroy and Comer kept us in it, the latter in the 2nd half mainly.
Our inability to dispossess players or even make them check back in the tackle is very worrying. Roscommon breezed through countless tackle attempts today and when they didn't, it was usually because we had fouled.
In the open spaces of Croke Park, this issue is exacerbated.
Any successful team needs forwards who can work extremely hard when we don't have possession and put pressure on the ball going down the pitch. A few of our forwards, while excellent kickers of the ball are not physical and also don't have the legs to do this job. I really like Finnerty and Tierney as footballers, but I'm not sure we can have the two of them playing in big games. The same could apply to Conneely. It makes the defence's job a lot harder if there's little pressure on the opposition further up the pitch.
Molloy is not at home in the full-back line. We lose his drive from wing-back. I'd bring Sean Kelly back to full-back. He still gets forward plenty from there and has proven himself to be a very good man-marker. I think he's better attacking from deeper.
It looks like we might need McLaughlin this year to play a big enough role. He made a fantastic catch straight after being introduced. He's young, but he looks physically well able and can move too.
A poor outing today and it could be a very short summer unless we improve massively."
Good Post. The thought did strike me today that Molloy is either out of position or maybe not as good as we all thought. Dylan McHugh to be fair to him has been very good this year and has been missed. McDaid, never really available and could be exposed if thrown in in 3 weeks time. We need Sean Kelly in the back 6 and Mulkerrin is def a loss. You are on the money about the forwards and work rate, won't name them but Gallagher and Paul Kelly will add a lot if they come in. Comer got his 4 points but other than the throw in at the start he seemed to have no other option when he got possession, I would like to see Shane in there with him.
Very poor on the line today, some of those forwards lasted a long time today and were offering nothing.
What McLaughlin today and Niall Daly last week showed is that now was the time to look at guys like Darragh Slike, Mannion, McWalter even others on the panel like Raftery.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 546 - 03/04/2022 21:34:59    2409403

Negatives
Kick outs/strategy didn't work
Tackling very poor on several occasions
Defensive strategy didn't work conceding a high score
Forwards set up didn't work(strange to say when we scored so much but it lacked coherence as a unit and was a bit ponderous)
To be fair all of the above partly arise from a well managed Roscommon team with very good players

Positives
Despite the above we only lost by a point to a very.good team despite not playing very well.
If McHugh and McDaid were right and left half back with Paul Kelly in Midfield (allowing Sean Kelly to go back to full back) and Shane Walsh in instead of Daly/O Laoi then straight away we are a much better team probably enough to over turn a one point deficit
Great experience gained by Flaherty, McGrath, Fitzgerald, N Daly, Mclaughlin, J McGrath and Gill (we need a bigger squad)
A good three week stint ahead to get ready for the big one.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 452 - 03/04/2022 21:53:52    2409409

Flaherty
Mcgrath
Kelly
Molloy
Mcdaid
Daly
Heaney
Conroy
McLaughlin
Tierney
Walsh
Paul Kelly
Gallagher
Comer
Pat Kelly
Impact subs
Dessie, Rob Finnerty, Silke , Fitzgerald, O Laoi. ++

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1002 - 03/04/2022 22:05:15    2409415

Replying To Trucker1:  "Negatives
Kick outs/strategy didn't work
Tackling very poor on several occasions
Defensive strategy didn't work conceding a high score
Forwards set up didn't work(strange to say when we scored so much but it lacked coherence as a unit and was a bit ponderous)
To be fair all of the above partly arise from a well managed Roscommon team with very good players

Positives
Despite the above we only lost by a point to a very.good team despite not playing very well.
If McHugh and McDaid were right and left half back with Paul Kelly in Midfield (allowing Sean Kelly to go back to full back) and Shane Walsh in instead of Daly/O Laoi then straight away we are a much better team probably enough to over turn a one point deficit
Great experience gained by Flaherty, McGrath, Fitzgerald, N Daly, Mclaughlin, J McGrath and Gill (we need a bigger squad)
A good three week stint ahead to get ready for the big one."
Flaherty has to start, way superior shot stopping and I think if he was in he would have stopped that goal, it looked like Gleeson pulled back thinking it was heading wide.
Silke offers something going forward but not enough in defence, he can do it but needs to make that his primary job, to start.
Molloy, needs to be corner or wing back not full.
Glynn, bang seemed to put him off, feel he's better than McGrath
Fitzgerald, full back not so sure he was turned several times with ease
Daly, good but needs help
O laoi, took a bit to get going but worked hard and was much more involved than Heaney, tierney and Daly
Kelly very quite by his standard
Conroy to start good
Tierney wasn't there until last 10
Daly not there yet
Heaney good start but disappeared
Dessie seems to let occasions get to him at this level
Comer good and opposition are always worried about him
Finnerty ok but the ros had loads of cover

I taught Galway looker very tired compared to ros, at one point kelly went forward lost the ball and pointed at a free ros man for Daly to chase, he didn't and kelly had to nearly chase down and mark 2, that play showed they weren't willing to do the dirty running for each other.

Mindset and attitude is huge and Mayo will have that right.

Poor start to the Second half Haunts Galway again.

Walsh good but what is with the sleeve

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 234 - 04/04/2022 08:20:19    2409420