Galway Football thread

Replying To Eire89:  "Can anyone list all of PJs backroom team? I know its Cian O Neill, John Concannon & Michael O Domhnaill. who else is there S&C, physios doctors, psych etc. Alot saying O Neill gone regardless of sundays result. Be a very hard one for Joyce to swallow and he may also walk after 5 years and feeling he took them as far as he can. I do think it will be his decision as in if he wants to stay Co board will let him."
Cian Breathnach and a guy called Harris Wright are S&C
John Divilly, Lloyd Kelly is the goalkeeping coach.
Niamh Mallon is the nutritionist, Enda Devitt from Claregalway is the doctor. Ian Hynes does stats, Sean Rhatigan does the logistics. Aofaine Walsh is one physio
Loads of others. Diarmuid Blake and Johnny Ryan were Maor Uisce on Sunday

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 30/07/2024 16:38:25    2563070

Replying To jm25:  "Cian breathnach is S&C and have heard odomhniall wasn't involved this year not sure if true.

It's a minor thing but does anyone know when team went to Aran Islands for training seen it online during week.

Assume it was between Dublin Donegal games as Hernon was involved but Damien Comer didn't seem to be on boat or training"
Also nutritionist was 14 for the camogie team Saturday their best player think she transferred from down originally

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 16:39:34    2563071

Replying To Galway456:  "Some idiotic people on the forum lately, all bandwagoners and wont be seen until galway get into a All Ireland semi next year(hopefully) from lads allegedly your a armagh man to GDL playing detective and according to him every 3rd poster is Clare, sure he thinks his word is gospel let him believe it. Club champo now in 2 weeks i reckon corofin will climb the steps in the stadium again silke and mchugh to carry form over to club, salthill could be dangerous yet if finnerty gets his injury right."
The worst part about the club championship is that we are crying out for an inside forward and the top scorers will inevitably be, Gary Sice, Barry McHugh, Dessie Conneely and maybe Brian Mannion.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 30/07/2024 16:40:34    2563072

Replying To handpassking:  "Fair comment suckvalleypaddy, but when the media are now comparing us with mayo and their appalling track record in finals it's difficult to shift the narrative to a mature stance like yours.

Sunday s performance was so disappointing and I am slow to be critical but players started who were no where at the required fitness levels. That is criminal and tbh downright stupid, notwithstanding what it says to our subs and so called panel?

PJ should stay but he too has to do some learning about basic application of field game fundamentals."
What's worse.. the loss or being compared to Mayo?

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 331 - 30/07/2024 16:50:13    2563074

A few that could add something next year if available.
Ross Coen, Jack Lonergan, Shay McGlinchey, Cillian O'Curraoin, Patrick Egan, Jack McCabe, Sam O'Neill, Liam O'Conghaile, Rory Cunningham. Need the likes of Patrick Kelly, James McLaoughlin and Peter Cooke back fit and available as well. Will be interesting to see if Oran Burke features for Corofin. I think he'll take over from Gleeson eventually.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 30/07/2024 16:50:24    2563075

Replying To ahsure.:  "Joyce doesn't strike me as the type of character to walk away after that, if anything it might drive him on for next year."
There are a lot of similarities between this defeat to Mayos loss in '21.

And while Horan didn't walk away after that final, in reality the show was over, the wind was gone from us and I remember someone posting here on HS that when we lost the QF in '22 it simply put us out of our misery.

Galway / Joyce probably aren't at that stage but a defeat like that takes its toll and assuming he stays, next year could well be a defining year.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 331 - 30/07/2024 17:02:39    2563081

Replying To cavan.galway:  "fine saying conroy/gleason should have taken frees but shaney doesn't want to give them up!!"
Proof? If he's so all powerful, it didn't stop him being [deservedly] taken off against Monaghan after 25 minutes.

But let's say he's as powerful as you claim. That reflects as badly on the sideline as it does letting a player who is not a reliable freetaker at the best of times, keep taking them when there were 2 other options.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 879 - 30/07/2024 17:14:27    2563088

Replying To jm25:  "Look through my posts it's purely Galway Football & Hurling.

You thinks a lot of things that are nonsense or you have no evidence to back up.

You are the one who seems to think to know what management in Armagh talk about are you from up there.

Unfortunately no celebrations was devastated with Sundays result and Tiernan Kelly won an AI for what he did in 2022 but he did nothing wrong Sunday.

First I've ever heard you have to be from north to like cricket. Club out in Lydican you should give it a go and not be so backwards.

Even Alex jones would tell ye ease up on conspiracy theories.

Anyways onto club prob be 16th/17th and as someone said corofin look good prob least affected of big dogs with injuries.

Really looking forward to see Dunmore young forward line tested v Moycullen the likes of Costello slattery mcgrath have a good chance to put themselves in Galway contention for 2025.

Also any hope claregalway will do something at senior finally"
Claregalway in the toughest group with Corofin,Tuam and Oughterard....I think.Very difficult group for second as Corofin will probably win group.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 30/07/2024 17:19:17    2563089

Replying To jm25:  "Of course it goes on by all teams, but to suggest this was pre planned and they had inside knowledge is without evidence, or what would have happened later in game is pure speculation.

So let's be clear and I think we can all agree there is nothing to suggest Armagh deliberately set out to target or injure Finnerty only assumptions of what could or may have happened.

There was not one dirty tackle in that game Sunday and nothing premeditated or deliberate in that tackle or the one that did damage to grugan"
The dog and his mother knew Rob Finnertys knee has been at him all season.They didn't need any inside info for that.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 30/07/2024 17:25:32    2563092

Replying To Galway456:  "Some idiotic people on the forum lately, all bandwagoners and wont be seen until galway get into a All Ireland semi next year(hopefully) from lads allegedly your a armagh man to GDL playing detective and according to him every 3rd poster is Clare, sure he thinks his word is gospel let him believe it. Club champo now in 2 weeks i reckon corofin will climb the steps in the stadium again silke and mchugh to carry form over to club, salthill could be dangerous yet if finnerty gets his injury right."
Claire, how will your beloved Ballina do this summer? Will they keep their title? Ha!

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 30/07/2024 17:30:58    2563093

Galway 456 apart from the county lads I'd say you couldn't name another soul on any club team in Galway...
In fact even though your a Mayo head Clare you can hardly name anyone in Mayo club football..
Go away

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 30/07/2024 18:17:11    2563102

Replying To GDL:  "Claire, how will your beloved Ballina do this summer? Will they keep their title? Ha!"
Your obsessed with whoever this clare one is. Calling every 2nd mayo account fake including my own one and even accusing some of your own true Galway supporters of being fake profiles get a life.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 30/07/2024 18:27:02    2563105

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Proof? If he's so all powerful, it didn't stop him being [deservedly
taken off against Monaghan after 25 minutes.

But let's say he's as powerful as you claim. That reflects as badly on the sideline as it does letting a player who is not a reliable freetaker at the best of times, keep taking them when there were 2 other options."]He should have been taken off on Sun as well.He was hing out to dry by management when it just wasn't his day.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 30/07/2024 18:59:25    2563116

Replying To smallfrank:  "A few that could add something next year if available.
Ross Coen, Jack Lonergan, Shay McGlinchey, Cillian O'Curraoin, Patrick Egan, Jack McCabe, Sam O'Neill, Liam O'Conghaile, Rory Cunningham. Need the likes of Patrick Kelly, James McLaoughlin and Peter Cooke back fit and available as well. Will be interesting to see if Oran Burke features for Corofin. I think he'll take over from Gleeson eventually."
So you jumping over Conor Flaherty.Not surprised you came out with that.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 30/07/2024 19:03:46    2563118

Replying To smallfrank:  "The worst part about the club championship is that we are crying out for an inside forward and the top scorers will inevitably be, Gary Sice, Barry McHugh, Dessie Conneely and maybe Brian Mannion."
Ian Burke playing club football this year? Vital to corofin if he is, wonder will peter cooke make an appearance for moycullen this year, always usually comes at some stage during the championship and makes a impact in the knockouts

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 30/07/2024 19:26:48    2563124

Replying To Cbar:  "There are a lot of similarities between this defeat to Mayos loss in '21.

And while Horan didn't walk away after that final, in reality the show was over, the wind was gone from us and I remember someone posting here on HS that when we lost the QF in '22 it simply put us out of our misery.

Galway / Joyce probably aren't at that stage but a defeat like that takes its toll and assuming he stays, next year could well be a defining year."
Similarities?
Tyrone schooled us in '21.
Galway lost by a point on Sunday.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7571 - 30/07/2024 19:27:05    2563125

I don't know why but I keep watching the games back!!
Armagh scores
1. Conaty, this looks like a break down in communication between Mulkerrin and McDaid, he ends up in acres of space and runs at Mulkerrin
2. Conaty, Mulkerrin is just too loose for this one.
3. Crealey, this comes from a McGrath turnover where he gets a 50/50 hand pass from McHugh. We are also down a man here as Finnerty is crocked.
4. Forker, he loses Comer who stops expecting Darcy to get there. Communication again. This came after Walsh's missed free from the top of the D
5. McCambridge, system and communication, Walsh ends up covering Forker and McCambridge and McCambridge drifts off centrally
6. Crealey, Comer gets turned over. Crealey drifts between McDaid and Mulkerrin and finds the target in space.
Half time, a lot of scores have come out left but I'm not blaming Mulkerrin. Hes dropping deep as he's probably being told to do. He tries to get out a few times when they're shooting from distance but the gap is too big. Definitely looks like Armagh spotted something here.

7. Conaty, opposite wing this time. He burns Heaney 1v1. Again when he shoots, Mulkerrin is trying to get out from the 21 to block.
8. O'Neill, wonder score under the Cusack, Silke does everything right here. Brilliant score under pressure
9. Kelly, Paddy Burns down the right wing drifts off Tierney and cuts back to Kelly who has lost Heaney.
10. Goal, Turbitt comes off and McGrath ends up on Campbell who attacks the wing. Full back loses McHugh in the middle to finish. It still looks like a keepers ball to me the more I watch it.
11. Grimley, this comes off a mark dropped short by Walsh, killer
12. O'Neill, Heaney isn't tight enough. This comes from a panicked effort by McHugh that goes high and short.
Their last score 65 minutes gone.
2 brilliant scores by Darcy and McDaid bring it back to 1, 68 gone, all Galway now.
70. Walsh free, short
74. McHugh off the post
76. Conroy blocked after a long busting run from Darcy. We needed more runners with Darcy, Maher and Conroy are sprinting, Kelly is ahead of him.
From the Armagh goal on 46 minutes until the 76 minutes. Armagh scored 2 points.
Their full forward line did not score or take one shot at the posts from play the entire game.
Definitely one that got away.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 30/07/2024 20:01:45    2563128

Replying To togoutlads:  "Ah but it is the way it works, see. I know how it works - I'm manys the long year playing and managing, my friend. We land a couple of those frees and a shot or two from play and we were undoubtedly going up the steps for Sam. But we didn't. That's the way it goes. Too many of our lads didn't show up and our management , whilst good in pre March prep, are not top tier at in-game mgmt, heat of battle decision making. They freeze. I can see it in them, their messaging and body language. They're not seeing the obvious as it emerges and are not bringing influence to bear on the field in-game and that's their fault. We lost it on the sideline and we lost it through some off day and no show performances - I could name names but we all know. Anyway, one that got away. We'll do extremely well next year if we're to get back for another shot at it - 7 or 8 teams will train like lunatics this winter, as they'll all feel they've a real shot at the title."
Not its not, stop talking nonsense. Undoubtedly? The arrogance out of ye.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 30/07/2024 20:20:43    2563131

Just watched the BBC coverage back. Their studio directly in line with Comers effort. Both said it was a point, Harte and McConville with Harte adding that it wasn't even above the posts. Very strange

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 30/07/2024 20:44:52    2563136

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "So you jumping over Conor Flaherty.Not surprised you came out with that."
I've no idea what you're talking about but Burke played in goal for Joyce at U20 in 2019 and Joyce seems to lean towards those lads. I've no issue with Flaherty getting a run either. There's probably another 3 or 4 years left in Gleeson either way

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 30/07/2024 21:05:21    2563142