Galway Football thread

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Will Joyce pack it in d'ye think?"
Don't expect it however will likely be changes to the management team, talk that Cian O'Neill will depart.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 199 - 30/07/2024 14:31:46    2563011

Replying To ahsure.:  "2 All Ireland finals and 3 years (we hadn't be in 1 for 21 years before that) and you want the management gone? No chance."
Any doubts about Joyce at all?

It's hard for a manager to come back from a defeat like that.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 331 - 30/07/2024 14:34:21    2563012

Anyone know if joyce will stay on? 5 years done 3 connachts and reached 2 all ireland. I would love to see him stay but maybe hes thinking this week has he brought this team as far as he can? Heard this was cian o neills final year anyway regardless of result pity to see him go.

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 30/07/2024 14:36:10    2563014

fine saying conroy/gleason should have taken frees but shaney doesn't want to give them up!!

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 30/07/2024 14:36:14    2563015

Replying To Kew:  "Hearing a lot of players are getting surgery next week. 4 of the starting forward line. Pretty much explains what happened. Injuries caught up with them in the end."
The true injury situation will be seen by how many of Sunday's starting 15 line out for their clubs in the up coming championship. Some of them plus Sean Kelly brought on probably need a month or two rest than surgery.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 199 - 30/07/2024 14:38:07    2563017

Replying To jm25:  "You also need to brush up on how hawkeye operates.

Reguardless if umpires or ref gave a point Hawkeye would have intervened and been a NIL

Dunno if umpires call a la cricket would be fairer when part of ball touches an imaginary line for the posts? Either way its guesswork

Also can you explain how you have reason to believe Armagh had knowledge of Finnertys injury history and recuperation and what their management discussed?

More leaks then a sieve in both camps is there?"
Me thinks you're not from Galway. Perhaps it was the multiple defend Armagh at all costs comments in your previous posts, or was it the cricket reference, from your neck of the woods. Enjoy the celebrations!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 30/07/2024 14:56:43    2563027

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "The true injury situation will be seen by how many of Sunday's starting 15 line out for their clubs in the up coming championship. Some of them plus Sean Kelly brought on probably need a month or two rest than surgery."
Word is Kelly, Comer, Finnerty and Walsh are all getting operations and Mc Daid a procedure...
Seems remarkable we got to a final at all...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 30/07/2024 15:13:33    2563034

Replying To jm25:  "The only one assuming anything is you and the other conspiracy theorist the post is rubbish as you acknowledge yourself no evidence Kelly deliberately injured Finnerty only that he MAY have tried to at another stage in game"
The term conspiracy theorist, as far as I'm aware, was first used by the CIA to discredit anyone who questioned the official "lone gunman" narrative of the Kennedy assassination. This cynical tactic worked then and sadly not much has changed in the years since.

Your refusal to even entertain the possibility that his injury may have been targeted is both frustrating and endearing at the same time.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 30/07/2024 15:22:33    2563038

Replying To cavan.galway:  "fine saying conroy/gleason should have taken frees but shaney doesn't want to give them up!!"
I remember when Joyce came on the scene in '98. The quality of the freetaking from himself and Finnegan was a major step up on anything I'd seen from Galway in 25 years. We needed every bit of it too at times. The late draw from Finnegan in Tuam, back into extra time in Ros a week or two later.

We've seen shambolic '2 footed' freetaking from Shane before. To think we've lost an eminently winnable allireland to a routine that I've personally never had any faith in, is a bitter pill to swallow.

Galway 2025 needs a freetaker from the left and a freetaker from the right. Lads that'll hit at least 80% plus when the heat is on, and more importantly will have the nous to be able to evaluate their capacity and mood for the job at all times.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3827 - 30/07/2024 15:25:50    2563041

Once the wounds are well licked we have to accept that using lads who need operations is absolutely ridiculous.
My take away from this year is that we have the material to challenge for Sam for the near future and I hope PJ stays on to deliver. He is a great Galway man. Also, a culture change is needed in the west of Ireland. Galway and Mayo should be for each other to keep Sam west of the Shannon instead of all the toxic nonsense that is spewed. Looking forward to bright future.
Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 30/07/2024 15:34:40    2563046

Replying To Cbar:  "Any doubts about Joyce at all?

It's hard for a manager to come back from a defeat like that."
Joyce doesn't strike me as the type of character to walk away after that, if anything it might drive him on for next year.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 30/07/2024 15:40:02    2563048

Replying To togoutlads:  "Me thinks you're not from Galway. Perhaps it was the multiple defend Armagh at all costs comments in your previous posts, or was it the cricket reference, from your neck of the woods. Enjoy the celebrations!"
Look through my posts it's purely Galway Football & Hurling.

You thinks a lot of things that are nonsense or you have no evidence to back up.

You are the one who seems to think to know what management in Armagh talk about are you from up there.

Unfortunately no celebrations was devastated with Sundays result and Tiernan Kelly won an AI for what he did in 2022 but he did nothing wrong Sunday.

First I've ever heard you have to be from north to like cricket. Club out in Lydican you should give it a go and not be so backwards.

Even Alex jones would tell ye ease up on conspiracy theories.

Anyways onto club prob be 16th/17th and as someone said corofin look good prob least affected of big dogs with injuries.

Really looking forward to see Dunmore young forward line tested v Moycullen the likes of Costello slattery mcgrath have a good chance to put themselves in Galway contention for 2025.

Also any hope claregalway will do something at senior finally

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 15:45:26    2563051

Not sure about the other points raised previously but a few with good views from the Davin did claim Comer's point was over, but was kicked so high, Hawkeye couldn't adjudicate properly.

If Finnerty is to have surgery, is it a result of Sunday's challenge? He mentioned in a pre-match interview that rumours of him needing an op. were just rubbish.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 30/07/2024 15:47:06    2563052

Replying To Galway9801:  "The term conspiracy theorist, as far as I'm aware, was first used by the CIA to discredit anyone who questioned the official "lone gunman" narrative of the Kennedy assassination. This cynical tactic worked then and sadly not much has changed in the years since.

Your refusal to even entertain the possibility that his injury may have been targeted is both frustrating and endearing at the same time."
Everything is possible what I am questioning is the poster who claims that is pretty clear cut it was deliberate.

Is there anything in the incident that looks deliberate?? I would say absolutely not.

Armagh player messes up dropping kick out, Finnerty does well gets to it first is fouled gets up kicks it over the bar.

This was not mckinless stamping on comer or ROD kicking Kelly's ankle territory.

No different to what happened grugan in second half there is a possibility we targeted him and deliberately injured him but again I would say no way that is true.

Now the original poster is alleging I'm from Armagh although been on this forum on off for 10 years plus posting purely about Galway football /hurling and club it's desperate clutching at straws.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 15:56:26    2563053

Fair comment suckvalleypaddy, but when the media are now comparing us with mayo and their appalling track record in finals it's difficult to shift the narrative to a mature stance like yours.

Sunday s performance was so disappointing and I am slow to be critical but players started who were no where at the required fitness levels. That is criminal and tbh downright stupid, notwithstanding what it says to our subs and so called panel?

PJ should stay but he too has to do some learning about basic application of field game fundamentals.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 437 - 30/07/2024 15:56:56    2563055

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I remember when Joyce came on the scene in '98. The quality of the freetaking from himself and Finnegan was a major step up on anything I'd seen from Galway in 25 years. We needed every bit of it too at times. The late draw from Finnegan in Tuam, back into extra time in Ros a week or two later.

We've seen shambolic '2 footed' freetaking from Shane before. To think we've lost an eminently winnable allireland to a routine that I've personally never had any faith in, is a bitter pill to swallow.

Galway 2025 needs a freetaker from the left and a freetaker from the right. Lads that'll hit at least 80% plus when the heat is on, and more importantly will have the nous to be able to evaluate their capacity and mood for the job at all times."
Good job Walsh had the nous, mood and capacity for the job in 2022.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 30/07/2024 16:09:19    2563061

Can anyone list all of PJs backroom team? I know its Cian O Neill, John Concannon & Michael O Domhnaill. who else is there S&C, physios doctors, psych etc. Alot saying O Neill gone regardless of sundays result. Be a very hard one for Joyce to swallow and he may also walk after 5 years and feeling he took them as far as he can. I do think it will be his decision as in if he wants to stay Co board will let him.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 276 - 30/07/2024 16:11:55    2563062

Replying To Triffic:  "Good job Walsh had the nous, mood and capacity for the job in 2022."
Exactly. I was saying coming out the gate in Croker last Sunday , that if Walsh and McDaid had played the 2022 final like they played the game we'd just seen, we'd have got bet by 12+ points by Kerry.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3827 - 30/07/2024 16:21:35    2563064

Replying To jm25:  "Everything is possible what I am questioning is the poster who claims that is pretty clear cut it was deliberate.

Is there anything in the incident that looks deliberate?? I would say absolutely not.

Armagh player messes up dropping kick out, Finnerty does well gets to it first is fouled gets up kicks it over the bar.

This was not mckinless stamping on comer or ROD kicking Kelly's ankle territory.

No different to what happened grugan in second half there is a possibility we targeted him and deliberately injured him but again I would say no way that is true.

Now the original poster is alleging I'm from Armagh although been on this forum on off for 10 years plus posting purely about Galway football /hurling and club it's desperate clutching at straws."
Some idiotic people on the forum lately, all bandwagoners and wont be seen until galway get into a All Ireland semi next year(hopefully) from lads allegedly your a armagh man to GDL playing detective and according to him every 3rd poster is Clare, sure he thinks his word is gospel let him believe it. Club champo now in 2 weeks i reckon corofin will climb the steps in the stadium again silke and mchugh to carry form over to club, salthill could be dangerous yet if finnerty gets his injury right.

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 30/07/2024 16:26:05    2563066

Replying To Eire89:  "Can anyone list all of PJs backroom team? I know its Cian O Neill, John Concannon & Michael O Domhnaill. who else is there S&C, physios doctors, psych etc. Alot saying O Neill gone regardless of sundays result. Be a very hard one for Joyce to swallow and he may also walk after 5 years and feeling he took them as far as he can. I do think it will be his decision as in if he wants to stay Co board will let him."
Cian breathnach is S&C and have heard odomhniall wasn't involved this year not sure if true.

It's a minor thing but does anyone know when team went to Aran Islands for training seen it online during week.

Assume it was between Dublin Donegal games as Hernon was involved but Damien Comer didn't seem to be on boat or training

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 16:26:10    2563067