Galway Football thread

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Did Walsh come to the homecoming?"
Was in Tuam anyway but well in the background. Anyone think they should get rid of the homecomings for the losing team. The lads looked like they were there under duress and i don't think they should be put through that

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 423 - 29/07/2024 21:30:31    2562775

hard luck to Galway. weren't at your best yesterday but still very close to winning it. you'll be a serious force in 2025 if everyone is back fit.

Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 33 - 29/07/2024 21:34:35    2562780

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Who? Me?

The comment was that Mayo always turn up on the big days but Galway didn't and I think its uncalled for. How would that show Mayo colours?

Anyway I just dont like to see people trying to wind other people up and rubbing there noses in losses on forums like this."
Galway will have regrets today but so too will Donegal. McGuinness will feel he'd have had Armagh's number in the Final.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2282 - 29/07/2024 21:56:19    2562787

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Did Walsh come to the homecoming?"
I'm pretty certain he's done more in a Galway jersey than you ever have.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 879 - 29/07/2024 22:03:37    2562788

Unfortunately the difference was that 13 minutes without a score coupled with a lot of bad wide in that time frame was the difference in the end. Sickening.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 29/07/2024 22:08:36    2562789

Replying To Ailteoir:  "I'm pretty certain he's done more in a Galway jersey than you ever have."
And you. It was only a question.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 29/07/2024 22:26:15    2562797

Turbitt, Murnan Grugan
Finnerty, Walsh Comer
1 point from play between the six of them.
That says a lot about the way the game is being played.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 29/07/2024 22:27:52    2562800

Replying To endgame:  "Galway will have regrets today but so too will Donegal. McGuinness will feel he'd have had Armagh's number in the Final."
Ye I'm sure thats why McGuinness was so dissapointed after the semi.
I suspect that McGeeney was secretely happier to see Galway come out of that game.
Of course the Galway crowd will take that as an insult because they feel they are so obviously superior to the other two teams, despite all the evidence being that there is 0 betweeen those three.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 29/07/2024 22:54:45    2562807

Replying To GDL:  "Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) is Claire from the Mayo blog, she also posts as S1234 and Galway456. Everyone needs to stop replying to her."
GDL lad stop playing detective with all this clare talk there's people on this forum who wants to talk about galway football/hurling without all your clare talk, a genuine galway supporter here who wants to share his opinion without your guesswork on people making fake accounts and telling people to stop replying to me, grow up

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 29/07/2024 23:33:50    2562818

Replying To moros:  "Hard luck yesterday. One ye should have won. Thought ye were always comfortable till the goal and ye really never recovered yer composure after that."
Yes Galway could have won but if they did I think Armagh would have been accused of choking again.it was a close game but I think on the day Arnagh were slightly the better team. Also match was played in a great spirit.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 311 - 30/07/2024 01:11:39    2562827

Replying To fairplay4ever:  "Was in Tuam anyway but well in the background. Anyone think they should get rid of the homecomings for the losing team. The lads looked like they were there under duress and i don't think they should be put through that"
I would agree with that…. It's terrible to put lads through something they clearly had no interest in attending…. let them go back quietly to their families and close friends to get comfort.. What player after defeat wanted to be paraded in front of a crowd…?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2723 - 30/07/2024 07:58:23    2562834

Replying To endgame:  "Galway will have regrets today but so too will Donegal. McGuinness will feel he'd have had Armagh's number in the Final."
Donegal don't have Armagh's number by any means, we drew with them in the league, beat them by 1 point in the Division 2 final and beat them on penalties AET in the Ulster final in a game which Armagh were the better side for most of it. Had we reached the All Ireland final its highly likely they would have got one over us, as its difficult to play another side 4 times in league and Championship and not lose once.

Galway were the better side for probably the majority of the All Ireland final in terms of possession etc, but their shooting proficiency let them down, which is maybe partly due to Armagh's defensive pressure, but Galway also missed a few sitters.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 30/07/2024 08:50:16    2562844

Replying To Galway456:  "GDL lad stop playing detective with all this clare talk there's people on this forum who wants to talk about galway football/hurling without all your clare talk, a genuine galway supporter here who wants to share his opinion without your guesswork on people making fake accounts and telling people to stop replying to me, grow up"
Did nobody teach you to end a sentence with a full stop. Poor grammar and spelling easily identify you, Clare from the blog. Ha!

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 30/07/2024 08:54:30    2562847

Replying To Galway456:  "GDL lad stop playing detective with all this clare talk there's people on this forum who wants to talk about galway football/hurling without all your clare talk, a genuine galway supporter here who wants to share his opinion without your guesswork on people making fake accounts and telling people to stop replying to me, grow up"
Exactly don't know who this clare one is and why I'm always accused of being a fake account.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 30/07/2024 09:41:57    2562859

Replying To Commodore:  "Donegal don't have Armagh's number by any means, we drew with them in the league, beat them by 1 point in the Division 2 final and beat them on penalties AET in the Ulster final in a game which Armagh were the better side for most of it. Had we reached the All Ireland final its highly likely they would have got one over us, as its difficult to play another side 4 times in league and Championship and not lose once.

Galway were the better side for probably the majority of the All Ireland final in terms of possession etc, but their shooting proficiency let them down, which is maybe partly due to Armagh's defensive pressure, but Galway also missed a few sitters."
Yes between the final 4 it could have gone any way which is great for the Championship (despite the rumbling about style of play etc.) no team had a "number" on any other.

Next year you could make a case for all 8 teams in Division 1 to have a crack at Sam, I can't recall the last time there was such an open championship.....

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 30/07/2024 10:13:40    2562878

So in Galway we largely have ourselves to blame for screwing up that golden opportunity but nonetheless, congrats to Armagh and wish them well but I've more than a couple of gripes with the result.
For one thing, Damien Comer's hawk eye 'wide' was indeed a point, it was never a Hawk Eye situation. Hawk eye can't clearly detect balls that get just mm or even a cm or two inside the line of the post - that's known by folks that work for the supplier, so it defaults to a Níl verdict of inline with the post. The umpires copped out. I would say a good 5,000 plus people from both sets of supporters with the right angle on the shot could clearly see it was over. Some decent Armagh folks said it to us. A BS call.
Another one - a man who has previously served a 6 month ban, has a litany of club and county cards and disciplinary issues, and prides himself on being an enforcer is Armagh CHB, Tiernan Kelly. I believe he may have targeted Rob Finnerty's knee with that foul hit. Play the video, folks. I believe he premeditated hitting him very hard and very seemingly 'awkwardly' to take him out. I believe it was discussed beforehand with Armagh mgmt. I've good reason to believe all this. Rob Finnerty was highlighted for 2 wks in the Armagh camp as the real scoring threat from Galway (more so than our other lauded forwards!), and they had a full history on his injury and recuperation, they knew we hadn't another dedicated free taker and he was deemed a huge scoring threat on the day. They knew his knee was only just coming right and they knew that he was susceptible to repeat injury under a big or 'awkward' challenge. They went after him early in the game. Pathetic on Kelly and Armagh's part to do so - not the way to win one.
I also feel that a defender bear hugging and even hugging face to face a player while off the ball is always a foul but is never called any more by umpires, linesmen or refs. The TV misses this stuff but Damien Comer, as with the Donegal match, was actually held with both defenders hands and in some cases bear hugged repeatedly throughout the game, often face to face in an act of intimidation. It would be flagged and acted on in a juvenile club game but why is it tolerated at the pinnacle of our game? How has it become ok for our games marquee forwards to be fully held off the ball? When did that become fully acceptable and not acted on by our officials? It's a factor in Gaelic football's current slide as a spectator sport vs hurling - where it certainly happens too but to a much lesser extent.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 30/07/2024 10:31:17    2562889

Replying To S1234:  "Exactly don't know who this clare one is and why I'm always accused of being a fake account."
Whatever Clare

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 30/07/2024 10:42:03    2562895

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Thats not the way it works. Galway kick some of those scores and Armagh aren't defending a lead in the last 15mins it would be a different game, maybe Armagh are pushing for the equaliser and Galway hang on to win by a point, who knows.
The way ye are trying to make out that Armagh could only beat you because you played poorly is silly, you played more or less at the level you always play, so did Armagh.
Look at the games you have had over the last few years there has been nothing in it."
Ah but it is the way it works, see. I know how it works - I'm manys the long year playing and managing, my friend. We land a couple of those frees and a shot or two from play and we were undoubtedly going up the steps for Sam. But we didn't. That's the way it goes. Too many of our lads didn't show up and our management , whilst good in pre March prep, are not top tier at in-game mgmt, heat of battle decision making. They freeze. I can see it in them, their messaging and body language. They're not seeing the obvious as it emerges and are not bringing influence to bear on the field in-game and that's their fault. We lost it on the sideline and we lost it through some off day and no show performances - I could name names but we all know. Anyway, one that got away. We'll do extremely well next year if we're to get back for another shot at it - 7 or 8 teams will train like lunatics this winter, as they'll all feel they've a real shot at the title.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 30/07/2024 10:44:49    2562896

Hearing a lot of players are getting surgery next week. 4 of the starting forward line. Pretty much explains what happened. Injuries caught up with them in the end.

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 30/07/2024 10:46:39    2562897

Replying To togoutlads:  "So in Galway we largely have ourselves to blame for screwing up that golden opportunity but nonetheless, congrats to Armagh and wish them well but I've more than a couple of gripes with the result.
For one thing, Damien Comer's hawk eye 'wide' was indeed a point, it was never a Hawk Eye situation. Hawk eye can't clearly detect balls that get just mm or even a cm or two inside the line of the post - that's known by folks that work for the supplier, so it defaults to a Níl verdict of inline with the post. The umpires copped out. I would say a good 5,000 plus people from both sets of supporters with the right angle on the shot could clearly see it was over. Some decent Armagh folks said it to us. A BS call.
Another one - a man who has previously served a 6 month ban, has a litany of club and county cards and disciplinary issues, and prides himself on being an enforcer is Armagh CHB, Tiernan Kelly. I believe he may have targeted Rob Finnerty's knee with that foul hit. Play the video, folks. I believe he premeditated hitting him very hard and very seemingly 'awkwardly' to take him out. I believe it was discussed beforehand with Armagh mgmt. I've good reason to believe all this. Rob Finnerty was highlighted for 2 wks in the Armagh camp as the real scoring threat from Galway (more so than our other lauded forwards!), and they had a full history on his injury and recuperation, they knew we hadn't another dedicated free taker and he was deemed a huge scoring threat on the day. They knew his knee was only just coming right and they knew that he was susceptible to repeat injury under a big or 'awkward' challenge. They went after him early in the game. Pathetic on Kelly and Armagh's part to do so - not the way to win one.
I also feel that a defender bear hugging and even hugging face to face a player while off the ball is always a foul but is never called any more by umpires, linesmen or refs. The TV misses this stuff but Damien Comer, as with the Donegal match, was actually held with both defenders hands and in some cases bear hugged repeatedly throughout the game, often face to face in an act of intimidation. It would be flagged and acted on in a juvenile club game but why is it tolerated at the pinnacle of our game? How has it become ok for our games marquee forwards to be fully held off the ball? When did that become fully acceptable and not acted on by our officials? It's a factor in Gaelic football's current slide as a spectator sport vs hurling - where it certainly happens too but to a much lesser extent."
No harm, but this post has more than a hint of conspiracy theory about it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9447 - 30/07/2024 10:56:45    2562904