Galway Football thread

Replying To togoutlads:  "Ah but it is the way it works, see. I know how it works - I'm manys the long year playing and managing, my friend. We land a couple of those frees and a shot or two from play and we were undoubtedly going up the steps for Sam. But we didn't. That's the way it goes. Too many of our lads didn't show up and our management , whilst good in pre March prep, are not top tier at in-game mgmt, heat of battle decision making. They freeze. I can see it in them, their messaging and body language. They're not seeing the obvious as it emerges and are not bringing influence to bear on the field in-game and that's their fault. We lost it on the sideline and we lost it through some off day and no show performances - I could name names but we all know. Anyway, one that got away. We'll do extremely well next year if we're to get back for another shot at it - 7 or 8 teams will train like lunatics this winter, as they'll all feel they've a real shot at the title."
Pre match not pre march!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 30/07/2024 10:57:27    2562906

Replying To togoutlads:  "So in Galway we largely have ourselves to blame for screwing up that golden opportunity but nonetheless, congrats to Armagh and wish them well but I've more than a couple of gripes with the result.
For one thing, Damien Comer's hawk eye 'wide' was indeed a point, it was never a Hawk Eye situation. Hawk eye can't clearly detect balls that get just mm or even a cm or two inside the line of the post - that's known by folks that work for the supplier, so it defaults to a Níl verdict of inline with the post. The umpires copped out. I would say a good 5,000 plus people from both sets of supporters with the right angle on the shot could clearly see it was over. Some decent Armagh folks said it to us. A BS call.
Another one - a man who has previously served a 6 month ban, has a litany of club and county cards and disciplinary issues, and prides himself on being an enforcer is Armagh CHB, Tiernan Kelly. I believe he may have targeted Rob Finnerty's knee with that foul hit. Play the video, folks. I believe he premeditated hitting him very hard and very seemingly 'awkwardly' to take him out. I believe it was discussed beforehand with Armagh mgmt. I've good reason to believe all this. Rob Finnerty was highlighted for 2 wks in the Armagh camp as the real scoring threat from Galway (more so than our other lauded forwards!), and they had a full history on his injury and recuperation, they knew we hadn't another dedicated free taker and he was deemed a huge scoring threat on the day. They knew his knee was only just coming right and they knew that he was susceptible to repeat injury under a big or 'awkward' challenge. They went after him early in the game. Pathetic on Kelly and Armagh's part to do so - not the way to win one.
I also feel that a defender bear hugging and even hugging face to face a player while off the ball is always a foul but is never called any more by umpires, linesmen or refs. The TV misses this stuff but Damien Comer, as with the Donegal match, was actually held with both defenders hands and in some cases bear hugged repeatedly throughout the game, often face to face in an act of intimidation. It would be flagged and acted on in a juvenile club game but why is it tolerated at the pinnacle of our game? How has it become ok for our games marquee forwards to be fully held off the ball? When did that become fully acceptable and not acted on by our officials? It's a factor in Gaelic football's current slide as a spectator sport vs hurling - where it certainly happens too but to a much lesser extent."
Some fair points there but as regards the tackle on finnerty, while I wouldn't be in the slightest bit surprised if it was thuggery and a deliberate attempt to injure him, it's up to people to call it out and not just on anonymous GAA message boards.

Unfortunately it probably won't happen and we'll "take it on the chin" and not "whinge". Most GAA men still abide by the tragically pathetic adage that remaining silent in the face of an injustice is a sign of toughness.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 30/07/2024 10:57:27    2562907

Replying To togoutlads:  "So in Galway we largely have ourselves to blame for screwing up that golden opportunity but nonetheless, congrats to Armagh and wish them well but I've more than a couple of gripes with the result.
For one thing, Damien Comer's hawk eye 'wide' was indeed a point, it was never a Hawk Eye situation. Hawk eye can't clearly detect balls that get just mm or even a cm or two inside the line of the post - that's known by folks that work for the supplier, so it defaults to a Níl verdict of inline with the post. The umpires copped out. I would say a good 5,000 plus people from both sets of supporters with the right angle on the shot could clearly see it was over. Some decent Armagh folks said it to us. A BS call.
Another one - a man who has previously served a 6 month ban, has a litany of club and county cards and disciplinary issues, and prides himself on being an enforcer is Armagh CHB, Tiernan Kelly. I believe he may have targeted Rob Finnerty's knee with that foul hit. Play the video, folks. I believe he premeditated hitting him very hard and very seemingly 'awkwardly' to take him out. I believe it was discussed beforehand with Armagh mgmt. I've good reason to believe all this. Rob Finnerty was highlighted for 2 wks in the Armagh camp as the real scoring threat from Galway (more so than our other lauded forwards!), and they had a full history on his injury and recuperation, they knew we hadn't another dedicated free taker and he was deemed a huge scoring threat on the day. They knew his knee was only just coming right and they knew that he was susceptible to repeat injury under a big or 'awkward' challenge. They went after him early in the game. Pathetic on Kelly and Armagh's part to do so - not the way to win one.
I also feel that a defender bear hugging and even hugging face to face a player while off the ball is always a foul but is never called any more by umpires, linesmen or refs. The TV misses this stuff but Damien Comer, as with the Donegal match, was actually held with both defenders hands and in some cases bear hugged repeatedly throughout the game, often face to face in an act of intimidation. It would be flagged and acted on in a juvenile club game but why is it tolerated at the pinnacle of our game? How has it become ok for our games marquee forwards to be fully held off the ball? When did that become fully acceptable and not acted on by our officials? It's a factor in Gaelic football's current slide as a spectator sport vs hurling - where it certainly happens too but to a much lesser extent."
A ball going over the post can be seen different when in the stand and not standing beside the post, if anyways over the post then its a wide, why do players have to kick it that high, if Comer kicks it lower then it clips the post and goes over.

Your accusation against T. Kelly is rubbish, wasn't a dirty it, he went to go down for the ball, it wasn't that big of a hit either, Finnerty knee was hanging by a thread if that's all it took for it to go.

Poor Comer couldn't get out of a bear hug no? He is big and strong enough to deal with it, they should have kicked long ball into him and then the fouling would be seen and could be acted upon.

Tribes88 (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 30/07/2024 11:08:39    2562912

Replying To Tribes88:  "A ball going over the post can be seen different when in the stand and not standing beside the post, if anyways over the post then its a wide, why do players have to kick it that high, if Comer kicks it lower then it clips the post and goes over.

Your accusation against T. Kelly is rubbish, wasn't a dirty it, he went to go down for the ball, it wasn't that big of a hit either, Finnerty knee was hanging by a thread if that's all it took for it to go.

Poor Comer couldn't get out of a bear hug no? He is big and strong enough to deal with it, they should have kicked long ball into him and then the fouling would be seen and could be acted upon."
How do you know the accusation is rubbish?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 30/07/2024 11:22:03    2562916

Replying To Tribes88:  "A ball going over the post can be seen different when in the stand and not standing beside the post, if anyways over the post then its a wide, why do players have to kick it that high, if Comer kicks it lower then it clips the post and goes over.

Poor Comer couldn't get out of a bear hug no? He is big and strong enough to deal with it, they should have kicked long ball into him and then the fouling would be seen and could be acted upon."
They stuck too rigidly with the walk it in to the D plan.
An odd variation even of the lorry it into the square variety would have been no harm.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1807 - 30/07/2024 11:25:27    2562920

Replying To S1234:  "Exactly don't know who this clare one is and why I'm always accused of being a fake account."
Clare, when you're explaining you're losing. We await your reply from your Donegal pseudonym, Ha!

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 30/07/2024 11:30:53    2562925

Replying To Galway9801:  "How do you know the accusation is rubbish?"
Armagh could say they have reason to believe Finnerty targeted Kelly due to suspension Sweeney got for punching him in 2022 and could you say that accusations rubbish?

If you are to make allegations you need to have evidence.

Did the Armagh defender deliberately drop the ball so Finnerty could be hit?? This is laughable and embarrassing

I would love to know what reason they have to believe Finnerty was targeted. Rory Grugan also had to go off in similar incident did Galway deliberately target Armagh lefty free taker.

Also Galway had Tierney who is a more then an adequate left footed free taker but didn't take them for whatever reasons.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 11:39:12    2562928

Gleeson should have come and taken man ball and child for the goal. Conroy should have been moved onto the frees.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 30/07/2024 11:54:46    2562937

Replying To togoutlads:  "Pre match not pre march!"
You also need to brush up on how hawkeye operates.

Reguardless if umpires or ref gave a point Hawkeye would have intervened and been a NIL

Dunno if umpires call a la cricket would be fairer when part of ball touches an imaginary line for the posts? Either way its guesswork

Also can you explain how you have reason to believe Armagh had knowledge of Finnertys injury history and recuperation and what their management discussed?

More leaks then a sieve in both camps is there?

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 11:57:27    2562940

The umpires should have called it.It was not that high. They were influenced by Armagh players waving it wide and do you know what fair play to Armagh players that what you try to do.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 30/07/2024 12:14:57    2562947

Replying To jm25:  "Armagh could say they have reason to believe Finnerty targeted Kelly due to suspension Sweeney got for punching him in 2022 and could you say that accusations rubbish?

If you are to make allegations you need to have evidence.

Did the Armagh defender deliberately drop the ball so Finnerty could be hit?? This is laughable and embarrassing

I would love to know what reason they have to believe Finnerty was targeted. Rory Grugan also had to go off in similar incident did Galway deliberately target Armagh lefty free taker.

Also Galway had Tierney who is a more then an adequate left footed free taker but didn't take them for whatever reasons."
The dropping of the ball is irrelevant. You're assuming that he if he was to be targeted it would have had to have been at that precise moment in time tho,, which obviously isn't the case, if it wasn't then a similar tackle may have come later.
I mean, are you honestly suggesting that players don't test their opponents weak points?
In fairness to armagh I'd say it happens alot and alot of teams do it. I defenitely wouldn't dismiss it as rubbish.
I suppose the derry lad stamping on comers ankle was totally accidental too?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 30/07/2024 12:16:05    2562948

Finnerty went down on the ball in a congested area. However, I can't say any defender targeted Finnerty's knee. I think it's the way he himself fell over and aggravated the injury.

As regards testing opponents "weaknesses", this goes on all the time at IC level.
James O'Donoghue of Kerry, was very prone to a particular shoulder injury, and when asked about this facet of the game, he freely admitted that defenders would test the shoulder early on in matches and quip something like "Is that ok, is your shoulder bearing up?". He even wryly commented that if this wasn't going on, he'd be almost disappointed his opponent didn't acknowledge him as a serious scoring threat.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 30/07/2024 12:21:14    2562952

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Gleeson should have come and taken man ball and child for the goal. Conroy should have been moved onto the frees."
In order of preference: Conroy, Tierney, Comer, Gleeson should have taken frees....even if they had taken one each. Like is Shane Walsh isn't fit enough to take the frees then its poor poor management to leave him taking them, really they hung him out to dry. if he was fit enough to take the frees then it was just a shambles and he should have handed responsibility over g=after 3, even 4 misses.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 734 - 30/07/2024 12:38:02    2562960

Replying To Galway9801:  "The dropping of the ball is irrelevant. You're assuming that he if he was to be targeted it would have had to have been at that precise moment in time tho,, which obviously isn't the case, if it wasn't then a similar tackle may have come later.
I mean, are you honestly suggesting that players don't test their opponents weak points?
In fairness to armagh I'd say it happens alot and alot of teams do it. I defenitely wouldn't dismiss it as rubbish.
I suppose the derry lad stamping on comers ankle was totally accidental too?"
Of course it goes on by all teams, but to suggest this was pre planned and they had inside knowledge is without evidence, or what would have happened later in game is pure speculation.

So let's be clear and I think we can all agree there is nothing to suggest Armagh deliberately set out to target or injure Finnerty only assumptions of what could or may have happened.

There was not one dirty tackle in that game Sunday and nothing premeditated or deliberate in that tackle or the one that did damage to grugan

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 13:07:31    2562968

Replying To Galway9801:  "The dropping of the ball is irrelevant. You're assuming that he if he was to be targeted it would have had to have been at that precise moment in time tho,, which obviously isn't the case, if it wasn't then a similar tackle may have come later.
You are comparing apples with pomegranates if you compare it to comer incident which was obviously deliberate.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 13:10:11    2562970

The only one assuming anything is you and the other conspiracy theorist the post is rubbish as you acknowledge yourself no evidence Kelly deliberately injured Finnerty only that he MAY have tried to at another stage in game

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 30/07/2024 13:12:54    2562971

Replying To The_DOC:  "In order of preference: Conroy, Tierney, Comer, Gleeson should have taken frees....even if they had taken one each. Like is Shane Walsh isn't fit enough to take the frees then its poor poor management to leave him taking them, really they hung him out to dry. if he was fit enough to take the frees then it was just a shambles and he should have handed responsibility over g=after 3, even 4 misses."
Will Joyce pack it in d'ye think?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1807 - 30/07/2024 13:13:45    2562975

when its all said and done you have to give massive credit to this management team for where they have brought galway
football and going forward we no we can compete with the best out there now..

however i do feel a new management team is required now..
dont get me wrong i am a hugh fan of joyce as nobody has thicker maroon blood then him i do feel a change
is now needed to help these lads get what they i feel deserve..

enter kevin o brien dave morris joe cannay...
roll on 2025
keep the heads up lads..
our day is coming..
Gaillimh abu

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 263 - 30/07/2024 13:54:17    2562995

Replying To gbay:  "when its all said and done you have to give massive credit to this management team for where they have brought galway
football and going forward we no we can compete with the best out there now..

however i do feel a new management team is required now..
dont get me wrong i am a hugh fan of joyce as nobody has thicker maroon blood then him i do feel a change
is now needed to help these lads get what they i feel deserve..

enter kevin o brien dave morris joe cannay...
roll on 2025
keep the heads up lads..
our day is coming..
Gaillimh abu"
2 All Ireland finals and 3 years (we hadn't be in 1 for 21 years before that) and you want the management gone? No chance.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 30/07/2024 14:15:30    2563001

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Will Joyce pack it in d'ye think?"
Not sure. I hope he stays for another year.
Cian O'Neill is likely to go anyway though from what I hear.
He is going to be extremely difficult to replace.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1274 - 30/07/2024 14:31:31    2563010