Galway Football thread

O'Curraoin going from one of the few bright spots during the league to not even making the bench for championship struck me as a bit odd. Maybe he just wasn't doing it in training but he's capable of kicking points from way out the field and is an excellent free taker. I know his shot selection was sometimes questionable which can happen with a young player but he's certainly not afraid to shoot and has great range. Seemed like a perfect sub to use.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2262 - 31/07/2024 11:57:11    2563225

Cahair O Kane story about the Armagh goalkeeper getting injured in the warm-up -

"ARMAGH broke early from the pre-match parade just as it came around from Hill 16 towards the Hogan Stand, heading into a huddle at the sideline.
Their talking was all done by then. No real need for it. So beyond a few words from Kieran McGeeney, they kind of just stood there, looking as though they were taking it in.
The whole thing was a last-minute construct.
Right at the very end of the warm-up, Blaine Hughes and Joe McElroy ran across each other's path and collided.
Hughes hurt his right knee. His kicking leg.
It happened moments before the players lined up at the red carpet to shake hands with President Higgins. They had to find some way to assess it. So they broke early to get to the sideline and buy the physios 30 seconds to strap Hughes.
It was a bad enough knock that they had Ethan Rafferty primed and ready to go.
The Carrickcruppen man emerged with tape around the knee. He got through it but was limping rightly around the Carrickdale on Monday.
Galway's press didn't test it the way they might have.
Of his nine first-half kickouts, Hughes took four off his left foot and went long only once.
If the injury hadn't been dealt with so subtly that almost nobody in the stadium noticed it, perhaps Galway go after him and it all breaks down.
But they did their work quietly, without fuss. That became one of their hallmarks."

Attacking wise the Galway team were far to one dimensional, they were in all the games but got worse in the final. Even the most defensive of team will pick moments through a game to press the kick out but they didn't do until the end and they got scores from it.

Tribes88 (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 31/07/2024 12:44:20    2563236

Replying To ahsure.:  "Joyce doesn't strike me as the type of character to walk away after that, if anything it might drive him on for next year."
As one of Galway's greatest ever players I find it so difficult then that he manages a team that had no Plan B on Sunday for a massed Armagh defence, constant backwards and lateral passing, players afraid to shoot or try and break the tackle, afraid to take Walsh off frees, afraid to move Comer or take off players clearly not at the races. At the end of the day Padraig also has to take a lot of the blame for Sunday's calamity.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 181 - 31/07/2024 12:52:19    2563238

Replying To Marooned:  "O'Curraoin going from one of the few bright spots during the league to not even making the bench for championship struck me as a bit odd. Maybe he just wasn't doing it in training but he's capable of kicking points from way out the field and is an excellent free taker. I know his shot selection was sometimes questionable which can happen with a young player but he's certainly not afraid to shoot and has great range. Seemed like a perfect sub to use."
Regardless of anything he's had a lot of good exposure to senior intercounty this year and I'll definitely stand to him going forward. O'Conghaile too.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 31/07/2024 12:59:18    2563240

Replying To gilly1910:  "As one of Galway's greatest ever players I find it so difficult then that he manages a team that had no Plan B on Sunday for a massed Armagh defence, constant backwards and lateral passing, players afraid to shoot or try and break the tackle, afraid to take Walsh off frees, afraid to move Comer or take off players clearly not at the races. At the end of the day Padraig also has to take a lot of the blame for Sunday's calamity."
Fully agree he should take his portion of the blame but 1 or 2 small things go differently last Sunday we would be Champions, that's the fine margins and that's sport. I guess its true what they say, you're only ever six inches between a slap in the back and a kick in the ****!!

The cold hard facts are we had I think a 27% shot to score average in the last quarter, we got into good scoring positions from play but failed to convert them, along with some scorable frees. That's what killed us and its going to hurt for a long long time.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 31/07/2024 13:55:56    2563251

Replying To gilly1910:  "As one of Galway's greatest ever players I find it so difficult then that he manages a team that had no Plan B on Sunday for a massed Armagh defence, constant backwards and lateral passing, players afraid to shoot or try and break the tackle, afraid to take Walsh off frees, afraid to move Comer or take off players clearly not at the races. At the end of the day Padraig also has to take a lot of the blame for Sunday's calamity."
Galway are just as defensive as Armagh at times. It's the way the game has gone. Genuine question, did the pressure get to ye? Galway seemed certain of a win. Ollie Turner said before the game he couldn't see any scenario where by Galway we're going to lose and then said "Armagh have lost the plot" when they left the parade early….

I myself felt Galway were going to win but the closer it got the more it felt like pre our final v Tyrone. We just thought it was going to happen. That said if Galway had their shooting boots on they probably would have won. Armagh thought to their credit took their chance.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 31/07/2024 14:53:34    2563260

Replying To yew_tree:  "Galway are just as defensive as Armagh at times. It's the way the game has gone. Genuine question, did the pressure get to ye? Galway seemed certain of a win. Ollie Turner said before the game he couldn't see any scenario where by Galway we're going to lose and then said "Armagh have lost the plot" when they left the parade early….

I myself felt Galway were going to win but the closer it got the more it felt like pre our final v Tyrone. We just thought it was going to happen. That said if Galway had their shooting boots on they probably would have won. Armagh thought to their credit took their chance."
I wouldn't take much stock in what ollie jonathan Higgins etc say.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 31/07/2024 15:52:33    2563266

Replying To yew_tree:  "Galway are just as defensive as Armagh at times. It's the way the game has gone. Genuine question, did the pressure get to ye? Galway seemed certain of a win. Ollie Turner said before the game he couldn't see any scenario where by Galway we're going to lose and then said "Armagh have lost the plot" when they left the parade early….

I myself felt Galway were going to win but the closer it got the more it felt like pre our final v Tyrone. We just thought it was going to happen. That said if Galway had their shooting boots on they probably would have won. Armagh thought to their credit took their chance."
I didn't hear any of the GBFM commentary, but that's ridiculous stuff if that's what Turner said.
He is prone to hyperbole to be fair - both positive and negative. He goes from one extreme to the other at the drop of a hat.
It's surprising as someone who actually played underage football for the county.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1274 - 31/07/2024 16:04:06    2563267

In 22 when needed scores we bought on an inside forward who had not seen any chamo miutes in E Finnerty against Kerry and fast forward 2 years everyone was saying how improved our bench was (I also said this) but what it did highlight is our lack of a scoring forward. Our corner froward R Finnerty gets injured at we bring on Heaney a half back/half froward. Points to a lack of trust from PJ & co to the other forwards on bench Culhane O Conghaile O Curraoin (not even in 26). Also questions have to be asked brining on molloy with what 2mons to go. We seem to be stacked in terms of back wing backs esepcuially but no socring forward as evidence on Sunday. And I know Finnerty going off was a huge blow but in 2-3 years we have failed to void the gap. Huge chance wasted. PJ will have so many regret as will players. Also is O Neill as good as everyone makes out? If so surely he would be managing a team himself I know he did Kildare. Thats not a dig just see all the comments about him being a huge loss etc I do think freesh voice ideas is needed. Need to unearth SCORING forwards at end of the day you dont score ya dont win as we found out on sunday. Walsh had a poor day but he was still the only man we looked to in forward line which speaks volumes

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 276 - 31/07/2024 16:11:43    2563268

If Finnerty stayed on Galway would have won the game and add in Walsh and Comer were not fully fit and there lies the difference.

Galway did a lot right contrary to some of the punditry surrounding the game, if you told Joyce before the game Armagh would score 1-11 and that Conroy D'Arcy would score 0-3, McDaid 0-2 and Maher 0-1 then he'd taken that all day long.

The Finnerty loss caused Galway so many problems, Tierney is not a corner forward and the balance that he often provides in the right half forward role was missed too. Not enough forwards on that pitch once Finnerty went off.

Culhane wasn't trusted to last an hour which I understand but suspect Joyce regrets not going with O'Conghaile.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 285 - 31/07/2024 16:21:58    2563270

Replying To TheBishop:  "If Finnerty stayed on Galway would have won the game and add in Walsh and Comer were not fully fit and there lies the difference.

Galway did a lot right contrary to some of the punditry surrounding the game, if you told Joyce before the game Armagh would score 1-11 and that Conroy D'Arcy would score 0-3, McDaid 0-2 and Maher 0-1 then he'd taken that all day long.

The Finnerty loss caused Galway so many problems, Tierney is not a corner forward and the balance that he often provides in the right half forward role was missed too. Not enough forwards on that pitch once Finnerty went off.

Culhane wasn't trusted to last an hour which I understand but suspect Joyce regrets not going with O'Conghaile."
The narrative is written by the winners. I'm not sure Heaney coming in for a forward was the best decision at the time but Joyce was obviously going for experience. Those the fine lines and margins as they say.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 31/07/2024 17:16:33    2563281

I think we missed a big opportunity in not using our kicking game on sunday, against dublin and donegal we used it effectively and got some great scores off it. Cant understand why john daly wasnt introduced to try get some fast ball into the forwards. Another lad I thought should have been introduced was cathal sweeney, I thought we lacked pace going into the last quarter when we won turnovers, im convinced sweeney would have created something .

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 31/07/2024 17:21:37    2563282

Replying To TheBishop:  "If Finnerty stayed on Galway would have won the game and add in Walsh and Comer were not fully fit and there lies the difference.

Culhane wasn't trusted to last an hour which I understand but suspect Joyce regrets not going with O'Conghaile."
Tierney for a lad who I expect will be our next captain is too inconsistent and is lingering out right wing best use of him he doesn't drift around like McDaid does on other side.

His last score was the mark at start of Dublin game 3 full games nearly without scoring and can only think of one skied shot against Dublin he had after that. he needs to get himself into games more and not let them pass him by.

He has a great knack of winning the throw ins which gives us 2 extra possessions but outside of that needs to offer more.

He was brilliant when he came on v mayo and against Derry & Westmeath after that his influence wained

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 31/07/2024 17:40:42    2563284

I would be of the opinion that the pressure did get to them in spots. They weren't expected to beat Mayo. They were flat out dismissed going into the Dublin game. There was a 'healthy apprehension' in Galway about what Jimmy might bring to the semi.

That underdog mentality was dropped for the final though imo. Marginal bookie favourite at A FINAL!! The comments attributed to Turner. The slightly entitled air of Mike Meehan's predictions on up for the match. Two public opinions, but I think somewhat reflective of the general mood in Galway, and indeed your own feel on it, as you say.

That expectation probably didn't help the mindset of a squad that is still relatively new to the bigtime dogfight. It didn't bring complacency I'm sure, but it brought the burden of fulfilling big expectations. Significant too that Galway only reached the final off the back of a string of 1 point scrapes, albeit impressive enough in many ways too, until the 1point scrape goes the other way on you.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3827 - 31/07/2024 18:54:34    2563295

Cian O'Neill gone. I think we need to take a punt on someone like Andy Moran, someone that would give us an extra edge in the forwards. John Divilly has the defenders fairly well set. Eamon Fitz could be another possibility.

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 352 - 31/07/2024 20:53:06    2563304

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I would be of the opinion that the pressure did get to them in spots. They weren't expected to beat Mayo. They were flat out dismissed going into the Dublin game. There was a 'healthy apprehension' in Galway about what Jimmy might bring to the semi.

That underdog mentality was dropped for the final though imo. Marginal bookie favourite at A FINAL!! The comments attributed to Turner. The slightly entitled air of Mike Meehan's predictions on up for the match. Two public opinions, but I think somewhat reflective of the general mood in Galway, and indeed your own feel on it, as you say.

That expectation probably didn't help the mindset of a squad that is still relatively new to the bigtime dogfight. It didn't bring complacency I'm sure, but it brought the burden of fulfilling big expectations. Significant too that Galway only reached the final off the back of a string of 1 point scrapes, albeit impressive enough in many ways too, until the 1point scrape goes the other way on you."
The 1 point scrape is a fair point, especially when you extend it a bit and think of the narrow wins vs Monaghan, Westmeath and Sligo. Outside of London we never really put teams to the sword, our gameplan and risk averse style always meant opposition were within a goal or 4 points coming down the stretch and had a chance to get at us. Would love to see us throw off the shackles and be more direct next year when we have the beating of teams and clearly have the upper hand.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 31/07/2024 21:58:58    2563314

Galway were very average in most of there championship matches this year I was at all but one London one there best performance was definitely the Armagh match in Sligo , in 5 years Galway management have failed to find inside forwards it's almost always being the same 3 lads and having a bench loaded with defenders makes no sense obviously they had no faith in Tommo or o conaghaile when Finnerty went off brining on a wing forward made zero sense bringing on o flaherty at wing forward made less sense and then bringing him on in wring wing even though he got on ball he was on his wrong side I think with 15 mins left bring him on for Mulkerrins and he be attacking down that side snd I think he definitely have got a score cutting in on his right foot , all year management made in my opinion crazy positional decisions, it started in league v mayo Niall Daly full forward off after 19 mins Connacht final Molloy and Sweeney wing forwards both taken off Kelly wing forward 2 matches take. Off Hernon wing forward v Westmeath taken off Mcdaid full forward taken off why they do these daft things is a mystery and no inside forwards on squad thar they trusted is a failure after 5 years and not sure Joyce will change his ways now

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 925 - 31/07/2024 22:20:33    2563318

Replying To Kickitout:  "Galway were very average in most of there championship matches this year I was at all but one London one there best performance was definitely the Armagh match in Sligo , in 5 years Galway management have failed to find inside forwards it's almost always being the same 3 lads and having a bench loaded with defenders makes no sense obviously they had no faith in Tommo or o conaghaile when Finnerty went off brining on a wing forward made zero sense bringing on o flaherty at wing forward made less sense and then bringing him on in wring wing even though he got on ball he was on his wrong side I think with 15 mins left bring him on for Mulkerrins and he be attacking down that side snd I think he definitely have got a score cutting in on his right foot , all year management made in my opinion crazy positional decisions, it started in league v mayo Niall Daly full forward off after 19 mins Connacht final Molloy and Sweeney wing forwards both taken off Kelly wing forward 2 matches take. Off Hernon wing forward v Westmeath taken off Mcdaid full forward taken off why they do these daft things is a mystery and no inside forwards on squad thar they trusted is a failure after 5 years and not sure Joyce will change his ways now"
pot kettle black with some of your projected 15 line ups this year

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 01/08/2024 09:43:50    2563347

'Armagh have lost the plot'......risible........could hardly have come up with a more ironic observation than that. The 'plot' was only crystalising, and not in a good way.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3827 - 01/08/2024 10:53:04    2563366

If - as is widely believed - Cian O'Neill is departing the setup, we really really need to get his replacement right.
They are big boots to fill.
Then again, the talk was he was gone after last year as well so who knows.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1274 - 01/08/2024 10:58:11    2563370