Galway Football thread

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Kerry clear favourites. Dublin washed up, weighed down with medals. Tonight was the official end of the great Dublin side. In complete contrast, Kerry's trajectory is on the up still, so will be a much tougher nut to crack than Dublin. Great Galway win tonight, but frankly I was surprised at how 'finished' Dublin looked after HT."
Kerry definitely favourites from here but they are no guarantee to get rid of Derry too easily today and one thing is for certain - if we are creating that many scoring opportunities against Dublin then I think we would easily put up a score against Kerry. Louth blew three or four goal chances against them the last day. That defence is not solid at all. Donegal and Armagh both have better defences in my view.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 733 - 30/06/2024 08:15:16    2555848

Fair play to ye lads, unbelievable result. Croker was absolutely bouncing after it. Will be rooting for ye from here on out

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 30/06/2024 08:18:22    2555849

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "I've been saying it here all week long, again and again and again.. that they would win against Dublin.

So much rubbish on this forum. Constant negativity rather than any discussion.

I'm calling a Derry and Donegal win tomorrow."
Calling out rubbish, and calling a Derry win. Let's see how that one ages.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3644 - 30/06/2024 08:28:31    2555850

Replying To ctowers:  "In fairness to Joyce he was keeping back for the second half . Maybe he knows a bit more about setting a team than you"
That clown has been negative about Galway for a long time. There are a few of them here...armchair warriors who never cross the road to see a match and support their team. Great support in Croker...a feral growl went up around the 60th when we all realised it was on...we were in with a real shout. Loved the way Shane (again) but also Mulkerrin, McDaid, McHugh and then Culhane and D'Arcy stepped up to the plate and delivered. A lot of bad wides to mull over...we can still improve. Imagine Culhane and Darcy's confidence now after banging those points over. Well done to all who travelled up and backed these lads!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 30/06/2024 08:51:11    2555855

Watched highlights agsin this morning,,Darcy made great impact also got a point and set up 2, Pontus also they all worked really hard great victory ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 895 - 30/06/2024 08:55:58    2555856

Replying To jfd:  "Galway has the X fator. Great win. Some woeful comments above during the game."
This is it jfd. What 'fan' except a keyboard troll, watches the biggest game of the year with his phone out typing nasty stuff as the lads are out there trying their hardest to win?!!!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 30/06/2024 08:56:11    2555857

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Galway looking the real deal. Aside from Kerry I think they are the only unbeaten team so far? And they have played better teams than Kerry. Walsh is just a genius. McDaid at 2022 form there today, Mulkerrin is a fine defender. Galway look to have the right balance between defence and attack. Doing everything right in this championship so far and the belief they'll get after today might push them towards Sam. One thing talking about beating Dublin, another thing doing it and Galway will be fearful of absolutely nobody now."
Achtung! Donegal man blowing smoke!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 30/06/2024 08:59:31    2555858

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Kerry clear favourites. Dublin washed up, weighed down with medals. Tonight was the official end of the great Dublin side. In complete contrast, Kerry's trajectory is on the up still, so will be a much tougher nut to crack than Dublin. Great Galway win tonight, but frankly I was surprised at how 'finished' Dublin looked after HT."
Ah give the lads some credit...the Dubs I met were at the same craic...no good words for the maroon men who had 3 games in 14 days in the legs!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 30/06/2024 09:02:53    2555859

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Meow.....we're odds on to get Donegal"
50/50 surely? It's either the winners of the Donegal game or the Kerry game.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1923 - 30/06/2024 09:43:12    2555864

It was lovely to see the lads in second half just letting go and playing football.Its like they were told ye have nothing to lose just throw all ye have at them and have no regrets.Still alot of work to be done but that win will do their confidence so m7ch good.They will respect but not be afraid of anyone.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 247 - 30/06/2024 09:47:08    2555866

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "50/50 surely? It's either the winners of the Donegal game or the Kerry game."
If Derry win they will have played Armagh and Galway.Will it then be open draw or is it just straight open draw anyway no matter who wins?If Kerry win we could get either Kerry or winners of Donegal and Louth since we have played Armagh.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 247 - 30/06/2024 09:52:47    2555868

Replying To Salthillsham:  "Ah give the lads some credit...the Dubs I met were at the same craic...no good words for the maroon men who had 3 games in 14 days in the legs!"
'Great Galway win tonight' = no good words for the maroon men. Comprehension isn't your strong suit maybe.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3644 - 30/06/2024 09:55:04    2555871

Congratulations to the Galways team/fans

Deserved winners

Excellent 2nd half-day display

Simple as that, well done.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20628 - 30/06/2024 09:57:22    2555872

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "50/50 surely? It's either the winners of the Donegal game or the Kerry game."
Kerry and Donegal are odds on to progress. If both progress, we draw Donegal, as Armagh have played Galway and Donegal already.

Dublin were odds on yesterday of course.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3644 - 30/06/2024 09:57:54    2555873

It was one of the best last 20 mins of football I've ever enjoyed in Croker. All around me people hugging and the usually quiet Galway crowd were in full vocal mode. But did you see the pocket of Rossies on the hill going beserk as Galway staged their comeback? Impressed by the amount of our fellow westerners that supported us.

Megane (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 30/06/2024 10:05:26    2555876

Nope Armagh can't play Armagh or Donegal

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1193 - 30/06/2024 10:15:52    2555879

Great result our fitness levels are unreal.

Credit Joyce and management a lot seem to think they haven't much nous for modern game but to bring in two lads like Maher and Darcy who most me included weren't IC standard has been inspired

Finally the support this team has got bar a few has been pathetic 6k in Salthill last week in a knockout.

When the team arrived onto pitch yesterday there was barely a murmur there was more Armagh around me at final whistle.

We need to get behind this team and travel in droves to croke park in two weeks

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1193 - 30/06/2024 10:22:36    2555882

Needs to be said.
Dubs around me in Croker at the final whistle shaking all the Galway people's hands and wishing them well. Absolute class. They've had the best 15 years any county has ever had and reacted the right way, players and supporters.
Then the Irish Rail worker at Drumcondra Station announcing "All Galway Supporters to the back of the queue" and everyone roared laughing. Brilliant

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 390 - 30/06/2024 10:22:42    2555883

If Donegal and Kerry win today then is it not Galway v Donegal and Armagh v Kerry?

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1130 - 30/06/2024 10:28:56    2555885

Replying To Really:  "Love Dublin football. But in reality, mother time caught up. I hope Dublin come back next year with a few newbies and challenge for honours again."
i hope they dont they have played great football but the game really needs new counties to step up and win sam and not have kerry and dublin dominating football better if dublin would disappear for a few years and maybe have new leinister champions and generate a bith of interest in the game

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 463 - 30/06/2024 10:50:35    2555892