Galway Football thread

We needed a performance to bring this team to the next level, and that was it last night. Let's get behind these lads and drive them into the All Ireland Final.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1598 - 30/06/2024 20:41:35    2556054

Well done yesterday to all involved. Stayed on to watch it after our own poor show! Delighted for ye, plenty of Rossies cheering ye on and by the end everyone bar the Dubs were behind ye! Go on and win it out now

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 200 - 30/06/2024 20:46:35    2556057

Best of luck to Galway in the rest of the championship, very open, ye are well capable of bagging Sam.

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 544 - 30/06/2024 21:04:30    2556065

What a performance, best football match of the weekend. Congratulations Galway.

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 73 - 30/06/2024 22:35:56    2556089

Replying To Kew:  "They have won nothing yet"
They went and left their heart and soul out on that pitch yesterday.Whether they win AI or not they have done themselves proud.They know they have a hell of alot more work to do.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 247 - 30/06/2024 22:54:11    2556096

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "They went and left their heart and soul out on that pitch yesterday.Whether they win AI or not they have done themselves proud.They know they have a hell of alot more work to do."
Agreed. Apart from the factual inaccuracy of the poster you are responding to, his was a churlish statement. Connacht champions and all-Ireland semi-finalists as amateur sportsmen is nothing to dismiss.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3128 - 01/07/2024 02:47:26    2556116

Replying To Kew:  "They have won nothing yet"
Your knowledge of football is fairly poor. Unbeaten this year in championship and a Connacht title in the bad. These days must be boring for you and your fellow negative posters. No doubt you will spend your time sharpening your knives and you will be ready at the first opportunity to start throwing them. I'm genuinely surprised at the amount of negativity on the Galway forum. You have a great team and your 3 star players Comer,Kelly and Walsh are patched up in order that they can play. None of them are near 100% fit. But look at all the other heroes who was stepped up to the plate to compensate. Mulkerrin, Glynn, Maher etc. etc. Best of luck in the semi final

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1759 - 01/07/2024 08:08:02    2556122

any word what day Galway will play? Found that sat evening slot tricky with young kids. Also are tickets on sale today?

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 272 - 01/07/2024 08:40:30    2556127

John Maher in the running for POTY?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1093 - 01/07/2024 08:58:30    2556132

Great win did not see it coming & hats off to PJ and the team. When you consider Comer didn score and Kelly went off after about 20 & Walsh who was going well went off with 25mins it was some going. Everyone did their bit and McDaid got MOM deservedly but I must praise Mulkerrins who was excellent and made me eat my words when I said I worried about him starting over Daly fully justified it. Now get the injuries right especially Walsh who was back to his best. I dont know what to do with Kelly he is not himself & I said it during Monaghan game so I dont think we should start him Darcy did well like in another game using a sub after 20 could cost us.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 263 - 01/07/2024 09:15:22    2556138

I presume that the semi final will be played at a time that will allow us to get home at a decent time rather than in the early hours of the following morning a after a 4 hr plus non stop drive.
Here's hoping that we can line out with a much better bill of health than so far this year, we have been playing an obviously hampered Kelly Comer & Walsh and what ever has afflicted Daly this year , we really need all or at least most of our four best players in rude good health to give us a decent chance to reach the pinnacle, the group deserve great admiration for having gone so far under such a handicap not to mention not having the services M Daly and P Cooke who almost all would agree would be a major boost to the overall strength of the team.
Wishing all the best to the team and all Galway football folks.It would be nice to have the cup for the races, what do ye think?

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 01/07/2024 10:22:39    2556148

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "'Great Galway win tonight' = no good words for the maroon men. Comprehension isn't your strong suit maybe."
pope why are you so negative? is everything ok

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 197 - 01/07/2024 10:57:24    2556160

Replying To Eire89:  "Great win did not see it coming & hats off to PJ and the team. When you consider Comer didn score and Kelly went off after about 20 & Walsh who was going well went off with 25mins it was some going. Everyone did their bit and McDaid got MOM deservedly but I must praise Mulkerrins who was excellent and made me eat my words when I said I worried about him starting over Daly fully justified it. Now get the injuries right especially Walsh who was back to his best. I dont know what to do with Kelly he is not himself & I said it during Monaghan game so I dont think we should start him Darcy did well like in another game using a sub after 20 could cost us."
It harsh but Kelly in his condition this year is not a major blow compared to last year.

I'd go for hernon to replace him if he's not ready, in terms of athleticism and drive he is most like for like.

We still have molloy daly oflaherty Heaney Darcy to come off bench around middle third.

Heaney is a great head to come on around 50 minutes

Darcy has made good impacts off bench but not as good when starting and Donegal wing backs could cause him trouble

What is sweeney story was that tactical not been in 26 or is he injured

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1193 - 01/07/2024 11:04:25    2556163

Replying To jm25:  "It harsh but Kelly in his condition this year is not a major blow compared to last year.

I'd go for hernon to replace him if he's not ready, in terms of athleticism and drive he is most like for like.

We still have molloy daly oflaherty Heaney Darcy to come off bench around middle third.

Heaney is a great head to come on around 50 minutes

Darcy has made good impacts off bench but not as good when starting and Donegal wing backs could cause him trouble

What is sweeney story was that tactical not been in 26 or is he injured"
Looked like hamstring yet again for Kelly. I don't think we'll see him in the semi final if that's the case.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1258 - 01/07/2024 11:31:11    2556173

Replying To backtooldwall:  "I presume that the semi final will be played at a time that will allow us to get home at a decent time rather than in the early hours of the following morning a after a 4 hr plus non stop drive.
Here's hoping that we can line out with a much better bill of health than so far this year, we have been playing an obviously hampered Kelly Comer & Walsh and what ever has afflicted Daly this year , we really need all or at least most of our four best players in rude good health to give us a decent chance to reach the pinnacle, the group deserve great admiration for having gone so far under such a handicap not to mention not having the services M Daly and P Cooke who almost all would agree would be a major boost to the overall strength of the team.
Wishing all the best to the team and all Galway football folks.It would be nice to have the cup for the races, what do ye think?"
did the drive back west with makeshift bed for the younglad. GAA putting sat evening fixtures on like they are the PL without a consideration for younger kids

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 272 - 01/07/2024 11:35:30    2556175

Replying To backtooldwall:  "I presume that the semi final will be played at a time that will allow us to get home at a decent time rather than in the early hours of the following morning a after a 4 hr plus non stop drive.
Wishing all the best to the team and all Galway football folks.It would be nice to have the cup for the races, what do ye think?"
This winging about throw in times the last few weeks from fans is becoming tedious,

3pm this Saturday for hurling is a bad time

1.15 for Donegal yesterday was too early

6pm on a Saturday is too late.

When should the game be played ?? There'd be uproar if double header was 2 & 4 on Saturday

Unless you are heading to cleggan I'd also suggest checking the route you are taking if it's over 4 hrs

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1193 - 01/07/2024 11:37:14    2556176

Replying To galwayman2:  "Looked like hamstring yet again for Kelly. I don't think we'll see him in the semi final if that's the case."
Mightnt be too bad since he walked off the pitch, shanes hammer looked worse in the sense he was fairly limping

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 01/07/2024 12:09:21    2556194

The fact Galway beat the reigning champions after three weeks on the trot and your panel getting so many bad injuries just makes the win all the more impressive.

Derry, Louth and Roscommon all badly tired in final quarter. Totally unfair to have to play three weeks in a row and not fair on fans either.

If Galway do beat Donegal in semi final, I hope you go on and win it. Playing the game the way its meant to be played.

If theres one man I'm afraid of most in semi final, I think it will be Mathew Tierney. He has a point to prove and he destroyed us in Letterkenny last year.

Match upwise, I'd expect Galway will look to shut down our runners and we so could badly do with an outball into the full forward line. Maybe we can convince Michael Murphy out of retirement for the gam ;) McBrearty is not playing well all season and Gallen cannot carry is on his own.

Galway should be 2-3 point favourites. Thats not a Kerryism btw. I still think we can find a way to beat ye.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 01/07/2024 12:14:36    2556197

Replying To emmomac:  "did the drive back west with makeshift bed for the younglad. GAA putting sat evening fixtures on like they are the PL without a consideration for younger kids"
The Dubs have to be facilitated. Galway winning ensures Dublin fans have a free summer.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1804 - 01/07/2024 12:23:37    2556201

Replying To jm25:  "This winging about throw in times the last few weeks from fans is becoming tedious,

3pm this Saturday for hurling is a bad time

1.15 for Donegal yesterday was too early

6pm on a Saturday is too late.

When should the game be played ?? There'd be uproar if double header was 2 & 4 on Saturday

Unless you are heading to cleggan I'd also suggest checking the route you are taking if it's over 4 hrs"
its a forum for discussing GAA. throw in times have a major impact on fans

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 272 - 01/07/2024 12:27:41    2556204