I well realise I'm not comparing like with like but out of interest I am comparing nonetheless! It's an imperfect comparison but it's certainly easier to puck a sliotar over a bar from serious range than kick a ball that's 5 times as heavy and twenty times the volume! Poking a bit of fun at some zealous members of our hurling fraternity that walk away during double headers when the football is on cos they very vocally tell us it's hard to watch after hurling and not enough scoring - well, it ain't hard to watch now when our footballers are scoring as much as the hurlers. Granted, Div 1 opposition will be a serious step up but I think we need to keep the confidence up and the scores might just keep flowing.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1091 - 22/03/2022 17:53:16 2406568 Link 0 |
Yes, our bench is much stronger and more tested now. Plenty of lads blooded in the FBD and league. A few serious players developing there. Mayo transition young lads seriously quickly now and we're starting to make this happen too. Midfield vs Mayo is still a big concern for me. I think we can match up in a lot of sectors but that Mayo midfield will be powerhouse for championship and are streets ahead of any midfield encountered in Div 2. Mayo midfield did have a couple of off days and Tyrone's pair in particular cleaned them in the league meeting - worth PJ, O'Neill, Scan and Divo getting the popcorn out and watching some video of exactly how they did that.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1091 - 22/03/2022 18:02:03 2406570 Link 0 |
True. And the theatrics of Cillian O'Connor, if he's back, are at another level again - Hollywood stuff! To be fair to him, he's some player and I often thought if he spent less time at play acting and gamesmanship, he'd have been a lot better off. I think refs have wised up to O'Hora and O'Shea's antics a bit more. Anyway, it's balls over the bar and stuck in the onion bag that'll decide it. Hope we bring it in spades to them in a few short weeks.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1091 - 22/03/2022 18:08:14 2406571 Link 0 |
One would think from reading all the comments that Shane McGuigan is the best footballer in the country and that but for his absence, Derry would have given Galway a much harder game or even beaten us. How ludicrous! If Shane Walsh had been playing for Galway we could well have doubled our goals tally to 8. If Galway continue to play with this level of intensity, passion and panache, we will sweep Mayo aside without undue difficulty. FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 22/03/2022 20:08:16 2406589 Link 0 |
There were far worse refereeing decisions in that game that went against Roscommon. The Sunday game may have planted a picture of Derry been hard done by by the ref basically got them a draw. Anyway thankfully ye put them back in their box last weekend a few of their players behaviour on the pitch was pathetic. Hopefully we can get a result against ye to bring us up to but not over confident tbh. Hope Joyce rests a few and maybe we might spring a surprise sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1219 - 22/03/2022 20:19:49 2406592 Link 2 |
think we have progressed really well since the start of the year.. gbay (Galway) - Posts: 276 - 22/03/2022 21:53:56 2406599 Link 1 |
Roscommon are probably the best team in the division. County boards in Connacht will be delighted with travel expenses for division 1 as kevin Mc Stay pointed out in the RTE podcast. Ros will be promoted on merit.
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1759 - 23/03/2022 09:40:13 2406605 Link 0 |
Don't be surprised if Galway beat Roscommon and Meath beat Derry
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 546 - 23/03/2022 09:54:46 2406611 Link 0 |
Galway will field an experimental team whereas Ros will field a full team so it's hard to see a Galway win.
galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1324 - 23/03/2022 11:13:59 2406637 Link 0 |
We don't need to play almost a whole new team tbh can give a lot of the lads a rest but some I would still play. Molloy is getting better every game, he needs to play. Heaney is back from injury needs to crack on now get involved in the game. Would like to see Fitzgerald get a full game alright. Niall Daly, Eoin Finnerty didn't impress me too much the last couple of games we should try full 70 minutes. Cathal Sweeney needs game time, think Rob Finnerty needs more game time too. Not sure if we'll see too many changes apart from that. I'd expect/hope to see Sean Kelly, Paul Conroy, Damo, Matthew Tierney all rested and Shane to start/come on. Potential team: Flaherty McGrath Fitzgerald Silke/McDaid Molloy Daly McHugh Paul Kelly Niall Daly Cathal Sweeney Gallagher Heaney Rob Finnerty Eoin Finnerty Dylan Canney systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 23/03/2022 11:47:28 2406647 Link 0 |
Can't see Meath beating Derry, Meath have nothing to play for and seem like a team in shambles overall.
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 23/03/2022 11:48:59 2406648 Link 2 |
I know what you are trying to say but to put that team out is very disrespectful to the division and competition. We are obliged to go and try and beat Roscommon and if we were playing Derry we would be obliged to win that game also. If we were in the same position as Roscommon or Derry we wouldn't expect any favours and would be disappointed if others played weakened teams. Play the fit players, rest the ones with knocks. Win the game, win the league final and be prepared for the 24th of April. Nothing beats winning.
GDL (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 23/03/2022 19:14:20 2406758 Link 0 |
i can understand where your coming from but this game is important for the players who dont much game time and see how they do against a full strength ros team. we no what the first teamers can do and surely joyce and co needs to find out a little bit more about players who make the 26 but dont play much and the extended panel.. this is an ideal opportunity as he will pick close to his championship team for the league final 7 days later.,which he will deffo want to win., but at the same time he may not show his full hand with mayo coming up soon.. i think flaherty.,robert finnerty.,o laoi.,gallagher.,glynn.,niall daly.,mccrath.,gill.,possibly heaney and i hope patrick kelly plays some part if he is back from injury and gets a run at midfield.. gbay (Galway) - Posts: 276 - 23/03/2022 19:40:25 2406760 Link 0 |
Belclare you'd want to have a look a lot closer to home. Lundy is no angel himself.
BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 23/03/2022 19:46:56 2406762 Link 1 |
Who cares if it's disrespectful to the division or Roscommon. We are obliged to absolutely no ome but our players.Its giving players putting in massive shifts for us and sacrifice a lot a chance at putting on a starting jersey. Let's keep our own camp happy it has nothing to do with doing other teams a favour. Developing our panel
galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 24/03/2022 13:24:44 2406844 Link 0 |
It's important, but it's also important to keep current form and momentum. No sense in throwing a game away or resting players who are just getting better each game or just back from injury. We have no need to play a whole new team, it doesn't make much sense. We know probably 12 of our starters against Mayo, it's a matter of choosing the final 3 and 5/6 subs. Test those players in our core team, and will see how they handle it. I'll be happy if we rest the players carrying knocks, play the on form players, and give a few of the promising subs game time. systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 24/03/2022 14:26:09 2406855 Link 0 |
It's not about doing favours for anyone else, it's about looking after ourselves and doing what's best for our own players. We've had games 4 weeks in a row, unlike Roscommon who had a week off in that time. If there are lads who could do with a rest, then it's a good opportunity to give others a shot. It will be beneficial for the panel. We've won all of our games and as a result are in the position that we don't absolutely need to win. However, whoever takes the field for Galway will definitely be doing everything they can to win. I don't expect a vastly changed team, but I'd be surprised if some key players who've played a lot football since the start of the year aren't given a rest. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2424 - 24/03/2022 15:17:57 2406868 Link 0 |
I would think that there be 4-5 changes for match on Sunday it's important that Galway try to keep the winning run going we as a county are long enough loosing matches winning is a habit and loosing is a worse one , if Galway makes lots changes on sun they could get well beaten and no guarantees that they turn it around and win the final the following week , Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1098 - 24/03/2022 15:30:40 2406871 Link 0 |
The biggest mistake is to make wholesale changes rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 24/03/2022 16:16:16 2406890 Link 0 |
Lads, not sure that your looking at it the right way. The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 811 - 24/03/2022 16:17:06 2406891 Link 0 |