Super performance from our boys today. 2 more points and were back in division 1. Glory days are on the way. Remarkable impact by O Neill. Should be made an honoury Galway man. Fairplay to Joycey for giving O Neil such latitude.
Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 13/03/2022 15:40:02
With the Rossies and Derry draw were in for a grand stand finish. Don't blink !!
Why was Shane taken off? Thought he was motoring well.
handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 438 - 13/03/2022 15:44:36
Replying To handpassking: "With the Rossies and Derry draw were in for a grand stand finish. Don't blink !!
Why was Shane taken off? Thought he was motoring well." He was limping heavily so they whipped him. He wasn't really in the game apart from the pass for Finnertys goal
galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1323 - 13/03/2022 15:53:36
Replying To handpassking: "With the Rossies and Derry draw were in for a grand stand finish. Don't blink !!
Why was Shane taken off? Thought he was motoring well." Injured.
SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 625 - 13/03/2022 16:05:22
If we lose Shane to injury our goose is well and truly cooked for league and championship. Were a bang on average division 2 without him on his game.
northbouind (Galway) - Posts: 306 - 13/03/2022 16:21:19
Replying To Stripsandbanners: "Super performance from our boys today. 2 more points and were back in division 1. Glory days are on the way. Remarkable impact by O Neill. Should be made an honoury Galway man. Fairplay to Joycey for giving O Neil such latitude." One of the worst displays in years.. No kickout strategy, no Midfield, holes right through our defence, no one laying a hand on runners, no one supporting our man in possesion, a very limited bench.. we are in disarray. Molloy J Daly with ball in hand or only bright spots.
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 13/03/2022 16:26:45
Replying To Belclare: "One of the worst displays in years.. No kickout strategy, no Midfield, holes right through our defence, no one laying a hand on runners, no one supporting our man in possesion, a very limited bench.. we are in disarray. Molloy J Daly with ball in hand or only bright spots." I can tell you straight the Offaly performance was worse than today in terms of being lethargic etc. Performance today better. Kickouts last week all short. At least Conor Flaherty varied it today. Defence was solid and turned over an amount of ball. Ref quite picky. We do lack forward depth and would be worried where we will get scores if Shane or Damo are not firing. For all the negativity on these types of fora we are top of the division and cannot really ask for much more than that.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 13/03/2022 16:39:49
Replying To Belclare: "One of the worst displays in years.. No kickout strategy, no Midfield, holes right through our defence, no one laying a hand on runners, no one supporting our man in possesion, a very limited bench.. we are in disarray. Molloy J Daly with ball in hand or only bright spots." Hardly lost our own kickout all game other than a couple of poor ones from Fla? Is retaining the possession not the strategy?
SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 625 - 13/03/2022 16:41:39
Though Galway were cat bad agsin 2 day and had almost full strength team , if they play like they have for next 2 league matches they be hammered and mayo Will destroy them , it's hard believe how poor they are against poor opponents,, they could move the club championship to bank holiday in June Galway be well gone ,,
Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1098 - 13/03/2022 16:44:58
Replying To SamandLiamSoon: "Hardly lost our own kickout all game other than a couple of poor ones from Fla? Is retaining the possession not the strategy?" We lost three long kick outs at midfield our own, another out over the sideline.. watching Mayos pressing game last night, we will be destroyed here. Its not all Flahertys fault, we were headless in making runs.. There is no leadership on that team...
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 13/03/2022 17:04:03
Our chances will be slim without Shane. We need him big timeto continue to paperover the cracks.
On our last 2 displays Mayo will be having nightmares about an early exit from championship
handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 438 - 13/03/2022 17:06:52
Replying To Belclare: "One of the worst displays in years.. No kickout strategy, no Midfield, holes right through our defence, no one laying a hand on runners, no one supporting our man in possesion, a very limited bench.. we are in disarray. Molloy J Daly with ball in hand or only bright spots." I take it you don't go to many games. Last week was ten times worse than the performance today.
galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 940 - 13/03/2022 17:15:34
Replying To galway19: "I take it you don't go to many games. Last week was ten times worse than the performance today." I wasn't there last week... So is that many?
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 13/03/2022 17:30:42
Replying To Belclare: "One of the worst displays in years.. No kickout strategy, no Midfield, holes right through our defence, no one laying a hand on runners, no one supporting our man in possesion, a very limited bench.. we are in disarray. Molloy J Daly with ball in hand or only bright spots." Arragh sure that's the same post you had when Kevin Walshe was in charge, LOL
Maroonedinlongford2 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 13/03/2022 17:30:57
just home from tuam and till be awhile before im in it again..
on todays performance my judgement was confirmed on this galway team and management.
in terms of s&c., overall fitness., physicality and bite we are miles away from where we need to be to compete will the best teams in division 1..
what is our style of play?? our transition from defence to attack is pathetic..comer was one on one at least two if not three times in the first half and we didnt kick it into him when we over turned possession..
the balance of the team in my opinion is off.. gallagher not a 15. paul kelly not midfielder heaney better at 7 but was one of our better players today. liam silke looks lost at 3.
anytime clare ran at us we backed off and didnt lay a hand on them...simple basic stuff like tracking runners.,comer and kieron molloy the only two too get stuck in and not afraid to throw there weight around..our TACKLING is terrible., a minor team can tackle much better then our seniors..
whatever about the rest of the league we have no business going down to castlebar in 6 weeks time performing like this.,mayo will beat us down to cork city playing second gear if we do..
the standard was just absolutely woful and the finger must be pointed at the management. what the hell is cian o neill/divilly trying to achieve in terms of coaching.,and i wont even mention what concannon is suppost to be doing.. out skill levels where terrible.,it was actually laughable..
shane walsh lads is carrying an injury and needs a break.. he shouldnt play the rest of the league.,end of story..
for next week we need to start fitzgerald full back.. tierney to midfield with conroy sean kelly wing back. o laoi to start also
only bright sparks today was molloy.,john daly, heaney.,tierney at times plus its great to see comer finding form and scoring goals again.,lets hope he can stay injury free from now on..
on a side note as i was walking in before the game., i met a young man who had 5 kids with him but he assumed he could buy his ticket at the ground as did so many others..
its an absolute joke that tickets are not made available there and then for supporters especially for the pensioners..joke.
gbay (Galway) - Posts: 275 - 13/03/2022 17:31:57
How did Johnny Heaney go at wing forward, will he stay up there? It will be interesting to see how the next two games go, but the willingness to win dirty ball will be clear Lads saying last week that we would be slaughtered by Clare, well that was handy enough Hope Dylan Canney gets more time in the next two weeks Has a good mixture of ability and attitude Keep it going Galway
Maroonedinlongford2 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 13/03/2022 17:36:52
You'd swear we were a 15 point worse team than Mayo and on to a hiding in 5 weeks time. A lot smarter people have the price around 4/6 Mayo and Galway at 6/4 to win the game, making Mayo about a 2 point favourite. No need for panic.
galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 940 - 13/03/2022 17:55:26
Disappointing performance overall as Clare are a poor enough team and only had their first point from play in the 70th minute. Galway should be beating them by 10+ points if they have any ambitions of breaking into the top 4 - 5 counties - we're probably only in the top 10 now and Shane Walsh not scoring from either play or frees for the the second match in a row is very worrying. Is he carrying an injury? I know he limped off today so hopefully its not too serious as without him in good form we are gone for the year.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 13/03/2022 17:57:23
Replying To Maroonedinlongford2: "How did Johnny Heaney go at wing forward, will he stay up there? It will be interesting to see how the next two games go, but the willingness to win dirty ball will be clear Lads saying last week that we would be slaughtered by Clare, well that was handy enough Hope Dylan Canney gets more time in the next two weeks Has a good mixture of ability and attitude Keep it going Galway" Heaney was good. His best performance so far in the league. Kicked 2 good points.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 13/03/2022 18:05:38
Replying To gbay: "just home from tuam and till be awhile before im in it again..
on todays performance my judgement was confirmed on this galway team and management.
in terms of s&c., overall fitness., physicality and bite we are miles away from where we need to be to compete will the best teams in division 1..
what is our style of play?? our transition from defence to attack is pathetic..comer was one on one at least two if not three times in the first half and we didnt kick it into him when we over turned possession..
the balance of the team in my opinion is off.. gallagher not a 15. paul kelly not midfielder heaney better at 7 but was one of our better players today. liam silke looks lost at 3.
anytime clare ran at us we backed off and didnt lay a hand on them...simple basic stuff like tracking runners.,comer and kieron molloy the only two too get stuck in and not afraid to throw there weight around..our TACKLING is terrible., a minor team can tackle much better then our seniors..
whatever about the rest of the league we have no business going down to castlebar in 6 weeks time performing like this.,mayo will beat us down to cork city playing second gear if we do..
the standard was just absolutely woful and the finger must be pointed at the management. what the hell is cian o neill/divilly trying to achieve in terms of coaching.,and i wont even mention what concannon is suppost to be doing.. out skill levels where terrible.,it was actually laughable..
shane walsh lads is carrying an injury and needs a break.. he shouldnt play the rest of the league.,end of story..
for next week we need to start fitzgerald full back.. tierney to midfield with conroy sean kelly wing back. o laoi to start also
only bright sparks today was molloy.,john daly, heaney.,tierney at times plus its great to see comer finding form and scoring goals again.,lets hope he can stay injury free from now on..
on a side note as i was walking in before the game., i met a young man who had 5 kids with him but he assumed he could buy his ticket at the ground as did so many others..
its an absolute joke that tickets are not made available there and then for supporters especially for the pensioners..joke." Some of your points are off in terms of were we are but all are entitled to their opinion. On the tickets I agree there should be opportunity to purchase at the match venue (as some do decide to go on game day) but it has been well flagged since the start of the league that no venue will have tickets for sale at the match venue. Bit of a strange one but same for all league matches.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 13/03/2022 18:09:36