Galway Football thread

Replying To tommy k:  "Disappointing performance overall as Clare are a poor enough team and only had their first point from play in the 70th minute. Galway should be beating them by 10+ points if they have any ambitions of breaking into the top 4 - 5 counties - we're probably only in the top 10 now and Shane Walsh not scoring from either play or frees for the the second match in a row is very worrying. Is he carrying an injury? I know he limped off today so hopefully its not too serious as without him in good form we are gone for the year."
Mayo played them last June and Clare scored 2-18, and lost by only four points to a top 4 team.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 858 - 13/03/2022 18:18:38    2405218

5 from 5 and the meltdown is getting worse. Some of ye should hear yourselves as it's a bit embarrassing. It's not been fine football but you can only play what's in front of you.

We are one win away from Div1 football with 2 games to go, everyone on this forum would have taken your hand off if offered that in Jan.

Onwards and upwards, Gaillimh Abu.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1727 - 13/03/2022 18:19:56    2405219

Replying To kiloughter:  "Some of your points are off in terms of were we are but all are entitled to their opinion. On the tickets I agree there should be opportunity to purchase at the match venue (as some do decide to go on game day) but it has been well flagged since the start of the league that no venue will have tickets for sale at the match venue. Bit of a strange one but same for all league matches."
whats points are way off.?? where you at the game..

we dont tackle..when we do we foul..what will kerry do to that clare team if they meet???

on the tickets issue it was a joke..a parent with 5 young children standing in the cold trying to but
a ticket online in crap phone coverage..disgrace..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 276 - 13/03/2022 18:30:52    2405222

I seen a poster saying mayo are 4/6 to beat Galway if so it's the bet of the year watching Galway in all matches so far bar down game mayo should be 1/8 easily if Galway play like they did v Offaly and 2 day and no reason they won't it be over well before ht it actually will be embarrassing,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1098 - 13/03/2022 18:39:09    2405226

Well done to all involved on another win, are we the only team in all divisions with 10 points from 5 games? Great crowd in Tuam today I have to say, and made themselves heard at time in response to what seemed very poor ref decisions. It was a strange game with lots going on off the ball right from the start. Clare are a strong fit team and very physical, their number 9 got away with lots in my opinion. The are just a bit short of quality up front. Galway had to work very hard for this win and did keep the score down. Shane still seems uninterested apart from the moment of pure class that set up the goal. I heard PJ on the GBFM interview state that he is not himself and has not missed a training session in 5 months. PJ seemed to suggest that Kelly may be recovered for next week. We do need another win to be assured of promotion. Meath had a good win today so Derry could find it tough in Navan. Watched the Dublin game after and to me the levels of intensity, hard tackling and speed of play seem miles away from anything in DIV 2. Great if we can secure promotion.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 13/03/2022 18:43:07    2405227

Replying To gbay:  "just home from tuam and till be awhile before im in it again..

on todays performance my judgement was confirmed on this galway team and management.

in terms of s&c., overall fitness., physicality and bite we are miles away from where we need to be to compete
will the best teams in division 1..

what is our style of play?? our transition from defence to attack is pathetic..comer was one on one at least
two if not three times in the first half and we didnt kick it into him when we over turned possession..

the balance of the team in my opinion is off..
gallagher not a 15.
paul kelly not midfielder
heaney better at 7 but was one of our better players today.
liam silke looks lost at 3.

anytime clare ran at us we backed off and didnt lay a hand on them...simple basic stuff like
tracking runners.,comer and kieron molloy the only two too get stuck in and not afraid to throw there
weight around..our TACKLING is terrible., a minor team can tackle much better then our seniors..

whatever about the rest of the league we have no business going down to castlebar in 6 weeks time
performing like this.,mayo will beat us down to cork city playing second gear if we do..

the standard was just absolutely woful and the finger must be pointed at the management.
what the hell is cian o neill/divilly trying to achieve in terms of coaching.,and i wont even mention
what concannon is suppost to be doing..
out skill levels where terrible.,it was actually laughable..

shane walsh lads is carrying an injury and needs a break..
he shouldnt play the rest of the league.,end of story..

for next week we need to start fitzgerald full back..
tierney to midfield with conroy
sean kelly wing back.
o laoi to start also

only bright sparks today was molloy.,john daly, heaney.,tierney at times plus its great to see comer
finding form and scoring goals again.,lets hope he can stay injury free from now on..

on a side note as i was walking in before the game., i met a young man who had 5 kids with him
but he assumed he could buy his ticket at the ground as did so many others..

its an absolute joke that tickets are not made available there and then for supporters especially for
the pensioners..joke."
If it's true that Shane had an injury coming into the game then it was absolutely criminal playing him.
We need him against Mayo more than we need him for any league game. End of.
Pretty good summation of the game there.
Can I ask you though - why you say you won't go to watch them again? You're either a supporter of the team or you're not no?
I was there today also. Absolutely it was a bad display but they're my team regardless and will watch them in good times or bad.
That type of attitude is rife in Galway and annoys me to be honest.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1324 - 13/03/2022 18:46:53    2405230

That win for Galway went pretty much as i predicted, close first half with Galway to win by a bit to spare.

The reaction by some Galway supporters here to that 5th win in a row is strange to say the least. Clare are not a poor side, they are a established Div 2 team with a shrewd manager the idea that Galway should be winning by 10 plus points is nonsense.

Galway win next next weekend and that's promotion wrapped with a game to spare, i predicted that to happen before this campaign started so i won't be changing my mind now.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3714 - 13/03/2022 19:18:29    2405239

Replying To gbay:  "whats points are way off.?? where you at the game..

we dont tackle..when we do we foul..what will kerry do to that clare team if they meet???

on the tickets issue it was a joke..a parent with 5 young children standing in the cold trying to but
a ticket online in crap phone coverage..disgrace.."
Yes I was and the amount of defensive turnovers was far better than last Sunday. Also the ref was picky as a few of our lads clearly dispossed their opponent but the ref gave a free against. Yes Kerry are the gold standard but we probably are in a group outside the top 4/5 teams trying to break into that elite group. My opinion anyhow from the league games I have seen thus far. For the record have been at them all bar Newry and I saw that on GAA GO.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 13/03/2022 19:22:51    2405240

Replying To GDL:  "Mayo played them last June and Clare scored 2-18, and lost by only four points to a top 4 team."
Wasn't a great performance by any means but Clare are no mugs. They've been a steady division 2 side for a good few years now. They drew with the Rossies up in Roscommon earlier in the league.

Certainly a big two games ahead now. Away to Derry and Roscommon. Win one of them and they get promotion but the home teams need the points just as badly.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2408 - 13/03/2022 19:32:46    2405244

Replying To Kickitout:  "I seen a poster saying mayo are 4/6 to beat Galway if so it's the bet of the year watching Galway in all matches so far bar down game mayo should be 1/8 easily if Galway play like they did v Offaly and 2 day and no reason they won't it be over well before ht it actually will be embarrassing,,"
Watched Mayo v Kerry. Physically, Mayo were superior, and got a run on them towards the end, but typically failed to engineer scores. So, bookies don't trust Mayo to close out games they should. Kerry, imo are no world beaters - very reliant on Clifford and Sean O'Shea (not playing yesterday) to carry them through. As was proven in Sigerson, we have defenders to nullify this twin threat. The best is yet to come...

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 104 - 13/03/2022 19:49:11    2405252

I wonder what game people are watching. Other than the goal at the start we were very tight at the back for the rest of the game. Kept Clare to 1-2 with the breeze, wrapped up the win early enough and cruised through the end of the game, getting subs on etc.

I don't mind people calling it is they see it but I'm starting to wonder if certain posters have an agenda.

We were certainly poor last week but today was a controlled performance against a team that while not a top team are no mugs.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 13/03/2022 20:19:37    2405258

Replying To Mayonman:  "I wonder what game people are watching. Other than the goal at the start we were very tight at the back for the rest of the game. Kept Clare to 1-2 with the breeze, wrapped up the win early enough and cruised through the end of the game, getting subs on etc.

I don't mind people calling it is they see it but I'm starting to wonder if certain posters have an agenda.

We were certainly poor last week but today was a controlled performance against a team that while not a top team are no mugs."
For me it's somewhere in the middle. Individually I thought this was the best defensive performance in a long long time. Defenders aggressive and tight. Jack (apart from the early slip for the goal) Silke and Molloy (my man of the match) were tigerish in defence and solid going forward. J. Daly marshalled the back line superbly and again was excellent bringing the ball out of defence. McDaid and McHugh not found wanting either.

Issue is as other posters mentioned is the team aspect of our defending. Majority of the good defending was when Clare kicked in long and their attackers got isolated and we turned it over or they ran into cul de sacs and we bottled them up. However plenty of times Clare had long spells of possession and we never got near them allowing them ample
time around our 50'. Fine against Clare but teams like Mayo Kerry et Al will have the class to pop little 20 metre passes into their forwards for marks or lay offs onto in coming runners to open us up. Too often (Cork, Offaly now Clare) can go from a turnover of thier own kickout and a Galway player will not have laid a hand on them until the are well inside our 50. It's lazy and criminal "team defending"

Two options. Option one: Press like Mayo. Anyone see the Kerry vs Mayo will know what I mean. Any short kick out and Mayo hounded like rabid dogs putting Kerry backs under immense pressure where it could them 10 passes just to get out of their 14! Takes everyone buying into this and unreal workrate, discipline and fitness. Just don't think we are able to do this right now.

Option two: hybrid of old. Retreat to our own 45 and meet the opposition head on coming in. Crucially for this it has to be expanded on from the KW era and not players covering space but when the opposition cross the imaginary line they are engaged with meaningful attempt to turn over possession. Or as everyone says nowadays "getting hands on".

Galway need to improve drastically our hands on approach in between the two fifties. Giving quality players time and space to pick passes the best defenders in the world will not be able to stop.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 625 - 13/03/2022 21:55:17    2405288

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "For me it's somewhere in the middle. Individually I thought this was the best defensive performance in a long long time. Defenders aggressive and tight. Jack (apart from the early slip for the goal) Silke and Molloy (my man of the match) were tigerish in defence and solid going forward. J. Daly marshalled the back line superbly and again was excellent bringing the ball out of defence. McDaid and McHugh not found wanting either.

Issue is as other posters mentioned is the team aspect of our defending. Majority of the good defending was when Clare kicked in long and their attackers got isolated and we turned it over or they ran into cul de sacs and we bottled them up. However plenty of times Clare had long spells of possession and we never got near them allowing them ample
time around our 50'. Fine against Clare but teams like Mayo Kerry et Al will have the class to pop little 20 metre passes into their forwards for marks or lay offs onto in coming runners to open us up. Too often (Cork, Offaly now Clare) can go from a turnover of thier own kickout and a Galway player will not have laid a hand on them until the are well inside our 50. It's lazy and criminal "team defending"

Two options. Option one: Press like Mayo. Anyone see the Kerry vs Mayo will know what I mean. Any short kick out and Mayo hounded like rabid dogs putting Kerry backs under immense pressure where it could them 10 passes just to get out of their 14! Takes everyone buying into this and unreal workrate, discipline and fitness. Just don't think we are able to do this right now.

Option two: hybrid of old. Retreat to our own 45 and meet the opposition head on coming in. Crucially for this it has to be expanded on from the KW era and not players covering space but when the opposition cross the imaginary line they are engaged with meaningful attempt to turn over possession. Or as everyone says nowadays "getting hands on".

Galway need to improve drastically our hands on approach in between the two fifties. Giving quality players time and space to pick passes the best defenders in the world will not be able to stop."
Can't argue with what you say. One on one i thought we were good yesterday. Not a huge fan of dropping off although if the initial press does not work u probably have to. We have to pick our areas to engage otherwise we will be cut open.

Certainly thought it was a big step up on Offaly game. Next week is another challenge and will tell a story.

Player wise:
*Comer it is great to see him moving like he is.
*Shane I would be inclined to try and give him the weekend off and get some rest into his muscles. He's been very lethargic for last 2 weeks. Reminds me of someone coming back from flu and there's a lot of it around at the moment. That is pure speculation on my behalf. I don't "know" anything.
*Conroy I really worry when the fast ground comes will he be over run. Great ball player and conductor but I think he lacks pace. This will be fine against most teams but Mayo are a running team so he could be exposed. He is nearly too talented not to play but his positioning and the structure around him to ensure we are not exposed to pace is important.

On a side note, there was nothing on the Sunday Game. Was there no cameras there yesterday?

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 14/03/2022 09:12:02    2405304

Has any one noticed the poor level of media coverage of Galway games. Clare game was the only game from Div1 and 2 not shown last night. This is the second game in a row.
Not to mention very little discussion of the fact that Galway are only team with 100% record and by far the top scorers across the leagues. A few years ago when we were scoring a lot less they would discuss the demise of the Galway playing style ad nauseam.
The only reference from Colm O'Rourke was that Derry would probably be promoted before they play Meath in the last game. I think that only way that could happen is if Derry were to beat Galway. Not sure if this was being dismissive of Galway or just inaccurate analysis / understanding of the league table... he has previously demonstrated the capacity for both.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1001 - 14/03/2022 09:13:08    2405305

Replying To galwayman2:  "If it's true that Shane had an injury coming into the game then it was absolutely criminal playing him.
We need him against Mayo more than we need him for any league game. End of.
Pretty good summation of the game there.
Can I ask you though - why you say you won't go to watch them again? You're either a supporter of the team or you're not no?
I was there today also. Absolutely it was a bad display but they're my team regardless and will watch them in good times or bad.
That type of attitude is rife in Galway and annoys me to be honest."
Spot on

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 376 - 14/03/2022 09:24:11    2405306

The one thing that puts me in bad form with this set up is kickout strategy.
Under KW, the default was to load one side and hit Tom Flynn. Under PJ the default is to go long to Conroy in the middle who might win the odd one.
Both set ups, there was very little movement, no creation of space for someone to run onto. No real plan. I find it unbelievable at this stage. Most club teams are coached on kick outs at this stage, am I the only one baffled by this.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 545 - 14/03/2022 09:59:44    2405309

Replying To smallfrank:  "The one thing that puts me in bad form with this set up is kickout strategy.
Under KW, the default was to load one side and hit Tom Flynn. Under PJ the default is to go long to Conroy in the middle who might win the odd one.
Both set ups, there was very little movement, no creation of space for someone to run onto. No real plan. I find it unbelievable at this stage. Most club teams are coached on kick outs at this stage, am I the only one baffled by this."
100%

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1324 - 14/03/2022 10:10:27    2405317

Replying To smallfrank:  "The one thing that puts me in bad form with this set up is kickout strategy.
Both set ups, there was very little movement, no creation of space for someone to run onto. No real plan. I find it unbelievable at this stage. Most club teams are coached on kick outs at this stage, am I the only one baffled by this."
Yes but the strategy (or lack of) employed against Offaly was worse and risky. Bar two kickouts every one went short putting massive pressure on our defence and often can lead to slow transition not to mention the risk of losing ball close to goal. I agree there should be a clear strategy but varied. At least yesterday our goalie varied it to some degree and if you are going to lose a kick out better in the middle of the field. Our 2nd goal yesterday was due to a short kickout on the Clare goalie's part. Turned the game in our favour as it was nip and tuck until then.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 14/03/2022 10:23:56    2405330

The amount of complaining here is something else. Galway with 5 wins from 5 games no other side in the four Divisions have done that. Are the top scorers in the league also.

Yesterday i expected Galway to win by at least 6 points and that's how it was played out. One issue in the last two games was the high scores conceded that wasn't repeated yesterday as just a mere 1-5 was let in and In the final 60 minutes Galway outscored clare 2-8 to 0-4.

It all leaves Galway in ideal position for promotion. One win in the remaining games will guarantee that.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 14/03/2022 10:31:59    2405334

Replying To anotheralias:  "Has any one noticed the poor level of media coverage of Galway games. Clare game was the only game from Div1 and 2 not shown last night. This is the second game in a row.
Not to mention very little discussion of the fact that Galway are only team with 100% record and by far the top scorers across the leagues. A few years ago when we were scoring a lot less they would discuss the demise of the Galway playing style ad nauseam.
The only reference from Colm O'Rourke was that Derry would probably be promoted before they play Meath in the last game. I think that only way that could happen is if Derry were to beat Galway. Not sure if this was being dismissive of Galway or just inaccurate analysis / understanding of the league table... he has previously demonstrated the capacity for both."
Media coverage of Division 2 is generally very poor and mis-informed. The pundits that are called on clearly dont watch the games , will rabbit on about players that they hear mentioned in the papers and re-gurgitate what they think are truisms but are not. We need Second Captains/ Off The Ball type coverage on TV , its just so cliched and moronic on RTE.

Ye will need to have a tough A vs B game in training this week to get ready for what awaits ye in Owenbeg next Sunday. We got the full bag of tricks from Gallagher yesterday when things were'nt going well for Derry.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 222 - 14/03/2022 11:10:38    2405340