Galway Football thread

Same team again. Subs look the same also, although Daragh Silke is named. Not sure who he is replacing.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 03/02/2022 21:47:31    2398240

Replying To Mayonman:  "Same team again. Subs look the same also, although Daragh Silke is named. Not sure who he is replacing."
He was there last week as well..
All the same subs

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/02/2022 11:03:23    2398277

Replying To Belclare:  "He was there last week as well..
All the same subs"
Consistency is important to build up an understanding. Particularly with defensive structure. I do worry about our Sigerson players. It would be a disaster if Tierney or any of the Kellys etc picked up a hamstring injury. Probably should have taken a few of them off earlier last week when we had the game won so early.

On a side not, have you noticed any difference with our players physically?
I know it is early days but they looked to be super fit and strong last week. It is easy keep running when u are winning etc but they do look well conditioned. Compare that to when we returned after first lock down against Mayo or the Kerry game last year ....... we were stuck to the ground.

Lots of predictions that we hammer Down. Down may not be All Ireland contenders but going to Newry will not be straight forward and I would imagine we will earn anything we get. Saying that Galway will still need to win if they want to rid themselves of the flaky/fancydans tab. Well capable of winning.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 04/02/2022 12:29:11    2398299

Replying To Mayonman:  "Same team again. Subs look the same also, although Daragh Silke is named. Not sure who he is replacing."
Tús maith...Tomo has the goalscoring touch. Hopefully, we can break through the glass ceiling and score more than 1-14 the next day.

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 04/02/2022 13:23:33    2398305

Replying To tommy k:  "Good man foreveryoung it was you all along! The Limerick supporter in disguise as an American. You should also stick to the Superbowl!"
I'm an American, and proud of it. But you're right, I do follow Limerick in the hurling, and why wouldn't I? They play the finest brand of hurling ever seen!

But you're wrong, as is your wont, to say that I am any other poster. I've just the one account on here, and that's enough. It's great to see other American posters on here, though. We'll make quick haste of sorting out laddeens like you, Tommeen.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2331 - 04/02/2022 13:59:21    2398309

Someone asked if it is possible to watch the BBC live stream of the Down v Galway game. I watched the Down v Derry game without any problems on my mobile., but I'm resident in N. Ireland

I checked the BBC website and unfortunately if you are outside the UK then because of rights issues you will be unable to watch the game. You need to download the BBC iplayer app and have an account to watch in the UK. The only thing that might help is if you have a VPN but I'm no expert. I'm looking forward to seeing Shane Walsh as I'm going to the game, Down fan, what a player.

Newmitch (Down) - Posts: 97 - 04/02/2022 16:09:05    2398323

To be expected after such a strong performance last weekend. The few to return will have to work their way back in as the starting 15 is strong and apart from the keeper and Gallagher at 11 it's experienced team.

Should be straight forward win against Down whom are missing a number of starters including the Kilcoo players.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3704 - 04/02/2022 16:49:28    2398333

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I'm an American, and proud of it. But you're right, I do follow Limerick in the hurling, and why wouldn't I? They play the finest brand of hurling ever seen!

But you're wrong, as is your wont, to say that I am any other poster. I've just the one account on here, and that's enough. It's great to see other American posters on here, though. We'll make quick haste of sorting out laddeens like you, Tommeen."
Ah stop it trying to be Irish with the "laddeen" craic youngeen. You're just a wannabee Irish GAA fan and always will be!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/02/2022 18:31:28    2398348

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "To be expected after such a strong performance last weekend. The few to return will have to work their way back in as the starting 15 is strong and apart from the keeper and Gallagher at 11 it's experienced team.

Should be straight forward win against Down whom are missing a number of starters including the Kilcoo players."
Good man GAA lover - keep the wumming up so if Galway lose (as they probably could), you'll come back here and say what happened Galway with everyone talking them up?! As you won't say where you're from (obviously not from Galway) I will guess you're a Roscommon fan.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 05/02/2022 11:27:35    2398385

What a performance from St Jarlaths. Hard to beat tradition at Schools football. They appear to have got their act together. Can only be good for Galway football, they've backboned every major All Ireland winning team.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 854 - 05/02/2022 13:59:37    2398405

Replying To Newmitch:  "Someone asked if it is possible to watch the BBC live stream of the Down v Galway game. I watched the Down v Derry game without any problems on my mobile., but I'm resident in N. Ireland

I checked the BBC website and unfortunately if you are outside the UK then because of rights issues you will be unable to watch the game. You need to download the BBC iplayer app and have an account to watch in the UK. The only thing that might help is if you have a VPN but I'm no expert. I'm looking forward to seeing Shane Walsh as I'm going to the game, Down fan, what a player."
The game is on gaa go
cost 5euro

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 05/02/2022 15:08:46    2398416

Replying To tommy k:  "Good man GAA lover - keep the wumming up so if Galway lose (as they probably could), you'll come back here and say what happened Galway with everyone talking them up?! As you won't say where you're from (obviously not from Galway) I will guess you're a Roscommon fan."
Still posting the childish remarks. Before i was from Limerick man but you are so muddled that you thought foreveryoung poster was me also.

Are the bookies "wumming" by having Galway 1/7 on to win tonight and 1/4 on for promotion.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3704 - 05/02/2022 15:24:26    2398417

Replying To GDL:  "What a performance from St Jarlaths. Hard to beat tradition at Schools football. They appear to have got their act together. Can only be good for Galway football, they've backboned every major All Ireland winning team."
Can only be good - although, very low-scoring 0-7 to 0-3. The final will tell us more on their credentials.

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 05/02/2022 17:42:07    2398445

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Still posting the childish remarks. Before i was from Limerick man but you are so muddled that you thought foreveryoung poster was me also.

Are the bookies "wumming" by having Galway 1/7 on to win tonight and 1/4 on for promotion."
Ignore him! I quietened him on the Galway hurling forum, went away with his tail between his legs, and never came back! No substance to little Tommeen at all!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2331 - 05/02/2022 18:26:51    2398455

As expected a routine win for Galway in Newry tonight. Just 0-15 conceded in the two opening games.

Joyce and his players will know they are well on course to gain promotion with a game or two to spare.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3704 - 05/02/2022 18:39:25    2398458

Solid enough performance. Down got it back to 4 and were getting excited. But we didn't panic and pulled away reasonable comfortable.

Gallagher is a real bonus for us

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 05/02/2022 18:50:23    2398460

job done..move on..
not the best performance tonight all be it in tough conditions.
i think we are relying too much on conroy and walsh.,
comer made a big impact as did tony gill..
gallagher had a fine game..my motm..
did john daly get injured does anybody no..
you can really see the sigerson cup taking its toll on some of the lads..

id like too see darragh silke or brian mannion get a chance..

all in all its two from two..great start to the league..
well done to all..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 275 - 05/02/2022 18:50:56    2398461

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Still posting the childish remarks. Before i was from Limerick man but you are so muddled that you thought foreveryoung poster was me also.

Are the bookies "wumming" by having Galway 1/7 on to win tonight and 1/4 on for promotion."
I apologise GAA Lover even though you never admitted it I accept now that indeed you're a Galway man - not! Anyway you were correct that Galway would win tonight so please keep up the good work with your "predictions"!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 05/02/2022 18:59:06    2398464

Job well done in Newry tonight in tough enough conditions with that wind. A very strong first half performance. Paul Conroy was superb in those key first 15-20 mins, real leadership and super score taking. Good tackling and turnovers from the backs in the first half. Work rate and physicality are fast getting up to where they need to be. First 20 mins of the second half were very poor on our part. Possession to consume time when against the wind and looping around is not effective when you end up with no real shot options and then get turned over repeatedly. Barry O'Hagan was a big threat for 20 mins until Sean Kelly gradually got to terms again. Sloppy passing after good turnovers was a flaw for some as well. Lots of positives - Jonathan McGrath looked lively, Dylan McHugh, McDaid, Daly, Shane Walsh almost always looked dangerous, great to see Damien Comer back and looking menacing, Gallagher excellent and particularly carrying the second half revival after 55mins. A bit of a problem - our goal taking. Simple as this- if we've big ambitions then we can't be fluffing real goal chances like we do. We even had a 3 on 1 on 70mins and failed to execute. This is training ground stuff that can and I think will be fixed. Probably getting overly critical here! Two nice wins, momentum building nicely and the feeling that there's still another gear or more in these lads to click into. Fair play to all involved. Up Galway!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 05/02/2022 19:07:04    2398467

They can only play what's in front of th and the lads have to their credit being doing really well.

I did not want PJ to stay on but so far so good. We cant critique him for what may happen further down the line.Offaly at home should be an easy win but knowing Galway I won't count those 2 points in the bag just yet. Gallagher had a great game

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 05/02/2022 19:22:58    2398468