Galway Football thread

Job done in terrible conditions.
How good was Johnny McGrath.
Gallagher our best player tonight, what a bonus him coming on board has been.

I think Tierney and Molloy look like they are really starting to establish themselves and to a lesser extent Paul Kelly.

One concern would be finishing, there were more goals on offer tonight and I believe we need more from Culhane and Finnerty

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 544 - 05/02/2022 19:58:33    2398476

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Ignore him! I quietened him on the Galway hurling forum, went away with his tail between his legs, and never came back! No substance to little Tommeen at all!"
You certainly didn't quieten my on the Galway hurling board youngeen as I knew you were pretending to be a hurling fan when you're really a yank that knows nothing about it with your ladeen and tommeen mullarkey! Stick to the Superbowl like a good boy!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 05/02/2022 20:43:57    2398484

Tony Gill is a player i have been very impressed with. This year may be too soon but looks like a great centre back.

Gallagher and OLaoi are great hard working half forwards

Would worry about management sending the team out to play the same way in the second half against the wind. Left the full back line expose and gave up a good lead.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 05/02/2022 21:24:43    2398492

Great turnout of Galway support last evening, good banter with the locals also.
A different game altogether compared to the previous week. Silke not starting was risk for Galway which meant Sean Kelly had to mind the house rather than go forward, and he did well. McGrath was a bit shakey for the first few minutes but really came into the game esp in the second half. Hard to take too much from the game in terms of where Galway are at the moment. Down missing 5 or 6 Kilcoo players. When we needed Damien and Shane to respond after the Down mini comeback they did and killed off the game. Molloy and Gallagher did well, Conroy again for me MoM. Finnerty may yet get into it he just needs to gt a couple of scores to regain confidence. Our biggest test could well be the Ross.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1289 - 06/02/2022 09:25:41    2398508

Great to see Jarlaths back in a Connacht final next week after beating Claregalway yesterday.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 940 - 06/02/2022 09:34:52    2398510

Replying To giveitlong:  "Great turnout of Galway support last evening, good banter with the locals also.
A different game altogether compared to the previous week. Silke not starting was risk for Galway which meant Sean Kelly had to mind the house rather than go forward, and he did well. McGrath was a bit shakey for the first few minutes but really came into the game esp in the second half. Hard to take too much from the game in terms of where Galway are at the moment. Down missing 5 or 6 Kilcoo players. When we needed Damien and Shane to respond after the Down mini comeback they did and killed off the game. Molloy and Gallagher did well, Conroy again for me MoM. Finnerty may yet get into it he just needs to gt a couple of scores to regain confidence. Our biggest test could well be the Ross."
Galway have some impressive young players.
They will need to for us their game around Keely, Tierney, Finnerty and have Comer, Walsh and Conroy as support players.
As long as everyone has to go through Conroy and Walsh they won't progress far. They look great in Division 2 but always flop against the big guns.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1495 - 06/02/2022 10:39:53    2398522

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Galway have some impressive young players.
They will need to for us their game around Keely, Tierney, Finnerty and have Comer, Walsh and Conroy as support players.
As long as everyone has to go through Conroy and Walsh they won't progress far. They look great in Division 2 but always flop against the big guns."
Your point about looking 'great in Division 2' is a thoroughly valid one imo. Punters would need to be wary about assessing these Galway performances against what is essentially tier 2 opposition.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4296 - 06/02/2022 11:44:48    2398531

As long as everyone has to go through Conroy and Walsh they won't progress far. They look great in Division 2 but always flop against the big guns."
Mayo are unstoppable in All-Ireland Finals but I would agree that Galway need to diversify their attacking strategies.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1758 - 06/02/2022 12:09:47    2398538

A lot of these younger players are beginning to establish themselves - the trajectory is going in the right way. Of course it will be a massive step up in standard when they're confronted with top 4 teams. But you can only play what's in front of you.

As I've said before, there needs to be a major focus on taking scoring chances. I believe we have no issue creating the chances - it's the finishing that's lacking. Scoring, especially goals, is an art in itself, but if players are made aware of the requirements, then vast improvement is possible from all. The "long ball" seems to be making a comeback into the game - which suits Galway's style. So, there are several reasons to be optimistic this year.

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 06/02/2022 12:14:55    2398540

Do you mean Galway always flop against the big guns or those 2 players?
If it's the latter, that's nonsense.
Shane Walsh has been brilliant against Mayo at various stages. He's had some of Mayo's best players on toast. He's also been brilliant in Division 1 of the league against the best teams.
If you meant Galway always flop against the big guns, I wouldn't disagree over the past 20 years. We still have a huge amount of work to do to get that level.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2415 - 06/02/2022 12:24:16    2398541

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Do you mean Galway always flop against the big guns or those 2 players?
If it's the latter, that's nonsense.
Shane Walsh has been brilliant against Mayo at various stages. He's had some of Mayo's best players on toast. He's also been brilliant in Division 1 of the league against the best teams.
If you meant Galway always flop against the big guns, I wouldn't disagree over the past 20 years. We still have a huge amount of work to do to get that level."
You're right, he was so good last year a mayo back had to break his ribs to stop him. Conor Lane of course saw nothing tho so it didn't happen.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 06/02/2022 12:58:45    2398543

Yes we should just hand the AI now to the perennial winners and who never "flop against the big guns" Mayo lol!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 06/02/2022 15:47:20    2398568

Big empathisis on keeping width in Galway attack.

We do need more scorers. Finnerty is capable of knocking 5 points off very little ball and while Walsh and Conroy are our main score getters at the moment all of our players from midfield up are good kickers and well able to take points. We're not carrying anyone on that regard. Comer, Tierney, Kelly, Gallagher all excellent strikers of a ball. Tomo could do a bit more but we know it's in him.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 06/02/2022 16:01:23    2398579

Replying To Mayonman:  "Big empathisis on keeping width in Galway attack.

We do need more scorers. Finnerty is capable of knocking 5 points off very little ball and while Walsh and Conroy are our main score getters at the moment all of our players from midfield up are good kickers and well able to take points. We're not carrying anyone on that regard. Comer, Tierney, Kelly, Gallagher all excellent strikers of a ball. Tomo could do a bit more but we know it's in him."
Agreed, we hold possession fairly well in the wide arcing sideline to sideline overlaps, approx 50 metres out but where are the straight line runners coming off their shoulder at a completely different angle, heading straight towards goal? That's what puts the heart crossways in defences, creates easy frees, creates in-range shooting opportunities, creates goal attacks where you might have passing options at pace to left and right. That's the killer stuff that we have the players to execute with. I'd like to see us take that movement to the next level as this league season progresses. Derry and Ros are fying and Rossies without pearses and faithleachs lads. Clare and Cork good teams too. Offaly look very poor but anyone can beat anyone in this div on their day.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 06/02/2022 18:29:41    2398644

Ye looked pretty good in Div 2 last year yerselves.
I was embarrassed for ye about 5 All Irelands ago.
It's just total mortification at this stage.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 432 - 06/02/2022 21:31:46    2398747

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Your point about looking 'great in Division 2' is a thoroughly valid one imo. Punters would need to be wary about assessing these Galway performances against what is essentially tier 2 opposition."
Yes, after watching Kerry, Armagh, Tyrone, The Dubs and Mayo I find it hard to see Galway having enough to cope with any of them, while we do have a certain amount of talented players, we need a few more. Our main weakness in my eyes is lack of power in breaking tackles and slowness in capitalising on hard won turnovers. On what we have seen so far Armagh seem to have the best mixture for success and will take some stopping.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1289 - 07/02/2022 07:22:14    2398764

Down are not a top team by any stretch missing the kilcoo boys and Galway at full strength I would have expected better. Short summer in store for yee I'm afraid I feel Mayo and ros will battle it out this year

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 233 - 07/02/2022 08:43:23    2398775

A concern would be the changing tides of opinion after a few wins in Division 2. Promotion to Division 1 is expected and under no circumstances should it be a reason to retain the current set-up on it's own.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 431 - 07/02/2022 12:01:16    2398862

Replying To FallenStar:  "A concern would be the changing tides of opinion after a few wins in Division 2. Promotion to Division 1 is expected and under no circumstances should it be a reason to retain the current set-up on it's own."
Opinions change like the wind. I wouldn't be too concerned about them one way or the other.
What's important is how we're performing, what type of game we're playing, how the younger lads are developing etc.
On those fronts, it's far too early to make any definitive judgements. There have been some positive signs, but we've played 2 poor teams in poor weather conditions.
The good thing is we're getting games and have plenty opportunities to work on our gameplan and give players minutes of competitive action.
Much bigger tests lie ahead, but so far it has been a decent start.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2415 - 07/02/2022 12:24:38    2398873

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Down are not a top team by any stretch missing the kilcoo boys and Galway at full strength I would have expected better. Short summer in store for yee I'm afraid I feel Mayo and ros will battle it out this year"
Not sure what you expected. Galway won by 6 points, in a canter away in Newry in horrible conditions. Probably left a few goals behind.

Don't get me wrong, that doesn't make us All Ireland winners as we need to take the caliber of the opposition into account but not sure how much more you would expect us to do in the first 2 games.

On the contrary to your view, I have noticed significant improvements in Galway. We seem to have a more defined way of playing both in attack and in defence. The blend of attack and defence looks good. Our conditioning seems to have hugely improved as has our work rate. Lots of positives this year so far. Then influx of younger players and Gallagher is a fine addition. While all this is all very encouraging it does come with the asterix of playing in D2 so I am in no way kidding myself. What will these systems/players/conditioning look like up against the big boys?

The other positive for a lot of teams is that the All Ireland looks to be the most open in years again with the asterix that it is the first week of February.

I have no doubt that the 24th of April is high on both Galways and Mayo's radar and I can't wait. I think weather permitting it could be a cracker and as usual anyone's game but I would be quietly confident.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 07/02/2022 12:36:22    2398879