Galway Football thread

Replying To galwayfball:  "Hon Dessie !!!! Some man for one man

Great game . Serious boost to moycullens confidence. Highly unlikely this is the last time they'll meet this year, very evenly matched too so it could go either way. Wall for me was brilliant. Kept driving at us. Great to see burke back. Outside of my own club my favourite player over the past few years to watch in the maroon jersey when he's in form. Played well. Cooke should be getting a call from PJ. Eoghan kelly our 2nd best player on the field today. Thought Corofin made a mistake leaving the same man on Dessie all game. Gallagher didn't play. Looking at corofins bench the talent amd experience they have is ridiculous

Kilanin v Michael's. Michael's deserved the win but both very poor. Sweeneys didn't feature at all and apart from Heaney there are no leaders on that team. They just dont have the bench to replace the growing injured/emigration list. Corofin or Moycullen and plenty more would have a field day against either team."
Very good game even though we were beaten .

I believe it could be the making of.us and will drive us on to rectify matters.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 433 - 27/08/2022 20:57:47    2438848

Replying To galwayfball:  "Hon Dessie !!!! Some man for one man

Great game . Serious boost to moycullens confidence. Highly unlikely this is the last time they'll meet this year, very evenly matched too so it could go either way. Wall for me was brilliant. Kept driving at us. Great to see burke back. Outside of my own club my favourite player over the past few years to watch in the maroon jersey when he's in form. Played well. Cooke should be getting a call from PJ. Eoghan kelly our 2nd best player on the field today. Thought Corofin made a mistake leaving the same man on Dessie all game. Gallagher didn't play. Looking at corofins bench the talent amd experience they have is ridiculous

Kilanin v Michael's. Michael's deserved the win but both very poor. Sweeneys didn't feature at all and apart from Heaney there are no leaders on that team. They just dont have the bench to replace the growing injured/emigration list. Corofin or Moycullen and plenty more would have a field day against either team."
Im sure PJ has already been in loads of contact with Peter Cooke and he will definitely add value to county. But yesterday was not one of his better games

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 843 - 28/08/2022 09:47:24    2438868

Talk now of Don Connellan being proposed for the Roscommon job. He's managed in Galway. How would ye rate him.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2176 - 28/08/2022 12:41:21    2438887

Massive gap between the Likes of moycullen corrofin salthill MM And possibly tuam when watching them and then the other end the likes of james barna carraroe spiddal and lettermore very poor. Monivea caherlistrane could be in there then the middle teams claregalway milltown micheals annaghdown and oughterard

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 28/08/2022 19:53:49    2438939

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Massive gap between the Likes of moycullen corrofin salthill MM And possibly tuam when watching them and then the other end the likes of james barna carraroe spiddal and lettermore very poor. Monivea caherlistrane could be in there then the middle teams claregalway milltown micheals annaghdown and oughterard"
Personally I wouldn't have salthill up there with Moycullen ,MM and Corofin. Those are the top 3 with little between them

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 28/08/2022 20:38:53    2438944

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Massive gap between the Likes of moycullen corrofin salthill MM And possibly tuam when watching them and then the other end the likes of james barna carraroe spiddal and lettermore very poor. Monivea caherlistrane could be in there then the middle teams claregalway milltown micheals annaghdown and oughterard"
Possibly , but on a positive note the gap seems to be closed between corofin and the 3 or 4 in the chasing pack. Corofin still favourites and they may regain the title but they now have lost their last 3 championship games against the other 2 teams in the top 3 and the air of invincibility is definitely gone.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 843 - 28/08/2022 20:45:36    2438945

Only 5 points in it between Salthill/Knock and Mountbellew. Hardly a huge gap.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 28/08/2022 20:46:16    2438946

In general yes, but Moycullen only beat An Spidéal by 3 points and were behind for most of the game. Milltown drew with Mountbellew last year. Salthill look to have improved this year, but they've been poor for the last few years. They failed to beat Barna and An Spidéal the last time they were in the same group.
The smaller clubs will suffer disproportionately if they're missing an important player. An Spidéal are missing Antaine Ó Laoi through injury. They have a number of injuries to other key players.
Moycullen, Corofin etc have much deeper panels.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 28/08/2022 21:36:58    2438950

Replying To WanPintWin:  "In general yes, but Moycullen only beat An Spidéal by 3 points and were behind for most of the game. Milltown drew with Mountbellew last year. Salthill look to have improved this year, but they've been poor for the last few years. They failed to beat Barna and An Spidéal the last time they were in the same group.
The smaller clubs will suffer disproportionately if they're missing an important player. An Spidéal are missing Antaine Ó Laoi through injury. They have a number of injuries to other key players.
Moycullen, Corofin etc have much deeper panels."
What a weekend of football!
Some games closer than what people would have thought!
Any stand out performances? Or any players not playing to their potential?

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 29/08/2022 11:42:39    2438992

Another really good game between SK and MM yesterday. Been some great games during the early group stages of the championship. Hopefully continues into the knock out phase.

Salthill going in the right direction for sure but probably still a bit behind the likes of Moycullen, Corofin and Mountbellew Moylough just yet.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2223 - 29/08/2022 11:45:24    2438993

Some serious young talented players in the county
The games have been enjoyable and great points being scored
Who was that lad that gave a free kicking exibition for monivea abbey unreal talent

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 29/08/2022 12:15:41    2439006

Glenn Kelly, Co. Minor a couple of years ago. M/A just falling short in all their games to date.
Salthill - Mountbellew game really high quality encounter and a strong chance it's a dress-rehearsal for the county final. A match of 2 Finnertys, Rob in first half, Eoin in second. Salthill responded superbly to going 6 behind following Patrick Kelly's goal and struck 1-4 without reply in 10 minutes to go ahead. Very impressive. They tired a bit after the break and John Daly moved onto Rob Finnerty and restricted him a bit.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 29/08/2022 14:53:28    2439042

Moycullen Vs MM would be an intriguing encounter if it was to come to fruition. Both seemed well balanced in attack and defence. The loss may suit corofin as they can lead into the rest of the championship somewhat under the radar. I was surprised at the Letir Mor result but fair play to them. Could mean trouble for Spideal especially without O Laoi. Does anyone know how long he's out for?

Westie123 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 29/08/2022 17:17:28    2439078

Disappointed with the Moycullen result.. They're favourites for sure with Mountbellew.
Our second team beat a poor Cortoon team.. the future is bleak there for sure, would Tuam take them eventually?
Will Barry Mc Hugh get a recall to Galway?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 29/08/2022 19:34:19    2439093

Replying To rhudson:  "Some serious young talented players in the county
The games have been enjoyable and great points being scored
Who was that lad that gave a free kicking exibition for monivea abbey unreal talent"
Just saw highlights on facebook there. Some of the frees he kicked were unbelievable. I think he was minor only last year.
But wasn't the freetaker on that team as far as I know.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1246 - 29/08/2022 21:17:13    2439099

Replying To galwayman2:  "Just saw highlights on facebook there. Some of the frees he kicked were unbelievable. I think he was minor only last year.
But wasn't the freetaker on that team as far as I know."
I watched all of the streamed games at the weekend, currently being unable to attend.

The first game on each occasion was so far behind the quality of the second, it was like watching different sports. You would worry about the depth of our senior championship.

Conall Gallagher looks good for Michaels. Eddie Hoare is some warrior. Killanin seem to have lost the 2 Sweeneys, David Walsh and one or two more and they look weak.

Our own lads were disappointing against Moycullen but hopefully we get another crack at them later in the year. We couldn't manage Dessie at all. Liam Silke a big loss.

Cillian McDaid disappointed for Monivea. As others have said, their freetaker was incredible. I was also disappointed with Claregalway. For all the talk about youth, I was told that their forward who got injured is 37/38 and in his first year playing with the club.

Mountbellew were good. Salthill might not be the strongest in the full back line and Barry McHugh and Eoin Finnerty are 2 excellent club forwards and they punished that. Cathal Sweeney will surely start for Galway next year.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 80 - 30/08/2022 11:43:42    2439137

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "I watched all of the streamed games at the weekend, currently being unable to attend.

The first game on each occasion was so far behind the quality of the second, it was like watching different sports. You would worry about the depth of our senior championship.

Conall Gallagher looks good for Michaels. Eddie Hoare is some warrior. Killanin seem to have lost the 2 Sweeneys, David Walsh and one or two more and they look weak.

Our own lads were disappointing against Moycullen but hopefully we get another crack at them later in the year. We couldn't manage Dessie at all. Liam Silke a big loss.

Cillian McDaid disappointed for Monivea. As others have said, their freetaker was incredible. I was also disappointed with Claregalway. For all the talk about youth, I was told that their forward who got injured is 37/38 and in his first year playing with the club.

Mountbellew were good. Salthill might not be the strongest in the full back line and Barry McHugh and Eoin Finnerty are 2 excellent club forwards and they punished that. Cathal Sweeney will surely start for Galway next year."
It's always like this though, in hurling and football, where a few teams are a bit ahead of the rest who are of varying degrees of usefulness. There mightn't be great depth in the championship but there are a nice few promising players coming through and being available for the county team.
The Milltown group is the weakest of the 3 by far. All the teams are capable of taking points off each other. McDaid struggles to find a proper starting position for M/A and needs better players around him anyway. Claregalway as you said don't seem to be making much forward progress.
Obviously the winner will come from one of Moycullen, S/K or M/M. Annaghdown are regressing a good bit, Tuam Stars static and Corofin, in their first season with a new manager, still a bit too reliant on an older cohort, e.g. Steede, Sice.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 30/08/2022 12:32:15    2439145

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "I watched all of the streamed games at the weekend, currently being unable to attend.

Mountbellew were good. Salthill might not be the strongest in the full back line and Barry McHugh and Eoin Finnerty are 2 excellent club forwards and they punished that. Cathal Sweeney will surely start for Galway next year."
Conall Gallagher definitely worth a look in the county panel. Agreed Claregalway look so poor. Even if they qualify from the group, they are way behind the likes of Tuam and Salthill never mind Mountbellew, Moycullen and Corofin. Remarkable considering all the underage success that they barely resemble a senior outfit.

I think the winner comes from Moycullen, Corofin or Mountbellew. You'd have to make Mountbellew slight favourites because of the way they are playing without Michael Daly but Corofin looked like they have plenty of room to improve with Ian Burke and Darragh Silke coming back into the team.

The semi finals are going to be savage but prior to that I can see see a few one sided games with the few poor teams that are going to qualify from the groups.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 683 - 30/08/2022 13:53:38    2439158

Replying To galway19:  "Conall Gallagher definitely worth a look in the county panel. Agreed Claregalway look so poor. Even if they qualify from the group, they are way behind the likes of Tuam and Salthill never mind Mountbellew, Moycullen and Corofin. Remarkable considering all the underage success that they barely resemble a senior outfit.

I think the winner comes from Moycullen, Corofin or Mountbellew. You'd have to make Mountbellew slight favourites because of the way they are playing without Michael Daly but Corofin looked like they have plenty of room to improve with Ian Burke and Darragh Silke coming back into the team.

The semi finals are going to be savage but prior to that I can see see a few one sided games with the few poor teams that are going to qualify from the groups."
I'd agree on the winners coming from one of those 3. I wouldn't put Salthill at their level yet in terms of being able to win the 2 or 3 big games in a row they'll need to do, to win a county title.
They're capable of causing a shock on a given day though. Tuam are also capable of beating one of the favourites and have a competitive track record against them.
As for depth, it'd be very unusual to have 8 or 10 teams at the level of M/M, Moycullen or Corofin. There are always going to be tiers, with teams capable of springing a shock on a team rated a bit above them.
I think we have a fairly healthy club scene at the moment.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 30/08/2022 14:24:28    2439166

Replying To Westie123:  "Moycullen Vs MM would be an intriguing encounter if it was to come to fruition. Both seemed well balanced in attack and defence. The loss may suit corofin as they can lead into the rest of the championship somewhat under the radar. I was surprised at the Letir Mor result but fair play to them. Could mean trouble for Spideal especially without O Laoi. Does anyone know how long he's out for?"
I said before the Moycullen match and I now hope I'm wrong but if its a close game I think the losers will win the second encounter. I think when you just miss out you analyse your mistakes and learn from them quicker. Moycullen didn't really get fully going til the second half so that could work in our favour in round 2.

Of course the 2nd encounter may never happen. MM would obviously have no fear of us or Corofin. And there are others pushing on too.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 30/08/2022 14:36:41    2439168