Galway Football thread

Replying To LetsPlayBall:  "Gallagher was spectacular at the weekend.
2 weeks time will tell where Moycullen are at when they face Corofin.
The Jimmies could be facing relegation after their performance against Barna."
Couldn't understand how Gallagher looked decent the first 3 or 4 games in the league and then seemed to be phased out altogether. Certainly looked good enough to get 15 minutes here and there off the bench. Management seemed to lose faith with every sub this year bar O'Laoi.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2215 - 16/08/2022 14:29:54    2437662

Replying To Belclare:  "Cortoon are certainties"
Nothing is ever certain in Intermediate football in Galway.

I would say for sure Cortoon look to be struggling but so do many others at this level, the standard has weakened IMO since 2020 due to the amount of players away for various reasons after Covid. Intermediate clubs feel the hit a bit harder as they don't have the depth in their squads to cope, particularly in smaller areas/clubs.

As always it's an interesting Championship this year however. You would have to fancy Aran, Dunmore, Glenamaddy and possibly St. Brendan's to be featuring at the business end.
As for the rest a couple of poor results and you're staring relegation in the face, it's that tight.

Not.A.Quelly (Galway) - Posts: 94 - 16/08/2022 14:30:38    2437663

Replying To Trump2020:  "Interesting….I see 3 players on your list from CLAREGALWAY and 3 more CLAREGALWAY lads on the the Electric Ireland Minor Football Team of the Year. Fair play to them. Good representation from just one Parish."
They all play for the same club.So what's the problem.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 218 - 16/08/2022 16:01:03    2437688

How many teams going up to senior this year with 3 going down?

I have seen a few games in the senior championship this year..

And it's fair to say,

There's too many teams on the lower end of senior that should be in intermediate and too many the lower end of intermediate that should be junior...

Fair play if this is what the county board are doing by levelling the playing fields and making the champo more competitive.. there is not enough in Junior level imo..

You could whittle senior down to 12 teams, same with intermediate and the rest in junior with a 2 up 2 down.

Howardhunt1 (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 16/08/2022 18:04:57    2437714

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "They all play for the same club.So what's the problem."
Problem? I'm praising them. Maybe they'll be the next Corofin. Obviously them lads on the Minor Team are very young and should be available for a long time unless injuries or they emigrate. The future looks bright for ClareGalway.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 16/08/2022 18:48:46    2437721

Replying To anotheralias:  "I assume the "one Parish" comment is a bit "tongue in cheek""
Not at all. I really am happy for them. I hope they become the next Corofin and make the County proud! I'm more of a hurling fan but love seeing the Footballers do well.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 16/08/2022 18:53:18    2437723

Replying To Not.A.Quelly:  "Nothing is ever certain in Intermediate football in Galway.

I would say for sure Cortoon look to be struggling but so do many others at this level, the standard has weakened IMO since 2020 due to the amount of players away for various reasons after Covid. Intermediate clubs feel the hit a bit harder as they don't have the depth in their squads to cope, particularly in smaller areas/clubs.

As always it's an interesting Championship this year however. You would have to fancy Aran, Dunmore, Glenamaddy and possibly St. Brendan's to be featuring at the business end.
As for the rest a couple of poor results and you're staring relegation in the face, it's that tight."
A weakened Cortoon look a certain walkover for Corofin but should have enough to stay up. A good result for glan on the day but you can be sure of them dropping the standard before the year is out as they lack consistency and aren't senior football material. MB, Dunmore and Aran seem to be at the level above everyone else. A Kilconly team with Niall Daly on form would also be hard to stop. Relegation is always a hard one to call but St. Gabriel's and Williamstown will probably be in the middle of it but they both seem to only ever start playing at the end of the year when it matters the most.

Westie123 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 16/08/2022 19:14:37    2437725

Replying To Triffic:  "This really GBFM's team from last weekend? Johnny Heaney had a good first half for Killanin but faded in part 2. No Owen Gallagher - really?"
Absolutely!
Owen Gallagher was very good, definitely deserves a place on this team!

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 16/08/2022 22:04:31    2437737

Replying To Triffic:  "This really GBFM's team from last weekend? Johnny Heaney had a good first half for Killanin but faded in part 2. No Owen Gallagher - really?"
This team of the week is a nice idea and sparks interest . But its a flawed process as nobody can really have watched all the games to make a relative determination. I would like to think that county selectors would not use these selections as any sort of a barometer of the form of players and that they will use their own judgement , and assuming that's the case this is a bit of fun and we shouldn't get too excited about certain players making it or not making it. Having said that I agree about Gallagher.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 17/08/2022 08:54:54    2437745

Replying To GalwaysFinest:  "Rob Finnerty was outstanding for S/K. 1-5 from play and was a playmaker for others. Tomo looked good. Donnie Hunt a real threat going forward too. Anyone know what age he is or has he been involved with Galway underage teams?"
Not 100% sure but i believe Donie Hunt transferred to S/K from a club in Kerry this year, On a goalkeeping issue for County team, Tadgh o' Malley ex Leiter Mor and now with St.Michaels seems a very competent keeper, think he played u21 for galway

1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 17/08/2022 19:06:21    2437812

Is PJ staying on lads? We would want to know for certain soon.

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 18/08/2022 14:14:32    2437898

Replying To gaillimhboy:  "Is PJ staying on lads? We would want to know for certain soon."
More importantly, is Cian O'Neill staying?

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 18/08/2022 19:26:41    2437957

There will be some crack in next years championship with McStay taking Mayo. Can't wait!

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 431 - 22/08/2022 10:58:09    2438237

Replying To handpassking:  "There will be some crack in next years championship with McStay taking Mayo. Can't wait!"
Can't wait is right. The craic shall be had. Bring it on!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 22/08/2022 21:31:42    2438321

Replying To togoutlads:  "Can't wait is right. The craic shall be had. Bring it on!"
I dont like to say I hate someone, but Mayo picking Mcstay And Rockford makes it hard to contain myself. Lets say bating Mayo wiil be most gratifying. Rockford has been around for awhile and has only winning all Ireland club with Corofin to show for it obviously someone likes him.Cant wait for 2023 hoping Ill be alive

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 23/08/2022 15:48:19    2438438

I think Galway GAA should send Pauric Joyce on a coaching course. He needs to up his game.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 24/08/2022 10:14:21    2438515

Big game tonight in the IFC. St Brendan's take on MB. I expect Brendans to get the business done. They'll be full of confidence after a convincing win over Caltra and also the fact they defeated MB last year in the quater finals.

In the other games I expect,
Killererin vs Kilkerrin/Clonberne - Kilkerrin/Clonberne by 3
Headford vs Aran islands - Aran islands by 6
Dunmore vs st Gabriel's - dunmore by 8
Williamstown vs kilconly - kilconly by 4
Corofin vs cortoon - Draw
Glenamaddy vs Moycullen - glenamaddy by 7
Caltra vs oranmore - oranmore by 2

Ros4sam1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 26/08/2022 09:02:35    2438720

Replying To Ros4sam1:  "Big game tonight in the IFC. St Brendan's take on MB. I expect Brendans to get the business done. They'll be full of confidence after a convincing win over Caltra and also the fact they defeated MB last year in the quater finals.

In the other games I expect,
Killererin vs Kilkerrin/Clonberne - Kilkerrin/Clonberne by 3
Headford vs Aran islands - Aran islands by 6
Dunmore vs st Gabriel's - dunmore by 8
Williamstown vs kilconly - kilconly by 4
Corofin vs cortoon - Draw
Glenamaddy vs Moycullen - glenamaddy by 7
Caltra vs oranmore - oranmore by 2"
So far so good mystic mac

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 27/08/2022 15:39:31    2438820

Hon Dessie !!!! Some man for one man

Great game . Serious boost to moycullens confidence. Highly unlikely this is the last time they'll meet this year, very evenly matched too so it could go either way. Wall for me was brilliant. Kept driving at us. Great to see burke back. Outside of my own club my favourite player over the past few years to watch in the maroon jersey when he's in form. Played well. Cooke should be getting a call from PJ. Eoghan kelly our 2nd best player on the field today. Thought Corofin made a mistake leaving the same man on Dessie all game. Gallagher didn't play. Looking at corofins bench the talent amd experience they have is ridiculous

Kilanin v Michael's. Michael's deserved the win but both very poor. Sweeneys didn't feature at all and apart from Heaney there are no leaders on that team. They just dont have the bench to replace the growing injured/emigration list. Corofin or Moycullen and plenty more would have a field day against either team.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 27/08/2022 20:13:12    2438846

Your on the money so far Ros4sam big time. For a Rossie you seem to have a very good handle on the intermediate championship!

Would you fancy Brendan's for the cup? They gave MB a fair drubbing last night considering they only beat them by a point last year. They seem to be making big strides.

Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 80 - 27/08/2022 20:52:59    2438847