Galway Football thread

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Mayo have had no good forwards since the retirement of the 1951 lads. Hard to believe but its 70 plus years since Mayo produced a quality forward line."
We have had plenty of quality forwards but not enough in the one team at the same time. If we had no forward line we wouldn't be competing.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 12/08/2022 14:03:15    2437167

Replying To sam1884:  "Kerry are a great footballing county and over decades put the structures and finance in to make sure they're competitive. There is little doubt though they're a constant because of the system they benefited from, one win, if they even had a competitive Munster match some years and into an All Ireland semi final and nowadays QF.

They're always there but as we're seeing with the gap from 09 to 14 and 2014 to 2022 as well as the big 00's defeats being there doesn't mean they'll win the All Ireland. Backdoor changed things, and the new round robin system from next season will bring them that competitiveness earlier in the year.

They've great tradition but the change in system and further change has brought them closer to the pack and that will take on a new level for the next few years in my opinion. Galway were right there in the 66th minute this year, and were very unlucky with a referee call; six or seven teams can compete with Kerry with the modern day systems and they shouldn't think Kerry have the edge."
To win an All Ireland Kerry always had to beat the best the other provinces had to offer. They did that. There is no such thing as a handy all Ireland. I believe the new structures in place from next year will sharpen Kerry. They are the best football county in the country. Part of the reason for that is their ability to learn. They will adjust to this new system and they will adapt and overcome. They along with Mayo were Dublin's greatest rivals over the last ten years and they were desperately unlucky more than once against Dublin. David Gough's shocking decision not to award Peter Crowley a free in the 2016 All Ireland semi final is one example. They kept coming and now once again they are All Ireland champions. Since their first All Ireland title in 1903 they have won at least one All Ireland in every decade. No other football county has managed to do that.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/08/2022 15:08:54    2437180

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Mayo have had no good forwards since the retirement of the 1951 lads. Hard to believe but its 70 plus years since Mayo produced a quality forward line."
Mayo no great forwards since 51?Thats some statement! Did you ever hear of J. P. Keane and a fella called Kevin McStay who became a pundit and oozed class. Mayo s problem was not having more than 2 or 3 great forwards at the one time. I have nt seen many better forwards than Ciarán McDonald. Andy Moran and Cillian Ó Connor top forwards and at the moment Ryan Ó Donoghue is a fine forward too.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 12/08/2022 15:22:13    2437185

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It seems like counties only win a 'handy' All Ireland in hindsight and it's deemed handy by someone who bears a grudge against the winners in hindsight. Sure we still think in Mayo that we were robbed in '96. We have a great list of reasons/excuses why we lost other finals. Hard to fix problems if you don' t want to recognise there are problems to be fixed. But one of the' handiest' All Irelands ever was surely Dublin winning in 2011. Under no pressure in their home pitch, no Sam since '95, getting well beaten in the second half by Kerry. Kerry, the kings of football. A Kerry team laden down with Celtic crosses. Then McMenamin and Cuxton said enough is enough and did the job.' Handy'. Whatever happened to take your beating, congratulate the winner and learn from your mistakes?"
Well said Greenlandred.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 12/08/2022 15:25:22    2437187

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "As far as I am aware any child in between 8 and 14 don't know what their favourite sport is or which one they will pick and in fact it has been proven that the more different sports that they play at that age the better for them.No child should be made decide at that age.To say Claregalway don't give kids a chance to develope at that age is misleading.They have a few teams at all age groups and all get to play games at their own level.Underage success isn't the be all and end all but it certainly helps to keep young people at a club as as the saying goes success breeds success."
What's been done at present in c/g is working for underage but obviously not for the adult section of the club, so imo it's something they should address.
Young c/g footballers from u10 to u14 are playing for their 3rd-4th teams at the expense of hurling lads from neighbouring clubs, lads who will never play football after 16/18. Put less emphasise on winning underage and more on developing the young football lads who will go on to play for your senior team.

1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 12/08/2022 15:39:47    2437191

Replying To 1951andwaiting:  "What's been done at present in c/g is working for underage but obviously not for the adult section of the club, so imo it's something they should address.
Young c/g footballers from u10 to u14 are playing for their 3rd-4th teams at the expense of hurling lads from neighbouring clubs, lads who will never play football after 16/18. Put less emphasise on winning underage and more on developing the young football lads who will go on to play for your senior team."
There are plenty of lads that play hurling and football at 16 -18 age group in CG and there are a good proportion of them staying on playing football.All players are being developed no matter what team they are on.Just wondering if what you are saying is that children who are playing hurling should be on 3rd and 4th teams and playing in those competitions?

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 216 - 12/08/2022 16:04:02    2437196

Replying To Marooned:  "Not sure Armagh beating Kerry once over 20 years ago albeit in a final is a sign that they always stand up to Kerry and get stuck in. By that logic Galway have beaten Kerry in a fair few All-Ireland finals and semi-finals going further back. Ultimately it has little relevance to today."
Exactly. Sure Dublin did not beat Kerry between 1977 and 2011 and would have met in 4 finals as well as several semi finals and quarter finals in that period. Then Dublin started beating Kerry with their greatest ever team. On a semi unrelated issue there is a desire among some to minimise Galway's impact in this year's championship. In a nutshell most gave us no hope this year and then suddenly get worried as our undoubted potential starts to make an impact. Sure the crank from Derry was at in the last few weeks trying to keep himself relevant by spouting that the final was anti climatic. Well history will tell you very few finals are in the melting pot on the 66th minute. It would have been so sweet to give it to the begrudgers/naysayers if we got over the line.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 12/08/2022 16:07:38    2437200

Replying To Greengrass:  "To win an All Ireland Kerry always had to beat the best the other provinces had to offer. They did that. There is no such thing as a handy all Ireland. I believe the new structures in place from next year will sharpen Kerry. They are the best football county in the country. Part of the reason for that is their ability to learn. They will adjust to this new system and they will adapt and overcome. They along with Mayo were Dublin's greatest rivals over the last ten years and they were desperately unlucky more than once against Dublin. David Gough's shocking decision not to award Peter Crowley a free in the 2016 All Ireland semi final is one example. They kept coming and now once again they are All Ireland champions. Since their first All Ireland title in 1903 they have won at least one All Ireland in every decade. No other football county has managed to do that."
I would agree there is no such thing as a handy All Ireland but I do believe the path to it can have less potential hurdles. Without a change in system the team that beat them in the 2005 and 2008 All Ireland Finals would of been nowhere near those finals, yes they beat the team that came through other provinces over the years, but it could be argued the best team didn't always get through their provinces due to the relentless nature of the competition and them not being allowed any bad days, the chance of being caught was real elsewhere.

The regularity of their All Ireland wins is decreasing and they no longer have the best ever team claim as Dublin transformed themselves in the modern era. No doubt Kerry are a great county and will always evolve, my point is I don't think other counties should be beat before the ball is threw in anymore, the modern systems have shown it's possible to compete with them.

They'll adapt to the new system from 2023 but they'll have to peak at the same time as everyone else and win at least five big championship games to win the All Ireland like every other team.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 12/08/2022 16:08:10    2437201

Replying To 1951andwaiting:  "What's been done at present in c/g is working for underage but obviously not for the adult section of the club, so imo it's something they should address.
Young c/g footballers from u10 to u14 are playing for their 3rd-4th teams at the expense of hurling lads from neighbouring clubs, lads who will never play football after 16/18. Put less emphasise on winning underage and more on developing the young football lads who will go on to play for your senior team."
I'm hearing there's massive drop offs this season at minor and u 19 level at Tuam Stars . Lots of angry parents at the way the club are only interested in A players...
Terrible carry on..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 12/08/2022 17:07:02    2437214

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Mayo no great forwards since 51?Thats some statement! Did you ever hear of J. P. Keane and a fella called Kevin McStay who became a pundit and oozed class. Mayo s problem was not having more than 2 or 3 great forwards at the one time. I have nt seen many better forwards than Ciarán McDonald. Andy Moran and Cillian Ó Connor top forwards and at the moment Ryan Ó Donoghue is a fine forward too."
I said forward line not forward if you took time to read it. Mayo have not produced a forward line since 1951 and their failure to win an All Ireland since then proves it.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 12/08/2022 19:41:19    2437232

Super result for kil clonbere last night. What a response as a club to take down one of the favourites for the championship.

Headfird look like there going to press the self destruct button earlier than last season where there arrogance knew no bounds and was there downfall and not there football pedigree.

Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 80 - 13/08/2022 09:18:56    2437244

Replying To Stripsandbanners:  "Super result for kil clonbere last night. What a response as a club to take down one of the favourites for the championship.

Headfird look like there going to press the self destruct button earlier than last season where there arrogance knew no bounds and was there downfall and not there football pedigree."
If you think Headford were one of the favourites for the championship you clearly haven't been paying attention to what's been going on this year.
About half of last years starting team not available.
Should still have won the game but were never going to contend this year missing so many bodies. They just don't have the numbers. Both themselves and Kilkerrin/Clonberne are miles off being contenders this year.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1233 - 13/08/2022 10:12:21    2437247

Replying To Stripsandbanners:  "Super result for kil clonbere last night. What a response as a club to take down one of the favourites for the championship.

Headfird look like there going to press the self destruct button earlier than last season where there arrogance knew no bounds and was there downfall and not there football pedigree."
Great result for kil/ clonberne last night ,Headford are no where near fav for intermediate they way down the list in my opinion if I was ranking intermediate I'd go
1 Aran Island
2 Dunmore
3 kilconly
4 cortoon
5 st brendans
6 Oranmore
7 glan
8 ml breannacht

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 13/08/2022 10:18:18    2437248

Replying To Kickitout:  "Great result for kil/ clonberne last night ,Headford are no where near fav for intermediate they way down the list in my opinion if I was ranking intermediate I'd go
1 Aran Island
2 Dunmore
3 kilconly
4 cortoon
5 st brendans
6 Oranmore
7 glan
8 ml breannacht"
Aran are usually there or thereabouts most years but I don't think you can make them favourites with no Sean Mulkerrin who is still unavailable as far as I know. Huge player for them obviously.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 13/08/2022 13:44:32    2437278

Your fairly close to the money there kickitout with our neighbours kilconly winning easily along with Aran.

I am very confident our second team Corofin with make the qurter finals and beyond. Where would you put us in the pecking order and who would you drop?

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 430 - 13/08/2022 17:10:34    2437297

Some interesting results in the intermediate championship. A dominant display for St Brendan's over Caltra. Caltra were going well up to this match too so I'd imagine that will be a major setback for them. Breatneachs also beating oranmore well surprised me. That group will be decided in 2 weeks when breatneachs play Brendans. I'd fancy St Brendan's especially after beating Breatneachs last year.

Ros4sam1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 14/08/2022 15:36:44    2437359

Ian Burke going well for Corofin Hope he'll be available for the County If we had him against Kerry a different result perhaps

Brandyh (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 14/08/2022 17:34:44    2437378

After weekend results I think cortoon not a top 8 team I was going on fact they senior last year Oranmore prob not either , looking like Aran , dunmore, kilconly , breannacht,, brendans and Glan ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 14/08/2022 19:21:31    2437400

Replying To Kickitout:  "After weekend results I think cortoon not a top 8 team I was going on fact they senior last year Oranmore prob not either , looking like Aran , dunmore, kilconly , breannacht,, brendans and Glan ,,"
Cortoon on route to junior football..
Ian Burke back is z massive boost but I don't think we'll ever see him in a maroon jersey again

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 14/08/2022 20:53:44    2437423

Any stand out performances in the weekend games?
Johnny Heaney putting in a player of the week shift for me anyway.
We should get a team/player of the week forum going for the Galway club championship, could be some interesting debates.

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 15/08/2022 10:27:39    2437465