Galway Football thread

Replying To minor77:  "As I posted recently re claregalway their underage success are based on players from carnmore turloughmore castlegar and claregalway most of these players will concentrate on hurling once they reach eighteen they also lose players to soccer and rugby"
Patience. In a few years time the best of these underage players will have hit senior - a lot of them are still too young yet. They will lose a few to other sports absolutely but I'd be fairly sure in 4-5 years time they will be in the top few senior teams.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 08/08/2022 17:25:27    2436704

Replying To Yondu:  "Jack O'Connor was ruthless with his changes. Joyce for whatever reason didn't trust his bench throughout the championship. Paul Kelly, Dessie Conneely, Tomo Culhane (not even on the 26 for the last few games) Gallagher, Niall Daly,Eoin Finnerty, Finnian Ó Laoi more than useful players yet only the latter got decent championship game time."
In his book a number of years ago Jack O Connor referred to Galway as Tyrone LIGHT so he was always confident Kerry would beat Galway.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 08/08/2022 17:32:23    2436705

Replying To galwayman2:  "Patience. In a few years time the best of these underage players will have hit senior - a lot of them are still too young yet. They will lose a few to other sports absolutely but I'd be fairly sure in 4-5 years time they will be in the top few senior teams."
Wouldn't want to be waiting for ever..
Claregalway won Minor A in 2017 got to final in 2016. 5/6 years ago and that was when minor was u 18..
Most of them winning teams are 23 now... where are they?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 08/08/2022 18:49:54    2436711

Replying To crafty:  "In his book a number of years ago Jack O Connor referred to Galway as Tyrone LIGHT so he was always confident Kerry would beat Galway."
Jack like most Kerry men are always confident. Didn't read his book can you elaborate further on "light" as the current Galway and Tyrone teams are not light teams.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 08/08/2022 18:54:12    2436713

Replying To minor77:  "As I posted recently re claregalway their underage success are based on players from carnmore turloughmore castlegar and claregalway most of these players will concentrate on hurling once they reach eighteen they also lose players to soccer and rugby"
100% correct minor77, If C/G want to be a success at senior they would be better off coaching football lads who join their club, than having hurling lads playing football. Once they hit 16/18 the hurlers will concentrate on hurling with turlough, Cashel and Canmore and that's the reality and that's fine too.

How many young lads whose first love was football, 8-14-year-olds weren't given a proper opportunity to develop ? Looks like short-term gain by winning underage trophies, when the emphasis should be on developing players for your adult teams, in particular, senior

1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 08/08/2022 20:34:00    2436727

Is m Daly able to play for mm this year?

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 08/08/2022 21:01:18    2436731

Replying To crafty:  "In his book a number of years ago Jack O Connor referred to Galway as Tyrone LIGHT so he was always confident Kerry would beat Galway."
Did he?, I never remember that and it's a kind of strange comment to make. At the time Tyrone were brilliant defensively while having brilliant forwards and midfield while Galway were criticised for not having a defensive structure. As for being confident. If you re not confident of beating a team then no point in being manager. I'm sure Joyce was confident too and rightly so.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 08/08/2022 22:02:51    2436736

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Is m Daly able to play for mm this year?"
Yes. He is coming back from surgery and probably won't be needed at full strength until the knockout stages anyway.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 09/08/2022 09:43:58    2436744

Replying To Mayonman:  "apart from the incumbents anyone putting their hand up with their club performances for game time in the league??

we need to bring through a couple of players every year."
James Egan and Ruairi Lavelle were the 2 best keepers I saw.
I was impressed with Cathal Sweeney for Salthill and Cunnane for Michael's but he must be pushing 30 at this stage.
Peter Cooke obviously but I was also very impressed with Eoghan Kelly, hadn't really seen him before but looks a very natural confident footballer. Other than that Eoin Concannon, Gary Sice and Mike Martin!!

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 364 - 09/08/2022 10:49:49    2436765

Replying To smallfrank:  "James Egan and Ruairi Lavelle were the 2 best keepers I saw.
I was impressed with Cathal Sweeney for Salthill and Cunnane for Michael's but he must be pushing 30 at this stage.
Peter Cooke obviously but I was also very impressed with Eoghan Kelly, hadn't really seen him before but looks a very natural confident footballer. Other than that Eoin Concannon, Gary Sice and Mike Martin!!"
James Egan wasnt in goals for James at the weekend? Don't know why, doesn't look good if you're on a county panel but cant start for your club!

Agree with Lavelle, his kickouts were excellent, didn't put a foot wrong

tribesman123 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 09/08/2022 11:17:41    2436773

Replying To smallfrank:  "James Egan and Ruairi Lavelle were the 2 best keepers I saw.
Peter Cooke obviously but I was also very impressed with Eoghan Kelly, hadn't really seen him before but looks a very natural confident footballer. Other than that Eoin Concannon, Gary Sice and Mike Martin!!"
Hard to be definitive because I wasnt at all the games. But I would be very very very surprised if there was any performance at the weekend better than Damian Comer's.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 09/08/2022 11:27:02    2436776

Replying To Belclare:  "Wouldn't want to be waiting for ever..
Claregalway won Minor A in 2017 got to final in 2016. 5/6 years ago and that was when minor was u 18..
Most of them winning teams are 23 now... where are they?"
Playing other sports

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 09/08/2022 12:11:04    2436784

Replying To Yondu:  "Jack like most Kerry men are always confident. Didn't read his book can you elaborate further on "light" as the current Galway and Tyrone teams are not light teams."
Jack O'Connor would be better off explaining his abysmal failure with Kildare and why he opportunistically left Kildare in the lurch with a year left on his contract to join Kerry whom Peter Keane had brought to the verge of success in order to reap the kudos after minimum effort. I feel sorry for Keane who was treated badly. O'Connor may well come to rue his derogatory comment about Galway. If they meet again in 2023, I know who I'll be putting my bet on. Kerry have been building their team over the last 5 years and their success this year is based on experience of many recent failures. This on the other hand was Galway's young team's first year and Kerry were quite lucky to win due to the indulgence of the referee who gave them a few very questionable decisions, not least the crucial one against John Daly.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 09/08/2022 12:39:52    2436794

Replying To minor77:  "Playing other sports"
They were intermediate then. They are senior now. They won division 2 of league and they were in division 4 a few years ago. That is progress. Someone told me last year was their second minor ever so if that's the case i wouldn't be getting carried away with all underage success. They do lack players in the late 20s 30s bracket though.

Corofin won 9 minors in a row back in 90s and early 2000s - to be fair they used that to backbone them in a serious way.

Good to see competitive games over the weekend and plenty if life in the established clubs yet - miltown etc.

Nogoal (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 09/08/2022 13:03:23    2436801

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Jack O'Connor would be better off explaining his abysmal failure with Kildare and why he opportunistically left Kildare in the lurch with a year left on his contract to join Kerry whom Peter Keane had brought to the verge of success in order to reap the kudos after minimum effort. I feel sorry for Keane who was treated badly. O'Connor may well come to rue his derogatory comment about Galway. If they meet again in 2023, I know who I'll be putting my bet on. Kerry have been building their team over the last 5 years and their success this year is based on experience of many recent failures. This on the other hand was Galway's young team's first year and Kerry were quite lucky to win due to the indulgence of the referee who gave them a few very questionable decisions, not least the crucial one against John Daly."
He led Kildare back to Div 1 and to Leinster final. Peak Jim Gavin wouldn't have done any better with them.

There is no contracts in GAA, managers can come and go as they please and was always going to return to Kerry once that gig became available again. Kerry were not going to win the All-Ireland under Peter Keane they were simply not good enough defensively to do so. Kerry main players are still young and they went on to outscore Galway 13-8 once the older lads Geaney, Moran was subbed off at half time.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 09/08/2022 13:34:46    2436809

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Did he?, I never remember that and it's a kind of strange comment to make. At the time Tyrone were brilliant defensively while having brilliant forwards and midfield while Galway were criticised for not having a defensive structure. As for being confident. If you re not confident of beating a team then no point in being manager. I'm sure Joyce was confident too and rightly so."
Page 91 of Keys to the Kingdom O'Connor says, "Galway were trying to be Tyrone light".

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 09/08/2022 19:34:38    2436874

Replying To crafty:  "Page 91 of Keys to the Kingdom O'Connor says, "Galway were trying to be Tyrone light"."
Ironically enough they turned to Tyrone themselves under Jack this year. And it worked out pretty well for them.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 10/08/2022 11:30:22    2436932

Replying To Yondu:  "He led Kildare back to Div 1 and to Leinster final. Peak Jim Gavin wouldn't have done any better with them.

There is no contracts in GAA, managers can come and go as they please and was always going to return to Kerry once that gig became available again. Kerry were not going to win the All-Ireland under Peter Keane they were simply not good enough defensively to do so. Kerry main players are still young and they went on to outscore Galway 13-8 once the older lads Geaney, Moran was subbed off at half time."
To win this years All Ireland has been a fantastic achievement by Jack O Connor, but Kerry had been knocking on the door over the past three years and only difference this year is they had that 'bit of luck' - everything fell into place for them - Tyrone gone early, Dublin without Con O'Callaghan in the semi-final and then meeting a young inexperienced team in the final. Jack knew that Kerry were ready this year - which is why he left Kildare in the way he did and then convinced the Kerry County Board to replace Peter Keane with himself. Jack is an opportunist. Where was Jack 3-4 years when no one wanted the job - fair play to Peter Keane/Maurice Fitzgerald etc, at least they took on the challenge when no one else was putting themselves forward, dealt with a pandemic that disrupted everyones plans and was only missing that piece of luck needed to win an All-Ireland. Jack being treated as some sort of 'messiah' is laughable in my opinion - have a look at his record with the Kerry U21's and the players from previous years minor teams that were available to him at the time.

Gaillimher (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 10/08/2022 12:36:29    2436947

Replying To crafty:  "Page 91 of Keys to the Kingdom O'Connor says, "Galway were trying to be Tyrone light"."
What era of management is he referring to? We were far from anything like Tyrone during the late 00s and well into the 10s.
Kevin Walsh brought some organisation and a bit of tenacity back to Galway.
We evolved further this year. Whatever Jack O' Connor wrote in a book many years ago has little to do with Galway in 2022.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 10/08/2022 12:50:30    2436950

What era of management is he referring to? We were far from anything like Tyrone during the late 00s and well into the 10s.
Kevin Walsh brought some organisation and a bit of tenacity back to Galway.
We evolved further this year. Whatever Jack O' Connor wrote in a book many years ago has little to do with Galway in 2022.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 10/08/2022 13:11:27    2436953