Galway Hurling thread

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Roll on Sunday"
You waiting for the Munster games instead?

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 20/04/2023 06:43:59    2471884

Replying To katser:  "Good man for making the long journey West, your expecting a heavy beating but it wouldn't surprise you if Wexford win? It can't be both...only one or the other!
Yes Wexford can raise their game for the big guns but I'm expecting a big performance from Galway.....normally when things are quiet and no talk of Galway around the place means they are going to hammer some one!
Wonder will the Wexford bus stop in Vinegar Hill Saturday morning on their way?"
He did explain what he said, to be fair. Wexford have pulled unexpected results out of the bag before.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 20/04/2023 06:45:32    2471885

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "You waiting for the Munster games instead?"
Proper hurling!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2118 - 20/04/2023 11:56:34    2471933

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Proper hurling!"
If Munster is actually competitive this year it will be the 1st time in the Round Robin era!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14247 - 20/04/2023 12:52:34    2471951

Replying To Viking66:  "If Munster is actually competitive this year it will be the 1st time in the Round Robin era!"
All teams still had a chance going into last game last year. But given Tipp didnt win a game I take your point!

Lets not start provincial bashing again this year tho!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/04/2023 14:01:19    2471971

Replying To tiobraid:  "All teams still had a chance going into last game last year. But given Tipp didnt win a game I take your point!

Lets not start provincial bashing again this year tho!"
Ok Tiobraid I should know better than answering Mr Young in Tokyo, Florida or wherever at this stage!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14247 - 20/04/2023 14:52:03    2471980

I suppose Evan Niland will be taking the frees for Galway or has anyone heard different?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 21/04/2023 20:17:59    2472276

Replying To Trump2020:  "I suppose Evan Niland will be taking the frees for Galway or has anyone heard different?"
Doubt he'd be starting if he wasn't, and very much doubt he'd be named at half forward, a small lad like him.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1968 - 22/04/2023 11:35:55    2472349

Replying To Trump2020:  "I suppose Evan Niland will be taking the frees for Galway or has anyone heard different?"
We have two brilliant free takers in Conor and Evan, so scoring frees shouldn't be a problem.
He has gone for the old fashioned big physical ball winners in the half forward line and of course big physical half back line...like the old days when your told half back line win their puck outs and half forward line win our puck outs!
Big chance now for K Cooney to show us what he can do in the half forward line...also our two Corner Backs need to be tight and not sloppy or loose.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2481 - 22/04/2023 11:49:34    2472357

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Doubt he'd be starting if he wasn't, and very much doubt he'd be named at half forward, a small lad like him."
Yeah that's what I figured. Hopefully he's faster than the lad marking him. lol.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 22/04/2023 13:43:27    2472382

Replying To katser:  "We have two brilliant free takers in Conor and Evan, so scoring frees shouldn't be a problem.
He has gone for the old fashioned big physical ball winners in the half forward line and of course big physical half back line...like the old days when your told half back line win their puck outs and half forward line win our puck outs!
Big chance now for K Cooney to show us what he can do in the half forward line...also our two Corner Backs need to be tight and not sloppy or loose."
It'll be interesting to see how it all pans out. We have a decent bench if some of the starters can't keep up. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 22/04/2023 13:44:57    2472383

Congratulations to the Galway Hurlers. Nice win after falling behind early by 2 goals. Great match for Evan Niland who I had concerns about. Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 22/04/2023 18:16:58    2472465

Grand to get the win albeit Wexford are a poor outfit. Outside of the first five minutes, the rest of the game was 0-23 to 0-12. Cathal and Fintan both returned in good shape and good to see Evan getting stuck in with his tackling which is a bonus outside of his scoring. Tougher tests lie ahead with Kilkenny next week and even Dublin and Antrim will pose more of a threat than Wexford.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 22/04/2023 18:30:20    2472470

Nothing to get excited about We won as expected!
Sloppy start giving away two early hamless goals....wonder who do you blame for those goals!!! Had alot of wides and not creating any goal chances We could have won by 14 or 15pts!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2481 - 22/04/2023 19:36:56    2472502

Handy enough win in the end but Wexford were very poor. Next week in Nowlan Park will be a good test to see where we are really at. It was great to see Niland in such lethal form - that display should give him a lot of confidence.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1016 - 22/04/2023 19:46:47    2472506

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Looking for physicality, and replacing GMac with Darren Morrissey..............interesting!!!"
Found it more interesting he managed to pick a team without a free taker!

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 22/04/2023 19:49:35    2472507

Replying To galway19:  "Grand to get the win albeit Wexford are a poor outfit. Outside of the first five minutes, the rest of the game was 0-23 to 0-12. Cathal and Fintan both returned in good shape and good to see Evan getting stuck in with his tackling which is a bonus outside of his scoring. Tougher tests lie ahead with Kilkenny next week and even Dublin and Antrim will pose more of a threat than Wexford."
Dublin are used to beating ye in fairness

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3269 - 22/04/2023 20:06:57    2472516

Replying To katser:  "Nothing to get excited about We won as expected!
Sloppy start giving away two early hamless goals....wonder who do you blame for those goals!!! Had alot of wides and not creating any goal chances We could have won by 14 or 15pts!"
Lots of room for improvement but still they crawled out of the early hole they dug for themselves and they were far superior in the second half. Kilkenny will be a different animal I'd say.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 22/04/2023 21:21:47    2472541

Well done to your team lads. Kids had a great time up there! Hopefully see you again in a Leinster final!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14247 - 22/04/2023 22:17:39    2472571

Replying To Trump2020:  "Lots of room for improvement but still they crawled out of the early hole they dug for themselves and they were far superior in the second half. Kilkenny will be a different animal I'd say."
Even after the bad start I felt 100% confident that We would still win handy.
KK are in transition but still the only test We will get in this Leinster Championship!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2481 - 22/04/2023 22:42:46    2472583