Galway Hurling thread

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "agree with most of this. Niland had a great game and deserves all the praise coming his way. Well done. however, I hope I am wrong on this but I feel its the worst outcome. He has now cemented his place in the team for the year after saturday, where he faced a pretty useless wexford side. His lack of physically wasnt an issue at all, and it wont be against the lesser teams. Problem is when we play KK Lim Tip or Cork and he will be found out and it will be knockout and too late... I do hope I am wrong but small lads rarely win all irelands for ya especially in the past few years. but there is always the chance he could be a Joe Deane or Podge Collins so hopefully I am wrong on this."
How insulting to say " against a pretty useless Wexford team" Fact is if we scored from the penalty and if Jack O'connors certain point was given there would have been only 2 points in it at the finish. Yes Galway were the better team but we were short 2 of our best players in Chin and Reck at centre back.
We certainly didn't play well but with a full deck to pick from I feel we will finish in the top 3. Galway on the other hand never threatened our goall . So God help you when you meet the munster boys if you can't score a goal against a "useless team like Wexford" ( to quote your own nasty words)

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 24/04/2023 12:43:47    2473219

Replying To tommy k:  "Limerick's Peter Casey is no giant and KK's Eddie Brennan was no giant either but they have / had strength and pace which Niland can work on as time is on his side."
'You can't coach pace', Tommy. You either have it, or you haven't.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 24/04/2023 13:53:56    2473258

Replying To Albara:  "Galway v Dublin is being played in Parnell Park.
Galways graveyard"
Its in Croke Park

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 24/04/2023 14:10:59    2473268

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "'You can't coach pace', Tommy. You either have it, or you haven't."
I got quicker with age and weight your holiness! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 24/04/2023 14:19:32    2473272

Replying To tommy k:  "I got quicker with age and weight your holiness! lol"
Seriously whatever about being small which he undoubtedly is I don't think there is any talk about Niland being particularly "slow" anyway as anytime I have seen him he has a good dash of pace particularly in making space for himself and he has also shown that with Clarinbridge and NUIG / UG over the last few years also. Joe Deane of Cork was not as quick as Kevin Broderick of Galway (both small players in the late 90's / early 00's) over a long distance solo run but he could swerve and move to make space for himself / take a score and I think Niland can do that also.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 24/04/2023 14:33:40    2473285

Congratulations to the Galway panel, Henry and management on a job well done yesterday against Wexford. Please lay off all the negative stuff about Evan Niland and focus instead on his great skills, character and attributes. 7 points from play and 0-13 in total, underlines his great hurling abilities. The lad is and will continue to be, well able to handle himself physically on the pitch. Please stay positive and give encouragement to the team instead of nit-picking all the time. It can be very tiresome.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 24/04/2023 14:38:38    2473289

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Congratulations to the Galway panel, Henry and management on a job well done yesterday against Wexford. Please lay off all the negative stuff about Evan Niland and focus instead on his great skills, character and attributes. 7 points from play and 0-13 in total, underlines his great hurling abilities. The lad is and will continue to be, well able to handle himself physically on the pitch. Please stay positive and give encouragement to the team instead of nit-picking all the time. It can be very tiresome."
stay positive fine but weve beaten wexford. dont get carried away lad. if Niland scores 7 points from play against KK and Galway win then il be a lot more satisfied...

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 441 - 24/04/2023 14:59:33    2473305

Replying To Albara:  "Galway v Dublin is being played in Parnell Park.
Galways graveyard"
No shortage of undertakers togged in black anyway, 'looking after' the Galway hurlers over the years.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 24/04/2023 15:01:48    2473306

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "stay positive fine but weve beaten wexford. dont get carried away lad. if Niland scores 7 points from play against KK and Galway win then il be a lot more satisfied..."
Cop on sparrow, even Christy Ring didn't get 7 from play every time he hurled. Or maybe he did, for all I know, being before my time.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 24/04/2023 16:05:27    2473337

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Congratulations to the Galway panel, Henry and management on a job well done yesterday against Wexford. Please lay off all the negative stuff about Evan Niland and focus instead on his great skills, character and attributes. 7 points from play and 0-13 in total, underlines his great hurling abilities. The lad is and will continue to be, well able to handle himself physically on the pitch. Please stay positive and give encouragement to the team instead of nit-picking all the time. It can be very tiresome."
Lads, every chance that Galway will win Leinster as there is no Hurling in Leinster. Wexford are awful, so are Dublin, Antrim, So Really it will be a Galway Kilkenny Leinster final and unless Shefflin ***** himself like he did last year Galway will win Leinster.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 85 - 24/04/2023 16:15:32    2473345

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "No shortage of undertakers togged in black anyway, 'looking after' the Galway hurlers over the years."
Your most Inspirational Holiness, Hegarty got seven in an All Ireland Final and then went to score more in each of the next two Finals and every single score was from play.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4471 - 24/04/2023 16:27:26    2473353

Replying To tommy k:  "Seriously whatever about being small which he undoubtedly is I don't think there is any talk about Niland being particularly "slow" anyway as anytime I have seen him he has a good dash of pace particularly in making space for himself and he has also shown that with Clarinbridge and NUIG / UG over the last few years also. Joe Deane of Cork was not as quick as Kevin Broderick of Galway (both small players in the late 90's / early 00's) over a long distance solo run but he could swerve and move to make space for himself / take a score and I think Niland can do that also."
You can add Peter Casey to the above list and he is no speed merchant, but the nature of the delivery of the ball coming in makes a big difference. Niland definitely looks very promising.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4471 - 24/04/2023 16:32:38    2473359

Replying To tommy k:  "Limerick's Peter Casey is no giant and KK's Eddie Brennan was no giant either but they have / had strength and pace which Niland can work on as time is on his side."
Eddie Brennan is not a small man, and as for Casey, there wouldn't be much of a difference between him and Niland in terms of pace or strength. If either of them hit you, you'd stay hit. Niland has bulked up considerably in recent years, a comparison between now and say 2019 would probably be quite telling.

It seems nobody will be happy until every one of our team is 6'6 and chews barbed wire for dessert, though of course then the lament at the loss of the 'nippy corner forward' will begin.

Evan Niland is an excellent hurler and an exceptional free taker. Personally if he never hit a ball in open play he's worth having for his dead ball ability. But even when he demonstrably adds huge value in open play, getting scores when we were rocking and fumbling to steady the ship, the knockers are still there.

I don't see why he has anything to prove to anyone.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 24/04/2023 17:28:59    2473399

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Eddie Brennan is not a small man, and as for Casey, there wouldn't be much of a difference between him and Niland in terms of pace or strength. If either of them hit you, you'd stay hit. Niland has bulked up considerably in recent years, a comparison between now and say 2019 would probably be quite telling.

It seems nobody will be happy until every one of our team is 6'6 and chews barbed wire for dessert, though of course then the lament at the loss of the 'nippy corner forward' will begin.

Evan Niland is an excellent hurler and an exceptional free taker. Personally if he never hit a ball in open play he's worth having for his dead ball ability. But even when he demonstrably adds huge value in open play, getting scores when we were rocking and fumbling to steady the ship, the knockers are still there.

I don't see why he has anything to prove to anyone."
I know this may surprise you stool but I agree with most of that apart from saying Eddie Brennan is not a small man - last time I checked he is what would be considered "small".

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 24/04/2023 18:31:11    2473429

Replying To Oldtourman:  "You can add Peter Casey to the above list and he is no speed merchant, but the nature of the delivery of the ball coming in makes a big difference. Niland definitely looks very promising."
Yes I mentioned Peter Casey and Eddie Brennan earlier with similar attributes and I agree the correct ball in is what it is all about as all these intercounty hurlers are well able to score with the right type of service. Unfortunately for Galway forwards they don't get anywhere near the service that Limerick forwards get over the last number of years and I know Limerick have almost perfected that type of systematic approach.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 24/04/2023 18:40:58    2473433

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Lads, every chance that Galway will win Leinster as there is no Hurling in Leinster. Wexford are awful, so are Dublin, Antrim, So Really it will be a Galway Kilkenny Leinster final and unless Shefflin ***** himself like he did last year Galway will win Leinster."
If we are awful how did we beat you in a game that mightve seen ye knocked out of the AI series before it even started last year? If the Dubs had got a point in their last round robin game even Kerry and Antrim would've got closer to Liam than you!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14247 - 24/04/2023 19:18:19    2473451

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Eddie Brennan is not a small man, and as for Casey, there wouldn't be much of a difference between him and Niland in terms of pace or strength. If either of them hit you, you'd stay hit. Niland has bulked up considerably in recent years, a comparison between now and say 2019 would probably be quite telling.

I don't see why he has anything to prove to anyone."
No satisfying people on these forums SP. Most if not all wouldn't even be able to catch him, let alone take the ball off him if they did.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14247 - 24/04/2023 20:34:16    2473473

Replying To Viking66:  "If we are awful how did we beat you in a game that mightve seen ye knocked out of the AI series before it even started last year? If the Dubs had got a point in their last round robin game even Kerry and Antrim would've got closer to Liam than you!"
What game was that Viking? Wasn't it a draw last year in Wexford when the ref decided that Conor Cooney was too long in taking a free near the end even though it was shown in other games e.g. Gillane for Limerick that their freetakers were taking even longer?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 24/04/2023 21:45:24    2473495

Replying To Viking66:  "If we are awful how did we beat you in a game that mightve seen ye knocked out of the AI series before it even started last year? If the Dubs had got a point in their last round robin game even Kerry and Antrim would've got closer to Liam than you!"
All these teams are only as good as their last match. Wexford could go on a run and make everyone forget their last match. Same as any other county.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 24/04/2023 22:39:03    2473513

Replying To tommy k:  "I know this may surprise you stool but I agree with most of that apart from saying Eddie Brennan is not a small man - last time I checked he is what would be considered "small"."
Eddie Brennan is 5'11, so if you think that's 'small' it's all the one, really.

You must be towering over us all. I'm 5'11, and I've been called plenty of things in my life, but 'small' would be a new one :)

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 24/04/2023 22:45:00    2473516