2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "One other point. Wexford were by a long long way the worst supported team in Thurles yesterday. What has happened to the "Wexford support"? There was not 5k from Wexford.
No offence, but Wexford supporters seem to want to support the team once they get to Croke Park when 50k bandwagon arrive en masse. In the group stage against Dublin, the Wexford support was really bad.
I don't buy the "Saturday doesn't suit". Thurles is a comparable distance from Galway and Clare yet there was 15k+ from Clare and similar from Cork.
This was an All-Ireland quarter final at the end of the day. If you don't support them now, when do you?
Wexford need to get out and support this team. People said "we won't drive to Cork" but then did not do it to Thurles.
I always backed the notion of 10k support from each county but Wexford had not half of that yesterday.
Never underestimate the value of support. It can and often is the difference between winning and losing. It won't do hurling promotion in the county any good sitting at home. Clubs need to stand up and bring buses of children, co. board should be promoting buses, etc. It need to become a crusade which it was in the 90's as I well remember those huge Wexford crowds v everyne."
Clubs only got 50 stand tickets, agaon you look after officials, players, our older club members, there's not much left to bring bus loads of children, you can't bring children onto the terrace.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 19/06/2022 11:40:13    2426010

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "A magnificent day in Thurles and as a neutral, or as neutral as you can be with Wexford children shouting all round you, it was great entertainment.
I don't want to kick any player when they are down, the best hurling is always done on the ditch. They died with their boots on, or off in some instances. You win as a team, and lose as one.
A few points though, 14 points won't win inter county games. Wexford need to find 2-3 new forwards still. Oisin Foley has been the find of the year for me, he has justified how wronged he was by Davy for me.
Wexford's game is so high intensity, it is difficult to do for 70 minutes in particular in the wide open spaces in Thurles or Croke Park. Once Clare's half back line dropped, and sat in front of their full, there was only 1 winner for me.
But Wexford don't hurl for 70 minutes and that is the big problem with the team. Why is that? Is their S&C good enough? Are they fit enough? Are they worn out after Davy? No easy answers but it is an 80 minute and 20 man game now and Wexford just can't sustain it.
I can't stop thinking they are still 3-4 top players and especially subs away from the top teams. Wexford need to get the S&C and hurling of the u20 and minor teams up to the level of the top counties. Its time for a few new faces next year and for supporters not to lose their faeces over league games, win lose or draw take them for the challenge games they are.
But make no bones of it, Dublin will be gunning for that 3rd place with a new manager next year. Away trips to the Nell and Salthill, you have been warned! :)"
Your point about depth players would apply even more to Dublin I feel. You need to keep your best hurlers hurling and away from the big ball!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 12:20:43    2426023

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "One other point. Wexford were by a long long way the worst supported team in Thurles yesterday. What has happened to the "Wexford support"? There was not 5k from Wexford.
No offence, but Wexford supporters seem to want to support the team once they get to Croke Park when 50k bandwagon arrive en masse. In the group stage against Dublin, the Wexford support was really bad.
I don't buy the "Saturday doesn't suit". Thurles is a comparable distance from Galway and Clare yet there was 15k+ from Clare and similar from Cork.
This was an All-Ireland quarter final at the end of the day. If you don't support them now, when do you?
Wexford need to get out and support this team. People said "we won't drive to Cork" but then did not do it to Thurles.
I always backed the notion of 10k support from each county but Wexford had not half of that yesterday.
Never underestimate the value of support. It can and often is the difference between winning and losing. It won't do hurling promotion in the county any good sitting at home. Clubs need to stand up and bring buses of children, co. board should be promoting buses, etc. It need to become a crusade which it was in the 90's as I well remember those huge Wexford crowds v everyne."
Clares support defo helped them. Wasn't many Galway fans there either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 12:21:42    2426026

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "We did lose to a good team Viking. They've proved that throughout the championship but I have to say the sh*te you have to listen to and read about them not hurling well and hangover from Munster championship etc is sickening. As if they have a divine right to walk over Wexford yesterday. The reality is we didn't let them do their thing for 60 mins and were probably the better team to that point. Then injuries and bad goal killed us but good luck to Clare. They took advantage and powered on and that's what good teams do.
One thing I do know is we are able to mix it with anyone and that's what I'll take from this year
Thanks lads for your efforts . Looking forward to the club championships now"
Spot on Hurlingbuzz.
We are a ball winning forward more, and a few pints less, away from a good challenge at Intermediate. And maybe Oulart and Fethard not being there also!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 12:24:35    2426027

Replying To zinny:  "The one thing I will say about Fanning and its not specific to him, is that it is the only playing position that comes under as much scrutiny as a referee does. There is a huge amount of mental pressure when playing in goal, one mistake and it could cost a game and that's why there is no queue of players in any club to take on that position. It is in my view the most difficult place to play on the field. I think one of his puckout when straight to a Clare player but so did one from Liam Ryan I think and both resulted in points. There were so many mistakes from players outfield however they get looked over as they get an opportunity to prove themselves after it. Go through the game and see how many mistakes from outfield players led to scores by Clare - the goal came off a free because Devitt took the ball in way to far and into traffic.
The question should be is he the best in the county? perhaps in the coming county championship we will see.
As I said not a defense of Fanning but it wasn't his fault we lost and the question should be who else is better in the county if not him."
True Zinny. And if you watch every keepers puckouts from here on, the 2 SFs and the Final, there will be plenty of mistakes made and stray puckouts. If a forward misplaces a ball or drops it it results in a clearance and noone remembers . Different for a back and very different for a keeper. And who in their right mind would be a ref?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 12:28:14    2426029

Replying To beano:  "Fanning: don't want to single him out, but it was plain to see.

S.Reck: quietly excellent, game changed when he went off.

Ryan: Duggan did very little from play so won his battle.

Donohoe: no glaring mistakes, has improved massively this year.

P.Foley: like all the backs, can't be faulted.

D.Reck: not as All-Star worthy this time, but still shut out his man until going off.

O'Hanlon: thought he was having a hoor of a game till the last 10 mins. Yellow card inhibited him tackling.

Mogie: ran all day but didn't contribute too much offensively.

Dee: done a lot of untold donkey work, going off hurt us as well.

Jacko: great goal, faded into obscurity thereafter.

Dwyer: I thought he was lively, posed questions to Clare's defence.

O. Foley: two excellent points and good in the air. A positive for the end of season review.

Mac:

Chin: a warrior. If Mac had half his engine, we'd be genuine contenders.

Rory: looked to motoring well before he went off. Huge loss thereafter. The frequency of his injuries is a concern long term.

So basically, our backs were excellent, but we could have got more from the forwards. Our two second half goals probably counteracted their one. 2019's loss is still harder to stomach."
Thought Jacko did alot of chasing and hurrying. Mac too. And I'm normally hard on both for temperament and work rate. Still havent watched the 2nd half back. I'll get to it this afternoon maybe.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 12:30:37    2426031

Replying To WEX98:  "Clubs only got 50 stand tickets, agaon you look after officials, players, our older club members, there's not much left to bring bus loads of children, you can't bring children onto the terrace."
If you rang the GAA office this week there was the world of tickets I heard. They were on general sale all week. No excuse.
Wexford people need to support the team better, the effort going in to hurling in the county is massive but it needs a culture of support, something which I always say Dublin lack too BTW. But Wexford is a hurling county and must do better than the few thousand loyal people who travelled yesterday and would probably be gazumped by the bandwagon if they got to a final.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 19/06/2022 13:27:22    2426050

Replying To Viking66:  "Your point about depth players would apply even more to Dublin I feel. You need to keep your best hurlers hurling and away from the big ball!"
It would for deffo Viking. But a new manager might focus some minds.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 19/06/2022 13:28:32    2426052

Replying To Viking66:  "Thought Jacko did alot of chasing and hurrying. Mac too. And I'm normally hard on both for temperament and work rate. Still havent watched the 2nd half back. I'll get to it this afternoon maybe."
They did but that workrate dropped significantly in the second half.
Mac needs to work on his speed and agility I feel. Standing pulling and dragging is a full backs game.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 19/06/2022 13:30:48    2426054

Just thinking there again this morning the support was absolutely pathetic. You could barely hear us in the second half. Nobody travelled and all the talk on Facebook and the like all week you'd swear we were going to take over thurles.

That crowd was absolutely huge for Clare in the dying stages yesterday and any Wexford man or woman who stayed at home out of choice has zero right to criticize this team.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 19/06/2022 13:45:31    2426060

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "They did but that workrate dropped significantly in the second half.
Mac needs to work on his speed and agility I feel. Standing pulling and dragging is a full backs game."
Haven't watched the 2nd half back yet but I was sitting right beside the pitch around the 45 in the front row of the old stand at the town end we were attacking and even commented to a Clare lad behind me that I was surprised at Mac for closing down a Clare lad right in front of us. Jacko likewise seemed to do alot of chasing. More than usual. I'll watch it on telly this afternoon. Hectic here with it being fathers day and 4 young children!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 13:54:52    2426063

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "It would for deffo Viking. But a new manager might focus some minds."
Beginning to think it will take more than just a new manager. If you look at the current Dublin team they are man for man a little behind Dalys team. Not much but it's these fine margins. The only criticism I'd have of Matty if I was a Dub this year would be he didn't try a few more different players during the Walsh Cup and especially the League.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 13:59:01    2426064

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Just thinking there again this morning the support was absolutely pathetic. You could barely hear us in the second half. Nobody travelled and all the talk on Facebook and the like all week you'd swear we were going to take over thurles.

That crowd was absolutely huge for Clare in the dying stages yesterday and any Wexford man or woman who stayed at home out of choice has zero right to criticize this team."
Can't argue with that Chincanhurl. I saw that Hurlorhurley managed to post during the game when no-one around me had any Internet coverage. Maybe he was on the terrace? I'd say 5k of us would be an optimistic guess.
Hopefully we can get a little more consistent in next year's championship and encourage some of the waverers back. Our no shows against Galway and Dublin and Westmeath wouldn't have encouraged too many to make the 2 or 2 1/2 hour trip to Thurles. And even bringing most of the lunch, snacks and some drinks etc with us from home the day cost me over 200 euros in tickets, diesel and McDonald's for the kids in Kilkenny on the way home.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 14:08:20    2426066

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Just thinking there again this morning the support was absolutely pathetic. You could barely hear us in the second half. Nobody travelled and all the talk on Facebook and the like all week you'd swear we were going to take over thurles.

That crowd was absolutely huge for Clare in the dying stages yesterday and any Wexford man or woman who stayed at home out of choice has zero right to criticize this team."
I can only say that myself and the kids were there as we were all year.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 19/06/2022 14:09:46    2426067

Very disappointing Wexford crowd . Was much smaller than Cork and Clare . Was very quiet even when we were 6 points up

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 19/06/2022 14:51:25    2426078

Replying To WEX98:  "Clubs only got 50 stand tickets, agaon you look after officials, players, our older club members, there's not much left to bring bus loads of children, you can't bring children onto the terrace."
The way the Gaa distribute tickets is a joke at the minute . It would have been very difficult to organise a bus of kids to go to Thurles on Saturday unless they are old enough to be able to stand and see the game behind the goal

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 19/06/2022 14:59:09    2426080

Replying To Yellow:  "4 teams left now

We have played 3 in this year's championship

Galway drew with them
In championship

Kilkenny beat them in championship

Clare came very close to beating them in championship. I feel we lost it through terrible injuries at terrible times.

Can we finally believe we are at the top table now please??"
Doesn't work that way I'm afraid we also drew with westmeath does that mean we are at the bottom of the pile no it just shows how inconsistent we are mainly due to a lack of depth on the bench I'm afraid same old story I'm afraid.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 218 - 19/06/2022 15:06:29    2426081

Replying To Samson55:  "Yes Fanning made his customary mistake which proved very costly. Rory's loss was crippling I'm sure he would have got vital scores if he was on the pitch.
Can't agree that the best team lost.Clare were
almost totally dominant for the last 20 minutes and really that's when it matters.
We were unlucky with the two Recks going off injured. Tony Kelly went to town on us in Shane's absence.
I believe Chin got a hamstring injury in the first half. So we really played very well considering the casualties.
The Saturday game highlighted two Wexford goals and said neither should be allowed as they were both square balls.
We can be proud of the team and gave Clare plenty of problems. We just couldn't keep up the intensity having been 6 points up.
Side note- Hard to listen to the Tv panel after the game.They never gave wexford any credit whatsoever. Yes Clare won and good luck to them but i felt Joe Canning Davy and Anna Geary were all about Clare and it was like we weren't there at all."
You like many other of our so called supporters stayed at home yesterday . The Clare roar was huge when they got on top . Our support was pathetic and our lads deserved better from hurling people in the county

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 19/06/2022 15:30:45    2426084

When the chips were down this year Wexford got themselves into the All-Ireland serious and the criticism of the Westmeath game was doing a discredit to Westmeath. Things did not go according to plan yesterday with injuries and losing key players at key times. Rory a huge loss and I believe he would have a hand in a few more scores. Either himself or team scores. The boys in defence getting hurt was the queue for Clare to take over. These are facts not excuses. You also have to give credit to Clare they took the fight to Wexford with gusto when in trouble.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/06/2022 15:34:27    2426086

Replying To Viking66:  "Can't argue with that Chincanhurl. I saw that Hurlorhurley managed to post during the game when no-one around me had any Internet coverage. Maybe he was on the terrace? I'd say 5k of us would be an optimistic guess.
Hopefully we can get a little more consistent in next year's championship and encourage some of the waverers back. Our no shows against Galway and Dublin and Westmeath wouldn't have encouraged too many to make the 2 or 2 1/2 hour trip to Thurles. And even bringing most of the lunch, snacks and some drinks etc with us from home the day cost me over 200 euros in tickets, diesel and McDonald's for the kids in Kilkenny on the way home."
Think you hit the nail on the head, not a cheap day out.

The roars of the Clare crowd when they starting making the comeback drove their team on something serious.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 716 - 19/06/2022 15:37:52    2426089