Anyone going to call out the great tony Kelly for pulling on reck across the nuts. That's what led him to going off. Bet that won't be seen cos he's the golden child Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 18/06/2022 21:57:36 2425944 Link 2 |
Shane O'Donnell was excellent when he was needed. Really stood up and showed massive leadership. Rory O'Connor a savage loss for Wexford, he could of got them over the line today I feel. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 842 - 18/06/2022 22:01:16 2425945 Link 0 |
Sad to see
twbm (Clare) - Posts: 23 - 19/06/2022 07:33:04 2425949 Link 1 |
SOD played very well towards the end but Damien Reck wasn't right and eventually went off injured and he had kept SOD pretty quiet without hitting the heights he reached all through the championship. Rory was a big loss. TK s influence increased hugely after Shane Reck went off. True we missed the running of ROC in those last 10 minutes also. And the 3 or 4 points he'd usually get and the space he makes for other players. It is what it is. We lost to a good team . We have plenty to be positive about looking forward to next year. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14233 - 19/06/2022 07:58:43 2425952 Link 0 |
On reflection losing the two recks which allowed Kelly and o Donnell come into the game, losing Rory after ten minutes and chin having to play the whole second half stuck to the goal, with all that it was always going to be difficult. Fair play to the lads though they played brilliantly and I'm really looking forward to next year. After the tipp loss in '19 I was devastated for a long time but after yesterday I'm hopeful of what's to come. Up wexford. ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 19/06/2022 08:44:58 2425958 Link 0 |
Yep 100% mentioned here earlier he's an average keeper and was told no no, he's one of the best in the country!!! Go figure! An entire championship without a save of note, how many dropped balls now have ended in goals for the opposition? 3, 4?. Missed penalties at clutch times in clutch games, another game with terrible puck outs, hell only for the heroics of Reck he would have cost us in the KK game also. This is where we differ from other counties to our detriment imho, we need to be ruthless, if your not performing then someone else gets a go, don't perform in Wexford and we get excuses and the "ah shurs" As for the game yep momentum is crucial, we didn't have the bench like Clare did but we're still crucially winning when Fanning drops the ball and makes it a 2 point game, 2 points is a game changer at that stage, even them drawing level then means an entirely different game. Rory a huge loss but we coped which to me is a positive, dare I say it also the game only 7 days ago took its toll, should we have been more expirimental in that game? Possibly but can see where Egan was coming from going strong considering what happened in Westmeath, how did we need up only drawing in westemeath, oh yeah Clare type goal by 2 that day. Sickening, all Ireland semi against a team we had already beat, what an opportunity lost. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1435 - 19/06/2022 08:47:00 2425959 Link 0 |
Emotion talking to be honest. I've watched it back since and feel as if we've learned nothing from 19. I said it at ten minutes. For all the hurling we'd done and how dominant we were we didn't have enough on the board. Thought the panel dissecting the wexford goals was pathetic. Chin was wrestled into the square in a clear fowl. The free was also a penalty later on but it doesn't matter because we'd have missed it. I don't need to talk about the goal we conceded. It's time for a change and that's it. Rory and the recks were a huge loss. They only got on top when Shane had to go off, not to mention dee who was everywhere. A very good 60 minute performance but that's not enough. I'd have taken this on Easter Sunday.. But having watched yesterday, we've left it behind again. For Egans first year we'd have to be fairly happy. Plenty to work on, but we've found a couple of players with more of the under 20 lads to come. Making good decisions in key moments and we could already be waiting for them in a semi final. Best of luck to Clare. I wouldn't begrudge them. As for us, with some minor improvements there's absolutely no reason we can't win leinster. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3262 - 19/06/2022 08:50:45 2425961 Link 0 |
A magnificent day in Thurles and as a neutral, or as neutral as you can be with Wexford children shouting all round you, it was great entertainment. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1267 - 19/06/2022 09:19:21 2425969 Link 0 |
Not impressed with the Clare fans today, booing Lee Chin on the frees is not nice to hear. We didnt boo their freetaker. logger (Wexford) - Posts: 299 - 19/06/2022 09:24:36 2425970 Link 1 |
One other point. Wexford were by a long long way the worst supported team in Thurles yesterday. What has happened to the "Wexford support"? There was not 5k from Wexford. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1267 - 19/06/2022 09:31:35 2425971 Link 0 |
Maybe the Sunday game might lynch him tonight
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2106 - 19/06/2022 09:45:08 2425973 Link 0 |
And Shane Reck was only back from injury, himself and Damien are going to be a huge part of this Wexford team going forward. We need to get lads that are going to make an impact off the bench like Shanagher, Meehan etc did for Clare. With the high octane game Wexford play, you can't have subs coming on and making no impact on the match, it sucks the life out of a team in the final 15mins. Same thing happened in 2019, Wexford were flying it against Tipp but Wexford subs made no impact and Tipps subs shot the lights out! Wexford are going in the right direction under Darragh Egan I feel. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 842 - 19/06/2022 10:00:07 2425977 Link 0 |
Didn't see it, but Michael Duignan mentioned a Wexford player struck off the ball........I'm sure it's well buried after The Sunday Game's Munster Final performance.
WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 474 - 19/06/2022 10:02:11 2425978 Link 1 |
We did lose to a good team Viking. They've proved that throughout the championship but I have to say the sh*te you have to listen to and read about them not hurling well and hangover from Munster championship etc is sickening. As if they have a divine right to walk over Wexford yesterday. The reality is we didn't let them do their thing for 60 mins and were probably the better team to that point. Then injuries and bad goal killed us but good luck to Clare. They took advantage and powered on and that's what good teams do. One thing I do know is we are able to mix it with anyone and that's what I'll take from this year Thanks lads for your efforts . Looking forward to the club championships now HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 528 - 19/06/2022 10:16:05 2425987 Link 1 |
I don't think he's 1 of the best. But would Quilligan be any better for example? Badly at fault for Fannings goal. Only found this out on the Clare Hurlers Forum the only other forum I post on. I thought it took a touch I haven't watched the 2nd half back yet. Bottom line is who do we have who is better right now? I do think it's time to look. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14233 - 19/06/2022 10:27:14 2425993 Link 0 |
I very much doubt it and if they do someone will find a way out of it later in the week! I didn't see the incident but TK doesn't need to be at that sort of thing as he answers everyone with his hurling ability.
bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 74 - 19/06/2022 10:28:27 2425994 Link 0 |
The one thing I will say about Fanning and its not specific to him, is that it is the only playing position that comes under as much scrutiny as a referee does. There is a huge amount of mental pressure when playing in goal, one mistake and it could cost a game and that's why there is no queue of players in any club to take on that position. It is in my view the most difficult place to play on the field. I think one of his puckout when straight to a Clare player but so did one from Liam Ryan I think and both resulted in points. There were so many mistakes from players outfield however they get looked over as they get an opportunity to prove themselves after it. Go through the game and see how many mistakes from outfield players led to scores by Clare - the goal came off a free because Devitt took the ball in way to far and into traffic. The question should be is he the best in the county? perhaps in the coming county championship we will see. As I said not a defense of Fanning but it wasn't his fault we lost and the question should be who else is better in the county if not him. zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1905 - 19/06/2022 10:42:14 2425999 Link 0 |
I have tried to post a few times already sense yesterday but they haven't been allowed, don't know why there was nothing bad in any of it. However, I try again, the Sunday game yesterday was a complete and utter farce, I never seen such one sided talk about one team in my life. They should be ashamed of themselves, it was like I was watching clare local station. hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1029 - 19/06/2022 10:53:47 2426004 Link 0 |
Fanning: don't want to single him out, but it was plain to see. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1460 - 19/06/2022 11:12:50 2426005 Link 0 |
Devitt: got forward more than he has done. Didn't put a foot wrong. Mac: below his usual standards unfortunately. I'd have brought Flood on earlier too. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1460 - 19/06/2022 11:36:38 2426008 Link 0 |