2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Hard luck lads. Ye really had us on the ropes but just when ye needed the knockout blow, we rallied back from the dead. It was the game we needed. We will be much better for having survived your onslaught.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 18/06/2022 18:29:16    2425866

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Hard luck lads. Ye really had us on the ropes but just when ye needed the knockout blow, we rallied back from the dead. It was the game we needed. We will be much better for having survived your onslaught."
Lucky, denied a clear penalty.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 134 - 18/06/2022 19:28:21    2425872

Yes Fanning made his customary mistake which proved very costly. Rory's loss was crippling I'm sure he would have got vital scores if he was on the pitch.
Can't agree that the best team lost.Clare were
almost totally dominant for the last 20 minutes and really that's when it matters.
We were unlucky with the two Recks going off injured. Tony Kelly went to town on us in Shane's absence.
I believe Chin got a hamstring injury in the first half. So we really played very well considering the casualties.
The Saturday game highlighted two Wexford goals and said neither should be allowed as they were both square balls.
We can be proud of the team and gave Clare plenty of problems. We just couldn't keep up the intensity having been 6 points up.
Side note- Hard to listen to the Tv panel after the game.They never gave wexford any credit whatsoever. Yes Clare won and good luck to them but i felt Joe Canning Davy and Anna Geary were all about Clare and it was like we weren't there at all.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 18/06/2022 19:40:22    2425878

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Two close calls alright but chin was nearly strangled with the hurl around his neck for first goal."
Yes I agree and also was he taken into the square. These can be grey areas. Again should he have got a penalty. I disagree with the panel and agree with Duigan for the first time ever. There was no defender inside him when dragged back and who's making the call that they would get back to stop him getting his shot in. We have gone from one extreme to the other. A penalty called from a play near the side line and no call for a player dragged down 10 yds from goal with a clear breakway. Lee is a hell of a player though and comparing him with Tony Kelly those neither justice.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 18/06/2022 20:12:49    2425887

Replying To Samson55:  "Yes Fanning made his customary mistake which proved very costly. Rory's loss was crippling I'm sure he would have got vital scores if he was on the pitch.
almost totally dominant for the last 20 minutes and really that's when it matters.
We were unlucky with the two Recks going off injured. Tony Kelly went to town on us in Shane's absence.
I believe Chin got a hamstring injury in the first half. So we really played very well considering the casualties.
The Saturday game highlighted two Wexford goals and said neither should be allowed as they were both square balls.
We can be proud of the team and gave Clare plenty of problems. We just couldn't keep up the intensity having been 6 points up.
Side note- Hard to listen to the Tv panel after the game.They never gave wexford any credit whatsoever. Yes Clare won and good luck to them but i felt Joe Canning Davy and Anna Geary were all about Clare and it was like we weren't there at all."
Samson. It was as bad with Daly in the first game. He was constantly on about 'the brilliant Cork Hurlers'- he is so up their backside. What has this Cork achieved when the heat is really on?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 18/06/2022 20:15:39    2425889

Replying To Jedobi:  "Lucky, denied a clear penalty."
You're right how the ref missed Mark Rogers hurley being pulled back when he was trying to pull the trigger is beyond me

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 18/06/2022 20:21:40    2425893

Me and the young lad were surrounded by Clare supporters and the noise in those last ten minutes I've never experienced before I just wanted the ground to swallow me up. Clare were awesome in the closing stages but I have to say the crowd played a huge part in that. Wexford support was dire and just when we needed them the most there was nothing there. Not even a cheer when we got it back to two points in injury time, very very disappointing turnout. Must have been outnumbered 4:1, so much for the big Wexford following.

Have to mention Lee. People in here saying he's not a natural striker of the ball (what does that even mean?) and a lad here the other day saying Rory o Connor is lightyears ahead of him. All a load of bollox really chin is a giant of the game and by far our best and most influential player. We will miss him big time when he puts down the hurl.

Well done Clare, roll on next year.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 18/06/2022 20:26:39    2425896

4 teams left now

We have played 3 in this year's championship

Galway drew with them
In championship

Kilkenny beat them in championship

Clare came very close to beating them in championship. I feel we lost it through terrible injuries at terrible times.

Can we finally believe we are at the top table now please??

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 18/06/2022 20:36:45    2425899

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Samson. It was as bad with Daly in the first game. He was constantly on about 'the brilliant Cork Hurlers'- he is so up their backside. What has this Cork achieved when the heat is really on?"
I take more notice of the dog looking at the match on telly than Daly. Actually don't take too much notice of many of them but he is the last straw.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 18/06/2022 20:38:20    2425901

Replying To Jedobi:  "Mark Fanning has been a liability since start of the championship."
He done the same against Clare last year and we lost by a goal........has to go.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2022 20:45:31    2425908

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Sickening loss, heartbroken after that tbh. Shane and Damien Reck going off were massive losses. Tony Kelly came into the game when Shane went off."
100% they shut down Tony Kelly and Shane O Donnell.

Shane's first game in months and he stops the "best" player in Ireland for the second year in row.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2022 20:47:20    2425909

On reflection Rory O'Connor's loss inside 10 mins was the killer for us. Whilst we did have success from the long ball into chinner and Mac we became too predictable. Rory is our main scoring threat and would have allowed us to vary the ball going in and can always be relied on to get a few scores or win frees.
On tv coverage, RTÉ has become very stale and Davy sounded like he's trying to get himself back into everyone's good books in Clare. I agree with Samson … it seems as though there was only one team playing the second match. Halftime and full time analysis all about Clare. Maybe just maybe they played as well as they were allowed for 60 mins and all credit to them for finishing like they did. I think they'll beat Kilkenny in the semi.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 18/06/2022 20:48:44    2425910

Replying To Samson55:  "Yes Fanning made his customary mistake which proved very costly. Rory's loss was crippling I'm sure he would have got vital scores if he was on the pitch.
Side note- Hard to listen to the Tv panel after the game.They never gave wexford any credit whatsoever. Yes Clare won and good luck to them but i felt Joe Canning Davy and Anna Geary were all about Clare and it was like we weren't there at all."
The Clare bias was off the riechter. Just no balance whatsoever. Unfortunately there is only one way to answer that and we didn't today, but you move on and our time will come again.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 18/06/2022 20:51:23    2425911

How frustrating to hear the Clare lads, management and pundits saying Clare didn't turn up today, they didn't turn up because Wexford shut them down.

Loosing ROC was a massive blow.
Chin pulled his hamstring just before half time, so they played him full forward for the second half. 100% fit and he would have got us over the line in the last 20 minutes.

The two Recks getting injured was when Clare took over. The ref played on when both were down injured, which led up to the Clare goal.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2022 20:51:54    2425912

Replying To WEX98:  "100% they shut down Tony Kelly and Shane O Donnell.

Shane's first game in months and he stops the "best" player in Ireland for the second year in row."
He is the best player in Ireland.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 18/06/2022 20:54:08    2425913

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "On reflection Rory O'Connor's loss inside 10 mins was the killer for us. Whilst we did have success from the long ball into chinner and Mac we became too predictable. Rory is our main scoring threat and would have allowed us to vary the ball going in and can always be relied on to get a few scores or win frees.
On tv coverage, RTÉ has become very stale and Davy sounded like he's trying to get himself back into everyone's good books in Clare. I agree with Samson … it seems as though there was only one team playing the second match. Halftime and full time analysis all about Clare. Maybe just maybe they played as well as they were allowed for 60 mins and all credit to them for finishing like they did. I think they'll beat Kilkenny in the semi."
Davy was always a Clare man, look at our championship record against Clare under him.

He said during the week that he cut the Wexford warm-up last year in half and it cost us the game.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2022 20:54:21    2425914

Replying To Canuck:  "I take more notice of the dog looking at the match on telly than Daly. Actually don't take too much notice of many of them but he is the last straw."
Daly and his one isms! And now Davy on there too! Both of em wanting to get back in the Clare job. Painful! A bit of balance would be great.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 18/06/2022 21:01:44    2425917

Replying To Yellow:  "4 teams left now

We have played 3 in this year's championship

Galway drew with them
In championship

Kilkenny beat them in championship

Clare came very close to beating them in championship. I feel we lost it through terrible injuries at terrible times.

Can we finally believe we are at the top table now please??"
We all believe that.....its just the rest of the hurling counties that don't rate us.

Listen to TJ Ryan on A Hurlers Life, he basically said that the Wexford 96 team were a poor team that didn't deserve an All Ireland, where as the 94 Offaly team were a great team.

It's the same attitude still.

Look at Shane Stapletons article this week, he said "Wexford have played Laois, Westmeath and Kerry in 3 of their last 4 games, whereas Clare have played the TOP-TIER Munster teams" basically calling us second tier, failing to mention that we beat the Leinster Champions Kilkenny and drew with quarter finalists Galway.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2022 21:02:31    2425918

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "On reflection Rory O'Connor's loss inside 10 mins was the killer for us. Whilst we did have success from the long ball into chinner and Mac we became too predictable. Rory is our main scoring threat and would have allowed us to vary the ball going in and can always be relied on to get a few scores or win frees.
On tv coverage, RTÉ has become very stale and Davy sounded like he's trying to get himself back into everyone's good books in Clare. I agree with Samson … it seems as though there was only one team playing the second match. Halftime and full time analysis all about Clare. Maybe just maybe they played as well as they were allowed for 60 mins and all credit to them for finishing like they did. I think they'll beat Kilkenny in the semi."
I certainly agree with you with regards to Clare not being allowed to play. Wexford system seemed to strangle us. While Reck did well on Tony, I don't understand why management left him in the inside forward line for so long. When we needed a spark though Shane O Donnell stood up I though and his last 15 minute performance won him man of the match.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 18/06/2022 21:12:48    2425923

Replying To WEX98:  "We all believe that.....its just the rest of the hurling counties that don't rate us.

Listen to TJ Ryan on A Hurlers Life, he basically said that the Wexford 96 team were a poor team that didn't deserve an All Ireland, where as the 94 Offaly team were a great team.

It's the same attitude still.

Look at Shane Stapletons article this week, he said "Wexford have played Laois, Westmeath and Kerry in 3 of their last 4 games, whereas Clare have played the TOP-TIER Munster teams" basically calling us second tier, failing to mention that we beat the Leinster Champions Kilkenny and drew with quarter finalists Galway."
I suppose its days like today is why some people may not rate Wexford. I've always felt that wexford are a team liable to do anything, beat Kilkenny in a cracker, then today 6 points up with 15 to go and walk off the field a beaten docket. The consistency at times just doesn't seem to be there at times. I'm not a gambling man but if I was Wexford is the last team I'd ever put money on.
Is it a case that the players themselves don't fully believe in themselves? There's some great talent there if they could harness it and throw off the shackles of doubt.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 18/06/2022 21:45:56    2425938