2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "They did but that workrate dropped significantly in the second half.
Mac needs to work on his speed and agility I feel. Standing pulling and dragging is a full backs game."
He needs to model himself on what Chin does when he goes into the full forward line.

Chin holds, holds and then makes that fast dash to win the ball out in front.

Mac just gets involves in a constant tussle and against the better full backs you are not going to win ball in the air, they will break it away from you constantly.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 725 - 19/06/2022 15:43:30    2426090

Replying To Afinestick:  "Very disappointing Wexford crowd . Was much smaller than Cork and Clare . Was very quiet even when we were 6 points up"
34000 with 4 strong hurling counties is bad, but its not just gaa , since covid crowds have been decimated in most sports ,the older people dont seem to travel any more,and 40 e does not help, 80e for a couple is a lot

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 19/06/2022 15:46:46    2426094

Replying To Tiger1:  "Doesn't work that way I'm afraid we also drew with westmeath does that mean we are at the bottom of the pile no it just shows how inconsistent we are mainly due to a lack of depth on the bench I'm afraid same old story I'm afraid."
The bench is improving the last couple of years. The jump from u20 or club championship standard to intercounty in size and S and C is massive. It will be a couple years before we have the bench we need. There aren't many ready made lads to put in. We mostly need good defensive cover. Lads who can tackle well and think like a defender as regards positioning on the pitch etc.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 19/06/2022 15:58:03    2426100

Replying To Past hurler:  "Think you hit the nail on the head, not a cheap day out.

The roars of the Clare crowd when they starting making the comeback drove their team on something serious."
Yep. It was a real throwback atmosphere. Like the 90s. Fair play to them!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 19/06/2022 15:59:13    2426102

I was on holidays last week and by the WhatsApp/Facebook groups and the ticket fiasco, I expected 15k Wexford people were going. It got very quiet once they went on general sale......

The support was BRUTAL. Wexford came out on the field to a vague whimper. Clare came out to a Banner roar.
I defended our support after the Galway/Dublin games. I thought Wexford had 10k supporters but I think I can half that.

People can say it is an "expensive day out" all they want. Ed Sheeran, Bruce Springsteen, Gareth Brooks, how much were tickets? Add in accommodation, etc.

It was such a let down by Wexford supporters. The same people would have been shouting for All-Ireland Semi final and final tickets had we got there. There is hardly a part of Wexford which is 2 hours from Thurles. I got the objection to Cork.

Honestly, I would love our Co. Board to come up with a system somehow where inter county match attendance is logged and priority for All-Ireland tickets if Wexford given on that basis if Wexford made one.

This team and management team deserve better. Loyal support me backside. That was BRUTAL.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/06/2022 16:00:41    2426103

On the match itself, most of it has been said. A few mistakes are vital at this level.
The positives from the year are that we have the core of a good team. Looking a year or two down the line though, I am concerned. We lack the 22-25 year olds bar Damo and Shane Reck so the urgency to find new faces is serious.
It rang as a repeat of 2019 that we hadn't the gas in the last 10 minutes. Is our game higher intensity than Limerick's for example, or how are 10+ of those players able to play extra time last week? Something is out with our S&C I feel.
We need to get players who have something to offer like Aidan Nolan back into the squad for next year, as well as the likes of James Lawlor, Richie Lawlor, Patsy Molloy, Kyle Scallan, Cian Byrne, etc getting a full run of league.
Depending on how you look at it, we had either a good year or a bad year. We need to develop more consistency than we have and we need to have a squad of 25 up to the conditioning and given the game time.
We could have won 2 Leinster titles this year with better man management and if we hadn't sleepwalked in to a disastrous result v Westmeath - u20 and senior.
After the hiding v Waterford, the Westmeath result, I still believe overall the jury is still out on the management team. But I think they deserve more time.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/06/2022 16:09:21    2426107

Replying To Viking66:  "Yep. It was a real throwback atmosphere. Like the 90s. Fair play to them!"
Must we why it has it's own name......the Banner Roar

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 19/06/2022 16:21:58    2426109

Of course there was a roar from the Clare crowd, they were dead and launched a stirring comeback, there was barely a peep from the Clare crowd all day before that in reality.

That's the nature of the game, stirring come back and crowd rises, leading all day and see your lead whittling away and your keeper drop another clanger and crowd gets nervous.

I wonder have some people ever been at sporting events before wondering why the Clare crowd were louder towards the end of the game??

I won't fault our supporters one bit, we sold well over 7000 tickets I was told yesterday ironic seeing fellas criticizing Wexford fans who don't even hail from here and didnt even go to the game themselves, but I did think the ticket allocation was a bit odd. Our club had a very big number of tickets allocated for the game but seats were all over the shop, a few here, a few 20 rows back, others far end of the stand whereas previously in games we would have been all closer together. I had cork and Galway supported around me all grouped together a lot more. Maybe I'm wrong but that's how it seemed to me.

Lastly it's time for the gaa to develop another stadium, portlaoise being the obvious choice for me. Utterly sick to death of going to Thurles, never got this hype about the place, a nighmare to get into, nothing in the bloody place , a pain to get out of and a road to get there that's beyond a joke, was looking at the same bloody break lights practically from kiltealy to the m8 motorway.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 19/06/2022 16:38:37    2426111

I also forgot about Joe O'Connor until I saw Viking mention him, Shaun Murphy another one with plenty to offer.
The future is bright, but we must freshen the team up next year for me. Naturally, that requires players to step up and force these players out.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/06/2022 16:53:03    2426118

Replying To StoreysTash:  "On the match itself, most of it has been said. A few mistakes are vital at this level.
The positives from the year are that we have the core of a good team. Looking a year or two down the line though, I am concerned. We lack the 22-25 year olds bar Damo and Shane Reck so the urgency to find new faces is serious.
It rang as a repeat of 2019 that we hadn't the gas in the last 10 minutes. Is our game higher intensity than Limerick's for example, or how are 10+ of those players able to play extra time last week? Something is out with our S&C I feel.
We need to get players who have something to offer like Aidan Nolan back into the squad for next year, as well as the likes of James Lawlor, Richie Lawlor, Patsy Molloy, Kyle Scallan, Cian Byrne, etc getting a full run of league.
Depending on how you look at it, we had either a good year or a bad year. We need to develop more consistency than we have and we need to have a squad of 25 up to the conditioning and given the game time.
We could have won 2 Leinster titles this year with better man management and if we hadn't sleepwalked in to a disastrous result v Westmeath - u20 and senior.
After the hiding v Waterford, the Westmeath result, I still believe overall the jury is still out on the management team. But I think they deserve more time."
The Pepper decision I would say ranks as one of the biggest black marks of the championship, wasn't in the subs for the last two games, so he went from being a sub to bring on, to not even featuring on the bench. I am sure he will benefit from being part of it but perhaps might have benefited more by playing in the U20s and perhaps winning a Leinster medal.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 19/06/2022 16:54:05    2426119

Replying To Afinestick:  "You like many other of our so called supporters stayed at home yesterday . The Clare roar was huge when they got on top . Our support was pathetic and our lads deserved better from hurling people in the county"
I would have been there only i had a domestic problem. I have travelled everywhere for 40 years supporting our team.
Thought the ticket prices at €40 was a bit on the high side. Was the same for the other teams of course.
Yeah the support was dismal according to what you are saying Afinestick. Was it because we were rank outsiders and people didn't want to travel so far thinking we were going to lose and then facing the long trip home having forked out €40? The comfort of sitting at home and watching on TV was obviously the choice of most "LOYAL SUPPORTERS".

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 19/06/2022 17:13:46    2426125

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "34000 with 4 strong hurling counties is bad, but its not just gaa , since covid crowds have been decimated in most sports ,the older people dont seem to travel any more,and 40 e does not help, 80e for a couple is a lot"
Agree but it didn't stop the Clare fans going real supporters were there from Wexford today but if we had won all of a sudden we would have nearly 25000 at it instead of about 5000 today and tickets would be dearer.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 221 - 19/06/2022 17:15:54    2426126

I won't fault our supporters one bit, we sold well over 7000 tickets I was told yesterday ironic seeing fellas criticizing Wexford fans who don't even hail from here and didnt even go to the game themselves.
tearintom,
I will have you know tearintom I was actually there. I got fully behind the team even though you correctly point out that I "don't even hail from here". I was shouting my head off for Wexford.
I will also have you know I coach hurling and football in our local club and always help out with fundraising, selling Model County tickets and things.
I did more yesterday than all but the most loyal Wexford supporter and do more in my club than many Wexford people who "do even hail from here".
Wexford people wouldn't drive to Portlaoise if they wouldn't drive to Thurles. You are kidding yourself if you think Thurles was a problem, Wexford don't play in that many quarter finals FFS.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 19/06/2022 18:21:48    2426144

Replying To zinny:  "The Pepper decision I would say ranks as one of the biggest black marks of the championship, wasn't in the subs for the last two games, so he went from being a sub to bring on, to not even featuring on the bench. I am sure he will benefit from being part of it but perhaps might have benefited more by playing in the U20s and perhaps winning a Leinster medal."
Think he was doing his leaving cert zingy but I could be wrong.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 933 - 19/06/2022 18:29:25    2426147

Replying To hunting:  "Think he was doing his leaving cert zingy but I could be wrong."
Yep, believe that's the case, which makes the fact he couldn't play u20 even more annoying.

But to be fair to Egan it was a mistake but these things happen, took a chance didn't work out.

I've been critical of him but I think he's had a very good first year in charge overall, yes he's made mistakes but crucially he's learned as the year has gone on and yesterday was testament to that.

He's also learning at this level, next year will be very very interesting

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 19/06/2022 20:02:06    2426168

Replying To zinny:  "The Pepper decision I would say ranks as one of the biggest black marks of the championship, wasn't in the subs for the last two games, so he went from being a sub to bring on, to not even featuring on the bench. I am sure he will benefit from being part of it but perhaps might have benefited more by playing in the U20s and perhaps winning a Leinster medal."
Wasn't he doing his Leaving cert?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 19/06/2022 20:40:06    2426187

Wasn't he doing his Leaving cert?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 19/06/2022 20:40:16    2426188

Replying To StoreysTash:  "On the match itself, most of it has been said. A few mistakes are vital at this level.
After the hiding v Waterford, the Westmeath result, I still believe overall the jury is still out on the management team. But I think they deserve more time."
Lohan didn't do any better last year. Lost at the AIQF stage. This is Egans 1st intercounty managerial year. Of course he needs and deserves time!
Our u20s lost the Leinster final to KK by a point BTW. They beat Laois who beat Westmeath.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 19/06/2022 20:47:39    2426191

Replying To tearintom:  "Of course there was a roar from the Clare crowd, they were dead and launched a stirring comeback, there was barely a peep from the Clare crowd all day before that in reality.

That's the nature of the game, stirring come back and crowd rises, leading all day and see your lead whittling away and your keeper drop another clanger and crowd gets nervous.

I wonder have some people ever been at sporting events before wondering why the Clare crowd were louder towards the end of the game??

I won't fault our supporters one bit, we sold well over 7000 tickets I was told yesterday ironic seeing fellas criticizing Wexford fans who don't even hail from here and didnt even go to the game themselves, but I did think the ticket allocation was a bit odd. Our club had a very big number of tickets allocated for the game but seats were all over the shop, a few here, a few 20 rows back, others far end of the stand whereas previously in games we would have been all closer together. I had cork and Galway supported around me all grouped together a lot more. Maybe I'm wrong but that's how it seemed to me.

Lastly it's time for the gaa to develop another stadium, portlaoise being the obvious choice for me. Utterly sick to death of going to Thurles, never got this hype about the place, a nighmare to get into, nothing in the bloody place , a pain to get out of and a road to get there that's beyond a joke, was looking at the same bloody break lights practically from kiltealy to the m8 motorway."
Few lads from our club around me tbh. And it's always best have a smoke if you smoke and a cuppa and a chat before even starting the car when you leave Semple Stadium.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 19/06/2022 20:49:29    2426192

Replying To Tiger1:  "Agree but it didn't stop the Clare fans going real supporters were there from Wexford today but if we had won all of a sudden we would have nearly 25000 at it instead of about 5000 today and tickets would be dearer."
And probably some of us that were there would've struggled to get tickets the next time......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 19/06/2022 20:50:41    2426194