Where Have The Characters Gone

Replying To avonali:  "The same off the cuff football that ye deployed against Cork last year?? I'd prefer to watch a coffin warping."
You're entitled to watch what you want Avon, we got bate fair and square by Cork last year and iv no problem with that, and it could well happen again thís year, it might even happen Saturday evening.

Our management were to blame for us playing only 4 forward last year on a god awful night away from home, but it looks like our management might have learnt their lesson as we're back to playing the the proper swashbuckling attacking off the cuff kerry football that we're used to down here.

Like I said last week, we don't win allirelands anymore (but nobody does outside of dublin) but we play a great style of football.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/06/2021 09:51:43    2352283

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're entitled to watch what you want Avon, we got bate fair and square by Cork last year and iv no problem with that, and it could well happen again thís year, it might even happen Saturday evening.

Our management were to blame for us playing only 4 forward last year on a god awful night away from home, but it looks like our management might have learnt their lesson as we're back to playing the the proper swashbuckling attacking off the cuff kerry football that we're used to down here.

Like I said last week, we don't win allirelands anymore (but nobody does outside of dublin) but we play a great style of football."
Yes I agree you have played a lovely brand of foot thus far in the League. But let's see. if Keane has the bottle to maintain that as the stakes get higher later on in the Championship. And if Kerry go on to win playing in that style that will represent a welcome stage in the evolution of. the game and ought to be applauded. Let's see what happens.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/06/2021 10:28:24    2352294

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're entitled to watch what you want Avon, we got bate fair and square by Cork last year and iv no problem with that, and it could well happen again thís year, it might even happen Saturday evening.

Like I said last week, we don't win allirelands anymore (but nobody does outside of dublin) but we play a great style of football."
Will the style of football keep Keane in the job if Kerry don't win an All Ireland though?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 21/06/2021 10:33:13    2352297

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The water was sprayed by Peter Crowley not a mentor as you called him and he was banned for a month after it and rightly so, but it wasn't as bad as the dublin official blocking a quick free from a Kilkenny player, that was 100 times worse than spraying a bit of water.

As you say dublin breaking Covid rules, breaking the law of the land and putting peoples lives at risk now that's as low as it goes.

You say most wouldn't watch Kerry, but Sky sports have our game against Clare next Sat so they must think differently, they probably want to see some good old fashioned off the cuff football, and they'll get plenty of it from both Kerry and Clare."
It's quite funny how he says he wouldn't watch Kerry when he spends all his time commenting on even Kerry related.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 21/06/2021 10:39:14    2352299

Replying To Wally:  "Jesus what do you know. Another thread totally taken over my the usual Kerry/Dublin bickering.

I have almost gave up on this forum as no matter what topic is discussed it escalates into the same sh*te from the same posters."
How true can we just start a thread Dublin vs Kerry so the rest of us don't have to read this nonsense.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 21/06/2021 10:39:56    2352300

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I would see it as different. Dublin can counter with pace but play a very defensive brand of football. Its effective but the perception they play all attack is nonsense. Kerry went very defensive v Cork and paid the price. Kerry are nt used to defensive football whereas Dublin are. After 15 Dubs played with a sweeper Maí ly Cian Ó Sullivan. Now its not unusual to see Dublin with all 15 in their own half. That would be unheard of years ago. Dublin also use the percentages with alot oflateral handpasding before taking on a shot. They wait for a high percentage scoring shot before shooting. They have become close to a basketball theme side with possession foremost until you get a good percentage shot. Now it's no coincidence that this style came in when they got the former Irish basketball coach in their backroom team a few years back."
wasnt long straying off the topi c whats new

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 21/06/2021 10:44:14    2352302

You don't win all Ireland's anymore because you're not good enough, simple as that ! How come when certain counties get the better of kerry the likes of you bemoan the style of football being played, youre not winning because as i said you're not good enough, the better team will always win, sure weren't Tyrone and Armagh playing a dreadful type of football in the noughties according to fellas like you, you cant accept defeat gracefully which says a lot about you and im sure Dublins success over the last decade must really pain you especially when they beat kerry which is quite regularly nowadays and the platitudes thrown at Dublin for the super players they've produced the last number of years and their skill set much must be the stuff of nightmares for you and long may it continue, thank God the majority of kerry supporters are not like you and know their football and can appreciate greatness!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 21/06/2021 10:56:40    2352304

Replying To avonali:  "Yes I agree you have played a lovely brand of foot thus far in the League. But let's see. if Keane has the bottle to maintain that as the stakes get higher later on in the Championship. And if Kerry go on to win playing in that style that will represent a welcome stage in the evolution of. the game and ought to be applauded. Let's see what happens."
Ya like mick says we can't play defensive football it's not in our DNA, we have the fire power to cause problems for anyone so it makes more sence to stick to what we know and just shoot it out with teams and hope for the best.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/06/2021 11:11:23    2352311

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "You don't win all Ireland's anymore because you're not good enough, simple as that ! How come when certain counties get the better of kerry the likes of you bemoan the style of football being played, youre not winning because as i said you're not good enough, the better team will always win, sure weren't Tyrone and Armagh playing a dreadful type of football in the noughties according to fellas like you, you cant accept defeat gracefully which says a lot about you and im sure Dublins success over the last decade must really pain you especially when they beat kerry which is quite regularly nowadays and the platitudes thrown at Dublin for the super players they've produced the last number of years and their skill set much must be the stuff of nightmares for you and long may it continue, thank God the majority of kerry supporters are not like you and know their football and can appreciate greatness!"
You're getting a little upset about my opinion dubjohn, what other posters think is their own business and I can only speak for myself.

For the record iv never said anything disparaging about Tyrone or Armaghs style of football, there was great characters on those 2 teams, they went toe to toe with us and won fair and square so fair play to them for that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/06/2021 11:27:57    2352319

The way most of the Dubs talk you would think no team ever won an All-Ireland playing stylish football ffs !

Some self appointed Dublin expert on here even had the audacity to claim that Kerry and Mayo play a blanket defense game. I think he should stick to watching Fair City and leave the football analysis to people who know their football.

No doubt he'll be back with his six page copy and paste material in reply.

It's very easy to take a screenshot with absolutely zero context and pass it off to support your own narrative.

I'm not convinced Dublin will be able to handle a team with good forwards playing attacking football, but sure look if their the greatest team ever as the Dublin media and the "experts" on here will tell you then you'd expect them to figure it all out.

What will the team who beats "the greatest team ever" playing on their home turf be described as in the Dublin media ?

The "greatest greatest" or just lucky.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 21/06/2021 11:39:56    2352323

Truly shocked to see this thread turn into a whinge about Dublin footballers

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 21/06/2021 11:55:37    2352330

Replying To TheUsername:  "#Ah Shure Look, it was probably the greatest off the cuff mountain water of all time.

There were a few incidents over the years, I remember Donaghey square punching big Aido, when Mayo were schiooling them in a semi a couple of years ago, shortly followed by Darren O Sullivan I think it was going ball headed after the linesman with abuse, all just high spirts though, passion you see. Not like those dirty multi All Ireland winning record breaking athletes, who made them play in the rain in 2015. ;)"
Good you have a good memory and so do I.Darran was put off on the wrong but yes Donaghy did hit Aida n and got sent off.I remember a worse bang by Ger Brennan v Declan O sullivan in 11 but he did nt get sent off. you mention 15.was nt that the day Philly eye gouged.I remember many things like Mickey O sullivan being stretchered off in 75 to John Finn getting his jaw boke in 85 vDublin to Finbarr Cullen (offaly) getting his jaw broke also v dublin.My memory is fairly good too.Diarmuid Connolly v Cuaran Fitzpatrick v Kildare which can be seen on youtbe not to mention a few biting i ncidents also.Ask Paul Kerrigan of Cork.Oh what a lovely bunch when yiu think about it.Actually Fenton and O Sullivan and the Brogans would nt resort to that but then again they all came from Kerry blood.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 21/06/2021 12:07:23    2352335

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Good you have a good memory and so do I.Darran was put off on the wrong but yes Donaghy did hit Aida n and got sent off.I remember a worse bang by Ger Brennan v Declan O sullivan in 11 but he did nt get sent off. you mention 15.was nt that the day Philly eye gouged.I remember many things like Mickey O sullivan being stretchered off in 75 to John Finn getting his jaw boke in 85 vDublin to Finbarr Cullen (offaly) getting his jaw broke also v dublin.My memory is fairly good too.Diarmuid Connolly v Cuaran Fitzpatrick v Kildare which can be seen on youtbe not to mention a few biting i ncidents also.Ask Paul Kerrigan of Cork.Oh what a lovely bunch when yiu think about it.Actually Fenton and O Sullivan and the Brogans would nt resort to that but then again they all came from Kerry blood."
An upper cut like that from CiarraiMick deserves a thumbs up !

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 21/06/2021 12:19:19    2352339

I remember Jim gavin refusing to speak to RTÉ after they turned down his request to get video footage of a league game back in 2018 as well, that was extremely petulant considering the footage wasn't even RTÉs to give them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/06/2021 12:27:09    2352340

Replying To AfricanGael:  "An upper cut like that from CiarraiMick deserves a thumbs up !"
People could trade uppercuts in here un til the. cows come home. What good would that. do?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/06/2021 12:44:17    2352345

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Good you have a good memory and so do I.Darran was put off on the wrong but yes Donaghy did hit Aida n and got sent off.I remember a worse bang by Ger Brennan v Declan O sullivan in 11 but he did nt get sent off. you mention 15.was nt that the day Philly eye gouged.I remember many things like Mickey O sullivan being stretchered off in 75 to John Finn getting his jaw boke in 85 vDublin to Finbarr Cullen (offaly) getting his jaw broke also v dublin.My memory is fairly good too.Diarmuid Connolly v Cuaran Fitzpatrick v Kildare which can be seen on youtbe not to mention a few biting i ncidents also.Ask Paul Kerrigan of Cork.Oh what a lovely bunch when yiu think about it.Actually Fenton and O Sullivan and the Brogans would nt resort to that but then again they all came from Kerry blood."
CiarraiMick, you have let yourself down badly with that post. The veneer is slipping- you're as bigotted as the rest of them That last sentence is particularly nasty. What are you saying about Dublin folk ?? It's a wonder you choose to live in Dublin if that is your view of us. Disgusting.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/06/2021 12:48:04    2352346

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "An upper cut like that from CiarraiMick deserves a thumbs up !"
People could trade uppercuts in here un til the. cows come home. What good would that. do?"
Might start a conversation about something/ anything that doesn't end in complaining and fighting over Dublin and Kerry..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 21/06/2021 12:57:19    2352352

Replying To avonali:  "CiarraiMick, you have let yourself down badly with that post. The veneer is slipping- you're as bigotted as the rest of them That last sentence is particularly nasty. What are you saying about Dublin folk ?? It's a wonder you choose to live in Dublin if that is your view of us. Disgusting."
It Was one of your own that was highlighting Kerry s foul play so a reminder was sent. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone. Also you are picking me up wrong. I have relations r from Dublin and my children are dubs so I'm not saying anything about Dubs in general. I'm just pointing out that certain posters are able to throw in about Kerry s play so I can point out some of Dublin's play Avon. All counties have done bad things and some more than others. We all can throw stones. There an be a nasty undercurrent from some one here and yes some are Kerry but the others are Dublin. It's never praise but constant jibes. Now I know it's a minority but it's not nice. None of us are holier than thou!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 21/06/2021 13:23:55    2352363

Replying To avonali:  "
People could trade uppercuts in here un til the. cows come home. What good would that. do?"
You know he and oneoff or ditch are the multis of that very angry Kerry man dont you.

I told him a long time ago, i wouldn't respond to him or any of his usernames.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/06/2021 13:41:11    2352369

I'd say it kills you to live in Dublin mate, Jesus wept.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 21/06/2021 13:44:16    2352372